Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    60
    It's time for Cut Copy to free its own mind too. [Dec 2013, p.89]
  2. Nov 18, 2013
    60
    The result is that you're having fun--on tracks like the stellar title-track and the popping candy overload of 'Let Me Show You Love' you can't help it--but increasingly it feels hollow... almost kitsch, and deep down you know that you, and the band, can really do better.
  3. Nov 8, 2013
    60
    Like most earnest attempts to reimagine the past, it’s an entertaining indulgence. One that exists to stave off the nagging question: what comes next?
  4. Nov 1, 2013
    60
    It's a 'take it or leave it' kind of record, but invest in Cut Copy's deranged aims and it'll feel like being part of a free-spirited cult.
  5. Nov 11, 2013
    50
    While their venture into psychedelia was a failed experiment, everything about Free Your Mind, from its title to its monotonous songs, is undeniably lazy.
  6. Nov 4, 2013
    50
    Considering their rather straightforward musical blueprint, every Cut Copy album is a bit of a recycle job, but Free Your Mind seems excessively so, almost to the point of motorized lifelessness.
  7. Nov 6, 2013
    40
    The major misstep on Free Your Mind is eschewing those decent lyrical impulses in favor of rather limp and unaccomplished (and repeated!) inanities such as “free your mind” and “shine on,” phrases that should be confined, respectively, to the lexicons of aging hippies and Roger Waters.
  8. Nov 5, 2013
    40
    The record is so one-note it makes its predecessor sound like an entire season at the London Philharmonic.
  9. Oct 31, 2013
    40
    Without the trippy grit you're left in a happy hippy wonderland, conscious that the melodies are thin, the lyrics trite ("You've got to live your life today, tomorrow is a world away") and the composite elements dully familiar.
User Score
6.8

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Nov 5, 2013
    5
    It's all just a bit bizarre. 90s cheese-rave. Somewhere between Ace Of Base and James Blake. Doesn't sound like the band we know and love.It's all just a bit bizarre. 90s cheese-rave. Somewhere between Ace Of Base and James Blake. Doesn't sound like the band we know and love. Just odd................................................................................................. Full Review »
  2. Nov 7, 2013
    10
    This album is filled to the brim with Madchester-style goodness. Imagine if someone invited New Order, The Orb, KLF, Happy Mondays, and PrimalThis album is filled to the brim with Madchester-style goodness. Imagine if someone invited New Order, The Orb, KLF, Happy Mondays, and Primal Scream to their house and threw one hell of a party. The 808 State birds I especially enjoyed. This is the sort of music I remember from when I first fell in love with electronic music, before EDM was reduced to vapid electro four on the floor goo for the masses. [I'm looking at you Calvin Harris and David Guetta..you ruined music!]

    Meet Me In A House Of Love is the BEST song on the album and possibly the greatest song they have written to date. Corner of the Sky and So Haunted being tied for second.
    Full Review »
  3. Nov 13, 2013
    4
    The album is clearly influenced by 90s dance music. While that can generally be considered a good thing, it's not in Cut Copy's case. AsideThe album is clearly influenced by 90s dance music. While that can generally be considered a good thing, it's not in Cut Copy's case. Aside from very few good tracks, the album isn't what i expected after their brilliant 2011 outing, Zonoscope. Full Review »