• Record Label: 19/RCA
  • Release Date: Nov 23, 2009
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 186 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 186

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 28, 2012
    8
    Great Choice Of Singles
    Great Voice
    Great Debut Album
  2. May 29, 2011
    5
    At least someone is doing something different nowadays. Even if it doesn't completely pay off.
  3. Feb 21, 2011
    9
    This is possibly one of the best pop records i've ever heard. The sound alone is true powerpop mixed with glam rock. But the most outstanding part of each song is Adam's undeniably outstanding vocals. I say this with heart felt conviction and will possibly never go back on my word - Adam Lambert has the best voice in Male pop and even rock music, it's note perfect, his vibrato is stunning,This is possibly one of the best pop records i've ever heard. The sound alone is true powerpop mixed with glam rock. But the most outstanding part of each song is Adam's undeniably outstanding vocals. I say this with heart felt conviction and will possibly never go back on my word - Adam Lambert has the best voice in Male pop and even rock music, it's note perfect, his vibrato is stunning, his ranges are constantly changing and the power he can create is simply incredable. Nobody can fault his vocals - it's impossible, litrally. The ONLY negative i can give about this album his how obvious it is which artists have wronte certain songs, 'Music Again' - Justin Hawkins (The Darkness), 'Fever' - Lady GaGa, 'Soaked' - Matthew Bellamy (Muse), and so on - it's just SLIGHTLY to obvious - it ALMOST makes the album sound like 'Adam Lambert Sing's His Favourites' - but the possitives really do outweigh this minor glitch. This album is everything you want in a pop album - It's stunning. Expand
  4. Aug 5, 2011
    8
    A well crafted pop/rock/ballad/electronica/dance record sewn together by two things, number one being his undeniably incredible and perfect voice, had it not been for his vocal presence this album would have been named 'Adam Lambert Sing's his favourite artists unwanted songs'. But due to his obvious talent as vocalist and artist this record became one of the brightest, boldest and mostA well crafted pop/rock/ballad/electronica/dance record sewn together by two things, number one being his undeniably incredible and perfect voice, had it not been for his vocal presence this album would have been named 'Adam Lambert Sing's his favourite artists unwanted songs'. But due to his obvious talent as vocalist and artist this record became one of the brightest, boldest and most outstanding male debuts of the past decade rather than a compilation of unused B-Sides. Expand
  5. Aug 23, 2011
    7
    As flawless as Adams presence was on Idol it was near impossible for him to match the expectations for his debut. What his debut brings is a mixing pot of a lot of musical elements into one pop presentation. He dips his foot into a lot of different genres. It's a very good album to learn from. He succeeded in his dramatic ballad styled songs (Whataya Want From Me, Soaked and Sleepwalker)As flawless as Adams presence was on Idol it was near impossible for him to match the expectations for his debut. What his debut brings is a mixing pot of a lot of musical elements into one pop presentation. He dips his foot into a lot of different genres. It's a very good album to learn from. He succeeded in his dramatic ballad styled songs (Whataya Want From Me, Soaked and Sleepwalker) while surprisingly his rock songs felt flat for me (Strut and Sure Fire Winners.) The album as a whole doesn't have a cohesive sound to it but you can almost divide the album into 3-4 parts for a more even sound. Adam makes this melting pot of sounds somehow work and even though they don't go together... they kind of find a way to complement each other in a roller coaster of emotions kind of way. The album is hectic and dramatic while also fun and sad. For a debut it understandable but I'm hoping for Adam to find his sound on the next album. Expand
  6. May 25, 2012
    6
    A nice debut album from Adam Lambert. His voice is fantastic in this album. But I just like a few songs and the rest falls a little bit flat.............
  7. Sep 3, 2012
    10
    Damn sexy album. Not a single song brings you down and songs like soaked emphasize his high riffs and those like aftermath give u a jol when you feel low. amazing. just beyond something words can describe. although music again was quite uptempo it's lyrics are really wonky.... 10/10
  8. May 31, 2012
    8
    It is simply impossible to ignore this album. With some of the catchiest hooks around this album really is one of the best pop albums you'll hear. His incredible vocals and obvious pop star qualities save this album from being called 'Adam Lambert Sings', because let's face it, it is a little too obvious at times which songs previously belonged to Lady Gaga, P!nk, Muse and so on.
