Forget The Night Ahead - The Twilight Sad

Generally favorable reviews - based on 18 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 11 out of 18
  2. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. It’s the vividness of the lyrical themes and rich, poetic words that ultimately carries the record over, but unfortunately so much attention is paid to crafting the perfect setting for Graham’s brooding lyrics that they all too often become lost, a nuisance among an overly eager wall of sound.
  2. Having set ridiculously high standards in the past both on record and in the flesh, Forget The Night Ahead hovers above the line marked average rather than the higher echelons of greatness its creators undoubtedly strove to achieve.
  3. I remember listening to the new songs and really enjoying them, but wishing the sound wasn’t so thick and muddy sounding. It’s a production problem that plagues this album all over.
  4. With follow-up Forget the Night Ahead, Graham takes his cryptic musings into a pitch-black place, but he still connects enough to make all the fraught drama worthwhile.
  5. The delicacy and epic sweep of the Twilight Sad's first album is missed occasionally on Forget the Night Ahead, but the progress they've made is fascinating--and rewarding--to hear.
  6. The acoustic slide guitar that opened "Fourteen Autumns" could have broken up some of this monotony. But it’s powerful monotony. It begs you to listen to it.
  7. Forget The Night Ahead is the reassertion of The Twilight Sad's brutal art. But reassertion can so easily slide into repetition, as is occasionally the case here.
  8. The tempestuous atmosphere is too imposing not to impress; and yet, this isn't an entirely satisfactory album.
  9. 50
    Moments of transcendence occasionally emerge from the murk, but not often enough.
  10. Forget the Night Ahead is a resoundingly superb follow-up to that same 2007 album.
  11. The Twilight Sad’s second proper album is an encouraging step in the wrong direction. Perhaps the sensory overload of these recordings will encourage a more conservative route in the future.
  12. It’s a different darkness this time out from the Twilight Sad, but eventually you still find yourself missing the light.
  13. The Forget tracks “I Became A Prostitute,” “Seven Years Of Letters,” and “The Neighbours Can’t Breathe” show a band capable of muscling up without losing a fascination with fragile, fleeting moments.
  14. Despite some genuinely striking imagery, Forget The Night Ahead can't help but feel like a disappointment after the band's thrilling debut. [Fall 2009, p.67]
  15. 80
    A darker set altogether, through more direct than its predecessor, Forget The Night Ahead manages to marry both crushing noise and sparse elegance. [Nov 2009, p.100]
  16. 60
    Their heart is evident; they need to find their voice. [Oct 2009, p.115]
  17. Compellingly bleak is a tough mood to sustain, however, and tracks sucj as 'Interrupted' edge them toward generic stadium territory. [Nov 2009, p.112]
  18. 70
    Forget The Night Ahead is far from a paint-by-numbers Twilight Sad effort. [Fall 2009, p.100]

There are no user reviews yet.