Fortune - Chris Brown
User Score
3.3

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 127 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 38 out of 127
  2. Negative: 79 out of 127

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jul 5, 2012
    0
    Yet, another horrid album from Chris Brown. Graffiti then FAME now this? It has nothing to offer and is incredibly dull. He needs to step it up before he got lost in the lights.
  2. Jul 5, 2012
    4
    I don't think this is the best album for Chris Brown. Last year, he was amazing on his F.A.M.E. album with my favorite jams "Look At Me Now" and "Deuces." But this year, Fortune is one of his biggest downfalls. It's just as disappointing since 2009 when Brown's album "Graffiti" wasn't ready for a comeback since he eventually beat up Rihanna and sentenced to a community service where his career was almost in jeopardy. Some of the new material on Fortune just wasn't in the picture. Although I like "Turn Up the Music" which he performed at the Grammys last February, but I kinda got a little over on the dance scene. I hope Fortune should be #1, but I gotta believe Bieber, Adele, or Flo Rida could be racing to the top. Expand
  3. Jul 25, 2012
    2
    This is the most boring album I have listened to ever. The songs lack any spirit or honesty. It is simply that exudes fakeness. The only reason it doesn't warrant getting a 0 or 1 is because the one exception to the album, 'Don't Wake Me Up.' Maybe Chris Brown should try to develop his music instead of focusing on forging passionless 'futuristic' trash like this.
  4. Aug 21, 2012
    0
    I honestly just think Chris Brown should just quit at this point. I'm having trouble finding any redeemable qualities about this album. This album is a marker of what is wrong with this generation of music stars. Here we have a talented man who becomes successful off of R&B/Hip-Hop music. In fact, he has multiple top ten hits. So what does he do? Sell out and make generic club music, of course. What else is there to do when a million-or-so people already like your old style?
    Besides, I still don't support him after all his drama. Why should I?
    Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    0
    "Generic, forgettable, excessive auto-tune. Chris Brown needs to step it up. This is really mediocre, his live voice doesn't help, the contrast with the 90% from his performances which are lip synched is cringe worthy." I'm in the same line, JUST BAD !
  6. Jul 6, 2012
    2
    Generic, forgettable, excessive auto-tune. Chris Brown needs to step it up. This is really mediocre, his live voice doesn't help, the contrast with the 90% from his performances which are lip synched is cringe worthy.
  7. Jul 5, 2012
    2
    Not even worth a buy on iTunes. Another generic and disappointing Chris Brown album. All songs are below average except for one: 'Don't Wake Me Up' which has been produced beautifully but ruined by autotune.
  8. Oct 22, 2012
    3
    Alguém já comprou um produto que te atraiu por um comercial onde apenas as qualidades eram ressaltadas? Assim como aqueles juicers que são lindos como enfeite? Então, é assim que eu me senti após terminar de ouvir o álbum Fortune do Chris Brown. Depois de quatro boas canções lançadas como single (Strip, Turn Up the Music, Till I Die e Sweet Love) eu comecei a acreditar que vinha coisa boa, mas me enganei profundamente.