  9. Mar 19, 2012
    8
    It's not a great album, but it's a good album. When it first came out, I listened to it over and over again, and now I seem to have put it to rest. It may not stand the test of time, but it's got some dance-able hits, nice ballads, creativity, and Adam's incredible voice.
  10. Apr 11, 2013
    9
    An amazing pop album debut from season eight runner up of American Idol, Adam Lambert. There is not one bad song on the album. Picking a favorite is pretty much impossible, but stand out tracks include: "Whataya Want From Me", "Aftermath", "If I Had You" and "Sleepwalker".
  11. Mar 4, 2011
    9
    POSITIVE - Adam Lambert has un-questionably one of the best male voices the world has ever heard, and this is not an over bold statement, this is the truth, he has power, range, his vibrato is stunning and he can hold notes like not many other artists. The overall sound of the album is modern, a mix of glam rock with electronica, gay disco meets rock. Each track is individual and LambertPOSITIVE - Adam Lambert has un-questionably one of the best male voices the world has ever heard, and this is not an over bold statement, this is the truth, he has power, range, his vibrato is stunning and he can hold notes like not many other artists. The overall sound of the album is modern, a mix of glam rock with electronica, gay disco meets rock. Each track is individual and Lambert makes each track as memorable as the last, whether that be through the lyrics, upbeat tempo, powerful rock sounds or simply with his stunning vocals.
    NEGATIVE - It's far to obvious that the album for the most part has been written by other artists (although Lambert has wrote some of the tracks), even if you haven't looked who the writter is, it's usually quite obvious. It almost crosses the line (at times) of sounding like an 'Adam Lambert Sings....' album.
    OVERALL - This album is stunning, Lambert is at the top of his game, not just vocally, but his image was one of the missing links in the pop world. If you want to be either impressed, blown away or simply made to feel great - then this is the album for you. A triumph.
    Expand
  12. Oct 26, 2010
    7
    Some songs i absoloutly dread when i come to them while listening to this album. not naming any names.... *cough* strut *cough*.. but other songs make up this album's weaknesses, and ill be glad to name their names. "For Your Entertainment", "Whataya Want From Me", "If I Had You", and "Fever".
  13. Jan 16, 2011
    7
    An imperfect but solid debut from someone who will hopefully be one of the faces of mainstream pop music for years to come. What the album lacks in originality and cohesiveness, it makes up for by continuously showcasing Lambert's brilliant vocal ability.
  14. Feb 21, 2011
    7
    Really good debut album for major debut singer career of Adam Lambert! All songs is Great and can listen ,dance ,sing and scream without doubt! CHEERS ADAM
  15. Jan 30, 2015
    8
    Throughout the album, Lambert brings a real sense of spectacle to his vocal performances. A brilliant power-pop record. It's just a shame it's a little too obvious which songs were written by Pink, Gaga, Matthew Bellamy and so on.
  16. Dec 8, 2010
    10
    Adam Lambert had an amazing year all because of this album. It is filled with genius lyrics and vocals that have to be the best from any male singer. The range the guy shows on this project is nothing short of spectacular. He hits notes that I did not know even existed. The artists that worked with him on the album, Lady Gaga, Pink, Justin Hawkins, knew he had talent. Adam can do pop, heAdam Lambert had an amazing year all because of this album. It is filled with genius lyrics and vocals that have to be the best from any male singer. The range the guy shows on this project is nothing short of spectacular. He hits notes that I did not know even existed. The artists that worked with him on the album, Lady Gaga, Pink, Justin Hawkins, knew he had talent. Adam can do pop, he can do rock, he can do amazing ballads, he pours emotion into every performance and it pays off very well. This album has been on replay for me since its release and I do not think it can ever get old. "If I Had You", "Sleepwalker", "Fever", and "Whataya Want From Me" are some of the highlights, but the whole album works. Adam will have a long future in music, this debut sets that in stone. Expand
  17. Jun 14, 2011
    8
    Perhaps it is because I saw him live and was drawn in by both his powerful voice and stunning stage presence, but this album isn't as good as it seemed when I first listened to it. Don't get me wrong, it is still really good, but it lacks that punch that is delivered in a live setting. Mostly, Adam is gifted enough to handle the material on the album but there are a few moments that comePerhaps it is because I saw him live and was drawn in by both his powerful voice and stunning stage presence, but this album isn't as good as it seemed when I first listened to it. Don't get me wrong, it is still really good, but it lacks that punch that is delivered in a live setting. Mostly, Adam is gifted enough to handle the material on the album but there are a few moments that come off as odd missteps: "Time for Miracles" feels out of place and "music Again" seems like an odd way to start an album which does not have any more songs like its opener. For the most part, this is an album designed to make the listener want to move. There are some delightful ballads as well, "Sleepwalker" being one of the standouts. It is a good album but songs like "Soaked" and "Whataya Want From Me" sound much better live with that acoustic sound the band employs for them. Expand
  18. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    great album full of good songs like for your entertainment,fever,whataya want from me and there is so much glam rock influence in the album you can tell that by listening to the songs
  19. SkylarZ
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    Love the energy of this cd. It makes you want to move. Adam's voice is so good. The range and power of Adams voice leaves one breathless.
