Free The Bees

  • Record Label: Virgin
  • Release Date: Jun 28, 2005
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 20 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 20
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 20
  3. Negative: 1 out of 20

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. mike
    Aug 1, 2004
    8
    it's incredible how authentic the 60's sound is. as musicians, they are very good. though derivative, free the bees is really a great album. one step forward away from the mellow sound of their debut and towards a full on rock sound. so far i've been really digging this album.
  2. JevonR
    Feb 15, 2005
    10
    I can not stop listening to this album. Yes it sounds like something beemed out of 1968, but who the hell cares. This is soul, this is rock, this is a wall of symphonic banging that bursts out of your speakers and won't let you go.
  3. GabeH
    May 9, 2006
    9
    This album is a great time capsule of songs that are faithful-in-spirit to the genres they takes their cues from. However, the album never feels hackneyed as your listening. The hooks and harmonies are just too damn engaging to allow you to think about anything else. Essential for those who love either classic motown of the british invasion, or both!
  4. Lapo
    Jul 16, 2004
    10
    Get over it you retro hating snobs! The Beatles and Stones early records were chock full of covers and reworkings of their influences. It's how the honed their skills. This is a great album! Worth your time and many, many listenings.
  5. RACHAELM
    Sep 24, 2004
    10
    I saw the bees and they promised me their plectrum but then didnt give it to me but ui love them anyway!
  6. James
    Dec 3, 2005
    9
    Beautiful music with soul....not materialistic, disposable crap like 99% of this generation's output (I'm 18 so it is my generation, sadly). Screw 'Pitchfork' (they take one in the ass) and Dusted and all of the others that would rather make snooty comments from the confines of their computer for an extra buck. These are the same people who put the BS we hear on Beautiful music with soul....not materialistic, disposable crap like 99% of this generation's output (I'm 18 so it is my generation, sadly). Screw 'Pitchfork' (they take one in the ass) and Dusted and all of the others that would rather make snooty comments from the confines of their computer for an extra buck. These are the same people who put the BS we hear on today's radio on the top of the charts because they are souless biproducts of society, nitpicking at music. Why don't you try to be musicians or something useful rather than think that your opinion is the example for everyone? This album is a treasure as one of the only soulful rock albums of my time. Pet Sounds has the title but this is up there on my list. Expand
  7. HankW
    Apr 27, 2005
    9
    The return of dancable rock-n-roll with a vengance!
  8. vincent
    Jun 29, 2005
    9
    This is album is the proof that pitchfork knows NOTHING. This is an excellent album with soul, reggae, sixtiespop and a whole lot of enthusiasm.
  9. TimI
    Nov 21, 2005
    10
    rewards with repeated listening. One of the best of 2005
  10. hamster
    Jul 15, 2005
    8
    good music is good music - pitchfork know shit
  11. TomS
    Jul 25, 2005
    10
    One of the greatest albums of the last ten years. Genius songwriting pulling together a completely fresh modern indie rock sound with startlingly authentic vintage 60s and 70s vinyl junkie influences. highly recommended.
  12. Bertha
    Jul 16, 2007
    8
    Every reviewer on this page that dogged this album sounds like a music-geek asshole. The pitchfork one was harsh for no reason. It sounded like the reviewer was personally insulted by A Band Of Bees deciding they wanted to play around with some "old" sounds. That brings me to another point. You could "discredit" any artist by tracing their influences. It's pointless trying to draw Every reviewer on this page that dogged this album sounds like a music-geek asshole. The pitchfork one was harsh for no reason. It sounded like the reviewer was personally insulted by A Band Of Bees deciding they wanted to play around with some "old" sounds. That brings me to another point. You could "discredit" any artist by tracing their influences. It's pointless trying to draw some arbitrary line that divides influence from imitation. If a band likes to cite their influences, and if you dig the sounds, then what the fuck is the big deal? A Band of Bees may never land on top of a "most influential" list, but they craft some damn good pop songs. Expand
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 23 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 23
  2. Negative: 0 out of 23
  1. The melodies are mostly jaunty and the stoner harmonies solar-powered enough to lull around your brain but there’s no disguising the fact it’s a disappointingly one-dimensional record stuffed with half-baked ideas (“The Start”) and devoid of a single original thought.
  2. 80
    As satisfying as it is stylish. [Jul 2004, p.95]
  3. It’s not going to change the musical horizon, as there’s absolutely nothing new here. But the oldies – the hilarious Chicken Payback, the beautiful 50s ballad I Love You, or the exuberantly wonderful One Glass of Water – are strong enough to make this both a worthy successor and a promise for the future.