Franz Ferdinand

  • Record Label: Domino
  • Release Date: Mar 9, 2004
User Score
8.6

Universal acclaim- based on 292 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 17 out of 292

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. PetE
    Mar 10, 2004
    0
    WOW! It's the post-grunge recreation of the Talking Heads. Let me go kill David Byrne so he can roll in his grave.
  2. TimB.
    Mar 10, 2004
    0
    Why is it that all these no name bands get great reviews. All these indie/art rock bands are nothing and will never be remembered for anything.
  3. Confessor
    Mar 20, 2004
    0
    This is where indie rock goes to die. The NME has once again made us love an entirely miserable band. This disc sounds like entire sections of 80s underground bands being watered down so some ugly Brit boys can gather groupies. It's music that allows indie kids to listen to trash without losing their "cred"
  4. VanZ
    Mar 24, 2004
    0
    this cd is total bullshit, another overhyped release. its just business not music
  5. TadM
    Apr 7, 2004
    2
    I was so exited about it and now that I've bought it, listened to it once and finding myself quite unimpressed and bored, I have no desire to given it any further time. I am so sick of hearing about them now that I have been so disappointed.
  6. Wes
    Aug 23, 2004
    2
    Exactly how is this "art rock" in the least? Even if you listen to commercial radio, I can't see how this is inventive, original, or (insert other generic flowery language from reviews here) in comparison. It definitely should not be classified as indie, and those that think they sound like the strokes apparently haven't really given the strokes' albums a decent listen. Exactly how is this "art rock" in the least? Even if you listen to commercial radio, I can't see how this is inventive, original, or (insert other generic flowery language from reviews here) in comparison. It definitely should not be classified as indie, and those that think they sound like the strokes apparently haven't really given the strokes' albums a decent listen. I'm wondering how many of these reviews are put up the day someone gets the album, when they're impressed by the catchiness of repetitive garbage and think "Wow, I'm going to listen to this one forever" (see also Modest Mouse's Float On as compared to the rest of the album...it doesn't hold up...the problem is this album all sounds like the single...it's all disposable). Expand
  7. RobertE
    Mar 19, 2004
    2
    Downloaded a bunch of the songs, and gave them a listen. I can see why some people might like it, but I'm not one of them. Nothing particularly special, new, or inventive here. But then, I thought that about the White Stripes, Yeah Yeahs, and all the other hyped bands that come and go. Thank you Kazaa for saving me another $15.
  8. AceKabob
    Apr 14, 2004
    1
    Damn the British music press - this CD is hopeless shite of the highest order. Other than the last forty seconds or so of "Take Me Out Tonight," this disc is utterly worthless. Save your money - this thing will be filling up used CD bins in just a few weeks, and you won't have to pay full price.
  9. KarenR
    Apr 15, 2004
    2
    I fell for the hype, and now I'm disappointed and mad at myself for wasting my money. If you like The Strokes, you might like this CD. However, if you're sick of the Strokes, you won't be too impressed by FF.
  10. Dec 30, 2010
    0
    Brilliant collection of songs, "Michael" Is my favorite. Krapranos is an underrated genius, Franz ferdinand seems like a side-show band but sometimes I think its way better than Muse or most modern bands these days. One of the greatest albums of the decade and such a memorable logo for the album.
  11. Jan 2, 2011
    0
    since im a big fan of the Arctic Monkeys, i hav never come across a band such like Franz Ferdinand. these scots has widen my taste for music, as i came to grew more to their sense of 'dance-punk'. I am all for their music!
  12. Apr 25, 2012
    3
    Time has not been kind to Franz Ferdinand, the band or album. What seemed fresh and new in 2004 now just appears as a lesser part of the garage band fad. Download "Take Me Out" for nostalgia's sake, but there's no need purchase the whole album.
Metascore
87

Universal acclaim - based on 31 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 31 out of 31
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 31
  3. Negative: 0 out of 31
  1. Frantic and rhythmic Scotpop with many echoes of so-'90s Blur in the sardonic jabs at middle-class bromides.
  2. It won't usher in a bold new era where boys are boys and bands play guitars, but there is more than enough here to chew over and enjoy.
  3. The most musically rich, catchy, smartly written "new new wave" record since Interpol's Turn on the Bright Lights.