  20. JanetL
    Dec 7, 2009
    9
    Amazing vocals to less than perfect mixing.
  21. KathyK.
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    More good songs on this CD than most. Some of the songs are very clever and catchy...good to dance to. Some are slow and tender. What a nice variety!
  22. ConnieB
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    Wonderful but not as good as it could have been. Next time make sure his voice shines and is not covered up by the background noise, please.
  23. FaytH.
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    Glam rock, a rock genre that's literally extinct before I was born, but now I can proudly named the new succesor of it, Mr. Adam 'G'Lambert. The vocal powerhouse didn't dissapoint in his debut album, cranking up tunes that were done in a basic formula but in a whole new level (better of course). Despite the repetitive nature of this album, it definitely stands out Glam rock, a rock genre that's literally extinct before I was born, but now I can proudly named the new succesor of it, Mr. Adam 'G'Lambert. The vocal powerhouse didn't dissapoint in his debut album, cranking up tunes that were done in a basic formula but in a whole new level (better of course). Despite the repetitive nature of this album, it definitely stands out (also in a good way). With upbeat and infectious songs like 'For Your Entertainment' and 'Fever', ballads like 'Time For Miracles' and 'Whatya Want From Me' that compliments his true vocal arrangement and a suprisingly resemblance with Mika in 'Music Again', this album is hands down the most entertaining album ever from any post-idol album ... period. Expand
  24. WaltC
    Nov 25, 2009
    8
    It is just me or is Adam channeling Freddie Mercury big time here? I like it.
  25. AerynS
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    It's a brilliant album. Addictive, fun and catchy. It spans so many genres of music that it can sit happily in it's own playlist without ever being monotonous. It has it's unique sound that's both nostalgic and new. It's fun and it's touching. And the icing on this triple chocolate cake of an album is Lambert's sublime creamy vocals. The only reason I It's a brilliant album. Addictive, fun and catchy. It spans so many genres of music that it can sit happily in it's own playlist without ever being monotonous. It has it's unique sound that's both nostalgic and new. It's fun and it's touching. And the icing on this triple chocolate cake of an album is Lambert's sublime creamy vocals. The only reason I gave this album a 9, is because I don't think it fair to give any debut album, no matter how good, a 10 - every new artist needs room to grow. Expand
  26. GinaS
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    Adam Lambert's debut album is aptly titled. Rarely do I buy full CDs, as I only like a few tracks as a rule. On FYE, I'm hard pressed to even pick my favorite songs. There are only one or two that I don't love (Time for Miracles doesn't really fit with the vibe of the other songs) Lambert's vocals are incredible, and his dance tunes make great workout songs. This Adam Lambert's debut album is aptly titled. Rarely do I buy full CDs, as I only like a few tracks as a rule. On FYE, I'm hard pressed to even pick my favorite songs. There are only one or two that I don't love (Time for Miracles doesn't really fit with the vibe of the other songs) Lambert's vocals are incredible, and his dance tunes make great workout songs. This is a great album, and I highly recommend it. Expand
  27. BrandonS.
    Dec 23, 2009
    7
    His vocals are superb as one would suspect. However he has a little bit of Mika syndrome here with his tracks chipping off melodies from all sorts of various influences from Radiohead to Queen to Britney Spears. You never feel as though anything outside of the vocals are his. I swear though, once he shakes off the shackles of whatever is keeping him in the box he's gonna be fire.
