For Your Entertainment

  • Record Label: 19/RCA
  • Release Date: Nov 23, 2009
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 197 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 18 out of 197

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. GinaS
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    Adam Lambert's debut album is aptly titled. Rarely do I buy full CDs, as I only like a few tracks as a rule. On FYE, I'm hard pressed to even pick my favorite songs. There are only one or two that I don't love (Time for Miracles doesn't really fit with the vibe of the other songs) Lambert's vocals are incredible, and his dance tunes make great workout songs. This Adam Lambert's debut album is aptly titled. Rarely do I buy full CDs, as I only like a few tracks as a rule. On FYE, I'm hard pressed to even pick my favorite songs. There are only one or two that I don't love (Time for Miracles doesn't really fit with the vibe of the other songs) Lambert's vocals are incredible, and his dance tunes make great workout songs. This is a great album, and I highly recommend it. Expand
  2. SkylarZ
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    Love the energy of this cd. It makes you want to move. Adam's voice is so good. The range and power of Adams voice leaves one breathless.
  3. FaytH.
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    Glam rock, a rock genre that's literally extinct before I was born, but now I can proudly named the new succesor of it, Mr. Adam 'G'Lambert. The vocal powerhouse didn't dissapoint in his debut album, cranking up tunes that were done in a basic formula but in a whole new level (better of course). Despite the repetitive nature of this album, it definitely stands out Glam rock, a rock genre that's literally extinct before I was born, but now I can proudly named the new succesor of it, Mr. Adam 'G'Lambert. The vocal powerhouse didn't dissapoint in his debut album, cranking up tunes that were done in a basic formula but in a whole new level (better of course). Despite the repetitive nature of this album, it definitely stands out (also in a good way). With upbeat and infectious songs like 'For Your Entertainment' and 'Fever', ballads like 'Time For Miracles' and 'Whatya Want From Me' that compliments his true vocal arrangement and a suprisingly resemblance with Mika in 'Music Again', this album is hands down the most entertaining album ever from any post-idol album ... period. Expand
  4. AerynS
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    It's a brilliant album. Addictive, fun and catchy. It spans so many genres of music that it can sit happily in it's own playlist without ever being monotonous. It has it's unique sound that's both nostalgic and new. It's fun and it's touching. And the icing on this triple chocolate cake of an album is Lambert's sublime creamy vocals. The only reason I It's a brilliant album. Addictive, fun and catchy. It spans so many genres of music that it can sit happily in it's own playlist without ever being monotonous. It has it's unique sound that's both nostalgic and new. It's fun and it's touching. And the icing on this triple chocolate cake of an album is Lambert's sublime creamy vocals. The only reason I gave this album a 9, is because I don't think it fair to give any debut album, no matter how good, a 10 - every new artist needs room to grow. Expand
  5. MattyH.
    Dec 7, 2009
    10
    Adam Lambert has released the most diverse record from an "Idol"-alum. From dance tracks like "If I Had U" to ballads like "Sleepwalker", all the songs are great. There's not a single skip.
  6. Feb 21, 2011
    7
    Really good debut album for major debut singer career of Adam Lambert! All songs is Great and can listen ,dance ,sing and scream without doubt! CHEERS ADAM
  7. May 28, 2012
    8
    Great Choice Of Singles
    Great Voice
    Great Debut Album
  8. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    great album full of good songs like for your entertainment,fever,whataya want from me and there is so much glam rock influence in the album you can tell that by listening to the songs
  9. JanetL
    Dec 7, 2009
    9
    Amazing vocals to less than perfect mixing.
  10. KathyK.
    Jan 1, 2010
    10
    More good songs on this CD than most. Some of the songs are very clever and catchy...good to dance to. Some are slow and tender. What a nice variety!
  11. ConnieB
    Jan 7, 2010
    9
    Wonderful but not as good as it could have been. Next time make sure his voice shines and is not covered up by the background noise, please.
  12. WaltC
    Nov 25, 2009
    8
    It is just me or is Adam channeling Freddie Mercury big time here? I like it.
  13. BrandonS.
    Dec 23, 2009
    7
    His vocals are superb as one would suspect. However he has a little bit of Mika syndrome here with his tracks chipping off melodies from all sorts of various influences from Radiohead to Queen to Britney Spears. You never feel as though anything outside of the vocals are his. I swear though, once he shakes off the shackles of whatever is keeping him in the box he's gonna be fire.
  14. SharonD
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    It's the first music I've really liked since the 80s. And I've been around a long time (70 years).
  15. Jon
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    An eclectic mix of sounds, ranging from pop, rock, dance, retro glam, etc. Lambert is a musical chameleon here, which is part of why this record is so brilliant. There's something here for everybody, and not many people can pull off such a record with such an amazing voice.
