Friend And Foe

  • Record Label: Barsuk
  • Release Date: Jan 23, 2007
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 51 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 48 out of 51
  2. Negative: 2 out of 51

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. SamJ
    Feb 19, 2007
    10
    can't quite fathom how another user came to the conclusion that this album was 'simply nothing special'. I won't reject their right to an opinion, but there is more than a gulf between our reactions to this music. I love this record. Best use of a piano outside of a soppy-ballad context; constantly thrilling use of drums; even the whistling at the beginning of can't quite fathom how another user came to the conclusion that this album was 'simply nothing special'. I won't reject their right to an opinion, but there is more than a gulf between our reactions to this music. I love this record. Best use of a piano outside of a soppy-ballad context; constantly thrilling use of drums; even the whistling at the beginning of 'boyscout'n' is growing on me... Expand
  2. ChrisG
    Mar 30, 2007
    10
    At first, I thought... O it's sort of like Weezer... But after repeated listens and contemplation, this band / album is simply incredible. Not one note or space wasted. NOT A SINGLE ONE.
  3. thepelican
    Jan 23, 2007
    10
    These guys are making some of the most innovative music in the indie scene. At a time when so many bands are creating music that, while nice and pretty, sounds like every other indie band, it's refreshing to hear someone like this. IATFBM was not a fluke; Menomena are on their way to something big (relatively speaking, of course). Get this now so that you can say you knew them when These guys are making some of the most innovative music in the indie scene. At a time when so many bands are creating music that, while nice and pretty, sounds like every other indie band, it's refreshing to hear someone like this. IATFBM was not a fluke; Menomena are on their way to something big (relatively speaking, of course). Get this now so that you can say you knew them when they were still indie. Expand
  4. BrandenW
    Jan 20, 2007
    9
    This album achingly reinforces the fact that Menomena is the best band that nobody has ever heard about. The only problem is that it makes you feel bad for ever listening to anything else.
  5. DanB.
    Jan 30, 2007
    7
    Not as good at their first disc. But considering how good their first disc, that means this one's still good, and better than most.
  6. DavidP.
    Feb 16, 2007
    7
    The problem here is that this doesn't sound so much as a new direction for Menomena as it does a Menomena/TV on the Radio split LP. The first track is Menomena, the second is TV on the Radio, the third Menomena, the fourth TV on the Radio etc. I really don't understand how a band could go so far out of their way to sound exactly like another band, but at least they picked a good The problem here is that this doesn't sound so much as a new direction for Menomena as it does a Menomena/TV on the Radio split LP. The first track is Menomena, the second is TV on the Radio, the third Menomena, the fourth TV on the Radio etc. I really don't understand how a band could go so far out of their way to sound exactly like another band, but at least they picked a good one to copy. As a whole, the album's songs are actually quite good and holds a lot of relistenable value, but it's sort of like hearing Nelly Furtado's "Like a Bird" and then buying her next album and for it to be all Timbaland dance tunes. If this was Pitchfork, I'd give it a 7.5. Expand
  7. kevink
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    The bass and drums of this band sound just plain thrilling. The vocals are done in a way I haven't heard before. This is not a band for everybody but I like they're spontaneous brand of songs.
  8. JayK
    Jul 20, 2007
    9
    Thee best album I have ever heard. The Debut I am the fun blame monster is good at times but this album is consistently brilliant.I have listened to this album for about 6 months and still hear new sounds everytime I listen it.I have been waiting for this album since spiritualized peaked with ladies&gentlemen..a long wait
  9. oldjeezy
    Jan 19, 2007
    9
    this is a pretty damn innovative album. kind of live tv on the radio meets a jazz avant garde pop band. definitely one of the more exciting releases to come along in a while.
  10. Tyler
    Jan 20, 2007
    9
    Great album. Not as good as the debut but you can definately see them improving, especially in the vocal department. A few throwa-aways but overall a strong sophmore album.
  11. JordanK
    Jan 22, 2007
    8
