• Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jul 3, 2012
User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 134 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 41 out of 134
  2. Negative: 82 out of 134

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Dec 3, 2012
    0
    Terrible, autotuned, electronical, pop music with a dose of oversized ego, no wonder why no one likes him. "Your music is bad and you should feel bad" -Dr Zoidberg and any sane person
  2. Aug 1, 2012
    1
    I found this collection of noise (I won't give it the courtesy of even being called an album) generally unpleasant. The first time you hear it, some of the songs are catchy, I'll give Brown that. However, after listening to it a second, third, or fourth time, you realize you've wasted your time trying to convince your ears that this was even worth listening to. If the songs aren't aboutI found this collection of noise (I won't give it the courtesy of even being called an album) generally unpleasant. The first time you hear it, some of the songs are catchy, I'll give Brown that. However, after listening to it a second, third, or fourth time, you realize you've wasted your time trying to convince your ears that this was even worth listening to. If the songs aren't about sex, they're about how great his life is compared to his haters (which he doesn't even have, might I add); it's just shallow. The only song I found even CLOSE to being written and not just calculated was "Don't Judge Me". Even that song, however, turned me off, being that it's an obvious plea to the listener to forgive what he's done, which honestly, comes off as arrogant in my opinion. Don't ASK for forgiveness; you'll get it as society sees fit. As many reviews have already said, the collection of noise wasn't "written" per se, but rather "computed, calculated, and formulated". It's as if he listened to the radio for hours on end and decided to try and recreate it, which he ultimately failed in doing. The collection is sure to please his blind fans, but to anyone with an ear for good music, this is a piece of garbage. It's simply not worth your time to even consider purchasing this catastrophe. Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    7
    Yet again, critics pick on Chris Brown because of his personal drama. This is a surprisingly good album with a nice blend of R&B, pop, hip hop, and dance. I recommend checking it out.
  4. Jul 4, 2012
    10
    This is his best album. Everyone is just giving him bad reviews because of his past, and that shouldnt matter. We are in 2012, its time to forgibe and forget. It would never matter what the critic's say its all about the fans. The critics only score him by the bad things in his pass, but not the good things he has done. Chris Brown is more of a successful person than any of those criticsThis is his best album. Everyone is just giving him bad reviews because of his past, and that shouldnt matter. We are in 2012, its time to forgibe and forget. It would never matter what the critic's say its all about the fans. The critics only score him by the bad things in his pass, but not the good things he has done. Chris Brown is more of a successful person than any of those critics he is a actor,dancer,producer,singer,song-writer,director and MY IDOL & INSPIRATON! #TEAMBREEZY Till I DIE Collapse
  5. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    Chris Brown is amazing and his 'Fortune' album is great! His passed shouldn't reflect his future in others eyes. People should be forgiven, although to me he was never forgotten. He is a man of his fans and if his fans are the only ones with positive feedback, well that's all he needs. Excited to see what the future of music holds for him. He is an outstanding artist.
  6. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Chris Brown's Fortune album is destined to be deemed as a Pop confection and a cacophony of sexual lyrics and sounds. But, this is entirely incorrect. It is, again, an underrated album. Chris Brown's newest studio album shows his journey as an artist, both musically and creatively in the entire saga of Fortune - in art, as a music video director and entertainer. With songs like "2012",Chris Brown's Fortune album is destined to be deemed as a Pop confection and a cacophony of sexual lyrics and sounds. But, this is entirely incorrect. It is, again, an underrated album. Chris Brown's newest studio album shows his journey as an artist, both musically and creatively in the entire saga of Fortune - in art, as a music video director and entertainer. With songs like "2012", "Biggest Fan" and "Sweet Love", he sets the tone for the night in romantic, sweet and sometimes super sexual evenings with his Boo. "Don't Judge Me" and "4 Years Old" look back onto the past and reveal his real emotions about past relationships and possible concerns about the speed at which his career has taken off, reminiscing friend Tyga's "Moving 2 Fast". "Party Hard", "Bassline" and "Biggest Fan" are the most single ready of the yet to be released tracks on the album. "Party Hard" is a song about that girl who you are interested in, but can never get the moment to show how you feel about her, it's total infatuation. After "Party Hard", there is a short interlude which features Chris' favorite female artist, Se7en, called "Cadillac" where Chris and Se7en sing acapella. "Bassline" is an exemplary example of a real music artist using dubstep the correct way - in which many Pop artists have simply jumped onto a dubstep track to try and be on the current trend. Kudos