Friendly Fire

  • Record Label: Capitol
  • Release Date: Oct 3, 2006
Metascore
68

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. Musically and lyrically the album is thoughtful and mature.
  2. The melodies and production are top-notch, even if, lyrically, the album’s motifs barely move from sullen dismay to cheery dismay.
  3. Friendly Fire is better than anyone could have predicted.
  4. Entertainment Weekly
    91
    Fire passes in an enchanting sort of basement-cabaret haze, all pretty melodies and haunting orchestral arrangements. [3 Nov 2006, p.78]
  5. Filter
    92
    A patient, assured album where nearly every sound feels appropriate. [#22, p.93]
  6. Los Angeles Times
    63
    At first it seems fairly plain, built around Lennon's thin voice (friendly, if lacking fire)....Yet there's more to the album, most explicitly in the spiked words -- troubled, uncertain, seeking security in an impermanent world. [24 Sep 2006]
  7. Mojo
    80
    Sean Lennon continues to impress. [Nov 2006, p.104]
  8. A collection of gentle, sun-kissed pop guaranteed to be easy on the ears.
  9. Humble and resigned to a fault.
  10. Rolling Stone
    80
    An album of angry, guilty, sad -- and often stunningly pretty -- songs. [5 Oct 2006, p.68]
  11. Lennon isn’t attempting to re-invent the wheel with Friendly Fire; he’s just writing a narrative using thoroughly enjoyable pop melodies.
  12. Uncut
    80
    A 10-track masterclass in spectral, psychedelicised pop, it's awash with great tunes and soaring arrangements. [Nov 2006, p.117]
  13. Under The Radar
    70
    It is lush, not airy like its predecessor, and while the songs on their surface remain light, they retain a certain musical heft that keeps the album grounded. [#15]
  14. Urb
    80
    Instead of avoiding the comparisons, Sean Lennon succeeds by reveling in the kind of pop that runs through his family's genes. [Oct 2006, p.124]
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 35 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 20
  2. Negative: 1 out of 20
  1. MarkK
    Nov 11, 2006
    9
    Great album. Light and melodic, nice and melancholic. Just pleasant to hear it on sunday morning.
  2. Sep 8, 2011
    8
    This is a decent album that reminds me of a Wes Anderson film that has not yet been made. The comparisons between Sean Lennon and his fatherThis is a decent album that reminds me of a Wes Anderson film that has not yet been made. The comparisons between Sean Lennon and his father are unavoidable; I mean, they're related. I don't understand the criticism that Sean is "trying to hard to be his dad." The lyrics on "Friendly Fire" , "Dead Meat" and "Diamonds" stand out for having well-crafted lines and imagery. The supplemental DVD that comes with most editions of the album transforms the songs into a cohesive artistic expression. Overall, this is more of an "experience" than an album. Full Review »
  3. Feb 18, 2011
    10
    Wonderfully different =) He reminds me of John so much but this album is so modern without being stereotypically modern. I also like how IWonderfully different =) He reminds me of John so much but this album is so modern without being stereotypically modern. I also like how I can't describe his style to my friends Full Review »