Franz Ferdinand

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Mar 9, 2004
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 303 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 303

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. VitoV
    Jan 29, 2009
    10
    Perfect.
  2. LucaS
    Mar 12, 2004
    8
    The good album that has listened in 2004. Together with that of the Electrelane
  3. Shane
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    Maybe all these "no name bands" get great reviews because they are good. Critics aren't always reliable, but they have a better idea of what music is good than the Billboard hot 100. Think about some of the ones from this time that will really be "remembered." Britney Spears? Jay-Z? Wow, that's some really great music, there! This album is great, and you need to learn to shut up Maybe all these "no name bands" get great reviews because they are good. Critics aren't always reliable, but they have a better idea of what music is good than the Billboard hot 100. Think about some of the ones from this time that will really be "remembered." Britney Spears? Jay-Z? Wow, that's some really great music, there! This album is great, and you need to learn to shut up when you don't know what you're talking about. Expand
  4. PetE
    Mar 10, 2004
    0
    WOW! It's the post-grunge recreation of the Talking Heads. Let me go kill David Byrne so he can roll in his grave.
  5. TimB.
    Mar 10, 2004
    0
    Why is it that all these no name bands get great reviews. All these indie/art rock bands are nothing and will never be remembered for anything.
  6. Confessor
    Mar 20, 2004
    0
    This is where indie rock goes to die. The NME has once again made us love an entirely miserable band. This disc sounds like entire sections of 80s underground bands being watered down so some ugly Brit boys can gather groupies. It's music that allows indie kids to listen to trash without losing their "cred"
  7. VanZ
    Mar 24, 2004
    0
    this cd is total bullshit, another overhyped release. its just business not music
  8. TadM
    Apr 7, 2004
    2
    I was so exited about it and now that I've bought it, listened to it once and finding myself quite unimpressed and bored, I have no desire to given it any further time. I am so sick of hearing about them now that I have been so disappointed.
  9. Wes
    Aug 23, 2004
    2
    Exactly how is this "art rock" in the least? Even if you listen to commercial radio, I can't see how this is inventive, original, or (insert other generic flowery language from reviews here) in comparison. It definitely should not be classified as indie, and those that think they sound like the strokes apparently haven't really given the strokes' albums a decent listen. Exactly how is this "art rock" in the least? Even if you listen to commercial radio, I can't see how this is inventive, original, or (insert other generic flowery language from reviews here) in comparison. It definitely should not be classified as indie, and those that think they sound like the strokes apparently haven't really given the strokes' albums a decent listen. I'm wondering how many of these reviews are put up the day someone gets the album, when they're impressed by the catchiness of repetitive garbage and think "Wow, I'm going to listen to this one forever" (see also Modest Mouse's Float On as compared to the rest of the album...it doesn't hold up...the problem is this album all sounds like the single...it's all disposable). Expand
  10. JessicaC
    Oct 21, 2005
    5
    I just don't get it. I must be missing something. Even after repeated listens where I try to convince myself that the music, the lyrics, something, anything about the album is as great as people say, all I come up with is "Sure, it's all right, but..."
  11. KarenR
    Apr 15, 2004
    2
    I fell for the hype, and now I'm disappointed and mad at myself for wasting my money. If you like The Strokes, you might like this CD. However, if you're sick of the Strokes, you won't be too impressed by FF.
  12. Dec 30, 2010
    0
    Brilliant collection of songs, "Michael" Is my favorite. Krapranos is an underrated genius, Franz ferdinand seems like a side-show band but sometimes I think its way better than Muse or most modern bands these days. One of the greatest albums of the decade and such a memorable logo for the album.
  13. Jul 18, 2012
    5
    Instrumentation of the entire album is really praiseworthy. Nothing to say about that. It reminds an incredible psychedelic rock music touch inspired in the whole British music trajectory. "Take me out", "Dark of the matinee" and "Michael" are really good tracks. But, there's something strange and annoying on this record. Some songs are really disappointing. "Tell Her Tonight" seems aInstrumentation of the entire album is really praiseworthy. Nothing to say about that. It reminds an incredible psychedelic rock music touch inspired in the whole British music trajectory. "Take me out", "Dark of the matinee" and "Michael" are really good tracks. But, there's something strange and annoying on this record. Some songs are really disappointing. "Tell Her Tonight" seems a enormous tornado which destroys the apparent climax that the album tries to reach. Kapranos' voice is clearly overshadowed by a annoying echo. Not so well for being the start of the Neo-Indie-Rock age. Expand
  14. Apr 25, 2012
    3
    Time has not been kind to Franz Ferdinand, the band or album. What seemed fresh and new in 2004 now just appears as a lesser part of the garage band fad. Download "Take Me Out" for nostalgia's sake, but there's no need purchase the whole album.