to Breezy for creating a song representative of the actual genre and being creative as well. "Mirage" and "Til' I Die" are two songs for the Hip Hop crowd, with "Mirage" featuring Hip Hop legend Nas and the latter featuring hot rappers Big Sean and Wiz Khalifa. Of course, "Strip", one of Brown's most successful R&B jams to date is on the middle of the album, featuring label mate (CBE) and mentee Kevin McCall. "Turn Up The Music", one of his biggest Pop / Dance songs to date, "Don't Wake Me Up" and "Trumpet Lights" are the Eurodance tracks Chris has become known for the past few years. They feature futuristic sounds, big bass and winding lyrics to get fans and non-fans on the dance floor. "Trumpet Lights" is the most adventurous and unique track on the album, with the sounds of Eurodance, Salsa and Dubstep rolled into one of Fortune's best tracks. It also features new CBE Signee Sabrina Antoinette. Fortune shows a lot of growth creatively both in and out of the studio. It is a surefire hit for #TeamBreezy and should win over new fans and people interested in R&B, Pop or Dubstep. Chris has a lot of jams, no matter which genre you're interested in - and they are all very well produced, written and performed on Fortune. This album shows how he has grown since F.A.M.E. was released in March 2011. I recommend you purchase this album, and even splurge on the deluxe edition, where there is sure to be more "A" grade R&B, Pop and Dubstep to fill your home, car or iPod with this summer! Expand
  7. Jul 5, 2012
    10
    Maybe I missed something, but I heard parts of this album on another website and I was ready to buy it based on what I heard. I think it is going to be a great album, just like FAME. Bring on the hate for this album, but if you really like good music (and could care less about outside drama), you should probably try this album out. This album deserved better than what it has thus farMaybe I missed something, but I heard parts of this album on another website and I was ready to buy it based on what I heard. I think it is going to be a great album, just like FAME. Bring on the hate for this album, but if you really like good music (and could care less about outside drama), you should probably try this album out. This album deserved better than what it has thus far received, but that's the way life goes. Expand
  8. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    This is an outstanding album very pleased, most of the tracks of this album are very good. People only hate on him for something that happened 3 years ago.
  9. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    After hearing the 5 singles realeased from Fortune, I was thinking it's gonna be good but nowhere near good as the last album (F.A.M.E.), needless to say - I was wrong. The album's singles give a little wrong idea of what the album serves. Why? Because I expected mostly dance, pop driven record and instead I get something that comes closer to Chris Brown's first 2 albums. The album seemsAfter hearing the 5 singles realeased from Fortune, I was thinking it's gonna be good but nowhere near good as the last album (F.A.M.E.), needless to say - I was wrong. The album's singles give a little wrong idea of what the album serves. Why? Because I expected mostly dance, pop driven record and instead I get something that comes closer to Chris Brown's first 2 albums. The album seems much more cohesive than the last 2 records (even though I never had a problem with that). It starts of with "Turn up the music", continues with Dubstep influenced "Bassline" and then switches to the futuristic sounding "Till I Die" but later on, it's R&B and only R&B until the last 2 tracks at the end (unless you count Nas feature on Mirage which is probably my favourite record on the album).

    It doesn't get boring though, the production on it's own keeps you entertained. There is a great ton of detail on each of the songs, making them intresting and often creating a great build up. The lyrics seem to be better than on the last album aswell (most notably on "Don't Judge Me" , "4 Years Old" and "Stuck on Stupid"). When it comes to vocals, the greatest showcase of Brown's abbility comes on "Cadillac (interlude)" which is a nearly acappella song. It leaves you wishing it wasn't just an interlude.

    All in all, Fortune is a great album that is sure to become underrated mostly because of artist's personal life but hey, everyone got their own ears, listen yourself and see if you like it. I highly recommend deluxe version, you wouldn't like to miss out on "Free Run" or "Wait For You" .
    Expand
  10. Jul 3, 2012
    8
    This album is underrated again, every song on the album (included the deluxe edition) except for a couple are exactly what I expected, little disappointed because I wanted more R&B but this album is still good.
  11. Jul 13, 2012
    4
    Fortune tries to go back to the future for no reason. It tries to be like those 90s album that strive to have a 21st century sound. It pretty much tries too hard, but at the same time keeps what R&B artists try to get away from. (Making the same song on every album.) This album wasn't from the heart, but from the radio.
  12. Jul 25, 2012
    2
    This is the most boring album I have listened to ever. The songs lack any spirit or honesty. It is simply that exudes fakeness. The only reason it doesn't warrant getting a 0 or 1 is because the one exception to the album, 'Don't Wake Me Up.' Maybe Chris Brown should try to develop his music instead of focusing on forging passionless 'futuristic' trash like this.