  28. SharonD
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    It's the first music I've really liked since the 80s. And I've been around a long time (70 years).
  29. Jon
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    An eclectic mix of sounds, ranging from pop, rock, dance, retro glam, etc. Lambert is a musical chameleon here, which is part of why this record is so brilliant. There's something here for everybody, and not many people can pull off such a record with such an amazing voice.
  30. StellaP
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Every song is terrific, this is one helluva great album!
  31. LynnD
    Nov 24, 2009
    9
    This is a fantastic debut collection that shows off Lambert's versatility as an artist. It highlights his amazing vocals as well as the varying sides of his personality. It's all Adam, but like the rest of us, he's not one dimensional. Although some may wish he had picked one style and ran with it, the album's variety is one of its greatest assets. There's This is a fantastic debut collection that shows off Lambert's versatility as an artist. It highlights his amazing vocals as well as the varying sides of his personality. It's all Adam, but like the rest of us, he's not one dimensional. Although some may wish he had picked one style and ran with it, the album's variety is one of its greatest assets. There's something for everyone and every mood. It's one of the few albums that I can honestly say that I like nearly every song. Expand
  32. SarahK
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    My favorite CD in a long time. Definitely entertaining!
  33. MandyW
    Nov 25, 2009
    9
    OK, but everything I was hoping for but wildly good. My guess? The people who Zero the album are people who just hate the guy - who has, nonetheless, enormous vocal talent.
  34. JalexD
    Nov 26, 2009
    0
    I've heard considerably positive things about this record, but after actually giving it a few spins, I can't help but think it's being mostly appreciated by those who have only a superficial knowledge of music at best. This is only 'glam' in the way that image reigns supreme here (FAR supreme over actual musical substance). Neither the music nor lyrics even bother I've heard considerably positive things about this record, but after actually giving it a few spins, I can't help but think it's being mostly appreciated by those who have only a superficial knowledge of music at best. This is only 'glam' in the way that image reigns supreme here (FAR supreme over actual musical substance). Neither the music nor lyrics even bother to be pretentious, instead merely slumping along tune by tune. I will recognize that this isn't commonly covered musical ground these days, but it's nothing short of a cheap disgrace to the names I've seen cited in terms of quality. Expand
  35. doug
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    I love Adam's amazing vocals that's at the core of this eclectic album.. enjoyed all the songs!
  36. NealM
    Nov 28, 2009
    4
    Their are some catchy songs here, but if you see who has contributed to the album in terms of writing the songs, you'll soon find that Adam sounds like a bit of an impersonator. Track one "Music Again" written by Justin Hawkins from the Darkness sees Adam trying to sound like Hawkins. On "Soaked" written by Matt Bellamy, Adam tries so hard to sound like Muse, without success, and so Their are some catchy songs here, but if you see who has contributed to the album in terms of writing the songs, you'll soon find that Adam sounds like a bit of an impersonator. Track one "Music Again" written by Justin Hawkins from the Darkness sees Adam trying to sound like Hawkins. On "Soaked" written by Matt Bellamy, Adam tries so hard to sound like Muse, without success, and so it continues through the album. As far as the AMA affair, I think that Adam needs to realize that being controversial is not always a good thing. Who cares if he is gay, but most people don't want to watch him kissing men, and he was definitely over confident from his Idol experience, because his performance and singing was awful. Adam's instant success has gotten to his head and maybe he needs to complete his apprenticeship first, just like normal artists do, before he stretches the boundaries. Expand
  37. Colleen
    Dec 1, 2009
    9
    I wish "Mad World" had been included on this CD. Although I like it, I would've liked something along that line that was less "produced" and more just Adam's amazing vocals featured. (This is why I gave this CD a 9 rather than a 10).
  38. AnzalF.
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    It was extraordinary for his first album. Usually ppl in their first albums have only two or three good songs. It was different and shame on the people who aren't ready to accept different bit you soon will you learnt to accept lady gaga...it's a matter of time you do Adam!!!!
  39. AlexandriaH
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    The album feels like a playlist, a song for every mood, and it works wonderfully. His soaring vocals and the blend of rock, pop, electronic, and glam elements makes "For Your Entertainment" really fun.