  15. dennys
    Apr 8, 2004
    10
    if "can't get you out of my head" was the bootyshakin' delight of 2002,"take me out" is the bootyshakin' delight of 2004. accept no subsituites,these badass scots did something that robbie williams has yet to do-conquer america.
  16. Chel
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Absolutely fantastic album. One of those which you can't stop listening to and you wouldn't want to anyway. Best track for me would have to be take me out- its great how they change the song at the beginning and whenever I hear that thumping beat, I always wanna get up and sing and dance!!! (but maybe thats just me...) Highly recommended!!!
  17. macca
    Jun 4, 2008
    6
    Go listen to 'Antics' instead.
  18. SimeoB
    Oct 1, 2004
    10
    Unbelievable. Every track is a killer!
  19. JakeM.
    Mar 12, 2004
    9
    This is the album the Rapture should've made, or would've made if they had a lick of talent. Fun, frantic, and entirely unpredictable, this is probably the best disc of 2004 until the Modest Mouse album drops. Oh, and Tim B., that's quite an astute observation there. No new bands should EVER record an album, because we'd certainly NEVER want to hear anything other than This is the album the Rapture should've made, or would've made if they had a lick of talent. Fun, frantic, and entirely unpredictable, this is probably the best disc of 2004 until the Modest Mouse album drops. Oh, and Tim B., that's quite an astute observation there. No new bands should EVER record an album, because we'd certainly NEVER want to hear anything other than the same crappy corporate junk we are force fed by Clear Channel, MTV, et al. Expand
  20. RobW
    Mar 21, 2004
    9
    Excellent CD. Yeah, screw all these no-name bands that hit #3 on the charts in the UK. :p
  21. JohnS.
    Mar 20, 2004
    10
    Listen this out. The first good record of the year.
  22. CameronH
    Mar 4, 2004
    9
    The first great record of 2004. Captures the spirit of the mid-90's Britpop scene without sounding dated or derivative. Believe the hype.
  23. alain
    Mar 5, 2004
    10
    bang bang shoot mi gavrilo! brilliant!
  24. DonW
    Apr 2, 2004
    5
    This album is pretty disappointing given all the hype. I guess that should be expected by now after the previous string of critical darlings like The Strokes, Interpol, and then The Rapture. Apparently finding critical favor no longer has anything to do with creativity or innovation but rather is about emulating the right influences at the right time. This stuff is utterly disposable and This album is pretty disappointing given all the hype. I guess that should be expected by now after the previous string of critical darlings like The Strokes, Interpol, and then The Rapture. Apparently finding critical favor no longer has anything to do with creativity or innovation but rather is about emulating the right influences at the right time. This stuff is utterly disposable and inessential, but it does manage to function as marginally fun, tightly executed pop. Expand
  25. TomL
    May 30, 2004
    10
    Best rock cd of 2004 Superfantastisch
  26. DanM
    May 6, 2004
    9
    Solid indie rock fare. You know why it sounds like the strokes? Because thats what indie sounds like and Franz Ferdinand do it as well as any of their american counterparts
  27. chineseboy
    Jun 30, 2004
    5
    WAY WAY WAY WAY WAY WAY WAY WAY WAY WAY WAY WAY WAY overhyped mediocre album that drags on and on with angst filled lust songs that make you sick
  28. NickS
    Jun 9, 2004
    10
    This is absolutly amazing, they are freaking sweet
  29. MattI
    Jul 12, 2004
    9
    Best album of 2004 - Take Me Out best single of 21st century so far
  30. NseE
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    Fantastic, the very best rock album of 2004! 'Take me out' is simply awesome with it's change in tempo from twangy rock to stomping beats.