  13. Aug 21, 2012
    0
    I honestly just think Chris Brown should just quit at this point. I'm having trouble finding any redeemable qualities about this album. This album is a marker of what is wrong with this generation of music stars. Here we have a talented man who becomes successful off of R&B/Hip-Hop music. In fact, he has multiple top ten hits. So what does he do? Sell out and make generic club music, ofI honestly just think Chris Brown should just quit at this point. I'm having trouble finding any redeemable qualities about this album. This album is a marker of what is wrong with this generation of music stars. Here we have a talented man who becomes successful off of R&B/Hip-Hop music. In fact, he has multiple top ten hits. So what does he do? Sell out and make generic club music, of course. What else is there to do when a million-or-so people already like your old style?
    Besides, I still don't support him after all his drama. Why should I?
    Expand
  14. Jul 17, 2012
    2
    Just autotuned to trash. Could be decent if he did not overuse the autotune feature. Not a good song on the album. Would be a waste of money to buy, so save your money and stay away.
  15. Aug 4, 2012
    10
    Production on this album is undeniably great, this man cannot be judged for his personal actions, if you wish to judge him then judge his music, not his past. I give the album a 9
  16. Mar 16, 2013
    0
    Most unrelated and boring album ever made I guess, it's time to Chris make real music, not four floors beats on EVERY music, just make music, variable and enjoyable music.
  17. Nov 5, 2012
    2
    Chris, you're a dope artiste and performer.. but you need to work harder!! dis album was weak and a poor effort and i'm a big fan but you need to work harder to provide better quality music and i know dat u can do much much better!!
  18. Jun 21, 2013
    10
    My favorite album of all time, it has that special aura to it, so much soul and meaning with me understanding every songs background. Its June and i can still listen to the album without getting bored. Amazing.
  19. Jul 3, 2012
    4
    This album is so Chris Brown. Extremely boring and generic. There are only 3 good tracks! His previous album seems really good compared to this uninspired album which can be easily called - TRASH!
  20. Jul 5, 2012
    0
    Yet, another horrid album from Chris Brown. Graffiti then FAME now this? It has nothing to offer and is incredibly dull. He needs to step it up before he got lost in the lights.
  21. Jul 6, 2012
    2
    Generic, forgettable, excessive auto-tune. Chris Brown needs to step it up. This is really mediocre, his live voice doesn't help, the contrast with the 90% from his performances which are lip synched is cringe worthy.
  22. Jul 5, 2012
    2
    Not even worth a buy on iTunes. Another generic and disappointing Chris Brown album. All songs are below average except for one: 'Don't Wake Me Up' which has been produced beautifully but ruined by autotune.
  23. Jul 12, 2012
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. Chris Brown Expand
  24. Jul 13, 2012
    8
    What a great album they are alot of tracks that stand out to the album like Strip, 2012, 4yrs old & Dont wake me up. Chris keeps getting slammed with bad reviews because of his past. Unfortunately for critics his past hasn't affected his past. This is not his best albums but probably top 5 albums of the 2012 and the summer
  25. Jul 9, 2012
    0
    "Generic, forgettable, excessive auto-tune. Chris Brown needs to step it up. This is really mediocre, his live voice doesn't help, the contrast with the 90% from his performances which are lip synched is cringe worthy." I'm in the same line, JUST BAD !