  40. jordanh
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    This is a highly eclectic collection of sounds, rhythms and off the wall vocals that only an artist with the creativity and talent of adam lambert could produce. i applaud his versatility; as well as the artistic and vocal sensibility to be able to elicit the full gamut of emotions from the listener.
  41. AFan
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    Incredible debut. Eclectic and fun and emotive all at once, representative of the artist Adam really is. A good indication of even better things to come on future albums. I've been off music for some time now since there seems to be less and less real musical and vocal ability in the charts. Cliché as it may sound, this album honestly makes me want to listen to music again!
  42. PiaE
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    I was leaning towards a 9, but since several people have given it a 0, which I don't think anybody deserves, I feel inclined to give it a 10. It really is a great CD. Who cares if it isn't cohesive, I like to listen to great songs, and this CD has many. I absolutely loooveee Sleepwalker, Soaked, and Fever, and I don't dislike any of the songs. Great debut CD!
  43. RoseJ.
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    I love every song on Adam's album. It is so refreshing to listen to an album that includes a little bit of everything. Adam's vocals are outstanding. I cannot stop listening to it everyday. Way to go Adam you did not disappoint your fans. I Love Adam Lambert!
  44. chrish
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    Seems like this rating cherry-picked every negative comment from each review while ignoring the good ones. Adam did a fine job on this album- It is the music he enjoys. His vocals are excellent as usual- the songs are eclectic as he promised- something for everyone. Would like to hear more of that glorious voice- don't hide it in the music Adam.
  45. CookieS
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    This is the first CD I have ever purchased that I like every song. I think Adam is right on when he said we are in an itunes-playlist era when people purchase singles rather than albums, so he wanted to create a variety of genres on the album. A variety platter, is what he called it. Some critics dont get that point. There are a number of top then hits on this album....that's exciting.
  46. SinanA
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    It's a fantastic album, channeling good ol' 70s rock, queen, and even scissor sisters! Honestly it's such an enjoyable album to listen to.
  47. LindaD
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    I love about half the songs and really like the rest. There a song for whatever mood you're in. Today, I can't get F-f-f-fever out of my head!
  48. Jenn
    Dec 7, 2009
    6
    This album is alright, but I feel like Adam individuality got lost in a lot of the songs. For instance, for the first half of the title track, "For Your Entertainment", I probably wouldn't have recognized it was Adam if no one told me it was his song. Adam has great vocals, so I don't know why the producers decided to mess with them so much. It's also disappointing that This album is alright, but I feel like Adam individuality got lost in a lot of the songs. For instance, for the first half of the title track, "For Your Entertainment", I probably wouldn't have recognized it was Adam if no one told me it was his song. Adam has great vocals, so I don't know why the producers decided to mess with them so much. It's also disappointing that Adam wrote on so few of the tracks. I'd prefer if he wrote more of his own material instead of singing rejects from Pink, Lady Gaga, and Muse. Hopefully, he'll get more creative control on his second album. Expand
  49. MattyH.
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Adam Lambert has released the most diverse record from an "Idol"-alum. From dance tracks like "If I Had U" to ballads like "Sleepwalker", all the songs are great. There's not a single skip.
  50. Dawn
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    *Love* this album. I've noticed that critics pick and choose different songs that they favor. Obviously, Adam got something right in creating the mix - something for everyone, and it differs from person to person.
  51. NathanC
    Nov 24, 2009
    6
    Over-produced, this guy can sing, he sure can. I watched this season of AI (my first one), cause of him, he was that good. Still It's like the songs are about to be good... but they fall short. Glam-pop, but at the end is that, superficial pop. Expected more, too bad.
  52. Denise
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    Can't stop playing this album. Every track is terrific!
  53. Melissa
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    Love this cd. Every day I get up humming a different song. There is a song for every mood and Adam's voice shines through beautifully.
  54. ShariE
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    It would be impossible for me to actually choose which song I like best on this album. Adam has done an amazing job, delivering exactly what he promised... it makes me want to dance, and cry, and sway, and laugh and smile... it just envokes every emotion. And his voice is so amazing. My score? Perfect.
  55. DebbieA
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    I'm already an Adam fan, even after the controversial AMA conference, love this album, good dance music, some nice ballads, good to work out to, not all tracks show off what he does best, but enough do, was worth the wait, I found it grows on you as you listen more.