  31. sonofetr2112
    Sep 6, 2004
    10
    This i think is an awesome album. just when i thought creativity and invention had left the music scene, here comes franz ferdinand as a shiny new beacon of light. i pity the guy abouve who gave this album a 2. He obviously can't see a great thing, even when it SLAPS him in the face, like this album.
  32. SamD
    Oct 3, 2005
    4
    bleh, just, bleh
  33. tuesdig
    Mar 30, 2005
    10
    Best Album Ever !!!
  34. BujarR
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    Great,arty,catchy,smart...
  35. Esin
    Jun 9, 2005
    10
    arguably the best album of 2004... and there are no fillers either.
  36. janinas
    Sep 30, 2005
    10
    Loves it! Franz's seccond album is amazing as the first!
  37. SabineD
    Apr 4, 2006
    10
    Simply the best. I rally love this album and I think that they've create their own style. FF rulz!
  38. HairPulley
    Dec 9, 2004
    8
    A series of great songs is what you get with Franz Ferdinand's self-titled debut. The most fantastic part of the band is their way of changing songs completely in the beginning or end of the song("Take Me Out" and "Darts of Pleasure"). The only con I can think of are the lyrics. Some feel forced and repetitive ("Cheating on You" and "Tell Her Tonight"). Every song here will bring you A series of great songs is what you get with Franz Ferdinand's self-titled debut. The most fantastic part of the band is their way of changing songs completely in the beginning or end of the song("Take Me Out" and "Darts of Pleasure"). The only con I can think of are the lyrics. Some feel forced and repetitive ("Cheating on You" and "Tell Her Tonight"). Every song here will bring you a future of dancing in situations you normally wouldn't. Expand
  39. PeteM
    Mar 10, 2004
    7
    I like a couple of the songs on the cd. They arent great tho. Thats all i got so....... bye.
  40. ColinR
    Mar 10, 2004
    9
    This is a superb album especially considering it is a debut! Nearly every track has something to offer and its a proper rock album that sounds tremendous played loud. Buy it now!
  41. RobertA
    Mar 16, 2004
    9
    yes this is a great album. amazingly better then the Strokes. i can't believe i just said that but by the looks of it it is true they are stoking with greatness
  42. DaveP
    Mar 16, 2004
    10
    haha, nice work Tim B. Go listen to your Nickelback.
  43. RobW
    Mar 21, 2004
    9
    Excellent CD. Yeah, screw all these no-name bands that hit #3 on the charts in the UK. :p
  44. JonathanP
    Mar 8, 2004
    10
    As infectious a CD as I've heard in quite some time -- certainly not to be missed.
  45. KiranH
    Apr 10, 2004
    9
    Fabulous, and undoubtedly the best CD of 2004 to date. I hate to sink to all the people voting 0 and baiting, but if they'd just take 5 seconds, put the hype aside, and listen, they'd discover everyone's this excited for a reason.
  46. KiranH
    Apr 10, 2004
    9
    Fabulous, and undoubtedly the best CD of 2004 to date. I hate to sink to all the people voting 0 and baiting, but if they'd just take 5 seconds, put the hype aside, and listen, they'd discover everyone's this excited for a reason.
  47. JamesS
    Apr 18, 2004
    9
    How lucky I am to live in Australia. Not being exposed to all hype surrounding the 'new darlings' of the British press gives me the opportunity to listen to Franz Ferdinand's debut without fear or prejudice and I can tell you, I'm very impressed. Many bands have borrowed the eighties new wave rock sound and butchered it in such a way that you think you're back How lucky I am to live in Australia. Not being exposed to all hype surrounding the 'new darlings' of the British press gives me the opportunity to listen to Franz Ferdinand's debut without fear or prejudice and I can tell you, I'm very impressed. Many bands have borrowed the eighties new wave rock sound and butchered it in such a way that you think you're back there at Lennie's nightclub (Adelaide reference) reliving the horror. That's the irony of the 80's. Its music just sounds better 20 years later when given the essential ingredients of today's alternative scene - style and substance. 'Jacqueline's power combined with the beefy bass of 'Auf Asche' and the cheeky 'Michael' prove that Franz Ferdinand have stayed true to themselves and their roots. Will feature in my top 5 of this year. Expand
  48. [Anonymous]
    Apr 27, 2004
    10
    the best!
