From Here We Go Sublime

  • Record Label: Kompakt
  • Release Date: Apr 3, 2007
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 390 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 98 out of 390

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EricC.
    Jul 7, 2008
    10
    If you're in to ambient, this will be one of the most incredible albums you've heard in years. If you're not in to ambient, well... just read the low scores below.
  2. freek
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    simply beautiful, never thought a dance album would deserve a 10. this one definitely does, the critics are right. it offers sublime emotion in all it's simplicity, just perfect. strange experience live though, in between other (less sophisticated, but also great) Kompakt artists.
  3. AndyP
    May 2, 2007
    9
    This is a stunning album which, as an earlier reviewer said, becomes unbelievably good when played through headphones. There is so much going on, that although it could be classed as minimal, every listen reveals new fabrics and layers. I particularly love Mobilia - it just pummels my brain into submission every time I hear it. Album of the year so far without question.
  4. IsaacL
    May 3, 2007
    10
    WOW. This is microhouse at its very, VERY finest.
  5. JesseJ
    May 3, 2007
    10
    This a great album. Yes this isn't a groundbreaking album, and yes, it probably shouldn't be the number one album of the year, but instead of deconstructing and analyzing it, try to just enjoy it.
  6. KelvinO'C
    May 5, 2007
    9
    Fantastic minimal album. For all those who feel these is repetitive,you really don't get it do you? Stop reviewing electronic albums and go back to the cosy land of pop music and soft rock,where you'll believe there's no repetition simply because some "star" is singing some song overthe top. Leave the real musical art reviews to real music listener's
  7. GarrettM
    May 9, 2007
    10
    minimal techno is an acquired taste, I think. I don't blame noobs for blasting this album, however a few in particular are blasting the listeners. I'm not a snob or elitist and I enjoy this album and this site. I'm sorry you don't.
  8. arthurdogtrash
    Jun 1, 2007
    7
    Album of the year? No damn way. It's actually kind of boring and mind-numbing. Once again the readers vote is a far better representation of it's actual status. Avoid the media hype and make up your own minds.
  9. Mothra
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    i hated it at first, the album lacks immediacy but rewards greatly with repeated listens. i now understand the praise, i gave the album another shot after i heard "Kappsta", an incredible track by the same artist, the track is featured on the Pop Ambient 2007 album and is truly sublime
  10. OpenMind
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    The only people who don't like this are listening to it for the wrong reason. This isn't the instant satisfation the MTV crowd thrives on. This is straight up minimal techno, meant for quiet grooving. Grow some patience, people.
  11. ja
    Jul 3, 2007
    8
    Beautiful. Finds ways to hit the listener's emotions without a single sappy lyric or radio-pop cliche. Refreshing because it is a break from the norm, even by indie-snob standards. Better than what the users have rated it, but somewhat overrated by critics too (the critical average feels like it should be lower based on the scores, I can't see why it is so high). Not every track Beautiful. Finds ways to hit the listener's emotions without a single sappy lyric or radio-pop cliche. Refreshing because it is a break from the norm, even by indie-snob standards. Better than what the users have rated it, but somewhat overrated by critics too (the critical average feels like it should be lower based on the scores, I can't see why it is so high). Not every track is compelling or interesting as the good ones, but the good ones are...very, very good. Expand
  12. DanS
    Aug 10, 2007
    8
    I enjoy listening to this album.
  13. PatrickM
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    It's not the methodology, it's the results that matter in this instance. this is an album for those who like music that is effective; music that effects them, rather than affecting some "ideal techno type"
  14. JoseA.C
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    I always complain how techno or its many variants, while appealing, can sometimes be souless and monotonous... The Field's sublime CD is all the opposite: powerful melodies, full of life and simply gorgeous. Highly recommended! Go! Fetch!
