From A Compound Eye - Robert Pollard
From A Compound Eye Image
Metascore
71

Generally favorable reviews - based on 24 Critics What's this?

User Score
8.8

Universal acclaim- based on 9 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The first post-GBV solo outing for the prolific Pollard was produced by Todd Tobias.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 24
  2. Negative: 0 out of 24
  1. It doesn't sound substantially different from what Pollard has done before... but the record cycles through Pollard's disparate influences in songs as charged-up and fully realized as anything he's delivered in maybe a decade.
  2. 83
    Twisted, quirky pop gems. [Feb 2006, p.86]
  3. GBV fans should definitely check this one out – there's a lot to like.
  4. What you will get with From A Compound Eye is your typical gourmet spread of Pollard delicacies from the modern eras of Bob.
  5. 60
    As ever: endlessly clever, utterly inessential. [Feb 2006, p.81]
  6. Contains all the usual suspects: a few great songs, a few throwaways, a bunch of head-scratching song titles and indie rock's best take on the Who. [Mar 2006, p.124]
  7. While Pollard's nothing if not prolific, if ever he needed an editor to cut some passages and refocus others, it's here on From a Compound Eye.

See all 24 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 7
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 7
  3. Negative: 0 out of 7
  1. JohnL
    Feb 20, 2006
    10
    Created from cold corpse and surgeon...American Superdream Wow!
  2. Ben
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    Zillionst masterpiece of uncle Bob.
  3. KyleD
    Jan 26, 2006
    10
    Enter the Kingdom Without.
  4. ToddR
    Feb 7, 2006
    8
    I guess the overused line with Pollard is that he needs an editor, but each album he releases has enough gems to keep me interested.
  5. aaron
    May 5, 2006
    8
    great album, although i would strongly reccommend the "fiction man" album first, if you havent heard it... same production style, but that great album, although i would strongly reccommend the "fiction man" album first, if you havent heard it... same production style, but that album is built more around immediately gratifying hooks. this one will definitely take a bit longer to sink in, not just because its a 70+ minute disc, but most of the songs themselves are pretty strange... for various reasons: production, more mid-song change-ups, more complex hooks...etc.etc.etc. Collapse
  6. CulleyS
    Feb 8, 2006
    8
    I may be biased in my review, because I am (admittedly) a very big Robert Pollard fan. I first heard GBV back in 1995, when a friend made me I may be biased in my review, because I am (admittedly) a very big Robert Pollard fan. I first heard GBV back in 1995, when a friend made me a mix-tape. I immediately went out and bought "Bee Thousand" and about three other LPs featuring stuff from "Forever Since Breakfast" and some live/rare lps. Since that time, I haven't taken on everything Pollard has put out (who could!), but have made an attempt. I've acquired over 50 Pollard-related works including live shows, LPs, EPs, singles, solo albums, DVDs, side projects, and the book "Hunting Accidents." I think "From a Compound Eye" is easily the strongest solo album Pollard has put out. I first heard the album almost a year ago when copies were running around the Internet. While I thought the album was a bit long (even by Robert Pollard standards), I was very pleased by a great number of the tracks. "Love is Stronger than Witchcraft," "Dancing Girls and Dancing Men," "I'm a Widow," and "Gold" were all standouts. Pollard proves he still has a talent (and a lot of skill) as a lyricist and songwriter. Whereas some releases can be passed over, "From the Compound Eye" is likely essential for any GBV or Robert Pollard fan. Expand
  7. BrianM
    Feb 20, 2006
    7
    7.5 really. Like most of Pollard's albums, this one will take some time to digest, and even then, not all of the hidden gems will be 7.5 really. Like most of Pollard's albums, this one will take some time to digest, and even then, not all of the hidden gems will be evident until many months or years later. That's the general feeling I get from the album. With every spin, I find something else to appreciate. It's not a masterpiece, but one of his strongest solo albums. The only downside is the legnth of the album. Expand