  16. StellaP
    Nov 23, 2009
    10
    Every song is terrific, this is one helluva great album!
  17. LynnD
    Nov 24, 2009
    9
    This is a fantastic debut collection that shows off Lambert's versatility as an artist. It highlights his amazing vocals as well as the varying sides of his personality. It's all Adam, but like the rest of us, he's not one dimensional. Although some may wish he had picked one style and ran with it, the album's variety is one of its greatest assets. There's This is a fantastic debut collection that shows off Lambert's versatility as an artist. It highlights his amazing vocals as well as the varying sides of his personality. It's all Adam, but like the rest of us, he's not one dimensional. Although some may wish he had picked one style and ran with it, the album's variety is one of its greatest assets. There's something for everyone and every mood. It's one of the few albums that I can honestly say that I like nearly every song. Expand
  18. SarahK
    Nov 24, 2009
    10
    My favorite CD in a long time. Definitely entertaining!
  19. MandyW
    Nov 25, 2009
    9
    OK, but everything I was hoping for but wildly good. My guess? The people who Zero the album are people who just hate the guy - who has, nonetheless, enormous vocal talent.
  20. doug
    Nov 26, 2009
    10
    I love Adam's amazing vocals that's at the core of this eclectic album.. enjoyed all the songs!
  21. Colleen
    Dec 1, 2009
    9
    I wish "Mad World" had been included on this CD. Although I like it, I would've liked something along that line that was less "produced" and more just Adam's amazing vocals featured. (This is why I gave this CD a 9 rather than a 10).
  22. AnzalF.
    Dec 11, 2009
    10
    It was extraordinary for his first album. Usually ppl in their first albums have only two or three good songs. It was different and shame on the people who aren't ready to accept different bit you soon will you learnt to accept lady gaga...it's a matter of time you do Adam!!!!
  23. AlexandriaH
    Dec 1, 2009
    10
    The album feels like a playlist, a song for every mood, and it works wonderfully. His soaring vocals and the blend of rock, pop, electronic, and glam elements makes "For Your Entertainment" really fun.
  24. jordanh
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    This is a highly eclectic collection of sounds, rhythms and off the wall vocals that only an artist with the creativity and talent of adam lambert could produce. i applaud his versatility; as well as the artistic and vocal sensibility to be able to elicit the full gamut of emotions from the listener.
  25. AFan
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    Incredible debut. Eclectic and fun and emotive all at once, representative of the artist Adam really is. A good indication of even better things to come on future albums. I've been off music for some time now since there seems to be less and less real musical and vocal ability in the charts. Cliché as it may sound, this album honestly makes me want to listen to music again!
  26. PiaE
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    I was leaning towards a 9, but since several people have given it a 0, which I don't think anybody deserves, I feel inclined to give it a 10. It really is a great CD. Who cares if it isn't cohesive, I like to listen to great songs, and this CD has many. I absolutely loooveee Sleepwalker, Soaked, and Fever, and I don't dislike any of the songs. Great debut CD!
  27. RoseJ.
    Dec 2, 2009
    10
    I love every song on Adam's album. It is so refreshing to listen to an album that includes a little bit of everything. Adam's vocals are outstanding. I cannot stop listening to it everyday. Way to go Adam you did not disappoint your fans. I Love Adam Lambert!
  28. chrish
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    Seems like this rating cherry-picked every negative comment from each review while ignoring the good ones. Adam did a fine job on this album- It is the music he enjoys. His vocals are excellent as usual- the songs are eclectic as he promised- something for everyone. Would like to hear more of that glorious voice- don't hide it in the music Adam.
  29. CookieS
    Dec 2, 2009
    9
    This is the first CD I have ever purchased that I like every song. I think Adam is right on when he said we are in an itunes-playlist era when people purchase singles rather than albums, so he wanted to create a variety of genres on the album. A variety platter, is what he called it. Some critics dont get that point. There are a number of top then hits on this album....that's exciting.
  30. SinanA
    Dec 4, 2009
    10
    It's a fantastic album, channeling good ol' 70s rock, queen, and even scissor sisters! Honestly it's such an enjoyable album to listen to.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 10
  2. Negative: 0 out of 10
  1. The songs sound great but feel strangely stuffy--Entertainment seems like a disc that was overthought.
  2. Lambert sounds larger than life on these, just like he wants to be, and if there’s no sense of danger here, at least there’s a lot of pure pop pleasure here, more than any immediate post-Idol album has ever delivered.
  3. Lambert’s ambition and undeniable vocal chops make it easy to forgive an occasionally over-reaching record that ultimately feels like a rough draft for an interesting career.