Free Your Mind - Cut Copy
User Score

Generally favorable reviews- based on 26 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 26
  2. Negative: 2 out of 26

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Nov 7, 2013
    This album is filled to the brim with Madchester-style goodness. Imagine if someone invited New Order, The Orb, KLF, Happy Mondays, and Primal Scream to their house and threw one hell of a party. The 808 State birds I especially enjoyed. This is the sort of music I remember from when I first fell in love with electronic music, before EDM was reduced to vapid electro four on the floor goo for the masses. [I'm looking at you Calvin Harris and David ruined music!]

    Meet Me In A House Of Love is the BEST song on the album and possibly the greatest song they have written to date. Corner of the Sky and So Haunted being tied for second.

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 26
  2. Negative: 0 out of 26
  1. Nov 22, 2013
    It's time for Cut Copy to free its own mind too. [Dec 2013, p.89]
  2. Nov 20, 2013
    Perhaps less instantly gratifying than the shimmering ‘Zonoscope’, Free Your Mind is nevertheless a great time that provides additional rewards for those willing to disentangle its layered arrangements.
  3. Nov 18, 2013
    The result is that you're having fun--on tracks like the stellar title-track and the popping candy overload of 'Let Me Show You Love' you can't help it--but increasingly it feels hollow... almost kitsch, and deep down you know that you, and the band, can really do better.