    There's a couple songs that I consider too silly, but even those I like after a couple listens. Other songs, however, put me in such a state of euphoria. Their sound is amazing; it's all well done but not covered in glitter. You can tell they have talent without them having to show off. I do agree that certain aspects of their sound at certain moments sound like recent (and some There's a couple songs that I consider too silly, but even those I like after a couple listens. Other songs, however, put me in such a state of euphoria. Their sound is amazing; it's all well done but not covered in glitter. You can tell they have talent without them having to show off. I do agree that certain aspects of their sound at certain moments sound like recent (and some late even) Flaming Lips. I think overall, they achieve their own unique sound (which like an published sound nowadays, is observed and incorporated from many previous sounds before it). I particularly like their chord progressions on certain songs like "Duel". Pretty good progressions throughout the album, although on a couple tracks it got a little too minimalist, just going back and forth between a couple chords (even in these songs, there was enough texture in the rest of the sound to justify the minimalism). All in all, great album. I'm way impressed Expand
  12. TomJ
    Jan 23, 2007
    9
    In my opinion the band has its very own style of making music, and they have delivered a great album. Some people may not like the drum/saxophone line, but I think it's a great combination. A good follow-up to I am the fun blame monster!
  13. DarrinS
    Jan 26, 2007
    7
    This album isnt close to I Am the Fun Blast Monster, but it's good. Some of these songs rank next to anything off of the afore mentioned album, such as "Wet and Rust", "Muscle n Flo", and "Boyscout'n" among others. However I have to hate on some of these tracks, particularly "My My" (originally titled "Duel" on the digital copy I got) and "Air Aid". On both of these tracks the This album isnt close to I Am the Fun Blast Monster, but it's good. Some of these songs rank next to anything off of the afore mentioned album, such as "Wet and Rust", "Muscle n Flo", and "Boyscout'n" among others. However I have to hate on some of these tracks, particularly "My My" (originally titled "Duel" on the digital copy I got) and "Air Aid". On both of these tracks the creativity sounds forced, and the song's overall effect is lame. The sax is sometimes used to good effect, but "Air Aid", vocals excluded, sound like a bad 80's song by Steve Winwood or Robert Palmer etc. The great parts are great, but the few bad parts are excrutiating to my ear. Expand
  14. maxwell
    Mar 15, 2007
    9
    This album is Phonumentally Menomenal!
  15. TristramC
    Apr 12, 2007
    8
    This is a strong record all the way through but 'The Pelican' is probably my favorite song in this young year. (4/12)
  16. brittac
    Apr 15, 2007
    9
    a VERY solid album.. i do love their previous work.. but friend and foe, while definitely not over-produced, is a bit easier on the ears and probably capable of reaching a much wider audience than the older stuff.. ranging from grungy tracks like the pelican [sounding very similar to tv on the radio] to the playful wet and rusting to the mysterious evil bee-menomena's music is truly a VERY solid album.. i do love their previous work.. but friend and foe, while definitely not over-produced, is a bit easier on the ears and probably capable of reaching a much wider audience than the older stuff.. ranging from grungy tracks like the pelican [sounding very similar to tv on the radio] to the playful wet and rusting to the mysterious evil bee-menomena's music is truly diverse and not at all contrived.. their lyrics are definitely interesting, though i don't always quite get what they're getting at.. the art on the cover conveys the tone of the album to a T-the music and lyrics transport you to a different sort of place.. just look at the cover art and you'll know what i mean.. it's genius.. and i canNOT get enough of that sax.. freaking awesome.. don't miss out on this one. Expand
  17. amelia
    Apr 24, 2007
    9
    excellent. especially wet and rusting. fantiastic work.
  18. NicolasB.
    Feb 14, 2008
    9
    So good just utterly magnificent, songs go from brilliantly delicate to belligerent and emotional; best songs are muscle 'n flo, wet and rusting and air raid.
  19. ChuckJ
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    It's simply fantastic.
  20. JustinB
    Jan 19, 2007
    10
    i love it.
  21. jeffs
    Jan 22, 2007
    10
    This will likely remain near the top of best album lists all year long. Killer Bee is stunning.
  22. DavidR
    Jun 19, 2007
    9
    Nice album to put in and take a drive.
  23. AndrewC.
    Aug 31, 2008
    10
    Buy for the stunning album artwork alone! This album (and Menomena) are criminally underrated. Yes it has received mad buzz and accolades but admittedly it's a complex
Metascore
78

Generally favorable reviews - based on 20 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 0 out of 20
  1. Urb
    60
    This could be the second half of Menomena's debut. [Jan/Feb 2006, p.81]
  2. Alternative Press
    60
    The combination of thundering drums with whimsical vocals and melodies can be charming, insanely catchy and headache-inducing, sometimes all at once. [Feb 2007, p.114]
  3. Friend and Foe follows through on the potential of their unique sound, proving their wildly great debut was no fluke.