  49. DarcyN
    Apr 27, 2004
    9
    Honestly, I don't understand all these people that bitch about how this or that didn't live up to the hype heaped on it by the media...especially British media. Hype always overplays and deifies every new, innovative band out there. Why? Because the media can see the inkling glimmer of something that could be a huge success...and everyone wants to say they called it rather than Honestly, I don't understand all these people that bitch about how this or that didn't live up to the hype heaped on it by the media...especially British media. Hype always overplays and deifies every new, innovative band out there. Why? Because the media can see the inkling glimmer of something that could be a huge success...and everyone wants to say they called it rather than admit to dissmissing what became the next big thing. That said, Franz Ferdinand is a gulping breath of fresh air. I find that music right now is going through a rather bland and stagnant phase. One band does something that makes money, and suddenly fifty other bands dive to cash in on that success (how many bands have that whiney, prepubescent sound of Sum41 or the dull drone of repetitive angry-rap?). FF does nothing terribly original, but they are different enough from everything else out there that they stand out quite nicely. The combination of the slick and talented vocals, upbeat beats and lyrics, and fun and catchy melodies creates something that is definately worth listening to. Expand
  50. CalB
    Apr 30, 2004
    8
    An intelligent, glam aura-fest. America won't get it ("dance with me Michael" will scare of the average US male) but then again they aren't supposed to. The colour and life that Eno and Ferry introduced to a dreary UK in the early 70s (Roxy Music), the FF boys are doing in the nervy noughts. Buy this album, drink a bottle of Bulgarian red, listen and go out dancing!
  51. mike
    Apr 4, 2004
    9
    i loved this album, although when i first heard it i didn't really get it. but after 2 or 3 listens i got it, fraz ferdinand haven't done anything new, but what they have done is make an album that is so intriguing because it's out at a time where pop-punk is everywhere and it's becoming harder and harder to find good music, and i when i listen to these album is like a i loved this album, although when i first heard it i didn't really get it. but after 2 or 3 listens i got it, fraz ferdinand haven't done anything new, but what they have done is make an album that is so intriguing because it's out at a time where pop-punk is everywhere and it's becoming harder and harder to find good music, and i when i listen to these album is like a breath of fresh air. so anyway i love this album, i haven't taken it out of my cd player in almost two weeks. Expand
  52. adelef
    May 20, 2004
    10
    franztastic!!
  53. sianj
    May 2, 2004
    9
    Franz ferdinand are derivitive and yet still manage to be original. I can't stop dancing to the brand of music, they are certantly setting the bench mark, lyrics are brilliant sound amazing.
  54. SofieL
    May 30, 2004
    10
    Amazing album Better then The Strokes
  55. BenjaminBunny
    Jun 8, 2004
    7
    Not exactly the second coming (of The Strokes, that is) but a damn fine listen!
  56. moosebeaver
    Jun 9, 2004
    9
    this oughta hold me for a few weeks
  57. nessa
    Jul 19, 2004
    10
    This cd is outrageous! I LOVE IT!
  58. UnzarJ
    Jul 9, 2004
    4
    Two good songs, and one of those is on the video. Sound quality also a 4.
  59. John
    Aug 18, 2004
    10
    OH SO GOOD!
  60. PaulW
    Aug 8, 2004
    10
    Catchy, energetic, original and always great fun to listen to, one of the best albums i own! and i hav a lot and many are classics!
  61. captainjacksparrow
    Sep 12, 2004
    9
    i think that it is great and i want to know were you can find the music on guitar to play along with because it is posativly smashing. ARRR Me harties
  62. jwcrankzah
    Sep 15, 2004
    10
    oh how i burn for you
  63. yates
    Sep 2, 2004
    9
    Mind-blowing!! The grrls are dancing alright...
  64. marshallm
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    Take me Out!!!!
  65. Frank
    Apr 25, 2005
    9
    Good stuff, not quite a ten though.
  66. SophieM.
    Jul 30, 2005
    10
    I am completely in love with Franz Ferdinand. This is the best album I've ever heard, there are no fillers and every song is different. Can't wait for the second album!!
