Fortune - Chris Brown

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Jun 28, 2012
    Fortune is the kind of record that will please Brown's many deluded female fans, but we cannot with good conscience give it a single star.
  2. Aug 27, 2012
    Fortune is another overload of poor decisions.
  3. Jul 10, 2012
    Not all of Fortune is so unctuous, but none of it is inspired.
User Score

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 118 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 42
  2. Negative: 21 out of 42
  1. Jul 3, 2012
    Yet again, critics pick on Chris Brown because of his personal drama. This is a surprisingly good album with a nice blend of R&B, pop, hip hop, and dance. I recommend checking it out. Full Review »
  2. Aug 1, 2012
    I found this collection of noise (I won't give it the courtesy of even being called an album) generally unpleasant. The first time you hear it, some of the songs are catchy, I'll give Brown that. However, after listening to it a second, third, or fourth time, you realize you've wasted your time trying to convince your ears that this was even worth listening to. If the songs aren't about sex, they're about how great his life is compared to his haters (which he doesn't even have, might I add); it's just shallow. The only song I found even CLOSE to being written and not just calculated was "Don't Judge Me". Even that song, however, turned me off, being that it's an obvious plea to the listener to forgive what he's done, which honestly, comes off as arrogant in my opinion. Don't ASK for forgiveness; you'll get it as society sees fit. As many reviews have already said, the collection of noise wasn't "written" per se, but rather "computed, calculated, and formulated". It's as if he listened to the radio for hours on end and decided to try and recreate it, which he ultimately failed in doing. The collection is sure to please his blind fans, but to anyone with an ear for good music, this is a piece of garbage. It's simply not worth your time to even consider purchasing this catastrophe. Full Review »
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    Chris Brown's Fortune album is destined to be deemed as a Pop confection and a cacophony of sexual lyrics and sounds. But, this is entirely incorrect. It is, again, an underrated album. Chris Brown's newest studio album shows his journey as an artist, both musically and creatively in the entire saga of Fortune - in art, as a music video director and entertainer. With songs like "2012", "Biggest Fan" and "Sweet Love", he sets the tone for the night in romantic, sweet and sometimes super sexual evenings with his Boo. "Don't Judge Me" and "4 Years Old" look back onto the past and reveal his real emotions about past relationships and possible concerns about the speed at which his career has taken off, reminiscing friend Tyga's "Moving 2 Fast". "Party Hard", "Bassline" and "Biggest Fan" are the most single ready of the yet to be released tracks on the album. "Party Hard" is a song about that girl who you are interested in, but can never get the moment to show how you feel about her, it's total infatuation. After "Party Hard", there is a short interlude which features Chris' favorite female artist, Se7en, called "Cadillac" where Chris and Se7en sing acapella. "Bassline" is an exemplary example of a real music artist using dubstep the correct way - in which many Pop artists have simply jumped onto a dubstep track to try and be on the current trend. Kudos to Breezy for creating a song representative of the actual genre and being creative as well. "Mirage" and "Til' I Die" are two songs for the Hip Hop crowd, with "Mirage" featuring Hip Hop legend Nas and the latter featuring hot rappers Big Sean and Wiz Khalifa. Of course, "Strip", one of Brown's most successful R&B jams to date is on the middle of the album, featuring label mate (CBE) and mentee Kevin McCall. "Turn Up The Music", one of his biggest Pop / Dance songs to date, "Don't Wake Me Up" and "Trumpet Lights" are the Eurodance tracks Chris has become known for the past few years. They feature futuristic sounds, big bass and winding lyrics to get fans and non-fans on the dance floor. "Trumpet Lights" is the most adventurous and unique track on the album, with the sounds of Eurodance, Salsa and Dubstep rolled into one of Fortune's best tracks. It also features new CBE Signee Sabrina Antoinette. Fortune shows a lot of growth creatively both in and out of the studio. It is a surefire hit for #TeamBreezy and should win over new fans and people interested in R&B, Pop or Dubstep. Chris has a lot of jams, no matter which genre you're interested in - and they are all very well produced, written and performed on Fortune. This album shows how he has grown since F.A.M.E. was released in March 2011. I recommend you purchase this album, and even splurge on the deluxe edition, where there is sure to be more "A" grade R&B, Pop and Dubstep to fill your home, car or iPod with this summer! Full Review »