Four - Bloc Party
Four Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 34 Critics What's this?

User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 36 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: After a four year hiatus, Four is the fourth album released by the London quartet.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 20 out of 34
  2. Negative: 1 out of 34
  1. Aug 28, 2012
    It turns out to be the best thing they've ever done--yes, even better than Silent Alarm.
  2. Aug 28, 2012
    At its best this is the sound of a band rediscovering what made them so special in the first place.
  3. Aug 28, 2012
    For the most part it's good. Very good.
  4. Aug 28, 2012
    Their best record since their 2005 debut.
  5. Aug 29, 2012
    Ultimately Four is an album of two 9uneven) sides). [Sep 2012, p.89]
  6. 60
    Bloc Party's touchstones remain firmly rooted in their indie upbringing.
  7. Sep 6, 2012
    The album suffers some of the worst adjectives any musician can hear: boring, forgettable, and embarrassing.

See all 34 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 7
  2. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. May 24, 2013
    A lot easier to listen to then Intimacy, however seems a little more average/bland than their usual sound. Having said that, there's still really good tunes (Day Four, Leaf Skeleton) and it's markedly better than most of the years other releases. Overall a really solid album, albeit not as diverse and amazing as Silent Alarm of A Weekend in the City. Expand
  2. Mar 31, 2013
    Being a massive Bloc Party fan, the majority of the 9/10 score given comes from bias, admitted.

    However, also being a massive Bloc Party
    fan means that I am probably the most disappointed listener when something Bloc Party release doesn't quite strike my fancy. When the hiatus occured after Intimacy, all members went their own separate ways, notably Kele Okereke working on a solo project, releasing a solo album, and EP. However, Gordon Moakes (bassist), went to work on a heavy project also featuring members from other bands (The Automatic etc.), Russell Lissack (Lead Guitar), went on tour with Ash, and worked on his side-project Pin Me Down.

    When back in the studio together after hiatus, it seems that Gordon and Russell had the final say, which is what makes the album so unique and brilliant. It would be easy to duplicate the work that Kele was producing on his own, and in doing so, replicate where the majority of the music scene is going, but this is a heavy album. Not for the light-hearted.

    The lyrics centre around the theme of 'hatred', whether it's the dislike of society (We're Not Good People, Kettling), self-hatred (V.A.L.I.S), or hate of people close to you (So He Begins To Lie, Coliseum).

    The standout tracks for me are We're Not Good People, and Day Four. Both polar opposites of the musical spectrum that Bloc Party have travelled through over the years. Day Four takes aspects of the previous 3 Bloc Party albums, but most notably A Weekend In The City. We're Not Good People however, takes an entirely new musical direction with the heavy feel. It shows that as a band, they haven't forgotten their roots, but also are travelling in a new direction. Love it.

    The album didn't get a 10/10 due to the inclusion of one song, V.A.L.I.S just seems to cheesy for my liking. It wouldn't be out of place in a Latvian Eurovision entry. Speaking to a future-self, Kele tells of the things that his younger self used to enjoy, (conspiracy, methyl amphetamines, science), and urges his future self to guide the younger self into the best direction possible. It's a bit like Inception for music.
    A dream inside a dream perhaps not, but a vision inside a vision, perhaps.

    Overall, all other tracks all have something special about them, something that really casts optimism in the mind of music lovers all over the world, not just for Bloc Party's sake, but for the sake of all amateur musicians looking for inspiration in post-noughties music.

    The musicality of Silent Alarm, with the lyrical stories of A Weekend In The City, the heavy-electro aspects of Intimacy (minus the electro), equate to a great fourth album.
  3. Sep 18, 2012
    The record that should have gone between 'Silent Alarm' and 'A Weekend in the City', this is a return to basics for the band. It is louder and harder than their previous work and has little to none of the over done electronic music Intimacy had. Welcome back Bloc Party. Collapse
  4. Feb 27, 2013
    Four is a return back to form for Bloc Party. They severely disappointed me with Intimacy, but Four quickly reassured me that Bloc Party learned their lesson from that silly record. There's little to no use of overly-done electronics Intimacy had, and more crunching, melodic guitars. What I really love though are the slower songs. They show maturity in the band and also show a maturity in the vocals. All In All, Four is a welcome back for Bloc Party, and I can't wait for what they put out next. B+ Expand
  5. Aug 12, 2014
    While I do think that "Four" is the most disappointing Bloc Party album to date, this is more down to the quality of what has gone before than the quality of the album itself. I would say about half of the songs on here would be good enough to appear on any of the previous Bloc Party records. While there are no terrible songs here, the other half of the album needs something more and perhaps the band should have waited another year or so til they had some more material or had improved the current material before making the record. Bloc Party have always been a band that have pushed Indie Guitar music close to the edge and I've always found them exciting, vibrant and to have great tunes. All those ingredients are present here on "four" but unfortunately much less frequently than in the past. This is all relative of course. If any other band brought this out I'd consider it a fine effort, however I did expect more from this group of very talented musicians and I now wonder whether they will ever produce another album. Expand
  6. Duu
    May 22, 2013
    This is a good album. Best tracks are "Real Talk" and "Day Four". Hard to understand the lyrics (as in most music nowadays) so the sound is very important and in that department, this album succeeds fairly well. 7 of 12 songs are good and of those 7, 2 are really good. This is a fair album because the average rock fan will probably like at least 7 songs on this album. One the bonus track version of this album, there is a very good song titled "Mean". This album made me want to hear more from Bloc Party, but they must still step their game up sonically. Expand
  7. Sep 26, 2012
    No one expected this band to outdo Silent Alarm, and with the progressively experimental sounds from A Weekend In The City and Intimacy it was clear they weren't necessarily interested in doing so. Nevertheless, while some consider this a nice step back to their roots, it's ultimately a disappointment. It's harder but not fun. Grittier but messy. Simplistic but not memorable. That's not to say there aren't high points. "Day Four," "Truth," and the oddly placed "Real Talk" all offer classic Bloc Party with a little something new. At the end of the day, though, I'm left wanting more. Expand