  67. anonymous2
    Apr 2, 2006
    10
    everthing thats special
  68. VidM
    Aug 13, 2007
    8
    Nicely done!
  69. VanesaC
    Nov 22, 2004
    10
    This album is by far my rock pick of the year.
  70. HeatherG
    Nov 3, 2004
    10
    This cd is worth listening to. I think that it is better than any other cd that I had other cd I've listened to!
  71. Randeh
    Oct 14, 2004
    10
    Absolutely Sensational. If 'Take Me Out' alone didn't get you to buy the album then the other 10 sure will. Call it art rock if you want but anyone with half a brain knows this is a band who wants to make pop rock that we can dance and (hopefully) sing to, and they've done exactly that. Franz Ferdinand deserve every last bit of hype they receive because they've Absolutely Sensational. If 'Take Me Out' alone didn't get you to buy the album then the other 10 sure will. Call it art rock if you want but anyone with half a brain knows this is a band who wants to make pop rock that we can dance and (hopefully) sing to, and they've done exactly that. Franz Ferdinand deserve every last bit of hype they receive because they've made an album that will stay in the heads of many people, and stay in their media players even longer. Expand
  72. CherylM
    Oct 24, 2004
    10
    This CD is absolutely ravishing!!! The album is brilliant... I even listened to it so much that certain songs are worn out.
  73. MikeM
    Mar 11, 2004
    9
    Look buddy, just because YOU have never heard of a band doesn't mean they suck. I suggest you actually take a listen for yourself... its really good stuff. "Take me out" is one of the best songs Ive heard all year.
  74. FranzFerdinand
    Mar 10, 2004
    10
    Tim B. and Pet E are ignorant morons. If you hadn't noticed, the rap-rock sucks and so does all the other crap on the radio today. How egotistical can someone be that they think "If I haven't heard of it, its terrible". Superb album.
  75. darrenw
    Mar 10, 2004
    10
    what a great first album, thank god for "Take me out" pushing "Hey ya" outta my head @_@
  76. BrianL.
    Mar 12, 2004
    10
    While it's not a perfect album, it is one of the most enticing, interesting albums to come out from anyone in quite some time. Few debuts sound this good.
  77. CurranF
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    Franz Ferdinand defy the laws of pop! Key changes, extreme tempo changes within the first minute of songs, lack of distinguishable choruses and complex and bizzare lyrics. Amazing!
  78. Trevor
    Mar 13, 2004
    8
    This album has some AMAZING songs you'll find yourself listening to on repeat (Take Me Out, Auf Asche). However some songs don't nearly take off as well as others ... still, excellent debut.
  79. RameezA
    Mar 13, 2004
    10
    Amazing. What the Strokes should want to be (still love the Strokes, but still, they should aspire towards this kind of stuff).
  80. PabloNeruda
    Mar 13, 2004
    9
    It's actually very good if you like this kind of music. Naysayers will ALWAYS be naysayers. Despite what some may say it really is a quality release.
  81. NicholasC
    Mar 15, 2004
    7
    Good album but not fantastic, just because the Brits think they're good, doesnt mean everyone else has to! Lets think for ourselves people.
  82. juanv
    Mar 15, 2004
    5
    Hmm. After seeing the metascore and reading about references to the brit-pop sound, my interest was piqued. I was so inspired by the various professional reviewers that I even considered buying my first CD in months. I went to the record store and walked straight for it. Correction, I had to pull a piece of paper out of my pocket to remember the artist's name. After listening to the Hmm. After seeing the metascore and reading about references to the brit-pop sound, my interest was piqued. I was so inspired by the various professional reviewers that I even considered buying my first CD in months. I went to the record store and walked straight for it. Correction, I had to pull a piece of paper out of my pocket to remember the artist's name. After listening to the previous record (the only recording they had to hear) I was seriously bummed to find nothing original. I put it back in the rack, went home and downloaded the new album anyway. E! Online: "It's the album you wish the Strokes would've made." It might be the disjointed initial jams and raw ideas that they tossed 75% of. Muscially, I was not insprired. Maybe it will sink in with 10 listens. Expand
  83. MichaelK
    Mar 15, 2004
    9
    Often bands that are this hyped are disappointing. This album is anything but.