    Fortune tem como base um R&B datado e completamente sem graça na grande maioria das músicas. A concepção delas são de uma falta de habilidade inimaginável para um artista que deveria ser um "entendedor" do estilo. Grande produção fica do álbum fica a carga de grupos de produtores o que faz o álbum não ter nenhuma personalidade sólida. O maior e pior defeito são as composições: a maioria fala de sexo. Não falam, descrevem das maneiras mais sem criatividade que eu já vi. Se ele não está falando de sexo, ele está falando da Rihanna como na péssima Don't Judge Me, onde ele precisa reafirmar sua heterossexualidade (houve rumores que ele era bissexual). Como fosse mudar alguma coisa no pensamento das pessoas. Se nenhum dos assuntos está em voga na canção, as composições falam de amor da maneira mais genérica possível e imaginável. Se Chris não é exatamente um grande cantor, Fortune não vai alterar nada a percepção das pessoas sobre sua capacidade vocal. Como disse antes a maioria das canções são péssimas para baixo salvado apenas as já citadas e mais a interessante Bassline e o quarto single oficial Don't Wake Me Up (resenha a seguir). Curioso só as canções boas serem singles, né? Então, não se espante se Bassline virar também. Assim como aquele juicer queria saber se tem como devolver o para da onde veio: o lixão da Mãe Lucinda. E a Carminha, curtiu?
    Expand
  9. Jul 3, 2012
    4
    This album is so Chris Brown. Extremely boring and generic. There are only 3 good tracks! His previous album seems really good compared to this uninspired album which can be easily called - TRASH!
  10. Jul 10, 2012
    2
    As someone who has purchased all of Chris Brown's previous albums I was highly disappointed. This sounds like an album of leftover mix tapes tracks. Absolute garbage & embarrassing to his catalogue of music. Give us time to miss you Chris, because this was rushed pop garbage.
  11. Jul 13, 2012
    4
    Fortune tries to go back to the future for no reason. It tries to be like those 90s album that strive to have a 21st century sound. It pretty much tries too hard, but at the same time keeps what R&B artists try to get away from. (Making the same song on every album.) This album wasn't from the heart, but from the radio.
  12. Jul 17, 2012
    2
    Just autotuned to trash. Could be decent if he did not overuse the autotune feature. Not a good song on the album. Would be a waste of money to buy, so save your money and stay away.
  13. Aug 1, 2012
    1
    I found this collection of noise (I won't give it the courtesy of even being called an album) generally unpleasant. The first time you hear it, some of the songs are catchy, I'll give Brown that. However, after listening to it a second, third, or fourth time, you realize you've wasted your time trying to convince your ears that this was even worth listening to. If the songs aren't about sex, they're about how great his life is compared to his haters (which he doesn't even have, might I add); it's just shallow. The only song I found even CLOSE to being written and not just calculated was "Don't Judge Me". Even that song, however, turned me off, being that it's an obvious plea to the listener to forgive what he's done, which honestly, comes off as arrogant in my opinion. Don't ASK for forgiveness; you'll get it as society sees fit. As many reviews have already said, the collection of noise wasn't "written" per se, but rather "computed, calculated, and formulated". It's as if he listened to the radio for hours on end and decided to try and recreate it, which he ultimately failed in doing. The collection is sure to please his blind fans, but to anyone with an ear for good music, this is a piece of garbage. It's simply not worth your time to even consider purchasing this catastrophe. Expand
  14. Aug 4, 2012
    1
    A lot of bland pop music that has no staying power and not much going for it beyond being slightly catchy. And definitely nothing to redeem the fact that Chris Brown is an unrepentant woman-beater(a fact that I refuse to leave out no matter how "irrelevant" his fans think that is).
  15. Mar 16, 2013
    0
    Most unrelated and boring album ever made I guess, it's time to Chris make real music, not four floors beats on EVERY music, just make music, variable and enjoyable music.
  16. Nov 5, 2012
    2
    Chris, you're a dope artiste and performer.. but you need to work harder!! dis album was weak and a poor effort and i'm a big fan but you need to work harder to provide better quality music and i know dat u can do much much better!!
  17. Nov 12, 2012
    2
    The computer and the editors running it deserve much more credit than Brown does. But, even with the overused technology, Fortune still blows.
  18. Dec 3, 2012
    0
    Terrible, autotuned, electronical, pop music with a dose of oversized ego, no wonder why no one likes him. "Your music is bad and you should feel bad" -Dr Zoidberg and any sane person
  19. Dec 23, 2012
    3
    Very Unoriginal And Bland... This Whole Album Seems Slapped Together In A Few Hours..
    One Of The Worst Of 2012
    Turn Up The Music Saves This Album From Getting A One..
  20. Feb 1, 2013
    1
    One of the worst work this year. Most of the tracks can't even be called music. Some can be called NOISE like "Bassline" "Mirage" "2012" and many other ones. "Turn up the music" "Sweet Love""Don't wake me up""Till I die" are the only tracks that are worth listening for a second time while not even one track that is real wonderful.
  21. Jun 29, 2013
    0
    Es un álbum aburrido lleno de canciones decepcionantes y con el auto tune arruino la única buena. No es por nada pero no se merecía nominacion a los grammy
  22. Dec 4, 2013
    0
    A complete crap, Chris Brown was never something relevant on the music scene with this album it just proves that his career ended in 2007 with his mouth half songs, I define it as ''scum of R&B''.
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Aug 27, 2012
    20
    Fortune is another overload of poor decisions.
  2. Jul 16, 2012
    40
    "Don't Wake Me Up," a thumping club cut that's irresistible on an otherwise forgettable album.
  3. Jul 16, 2012
    40
    Brown brags about his extra-large condoms, and, on "Don't Judge Me," turns a tender love song into a Twitter rant against "haters."