  56. MelissaM
    Nov 24, 2009
    7
    Doesn't showcase his personality or strengths as well as I had hoped but it is playful and there are a few good songs.
  57. NN
    Nov 24, 2009
    9
    I reserve a 10 for the classics, but having been profoundly disappointed in past Idol debuts, I also give an extra point over 8 for Lambert's heroically managing to surmount the Idol machine's relentless rush-to-market and watering-down-for-the-mainstream, neither of which are visible in the results. Some tracks are weaker, but none are an automatic skip (except possibly I reserve a 10 for the classics, but having been profoundly disappointed in past Idol debuts, I also give an extra point over 8 for Lambert's heroically managing to surmount the Idol machine's relentless rush-to-market and watering-down-for-the-mainstream, neither of which are visible in the results. Some tracks are weaker, but none are an automatic skip (except possibly Aftermath, which belongs on one of those other aforementioned Idol soft-rock debuts) and the variety in pacing and style makes the album as a whole a satisfying listen. Expand
  58. Michelle
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    It is rare for me to buy a whole album and when this one came online to stream, I played it. And played it. And played it again. I found I there wasn't one that I would skip (except for Time for Miracles sometimes). I love the bonus tracks Master Plan and Down the Rabbit Hole, too. They should have been on the album instead of Miracles.
  59. vicw
    Nov 25, 2009
    9
    I love every song on the album ! They run through my head when I am simply going through my daily routine. I can't wait to see him sing them live. He is incredible.
  60. SylviaM.
    Nov 25, 2009
    10
    I listened to Adams album and it is great! I think people are judging him for his AMA performance. He is new and refreshing and those people who continue to listen to the same old stuff by all means stay that way. Adam is refreshing and is great. This is a new era and he is part of that new era. I Love Adam Lambert! Creative and Artistic in every way.
  61. MeganP
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    I think "For Your Entertainment" is truly amazing. I absolutely love 12 of the 14 songs on the album, and still like the other two. In my opinion, he is one of the greatest musical talents in the world today.
  62. LindaS
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    Looks like Elvis...sings like Freddie Mercury. Can't get much better than that. The Album is great and he always surprises!
  63. RockyM
    Nov 27, 2009
    10
    It's obvious there are Adam haters here giving a score of 0 because they want to bring Adam's ratings down. They probably didn't even listen to the album because anyone who cannot appreciate the gorgeous vocals on Soaked or Broken Open, or the bridge on Pick U Up must be deaf. As you can see from the music critics, the reviews are generally positive. Billboard estimates his It's obvious there are Adam haters here giving a score of 0 because they want to bring Adam's ratings down. They probably didn't even listen to the album because anyone who cannot appreciate the gorgeous vocals on Soaked or Broken Open, or the bridge on Pick U Up must be deaf. As you can see from the music critics, the reviews are generally positive. Billboard estimates his first week sales to be at LEAST 225K, which is almost triple Kris's final numbers of 80K. So haters, take that! Expand
  64. SamM
    Nov 27, 2009
    9
    Adam is one who could entertain the masses with his talent and variety. He is electrifying and we all love him.
  65. sm
    Nov 27, 2009
    0
    This guy represents everything wrong with today's society. A total dirtbag that contributes nothing good to society. This moron, like other idol contestants, has done nothing to earn his so called fame. At least the other winners have some semblance of gratitude. This moron is about as vain and arrogant as they come.
  66. KayD
    Nov 28, 2009
    9
    I really am pleasantly surprised about how well this album bears up to repeat listening. Music Again, Fever, Loaded Smile and Broken Open are my favs. Looking forward to Adam's next album when he will have more time to take it up a notch.
  67. PaulF
    Nov 30, 2009
    10
    I agree that Adam's performannce at the AMA's was controversial (massive understatement), but that doesn't change the fact that Adam is an extremely talented singer, I mean how many singers do you know that can hit the note he did on Music Again? Great album, better singer.
  68. NickF
    Nov 30, 2009
    8
    This is a solid and catchy debut. Exactly what I wanted from Adam. I hope he has a solid career...love the guy!! And love that voice!
  69. KatieG
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    Simply Amazing! Vocals out of this World!! Adam Lambert is a breath of fresh air! There is something on this CD for everyone!! Love Love Love it...So sexy!
