User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 183 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 183

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Feb 21, 2011
    7
    Really good debut album for major debut singer career of Adam Lambert! All songs is Great and can listen ,dance ,sing and scream without doubt! CHEERS ADAM
  2. May 28, 2012
    8
    Great Choice Of Singles
    Great Voice
    Great Debut Album
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    great album full of good songs like for your entertainment,fever,whataya want from me and there is so much glam rock influence in the album you can tell that by listening to the songs
  4. May 29, 2011
    5
    At least someone is doing something different nowadays. Even if it doesn't completely pay off.
  5. Oct 26, 2010
    7
    Some songs i absoloutly dread when i come to them while listening to this album. not naming any names.... *cough* strut *cough*.. but other songs make up this album's weaknesses, and ill be glad to name their names. "For Your Entertainment", "Whataya Want From Me", "If I Had You", and "Fever".
  6. Nov 19, 2010
    0
    This is a guy that screeches in every song. Every song is a cast off from a real artist's trash bin. Don't waste your money on this cd. Its just a novelty like William Hung's.
  7. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    Adam Lambert had an amazing year all because of this album. It is filled with genius lyrics and vocals that have to be the best from any male singer. The range the guy shows on this project is nothing short of spectacular. He hits notes that I did not know even existed. The artists that worked with him on the album, Lady Gaga, Pink, Justin Hawkins, knew he had talent. Adam can do pop, heAdam Lambert had an amazing year all because of this album. It is filled with genius lyrics and vocals that have to be the best from any male singer. The range the guy shows on this project is nothing short of spectacular. He hits notes that I did not know even existed. The artists that worked with him on the album, Lady Gaga, Pink, Justin Hawkins, knew he had talent. Adam can do pop, he can do rock, he can do amazing ballads, he pours emotion into every performance and it pays off very well. This album has been on replay for me since its release and I do not think it can ever get old. "If I Had You", "Sleepwalker", "Fever", and "Whataya Want From Me" are some of the highlights, but the whole album works. Adam will have a long future in music, this debut sets that in stone. Expand
  8. Jan 16, 2011
    7
    An imperfect but solid debut from someone who will hopefully be one of the faces of mainstream pop music for years to come. What the album lacks in originality and cohesiveness, it makes up for by continuously showcasing Lambert's brilliant vocal ability.
  9. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    This is possibly one of the best pop records i've ever heard. The sound alone is true powerpop mixed with glam rock. But the most outstanding part of each song is Adam's undeniably outstanding vocals. I say this with heart felt conviction and will possibly never go back on my word - Adam Lambert has the best voice in Male pop and even rock music, it's note perfect, his vibrato is stunning,This is possibly one of the best pop records i've ever heard. The sound alone is true powerpop mixed with glam rock. But the most outstanding part of each song is Adam's undeniably outstanding vocals. I say this with heart felt conviction and will possibly never go back on my word - Adam Lambert has the best voice in Male pop and even rock music, it's note perfect, his vibrato is stunning, his ranges are constantly changing and the power he can create is simply incredable. Nobody can fault his vocals - it's impossible, litrally. The ONLY negative i can give about this album his how obvious it is which artists have wronte certain songs, 'Music Again' - Justin Hawkins (The Darkness), 'Fever' - Lady GaGa, 'Soaked' - Matthew Bellamy (Muse), and so on - it's just SLIGHTLY to obvious - it ALMOST makes the album sound like 'Adam Lambert Sing's His Favourites' - but the possitives really do outweigh this minor glitch. This album is everything you want in a pop album - It's stunning. Expand
  10. Mar 4, 2011
    9
    POSITIVE - Adam Lambert has un-questionably one of the best male voices the world has ever heard, and this is not an over bold statement, this is the truth, he has power, range, his vibrato is stunning and he can hold notes like not many other artists. The overall sound of the album is modern, a mix of glam rock with electronica, gay disco meets rock. Each track is individual and LambertPOSITIVE - Adam Lambert has un-questionably one of the best male voices the world has ever heard, and this is not an over bold statement, this is the truth, he has power, range, his vibrato is stunning and he can hold notes like not many other artists. The overall sound of the album is modern, a mix of glam rock with electronica, gay disco meets rock. Each track is individual and Lambert makes each track as memorable as the last, whether that be through the lyrics, upbeat tempo, powerful rock sounds or simply with his stunning vocals.
    NEGATIVE - It's far to obvious that the album for the most part has been written by other artists (although Lambert has wrote some of the tracks), even if you haven't looked who the writter is, it's usually quite obvious. It almost crosses the line (at times) of sounding like an 'Adam Lambert Sings....' album.
    OVERALL - This album is stunning, Lambert is at the top of his game, not just vocally, but his image was one of the missing links in the pop world. If you want to be either impressed, blown away or simply made to feel great - then this is the album for you. A triumph.
