Fortune

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
Fortune Image
Metascore
38

Generally unfavorable reviews - based on 14 Critics What's this?

User Score
3.4

Generally unfavorable reviews- based on 147 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The fifth album for the R&B singer features guest appearances from Sabrina Antoinette, Big Sean, Nas, Kevin McCall, Sevyn, and Wiz Khalifa.
Buy On
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 14
  2. Negative: 3 out of 14
  1. Jul 11, 2012
    70
    Overall, Fortune further indicates a changing of the guard in urban music, as Chris Brown's feel good songs find his most staunch advocates willing to overlook his lowered standards of musical content.
  2. Jul 5, 2012
    70
    The truth is in the eye of the beholder, and with easily accessible albums like Fortune, there will continue to be a lot of eyes on Chris Brown.
  3. 50
    Fortune reveals an artist more concerned with calculating than creating.
  4. 40
    This is not a great album.
  5. Jul 3, 2012
    40
    The album's most compelling sounds get saddled with songs either forgettable ("Trumpet Lights") or regrettable ("Mirage," a sinuous reggae fusion that's Nas-boosted but unnecessarily nasty).
  6. Jul 2, 2012
    40
    Some of the productions, courtesy of the Runners, Adonis, and Kevin McCall, save it from being a disaster.
  7. Jun 28, 2012
    0
    Fortune is the kind of record that will please Brown's many deluded female fans, but we cannot with good conscience give it a single star.

See all 14 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 46
  2. Negative: 21 out of 46
  1. Jan 14, 2015
    10
    Chris Brown is incredibly amazing and this album really displays his versatile creativity.
    Don't wake me up,Don't Judge me,Turn up the music
    Chris Brown is incredibly amazing and this album really displays his versatile creativity.
    Don't wake me up,Don't Judge me,Turn up the music and so I could help but sing my as into being Chris Brown.
    Brown you are really an influence.
    Expand
  2. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    After hearing the 5 singles realeased from Fortune, I was thinking it's gonna be good but nowhere near good as the last album (F.A.M.E.),After hearing the 5 singles realeased from Fortune, I was thinking it's gonna be good but nowhere near good as the last album (F.A.M.E.), needless to say - I was wrong. The album's singles give a little wrong idea of what the album serves. Why? Because I expected mostly dance, pop driven record and instead I get something that comes closer to Chris Brown's first 2 albums. The album seems much more cohesive than the last 2 records (even though I never had a problem with that). It starts of with "Turn up the music", continues with Dubstep influenced "Bassline" and then switches to the futuristic sounding "Till I Die" but later on, it's R&B and only R&B until the last 2 tracks at the end (unless you count Nas feature on Mirage which is probably my favourite record on the album).

    It doesn't get boring though, the production on it's own keeps you entertained. There is a great ton of detail on each of the songs, making them intresting and often creating a great build up. The lyrics seem to be better than on the last album aswell (most notably on "Don't Judge Me" , "4 Years Old" and "Stuck on Stupid"). When it comes to vocals, the greatest showcase of Brown's abbility comes on "Cadillac (interlude)" which is a nearly acappella song. It leaves you wishing it wasn't just an interlude.