  70. CarronL
    Dec 1, 2009
    9
    This CD is like a Playlist! It has something for everyone! it has you dancing at times, then swooning at other times, then rocking out...only critique is, too little wailing!
  71. BjoF
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    Brilliant clear futuristic vocals. An instant classic that rewards multiple listens and seems to have something for every mood.
  72. LisaB.
    Dec 13, 2009
    10
    Loved every single song save 1, Aftermath. I cannot say I have ever found an album that came anywhere near the love I have for this one. If you like pop/dance/glam/rock this is the album for you. And find a better song for standing alone, at the edge of the world, on a grey, cool, drizzle filled day, staring from the cliff over open water, than Broken Open.
  73. MelK.
    Dec 15, 2009
    10
    For Your Entertainment is a wonderfully eclectic album that showcases several different facets of Adam Lambert's amazing voice. I'm actually hard pressed to name a favorite, each track has something to get excited about. And after playing the CD on a high quality sound system rather than just my iPod, I think that there are some fascinating layers to both the production and For Your Entertainment is a wonderfully eclectic album that showcases several different facets of Adam Lambert's amazing voice. I'm actually hard pressed to name a favorite, each track has something to get excited about. And after playing the CD on a high quality sound system rather than just my iPod, I think that there are some fascinating layers to both the production and vocals on this material that especially with quality audio keep you discovering new things even after many listens. Expand
  74. CarolM.
    Dec 18, 2009
    10
    I love every song on this CD! I can't wait for Adam's next CD! He really made me wanna listen to 'Music Again'! (Great first song for the CD!).
  75. LynnT
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    I love all the songs and that it is such an eclectic mix, like a playlist.
  76. Jill
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    Best album I've heard in years! He rocks my world!!
  77. ChristyC
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    Love, love, love this CD! It's the 1st CD in years that I absolutely cannot stop listening to. Every song on it could be a hit. Adam's got huge charisma, killer vocals, and an infectious swagger. I was skeptical when I bought it, but now I am convinced that Adam is a major talent and is here to stay.
  78. LisaM
    Dec 6, 2009
    10
    This is the best album I have heard in years. Every song is different than the others, but yet they all go together. Adam has a beautiful voice that pulls the whole album together. I would recomend the i-tunes deluxe with the bonus tracks. The bonus tracks are as good or better than many of the songs on the album. I love every song. When is the last time you said that about a CD?
  79. HannahT
    Dec 8, 2009
    10
    Amazing!!! I loved him on Idol and I couldnt wait for his album and it did not disppoint! I either love or really like every song and there is a song for every moood. Right now, my favorites are Fever and Sleepwalker but its always changing! For the people that arent sure, go get it! Its worth it. And if you dont want to pay extra for the bonus tracks (Down the Rabbit Hole and Master Amazing!!! I loved him on Idol and I couldnt wait for his album and it did not disppoint! I either love or really like every song and there is a song for every moood. Right now, my favorites are Fever and Sleepwalker but its always changing! For the people that arent sure, go get it! Its worth it. And if you dont want to pay extra for the bonus tracks (Down the Rabbit Hole and Master Plan) too bad, you're missing out on two great songs! First time in over an year Ive actually gone out and bought a CD, and it was totally worth the money. Expand
  80. Mikes
    Nov 23, 2009
    0
    Awful!!! I hope this "guy" just disappears!
  81. SkylarC
    Nov 23, 2009
    9
    I love this cd. Great dance tunes, beautiful ballads.
  82. ladD
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Great. Something for everyone.
  83. ReneeG
    Nov 23, 2009
    9
    For Adam Lambert's first album, done in just 2 short months, "For Your Entertainment" is refreshing, fun, and definitely entertaining. He does beautifully on the ballads where he showcases that beautiful voice that had people saying, "He can sing his face off!" My favorite tracks are: Whataya Want From Me; Strut; Soaked; Sure Fire Winners; Broken Open and Time For Miracles. Overall, For Adam Lambert's first album, done in just 2 short months, "For Your Entertainment" is refreshing, fun, and definitely entertaining. He does beautifully on the ballads where he showcases that beautiful voice that had people saying, "He can sing his face off!" My favorite tracks are: Whataya Want From Me; Strut; Soaked; Sure Fire Winners; Broken Open and Time For Miracles. Overall, definitely a thumbs up! Expand
  84. JamesD.
    Nov 23, 2009
    0
    Just a noisy mess, in which Adam does not sound like himself at all. It's an amateurish, almost pre-schoolish attempt at electropop.
