User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 33 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 25 out of 33
  2. Negative: 6 out of 33

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Tyrone
    Dec 2, 2008
    10
    His best album ever. The critics are haters.
  2. Anth
    Jan 6, 2009
    0
    I'm betting that every vote that put this album in a positive light came from American. I apologize for stereotyping but please, 8.8 out 10 average rating?? every track on this album is horrendous! the lyrics are almost childlike, and I'm sick to death of hearing this auto-tune effect done to disguise talentless artists' poor vocals rather than as a creative tool..! "i I'm betting that every vote that put this album in a positive light came from American. I apologize for stereotyping but please, 8.8 out 10 average rating?? every track on this album is horrendous! the lyrics are almost childlike, and I'm sick to death of hearing this auto-tune effect done to disguise talentless artists' poor vocals rather than as a creative tool..! "i never wanna see you cry, cry, cry/ and I'll never ever tell a lie, lie, lie." ...sickening. Expand
  3. RobbieD
    Dec 3, 2008
    8
    I honestly rate this a 7.5 good album but I dont see any club hits on here. Where's the party music that we know akon for (other then right na na na).
  4. discombobulator
    Jan 3, 2009
    2
    who else is sick of auto-tune being used to cover up vocal shortcomings?? Go away Akon and Rihanna and get some singing lessons.
  5. RodericR
    Aug 22, 2009
    9
    Very solid album, worth many listens, and a couple gems on here. Between Akon, Lil Wayne, T-Pain, and Timbaland we've gotten some great music.
  6. seanw.
    Dec 12, 2008
    10
    Absolutely amazing album his best yet.
  7. JeyC
    Dec 22, 2008
    10
    This record entails some of the best work akon has ever done. Mixture of melodious tones, catchy words and phrases, explains why the man is in demand.
  8. Oct 22, 2010
    8
    Yikes! Akon was always good, but this album is pretty awesome even for him. Almost every song is well writen and runs to a catchy tune. Keep it up, Kon!
  9. Mar 7, 2013
    5
    It has nice soundsbut Akon misses the point in the creation of most of these songs.
  10. Apr 27, 2014
    5
    I have always been a fan of Akon. I think "Konvicted" was one of the best albums of 2006. "Freedom" however took a couple of steps back for me. There are some decent songs on here like "I'm So Paid" and "Right Now" but for every decent song there's a crappy one like "Holla Holla" and "Over the Edge". Okay album but could have been alot better.
Metascore
58

Mixed or average reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 17
  2. Negative: 1 out of 17
  1. Akon sounds more comfortable than expected, and he reduces the lechery in favor of longing ("I wanna make up right now") and awe ("When I see you, I run out of words to say"). At times, the tensionless backdrops don't inspire Akon to do much with his pen.
  2. This tuneful, seemingly effortless set of sun-kissed pop reminds you why he's in so much demand.
  3. Akon's philosophy of liberty also includes the freedom to reuse nearly identical hooks for 13 songs straight. That approach may bring him plenty money, but it yields only a few legitimately fun tracks, buried beneath a pile of boring retreads.