Foreverly

  • Record Label: Reprise
  • Release Date: Nov 25, 2013
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
Buy On
  1. Dec 10, 2013
    60
    Die-hard fans, maybe, but for most, this will be a pleasant, faithful collection of covers. It will sound nice, but for the non die-hards, it will come, leave a good impression, then fade into the background soon after the disc stops spinning.
  2. Uncut
    Feb 3, 2014
    60
    Ultimately you're left frustrated by the safety first approach. [Mar 2014, p.71]
  3. Q Magazine
    Jan 28, 2014
    60
    Not oversold, sensitively handled and direct, consider the tribute a success. [Feb 2014, p.112]
  4. Mojo
    Dec 18, 2013
    60
    It's a meandering but heartfelt collection. [Jan 2014, p.97]
  5. 40
    Mediocre on every count, the resulting set of tracks won’t change anyone’s mind about any of the artists involved (that’s presuming it won’t make you like the Everlys less), but as a fleeting curiosity, it’s precisely what it says it is--with little imagination to spare.
  6. Nov 25, 2013
    60
    Billie Joe and Norah’s frolic into the Everlys’ back-catalogue makes a rewarding listen and serves its purpose mighty well: to retell an old American classic that deserves re-telling.
  7. Nov 25, 2013
    60
    While hardly a move into brave new musical pastures, it's not without charm and the use of a female voice puts just enough distance between this and the original.
  8. Classic Rock Magazine
    Jan 2, 2014
    60
    This odd, understated record is both strange and affecting. [Feb 2014, p.94]
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 27 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 3 out of 3
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 3
  3. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Sep 26, 2014
    9
    One would think that the collaboration of Green Day frontman Billie Joe Armstrong and queen of pop jazz Norah Jones would fall apart underOne would think that the collaboration of Green Day frontman Billie Joe Armstrong and queen of pop jazz Norah Jones would fall apart under their vastly different ouvres. However, the first-time listener (and thirtieth-time, for that matter) will be surprised at the impeccable balance this album finds in quiet, understated harmony. There is no showboating, no pretense, only two musicians recreating an album they love. Do not listen to this album for Billie Joe Armstrong of Green Day or Norah Jones, listen to it for Billie Joe and Norah.

    Favorite song: "Silver-Haired Daddy of Mine". Shivers, all I can say.
    Full Review »
  2. Nov 28, 2013
    10
    I love this, just the raw sound of it, especially Barbara Allen. I really love Billie Joe's voice, think he has one of the best voices outI love this, just the raw sound of it, especially Barbara Allen. I really love Billie Joe's voice, think he has one of the best voices out there, and have thought so since that September Ends song way back when. Not sure if people have liked him for his voice before, but it doesn't matter. He has a great one, and same goes, obviously, for Norah. On this, their harmonies sound so much like the GREAT Everlys it makes the hair on the back of my neck prickle.

    I hope people take note of this record, especially if it introduces them to the Everly Brothers for the first time. They were part of the glorious soundtrack of my youth, and sounded so great on Top 40 AM radio.
    Full Review »