  85. KarenD
    Nov 23, 2009
    9
    Love Love Love this CD ... I'd give it a 10 if some of the instruments were toned down a notch and Adam's amazing vocals were turned up a notch.
  86. CelleT
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    I thoroughly enjoyed this cd. It shows so much variety and is so colorful and fun! There's always a track for somebody (unless you're homophobic and won't touch his cd or you're deaf and can't hear)! My personal favorites are: Strut, Music Again, Broken Open, Fever, and For Your Entertainment from the regular downloads, and I personally love Down The Rabbit Hole I thoroughly enjoyed this cd. It shows so much variety and is so colorful and fun! There's always a track for somebody (unless you're homophobic and won't touch his cd or you're deaf and can't hear)! My personal favorites are: Strut, Music Again, Broken Open, Fever, and For Your Entertainment from the regular downloads, and I personally love Down The Rabbit Hole from the bonus tracks. The bonus tracks from iTunes? Totally worth it! Best album I've heard in a while. He has such a powerful voice! Expand
  87. SiM
    Nov 24, 2009
    0
    It's not necessarily as bad as a 0, but all these 10s are ridiculous, and i feel the need to balance it Something for everyone? Really? And as for being eclectic, i don't think there is anything on this album you can't call pop.
  88. RachelL
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    Fabulous vocals and a great collection of sounds from varying genres. Love it :)
  89. JalyaM
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    Eclectic and interesting. There are songs on here that appeal to my 72 year old mother and my 14 year old daughter, as well as myself. Definitely worth buying.
  90. SylviaJ
    Nov 25, 2009
    9
    I enjoy all the songs...it's what I love about Adam - a wide range, great vocals and fun.
  91. RJG
    Nov 26, 2009
    7
    Retro-80's glam pop rock that tries too hard to deliver at all levels. Adam's in fine tune, but his willingness to change his voice like a chameleon makes his persona unrecognizable. If you think you're buying the Adam Lambert you saw on American Idol, think again. He sounds nothing like you heard on AI, and if you didn't know it was his name on the CD, you'd have Retro-80's glam pop rock that tries too hard to deliver at all levels. Adam's in fine tune, but his willingness to change his voice like a chameleon makes his persona unrecognizable. If you think you're buying the Adam Lambert you saw on American Idol, think again. He sounds nothing like you heard on AI, and if you didn't know it was his name on the CD, you'd have trouble guessing who it was. Overwrought, overproduced, with heavy instrumentation, Adam's first effort sounds more like an 80's rock band than a solo artist. All that said, there's a few hit songs on the CD that make it worth a spin or two. Expand
  92. LibertyBell
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    I started to listen to music again, thanks to this album! Glad there is different types of music sounds and enjoy all the cuts. Favorite is Strut.
  93. MikeT
    Dec 14, 2009
    10
    This is a amzing showcase of talent! The vocals are on point, the arrangements and lyrics of the songs are great, and the music is just fun and easy to listen to! There is something for everyone too! Great ballads, fun dance songs, a lot of 70s inspired rock, I mean it is just a great CD! can not really point out any flaws! Prob one of the most original, complete, daring idol CD to This is a amzing showcase of talent! The vocals are on point, the arrangements and lyrics of the songs are great, and the music is just fun and easy to listen to! There is something for everyone too! Great ballads, fun dance songs, a lot of 70s inspired rock, I mean it is just a great CD! can not really point out any flaws! Prob one of the most original, complete, daring idol CD to date!!! And it is such a breath of fresh air to have something to finally be different than what is out there today! Expand
  94. Nov 19, 2010
    0
    This is a guy that screeches in every song. Every song is a cast off from a real artist's trash bin. Don't waste your money on this cd. Its just a novelty like William Hung's.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. The songs sound great but feel strangely stuffy--Entertainment seems like a disc that was overthought.
  2. Lambert sounds larger than life on these, just like he wants to be, and if there’s no sense of danger here, at least there’s a lot of pure pop pleasure here, more than any immediate post-Idol album has ever delivered.
  3. Lambert’s ambition and undeniable vocal chops make it easy to forgive an occasionally over-reaching record that ultimately feels like a rough draft for an interesting career.