    Expand
  11. May 25, 2012
    6
    A nice debut album from Adam Lambert. His voice is fantastic in this album. But I just like a few songs and the rest falls a little bit flat.............
  12. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    Perhaps it is because I saw him live and was drawn in by both his powerful voice and stunning stage presence, but this album isn't as good as it seemed when I first listened to it. Don't get me wrong, it is still really good, but it lacks that punch that is delivered in a live setting. Mostly, Adam is gifted enough to handle the material on the album but there are a few moments that comePerhaps it is because I saw him live and was drawn in by both his powerful voice and stunning stage presence, but this album isn't as good as it seemed when I first listened to it. Don't get me wrong, it is still really good, but it lacks that punch that is delivered in a live setting. Mostly, Adam is gifted enough to handle the material on the album but there are a few moments that come off as odd missteps: "Time for Miracles" feels out of place and "music Again" seems like an odd way to start an album which does not have any more songs like its opener. For the most part, this is an album designed to make the listener want to move. There are some delightful ballads as well, "Sleepwalker" being one of the standouts. It is a good album but songs like "Soaked" and "Whataya Want From Me" sound much better live with that acoustic sound the band employs for them. Expand
  13. Aug 5, 2011
    8
    A well crafted pop/rock/ballad/electronica/dance record sewn together by two things, number one being his undeniably incredible and perfect voice, had it not been for his vocal presence this album would have been named 'Adam Lambert Sing's his favourite artists unwanted songs'. But due to his obvious talent as vocalist and artist this record became one of the brightest, boldest and mostA well crafted pop/rock/ballad/electronica/dance record sewn together by two things, number one being his undeniably incredible and perfect voice, had it not been for his vocal presence this album would have been named 'Adam Lambert Sing's his favourite artists unwanted songs'. But due to his obvious talent as vocalist and artist this record became one of the brightest, boldest and most outstanding male debuts of the past decade rather than a compilation of unused B-Sides. Expand
  14. Aug 23, 2011
    7
    As flawless as Adams presence was on Idol it was near impossible for him to match the expectations for his debut. What his debut brings is a mixing pot of a lot of musical elements into one pop presentation. He dips his foot into a lot of different genres. It's a very good album to learn from. He succeeded in his dramatic ballad styled songs (Whataya Want From Me, Soaked and Sleepwalker)As flawless as Adams presence was on Idol it was near impossible for him to match the expectations for his debut. What his debut brings is a mixing pot of a lot of musical elements into one pop presentation. He dips his foot into a lot of different genres. It's a very good album to learn from. He succeeded in his dramatic ballad styled songs (Whataya Want From Me, Soaked and Sleepwalker) while surprisingly his rock songs felt flat for me (Strut and Sure Fire Winners.) The album as a whole doesn't have a cohesive sound to it but you can almost divide the album into 3-4 parts for a more even sound. Adam makes this melting pot of sounds somehow work and even though they don't go together... they kind of find a way to complement each other in a roller coaster of emotions kind of way. The album is hectic and dramatic while also fun and sad. For a debut it understandable but I'm hoping for Adam to find his sound on the next album. Expand
  15. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    It's not a great album, but it's a good album. When it first came out, I listened to it over and over again, and now I seem to have put it to rest. It may not stand the test of time, but it's got some dance-able hits, nice ballads, creativity, and Adam's incredible voice.
  16. May 31, 2012
    8
    It is simply impossible to ignore this album. With some of the catchiest hooks around this album really is one of the best pop albums you'll hear. His incredible vocals and obvious pop star qualities save this album from being called 'Adam Lambert Sings', because let's face it, it is a little too obvious at times which songs previously belonged to Lady Gaga, P!nk, Muse and so on.
  17. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    Damn sexy album. Not a single song brings you down and songs like soaked emphasize his high riffs and those like aftermath give u a jol when you feel low. amazing. just beyond something words can describe. although music again was quite uptempo it's lyrics are really wonky.... 10/10
  18. Apr 11, 2013
    9
    An amazing pop album debut from season eight runner up of American Idol, Adam Lambert. There is not one bad song on the album. Picking a favorite is pretty much impossible, but stand out tracks include: "Whataya Want From Me", "Aftermath", "If I Had You" and "Sleepwalker".
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. The songs sound great but feel strangely stuffy--Entertainment seems like a disc that was overthought.
  2. Lambert sounds larger than life on these, just like he wants to be, and if there’s no sense of danger here, at least there’s a lot of pure pop pleasure here, more than any immediate post-Idol album has ever delivered.
  3. Lambert’s ambition and undeniable vocal chops make it easy to forgive an occasionally over-reaching record that ultimately feels like a rough draft for an interesting career.