From A Basement On The Hill

  • Record Label:
  • Release Date:
From A Basement On The Hill Image
Metascore
88

Universal acclaim - based on 37 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 111 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The late singer-songwriter was nearly done with this highly anticipated album at the time of his death in 2003.

Top Track

Twilight
Haven't laughed this hard in a long time I better stop now before I start crying Go off to sleep in the sunshine I don't want to see the day when... See the rest of the song lyrics
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 37 out of 37
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 37
  3. Negative: 0 out of 37
  1. 100
    It's simply wonderful -- bristling with pop masterpieces large and small, and reassuringly unburdened by Smith's deep-seated malaise.
  2. Los Angeles Times
    100
    Freed from the more formal sound and circumstances of his previous work, Smith indulged without being indulgent, and the revelation here is the exuberant, instinctive, playful and daring sonic pilot who was hidden inside the meticulous craftsman of such albums as "XO" and "Figure 8." [10 Oct 2004]
  3. Spin
    91
    Smith's intentions cry out from the album's every discordant corner--he clearly wanted to test himself, to unhinge parts of his sound. [Nov 2004, p.105]
  4. Smith bundles subtlety and ferocity to create one of his heart-aching best.
  5. Uncut
    80
    From A Basement... returns us to the more unfiltered, denuded sound of his earlier [albums]. [Nov 2004, p.106]
  6. This final record is neither focused nor infallible, instead a rarer glimpse at a man whose creative doorways, once the source of so much hope and inspiration, had become outnumbered by his demons.

See all 37 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 62 out of 64
  2. Negative: 0 out of 64
  1. DylanT
    Oct 17, 2004
    10
    This album is absolutely incredible. An incredible tragedy that this is Elliott's last album.
  2. Aug 17, 2013
    10
    Maybe this isn't the fairest review, because I'm a huuge Elliott Smith fan. I do feel like this album has a rawness that is invigorating,Maybe this isn't the fairest review, because I'm a huuge Elliott Smith fan. I do feel like this album has a rawness that is invigorating, particularly on the rock tracks. Some of his finest picking resides here as well. King's Crossing is one for the ages, and the sequencing totally works. This is amazing stuff. If you're not a fan, I don't really get that, and if you are then you don't need my encouragement. All the same, pick this up. Expand
  3. AlanR
    Nov 19, 2004
    10
    His death is one of the most tragic losses of my generation.
  4. [Anonymous]
    Oct 20, 2005
    10
    it is amazing it is a great legacy to the artist. and his music will live on with us forever.
  5. MarcusP
    Apr 25, 2007
    10
    Magnificent album, from "Coast to Coast" to A distorted reality...It really touches one in the heart
  6. DennisD
    Feb 16, 2005
    9
    An incredibly moving collection of songs. Smith was an artist who, though apparently unable to cope with his own depression/demons, made An incredibly moving collection of songs. Smith was an artist who, though apparently unable to cope with his own depression/demons, made music that helped others feel ok in being sad. Expand
  7. JeromeH
    Oct 18, 2004
    5
    This album is really not very good. It doesn't compare well with his older work, which wasn't all that great to begin with (in my This album is really not very good. It doesn't compare well with his older work, which wasn't all that great to begin with (in my opinion). I can guarantee you if Smith was still alive, the metacritic rating would drop 12-15 points. Dead musicians are always overrated. Yup, Hendrix, Cobain, Marley, and now Smith. You're rating an album, not giving a eulogy, fellas. Collapse

See all 64 User Reviews