  84. AndrewR.
    Mar 18, 2004
    9
    Amazing album. I'd call their music a cross between The Strokes and Interpol with a young Scott Walker on vocals.
  85. eliasi
    Mar 20, 2004
    8
    i had pretty high expectations when i got this CD so i'm sure they hampered the overall effect of my first listen but i still thought it was good, just not great.
  86. ShintoI
    Mar 24, 2004
    8
    "Take Me Out" makes you dance. If it doesn't, please spend less time at funerals. "Take Me Out" alone is worth buying the whole record - a debut record that has a few great songs, and a few mediocre songs. They have enough pizzazz and energetic party fever to make this a worthy cd for any party rock and dance lover... don't buy this cd if you expect anything else.
  87. abidr
    Mar 25, 2004
    9
    bery,very good songwriting,playing.Not a dud on the album,so tightly played,and with so much charisma.
  88. JonnyL
    Apr 20, 2004
    9
    Yummy! Catchy as all Hell, but refreshingly deep (to a point) at the same time. Good God, 'Take Me Out'... causing limbs to shake... uncontrollably. Seriously though, it seems that alot of curmudgeons out there freak out when ever a band is (suppossedly) over-hyped. Relax guys, and give this a good listen. It's great stuff.
  89. hehehehehehechang
    Apr 29, 2004
    10
    It is absolutely bloody brilliant the music is fresh and new! i think the album is the best and well eworth your the money!
  90. TabathaH
    Apr 5, 2004
    10
    Some of the best music I've heard since The Smiths in their prime. Just like you would put them (and Morrissey) in a seperate category of greatness this band is quite sure to fit in that catergory of greatness.
  91. JonathanH
    Apr 7, 2004
    10
    A wonderful Fun Band
  92. cuteypie
    Apr 8, 2004
    10
    i love these guys they are new talents and are flying the flag for the uk..and i have plans to become a groupie ;) astoria lonodn here i come
  93. AthenaK
    Jun 19, 2004
    10
    Guilt-free dance music by a band that actually plays instruments.
  94. JennyZ
    Jun 19, 2004
    8
    I love this album! I only bought it today and I listened to it three times already. Take Me Out, The Dark of the Matinee and Auf Asche are the best songs.
  95. DionneA
    Jul 14, 2004
    10
    As someone from the US, that has been over taken by the bitch Britney Spears and endless playing of Outkast songs. I really liked this CD. I would sometimes wait until a second song to come out before buying, but 'Take me out' was song that I couldn't get out of my head. And since they won't play it on the radio, I watched the music vid, until I got it. And I was happy As someone from the US, that has been over taken by the bitch Britney Spears and endless playing of Outkast songs. I really liked this CD. I would sometimes wait until a second song to come out before buying, but 'Take me out' was song that I couldn't get out of my head. And since they won't play it on the radio, I watched the music vid, until I got it. And I was happy with it. It's great. And it's a break from everything else that is going on. And I hate when people compare other bands to The Strokes--if you have to use The Strokes to compare new music, you're really sad and need to expand you music range. Expand
  96. DrewM
    Jul 21, 2004
    10
    Coolest CD in a long time!!!!!
  97. ChrisP
    Jul 27, 2004
    9
    I wouldn't say that it's a perfect 10, but buying this CD put me in a really good mood. Rock music you can strut/swagger to. I'd say The Strokes comparison ends at the vocal production on the single... but if I _had_ to, I'd call Franz Ferdinand a funked-up, surfed-up Strokes.
  98. rocketman70
    Jul 29, 2004
    10
    Still the best album I've heard in 2004. Terrific debut.
  99. SinYourPants
    Jul 30, 2004
    5
    I give them credit for being interesting. If they made just instrumentals and saved me from the lame lyrics, this would be a lovable album.
  100. SuseB
    Jul 6, 2004
    10
    i agree with Ben Bunny- not as good as the strokes- then again who is? this album is very catchy. must have a listen
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Frantic and rhythmic Scotpop with many echoes of so-'90s Blur in the sardonic jabs at middle-class bromides.
  2. It won't usher in a bold new era where boys are boys and bands play guitars, but there is more than enough here to chew over and enjoy.
  3. The most musically rich, catchy, smartly written "new new wave" record since Interpol's Turn on the Bright Lights.