  26. Aug 1, 2012
    10
    fortune is amazing you have the nice slow/love songs i.e party hard,stuck on stupid,4years old, and then the club tracks turn up the music dont wake me up and trumpet lights and the sexual strip,2012,sweet love,biggest fan and till i die and bassline the wraps and mirage just a nice mix so something there for everyone so to be honest all these bad reviews haved nothing to do with the albumfortune is amazing you have the nice slow/love songs i.e party hard,stuck on stupid,4years old, and then the club tracks turn up the music dont wake me up and trumpet lights and the sexual strip,2012,sweet love,biggest fan and till i die and bassline the wraps and mirage just a nice mix so something there for everyone so to be honest all these bad reviews haved nothing to do with the album i can tell its more about your opinion of him and you can get back by slamming the album absolutly pathetic people,,,grow up Expand
  27. Aug 17, 2012
    10
    I love love love this album! its my favorite overall. I think Chris shows a lot of maturity, I LOVE IT! fck the critics its about the fans. #teambreezy
  28. Jul 5, 2012
    4
    I don't think this is the best album for Chris Brown. Last year, he was amazing on his F.A.M.E. album with my favorite jams "Look At Me Now" and "Deuces." But this year, Fortune is one of his biggest downfalls. It's just as disappointing since 2009 when Brown's album "Graffiti" wasn't ready for a comeback since he eventually beat up Rihanna and sentenced to a community service where hisI don't think this is the best album for Chris Brown. Last year, he was amazing on his F.A.M.E. album with my favorite jams "Look At Me Now" and "Deuces." But this year, Fortune is one of his biggest downfalls. It's just as disappointing since 2009 when Brown's album "Graffiti" wasn't ready for a comeback since he eventually beat up Rihanna and sentenced to a community service where his career was almost in jeopardy. Some of the new material on Fortune just wasn't in the picture. Although I like "Turn Up the Music" which he performed at the Grammys last February, but I kinda got a little over on the dance scene. I hope Fortune should be #1, but I gotta believe Bieber, Adele, or Flo Rida could be racing to the top. Expand
  29. Jul 10, 2012
    2
    As someone who has purchased all of Chris Brown's previous albums I was highly disappointed. This sounds like an album of leftover mix tapes tracks. Absolute garbage & embarrassing to his catalogue of music. Give us time to miss you Chris, because this was rushed pop garbage.
  30. Aug 4, 2012
    1
    A lot of bland pop music that has no staying power and not much going for it beyond being slightly catchy. And definitely nothing to redeem the fact that Chris Brown is an unrepentant woman-beater(a fact that I refuse to leave out no matter how "irrelevant" his fans think that is).
  31. Sep 6, 2012
    9
    This album though it was not as good as his last F.A.M.E. it was still a solid album from top to bottom. Critics are still judging him from the beating of Rihanna and not for his music which is great.
  32. Jun 7, 2013
    8
    Chris Brown is at his best here. "Fortune", extremely underrated, is being cursed by Brown's "Incident" and for having the use of auto-tune. Auto-tune is not bad if used with conscience to improve the song. I can see its use being good and bad to this album. It depends of the track. Some were really helped by its use, while others were, not ruined but, injured by it. The album opens withChris Brown is at his best here. "Fortune", extremely underrated, is being cursed by Brown's "Incident" and for having the use of auto-tune. Auto-tune is not bad if used with conscience to improve the song. I can see its use being good and bad to this album. It depends of the track. Some were really helped by its use, while others were, not ruined but, injured by it. The album opens with its hit dance song and already moves to hip-hop. Not great hip-hop songs, lyrically, but their production are very good. They're really different one from the other. "Mirage" looks like the past, "Till I Die" the present and "Bassline" the future.

    Soon the R&B shows up with its excellence. "Don't Judge Me" is quiet beautiful but 2012 is extremely sexual, so you have a conflict right there. And it looks like the sexual content wins the war because the following tracks are also about. "Biggest Fan", "Sweet Love" and "Strip" should be left far away from the kids.

    When everything appeared to be ready to lose its meaning, "Stuck On Stupid", the best track here, appears to save the day. "4 Years Old" and "Party Hard Cadillac" also help. So there you have: The three best songs are all together in a sea of fourteen tracks. Soon after that, "Don't Wake Me Up" brings the dance genre back to the game. This professional production suffers from the unnecessary excessive use of the auto-tune. Maybe auto-tune should've been used only to high-level the chorus. Not in the entire song. Then "Trumpet Lights", close the album with is exceptionality.

    It's a good album, probably Brown's most diverse effort. Love it or hate it, its diversity is undeniable.
    Expand
  33. Aug 28, 2012
    5
    He said that he had enough content to make 3 great albums, but made 1 mediocre album instead.
    It's not that great, and I'm not even judging the album by the Rihanna incident.
  34. Oct 22, 2012
    3
    Alguém já comprou um produto que te atraiu por um comercial onde apenas as qualidades eram ressaltadas? Assim como aqueles juicers que são lindos como enfeite? Então, é assim que eu me senti após terminar de ouvir o álbum Fortune do Chris Brown. Depois de quatro boas canções lançadas como single (Strip, Turn Up theAlguém já comprou um produto que te atraiu por um comercial onde apenas as qualidades eram ressaltadas? Assim como aqueles juicers que são lindos como enfeite? Então, é assim que eu me senti após terminar de ouvir o álbum Fortune do Chris Brown. Depois de quatro boas canções lançadas como single (Strip, Turn Up the Music, Till I Die e Sweet Love) eu comecei a acreditar que vinha coisa boa, mas me enganei profundamente.

