• Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: Jan 24, 2006
User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 9 out of 9
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 9
  3. Negative: 0 out of 9

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JohnL
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    Created from cold corpse and surgeon...American Superdream Wow!
  2. aaron
    May 5, 2006
    8
    great album, although i would strongly reccommend the "fiction man" album first, if you havent heard it... same production style, but that album is built more around immediately gratifying hooks. this one will definitely take a bit longer to sink in, not just because its a 70+ minute disc, but most of the songs themselves are pretty strange... for various reasons: production, more great album, although i would strongly reccommend the "fiction man" album first, if you havent heard it... same production style, but that album is built more around immediately gratifying hooks. this one will definitely take a bit longer to sink in, not just because its a 70+ minute disc, but most of the songs themselves are pretty strange... for various reasons: production, more mid-song change-ups, more complex hooks...etc.etc.etc. Expand
  3. BrianM
    Feb 20, 2006
    7
    7.5 really. Like most of Pollard's albums, this one will take some time to digest, and even then, not all of the hidden gems will be evident until many months or years later. That's the general feeling I get from the album. With every spin, I find something else to appreciate. It's not a masterpiece, but one of his strongest solo albums. The only downside is the legnth of 7.5 really. Like most of Pollard's albums, this one will take some time to digest, and even then, not all of the hidden gems will be evident until many months or years later. That's the general feeling I get from the album. With every spin, I find something else to appreciate. It's not a masterpiece, but one of his strongest solo albums. The only downside is the legnth of the album. Expand
  4. CulleyS
    Feb 8, 2006
    8
    I may be biased in my review, because I am (admittedly) a very big Robert Pollard fan. I first heard GBV back in 1995, when a friend made me a mix-tape. I immediately went out and bought "Bee Thousand" and about three other LPs featuring stuff from "Forever Since Breakfast" and some live/rare lps. Since that time, I haven't taken on everything Pollard has put out (who could!), but I may be biased in my review, because I am (admittedly) a very big Robert Pollard fan. I first heard GBV back in 1995, when a friend made me a mix-tape. I immediately went out and bought "Bee Thousand" and about three other LPs featuring stuff from "Forever Since Breakfast" and some live/rare lps. Since that time, I haven't taken on everything Pollard has put out (who could!), but have made an attempt. I've acquired over 50 Pollard-related works including live shows, LPs, EPs, singles, solo albums, DVDs, side projects, and the book "Hunting Accidents." I think "From a Compound Eye" is easily the strongest solo album Pollard has put out. I first heard the album almost a year ago when copies were running around the Internet. While I thought the album was a bit long (even by Robert Pollard standards), I was very pleased by a great number of the tracks. "Love is Stronger than Witchcraft," "Dancing Girls and Dancing Men," "I'm a Widow," and "Gold" were all standouts. Pollard proves he still has a talent (and a lot of skill) as a lyricist and songwriter. Whereas some releases can be passed over, "From the Compound Eye" is likely essential for any GBV or Robert Pollard fan. Expand
  5. KyleD
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    Enter the Kingdom Without.
  6. Ben
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    Zillionst masterpiece of uncle Bob.
  7. ToddR
    Feb 7, 2006
    8
    I guess the overused line with Pollard is that he needs an editor, but each album he releases has enough gems to keep me interested.
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. A lovable slog peppered with a few mini-classics. [27 Jan 2006, p.85]
  2. "Compound Eye" is difficult as a complete listen but works well in smaller chunks. [28 Jan 2006]
  3. What you will get with From A Compound Eye is your typical gourmet spread of Pollard delicacies from the modern eras of Bob.