Fortune

  • Record Label: RCA
  • Release Date: Jul 3, 2012
User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 147
  2. Negative: 89 out of 147
Buy On

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Apr 3, 2015
    4
    I really agree with the critics on this album. The singles are good but the majority of the rest of the songs are just slow songs that are too simple for such a famous artist like Chris Brown. A lot of room for improvement. For me this album gets a C-.
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    5
    He said that he had enough content to make 3 great albums, but made 1 mediocre album instead.
    It's not that great, and I'm not even judging the album by the Rihanna incident.
  3. Jul 5, 2012
    4
    I don't think this is the best album for Chris Brown. Last year, he was amazing on his F.A.M.E. album with my favorite jams "Look At Me Now" and "Deuces." But this year, Fortune is one of his biggest downfalls. It's just as disappointing since 2009 when Brown's album "Graffiti" wasn't ready for a comeback since he eventually beat up Rihanna and sentenced to a community service where hisI don't think this is the best album for Chris Brown. Last year, he was amazing on his F.A.M.E. album with my favorite jams "Look At Me Now" and "Deuces." But this year, Fortune is one of his biggest downfalls. It's just as disappointing since 2009 when Brown's album "Graffiti" wasn't ready for a comeback since he eventually beat up Rihanna and sentenced to a community service where his career was almost in jeopardy. Some of the new material on Fortune just wasn't in the picture. Although I like "Turn Up the Music" which he performed at the Grammys last February, but I kinda got a little over on the dance scene. I hope Fortune should be #1, but I gotta believe Bieber, Adele, or Flo Rida could be racing to the top. Expand
  4. Jul 13, 2012
    4
    Fortune tries to go back to the future for no reason. It tries to be like those 90s album that strive to have a 21st century sound. It pretty much tries too hard, but at the same time keeps what R&B artists try to get away from. (Making the same song on every album.) This album wasn't from the heart, but from the radio.
  5. Jul 3, 2012
    4
    This album is so Chris Brown. Extremely boring and generic. There are only 3 good tracks! His previous album seems really good compared to this uninspired album which can be easily called - TRASH!
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Aug 27, 2012
    20
    Fortune is another overload of poor decisions.
  2. Jul 16, 2012
    40
    "Don't Wake Me Up," a thumping club cut that's irresistible on an otherwise forgettable album.
  3. Jul 16, 2012
    40
    Brown brags about his extra-large condoms, and, on "Don't Judge Me," turns a tender love song into a Twitter rant against "haters."