Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 16 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 16
  2. Negative: 0 out of 16
  1. Aug 28, 2014
    100
    A master class in School of Iommi doom metal.
  2. Aug 19, 2014
    100
    That the band took it upon themselves to subtly yet profoundly revamp--aand exquisitely humanize--doom is just part of the reason why Foundations Of Burden is such a brave record. The other is the fact that it’s quite simply moving, the sounds of dislocated souls finding a voice at last.
  3. 90
    As long as their attention spans can accommodate the extremely lengthy tunes, any fan of heavy music would do well to pick up Foundations of Burden. Highly recommended.
  4. Aug 15, 2014
    90
    An effort that is even more emotionally ambitious an undertaking, and all the more wounding for its beauty.
  5. Aug 21, 2014
    89
    The dolorous gloom of Foundations of Burden should be oppressive, but Pallbearer turns pain into beauty.
  6. Foundations of Burden is the sound of an already excellent band reaching their potential, and in the process setting a new standard for the genre.
  7. Aug 15, 2014
    86
    As obsessed as Pallbearer is with endings, the music here is timeless.
  8. Aug 19, 2014
    82
    Even though the album is crushing, the band’s penchant for melody is what elevates Foundations of Burden above otherwise comparable records from this year.
  9. Sep 16, 2014
    80
    This is perversely life-affirming stuff, translating misery into triumph once again. [23 Aug 2014, p.54]
  10. Aug 26, 2014
    80
    While doom metal is typically considered too droll and meandering for most non-metal fans to penetrate, Foundations of Burden transcends the genre so well that submerging oneself in the album’s striking melodies and crushing riffs feels almost effortless.
  11. Aug 20, 2014
    80
    Foundations showcases the development in the band’s songwriting skills.
  12. Aug 19, 2014
    80
    The album and its production make catharsis part of an evolutionary process, not an end in itself.
  13. 80
    [A] fantastic sophomore effort.
  14. Aug 15, 2014
    80
    Rather than carry a casket loaded down with the fast-tiring tropes of the doom genre, with Foundations Of Burden Pallbearer choose to breathe thrilling new life into them.
  15. Aug 19, 2014
    70
    If there are any faults on Foundations of Burden, it’s that the middle portion of the album tends to succumb to a sameness sound, which is almost inevitable when you have two 10-minute plus tracks back to back. Fortunately, the demand for subsequent listens is hardly a laborious task, given Brett Campbell’s stellar, sustained vocal delivery.
  16. Aug 15, 2014
    60
    Foundations of Burden is special, there’s little question of that, but the precocious virtuosity of the performance doesn’t change the fact that the material is far from challenging.
User Score
8.0

Generally favorable reviews- based on 23 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 2
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 2
  3. Negative: 0 out of 2
  1. Sep 4, 2014
    7
    A good metal album. It has powerful segments with a heavy sense of doom, while also providing us with more quiet pieces here and there.

    I
    used to be a big fan of metal, but I guess I fell out of love with it over the years. I don't hate the genre; just not as enthusiastic as I used to be about it. So while this album is great on the craftsmanship side, I didn't find myself emotionally moved by it in any significant way.

    So it's a good listen for a little while, I suppose. But nothing groundbreaking, and I probably won't remembering it by the end of the year.
    Full Review »
  2. Aug 19, 2014
    10
    Foundations of Burden, gives me a feeling of cataclysm inside of me, it has a magnificent power to do that and that's the perfect reason for make it a masterpiece. Their sophomore goes further in the death themes, solitude and even darkness, this blessing epic record has capacity for being emotional and for feel it in our blood and veins . With Foundations they're finding their real sound, it's doom metal as it finest and is finest as a beautiful , powerful, groundbreaking masterwork. Full Review »