    All in all, Fortune is a great album that is sure to become underrated mostly because of artist's personal life but hey, everyone got their own ears, listen yourself and see if you like it. I highly recommend deluxe version, you wouldn't like to miss out on "Free Run" or "Wait For You" .
    Expand
  3. Jul 3, 2012
    10
    Chris Brown's Fortune album is destined to be deemed as a Pop confection and a cacophony of sexual lyrics and sounds. But, this is entirelyChris Brown's Fortune album is destined to be deemed as a Pop confection and a cacophony of sexual lyrics and sounds. But, this is entirely incorrect. It is, again, an underrated album. Chris Brown's newest studio album shows his journey as an artist, both musically and creatively in the entire saga of Fortune - in art, as a music video director and entertainer. With songs like "2012", "Biggest Fan" and "Sweet Love", he sets the tone for the night in romantic, sweet and sometimes super sexual evenings with his Boo. "Don't Judge Me" and "4 Years Old" look back onto the past and reveal his real emotions about past relationships and possible concerns about the speed at which his career has taken off, reminiscing friend Tyga's "Moving 2 Fast". "Party Hard", "Bassline" and "Biggest Fan" are the most single ready of the yet to be released tracks on the album. "Party Hard" is a song about that girl who you are interested in, but can never get the moment to show how you feel about her, it's total infatuation. After "Party Hard", there is a short interlude which features Chris' favorite female artist, Se7en, called "Cadillac" where Chris and Se7en sing acapella. "Bassline" is an exemplary example of a real music artist using dubstep the correct way - in which many Pop artists have simply jumped onto a dubstep track to try and be on the current trend. Kudos to Breezy for creating a song representative of the actual genre and being creative as well. "Mirage" and "Til' I Die" are two songs for the Hip Hop crowd, with "Mirage" featuring Hip Hop legend Nas and the latter featuring hot rappers Big Sean and Wiz Khalifa. Of course, "Strip", one of Brown's most successful R&B jams to date is on the middle of the album, featuring label mate (CBE) and mentee Kevin McCall. "Turn Up The Music", one of his biggest Pop / Dance songs to date, "Don't Wake Me Up" and "Trumpet Lights" are the Eurodance tracks Chris has become known for the past few years. They feature futuristic sounds, big bass and winding lyrics to get fans and non-fans on the dance floor. "Trumpet Lights" is the most adventurous and unique track on the album, with the sounds of Eurodance, Salsa and Dubstep rolled into one of Fortune's best tracks. It also features new CBE Signee Sabrina Antoinette. Fortune shows a lot of growth creatively both in and out of the studio. It is a surefire hit for #TeamBreezy and should win over new fans and people interested in R&B, Pop or Dubstep. Chris has a lot of jams, no matter which genre you're interested in - and they are all very well produced, written and performed on Fortune. This album shows how he has grown since F.A.M.E. was released in March 2011. I recommend you purchase this album, and even splurge on the deluxe edition, where there is sure to be more "A" grade R&B, Pop and Dubstep to fill your home, car or iPod with this summer! Collapse
  4. Jul 3, 2012
    4
    This album is so Chris Brown. Extremely boring and generic. There are only 3 good tracks! His previous album seems really good compared toThis album is so Chris Brown. Extremely boring and generic. There are only 3 good tracks! His previous album seems really good compared to this uninspired album which can be easily called - TRASH! Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2012
    3
    Alguém já comprou um produto que te atraiu por um comercial onde apenas as qualidades eram ressaltadas? Assim como aquelesAlguém já comprou um produto que te atraiu por um comercial onde apenas as qualidades eram ressaltadas? Assim como aqueles juicers que são lindos como enfeite? Então, é assim que eu me senti após terminar de ouvir o álbum Fortune do Chris Brown. Depois de quatro boas canções lançadas como single (Strip, Turn Up the Music, Till I Die e Sweet Love) eu comecei a acreditar que vinha coisa boa, mas me enganei profundamente.

    Fortune tem como base um R&B datado e completamente sem graça na grande maioria das músicas. A concepção delas são de uma falta de habilidade inimaginável para um artista que deveria ser um "entendedor" do estilo. Grande produção fica do álbum fica a carga de grupos de produtores o que faz o álbum não ter nenhuma personalidade sólida. O maior e pior defeito são as composições: a maioria fala de sexo. Não falam, descrevem das maneiras mais sem criatividade que eu já vi. Se ele não está falando de sexo, ele está falando da Rihanna como na péssima Don't Judge Me, onde ele precisa reafirmar sua heterossexualidade (houve rumores que ele era bissexual). Como fosse mudar alguma coisa no pensamento das pessoas. Se nenhum dos assuntos está em voga na canção, as composições falam de amor da maneira mais genérica possível e imaginável. Se Chris não é exatamente um grande cantor, Fortune não vai alterar nada a percepção das pessoas sobre sua capacidade vocal. Como disse antes a maioria das canções são péssimas para baixo salvado apenas as já citadas e mais a interessante Bassline e o quarto single oficial Don't Wake Me Up (resenha a seguir). Curioso só as canções boas serem singles, né? Então, não se espante se Bassline virar também. Assim como aquele juicer queria saber se tem como devolver o para da onde veio: o lixão da Mãe Lucinda. E a Carminha, curtiu?
    Expand
  6. Jul 17, 2012
    2
    Just autotuned to trash. Could be decent if he did not overuse the autotune feature. Not a good song on the album. Would be a waste of moneyJust autotuned to trash. Could be decent if he did not overuse the autotune feature. Not a good song on the album. Would be a waste of money to buy, so save your money and stay away. Expand
  7. Dec 4, 2013
    0
    A complete crap, Chris Brown was never something relevant on the music scene with this album it just proves that his career ended in 2007 withA complete crap, Chris Brown was never something relevant on the music scene with this album it just proves that his career ended in 2007 with his mouth half songs, I define it as ''scum of R&B''. Expand

See all 46 User Reviews