    Fortune tem como base um R&B datado e completamente sem graça na grande maioria das músicas. A concepção delas são de uma falta de habilidade inimaginável para um artista que deveria ser um "entendedor" do estilo. Grande produção fica do álbum fica a carga de grupos de produtores o que faz o álbum não ter nenhuma personalidade sólida. O maior e pior defeito são as composições: a maioria fala de sexo. Não falam, descrevem das maneiras mais sem criatividade que eu já vi. Se ele não está falando de sexo, ele está falando da Rihanna como na péssima Don't Judge Me, onde ele precisa reafirmar sua heterossexualidade (houve rumores que ele era bissexual). Como fosse mudar alguma coisa no pensamento das pessoas. Se nenhum dos assuntos está em voga na canção, as composições falam de amor da maneira mais genérica possível e imaginável. Se Chris não é exatamente um grande cantor, Fortune não vai alterar nada a percepção das pessoas sobre sua capacidade vocal. Como disse antes a maioria das canções são péssimas para baixo salvado apenas as já citadas e mais a interessante Bassline e o quarto single oficial Don't Wake Me Up (resenha a seguir). Curioso só as canções boas serem singles, né? Então, não se espante se Bassline virar também. Assim como aquele juicer queria saber se tem como devolver o para da onde veio: o lixão da Mãe Lucinda. E a Carminha, curtiu?
    Expand
  35. Nov 12, 2012
    2
    The computer and the editors running it deserve much more credit than Brown does. But, even with the overused technology, Fortune still blows.
  36. Dec 23, 2012
    3
    Very Unoriginal And Bland... This Whole Album Seems Slapped Together In A Few Hours..
    One Of The Worst Of 2012
    Turn Up The Music Saves This Album From Getting A One..
  37. Feb 1, 2013
    1
    One of the worst work this year. Most of the tracks can't even be called music. Some can be called NOISE like "Bassline" "Mirage" "2012" and many other ones. "Turn up the music" "Sweet Love""Don't wake me up""Till I die" are the only tracks that are worth listening for a second time while not even one track that is real wonderful.
  38. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    Es un álbum aburrido lleno de canciones decepcionantes y con el auto tune arruino la única buena. No es por nada pero no se merecía nominacion a los grammy
  39. May 26, 2013
    10
    Now I will admit I'm a huge fan of Chris and this album has to be my 3rd favorite by him. Unfortunately the singles did not pop like how all of them did on F.A.M.E. but the album in general is great. I bought the deluxe edition as soon as it came out and I stopped on track 7 Biggest Fan and got stuck easily my fav song on the album and one of my favorites by him period. He switches up hisNow I will admit I'm a huge fan of Chris and this album has to be my 3rd favorite by him. Unfortunately the singles did not pop like how all of them did on F.A.M.E. but the album in general is great. I bought the deluxe edition as soon as it came out and I stopped on track 7 Biggest Fan and got stuck easily my fav song on the album and one of my favorites by him period. He switches up his style between R&B, Hip Hop, and Pop and I think he does a great job at it. my favorite tracks are Bassline, Mirage, Don't Judge Me, 2012, Biggest Fan, Sweet Love, 4 Years Old, Party Hard /Cadillac, Trumpet Lights, Free Run, and Touch Me. He has been a great artist and performer since day one and people should let the past go and respect his music and leave it at that. Great album and one of my top 5 favorites of 2012. Expand
  40. Dec 4, 2013
    0
    A complete crap, Chris Brown was never something relevant on the music scene with this album it just proves that his career ended in 2007 with his mouth half songs, I define it as ''scum of R&B''.
  41. Sep 16, 2014
    10
    Amazing! a little late for a review, but this album is something relaxing, slow melodies and reflective. "Dont Judge Me" makes us revise our concepts, what people really mean for us.
  42. Jan 14, 2015
    10
    Chris Brown is incredibly amazing and this album really displays his versatile creativity.
    Don't wake me up,Don't Judge me,Turn up the music and so I could help but sing my as into being Chris Brown.
    Brown you are really an influence.
  43. Apr 3, 2015
    4
    I really agree with the critics on this album. The singles are good but the majority of the rest of the songs are just slow songs that are too simple for such a famous artist like Chris Brown. A lot of room for improvement. For me this album gets a C-.
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Aug 27, 2012
    20
    Fortune is another overload of poor decisions.
  2. Jul 16, 2012
    40
    "Don't Wake Me Up," a thumping club cut that's irresistible on an otherwise forgettable album.
  3. Jul 16, 2012
    40
    Brown brags about his extra-large condoms, and, on "Don't Judge Me," turns a tender love song into a Twitter rant against "haters."