  15. everythingisnice
    May 11, 2007
    9
    This a minimal, yet beautifully crafted album; I understand why some people dislike it, but they also have to understand that this album is receiving fantastic reviews because the writers that have reviewed it have thought it was fantastic. How can the fact that the rating for an album is culled from many reviews as opposed to one reviwer's opinion be the reason this site does not This a minimal, yet beautifully crafted album; I understand why some people dislike it, but they also have to understand that this album is receiving fantastic reviews because the writers that have reviewed it have thought it was fantastic. How can the fact that the rating for an album is culled from many reviews as opposed to one reviwer's opinion be the reason this site does not work? All I will say is if you are willing to give any type of music a chance and listen to an album on its own merits - instead of trying to compare it to everything else - then you should give this a try. If, however, you do not like minimal electronica and slow-building crescendos, then this is not for you ... Expand
  16. MichelleT
    May 10, 2007
    8
    Initially I was unimpressed with the album. But after a few more listens, I was won over. The album builds to its peak by track 6 and recedes gently. It's minimal, subtle, and neatly crafted. It's a great album to listen to when you don't feel like listening to anything at all. He beautifully extracts that space between words and shifts between syllables, and layers these Initially I was unimpressed with the album. But after a few more listens, I was won over. The album builds to its peak by track 6 and recedes gently. It's minimal, subtle, and neatly crafted. It's a great album to listen to when you don't feel like listening to anything at all. He beautifully extracts that space between words and shifts between syllables, and layers these repetitive snipped sounds over pounding electronic beats to create an intense yet vacuous abstraction. Expand
  17. NotDaveWhatatool
    May 1, 2007
    9
    Dave you are such a rebel! What a productive and helpful post- phenomenal rating as well. For your sake and the rest of ours please call it a day. If you have a criticism voice it, but don't give something that you can't appreciate and probably have zero experience with a 0. It showcases your faults far above the album's. An enveloping experience, check it out even if you Dave you are such a rebel! What a productive and helpful post- phenomenal rating as well. For your sake and the rest of ours please call it a day. If you have a criticism voice it, but don't give something that you can't appreciate and probably have zero experience with a 0. It showcases your faults far above the album's. An enveloping experience, check it out even if you aren't normally a huge techno fan. -Jaco Expand
  18. MuzS
    May 21, 2007
    9
    I love this CD. Amazing how something so minimal can be so damn effective!
  19. AndyR
    May 2, 2007
    9
    Just when I thought trance had had it's day. The Field do it just the way I like it.
  20. EricF
    May 20, 2007
    7
    I think this album is a bit-overhyped. Its not minimal, its not trance, its not house. Its listenable techno, and for the indie-rock kids how are only now starting to appreciate electronic music this album bridges the gap because its so easy to listen to. I personally think its extremely lush and deep electronica, but at times takes the same loop a bit too far. A good offering, and a I think this album is a bit-overhyped. Its not minimal, its not trance, its not house. Its listenable techno, and for the indie-rock kids how are only now starting to appreciate electronic music this album bridges the gap because its so easy to listen to. I personally think its extremely lush and deep electronica, but at times takes the same loop a bit too far. A good offering, and a truly Kompact sounding record for those familiar with the famous German label Expand
  21. JohnJ
    May 23, 2007
    10
    A little repetitive? Yes, but that's what holds this amazing album together.
  22. BrianW
    May 24, 2007
    9
    This is a beautiful and chilling collection of microhouse techno.
  23. EspenH
    May 7, 2007
    9
    Beautiful minimal! :)
  24. Darnell
    May 9, 2007
    6
    Say Hello! to SUPER-HYPE! What is new here? It sounds so repetitive and boring that any slight nuance is considered profound (in the ears of critics). I tried, let me tell you, to like this. It's OK, and that's as good as it gets.
  25. MycroftW
    May 9, 2007
    6
    It's not bad, but this is surely way to lacking in ideas or originality to get a 93 score? That would imply there's a second Strings of Life on here somewhere, but instead it sounds like a poor man's Isolee
  26. JohnD
    May 9, 2007
    7
    Urgh. Look, here's the deal: See that 7? Well, if you don't like house music at all, then subtract 4 points from it, because there is nothing here that is going to change your mind; beats are 4/4, the songs sound almost exactly the same at the beginning of the song as they do at the end, and most of the songs last for more than 5 minutes. If you appreciate house music but are Urgh. Look, here's the deal: See that 7? Well, if you don't like house music at all, then subtract 4 points from it, because there is nothing here that is going to change your mind; beats are 4/4, the songs sound almost exactly the same at the beginning of the song as they do at the end, and most of the songs last for more than 5 minutes. If you appreciate house music but are not a raver, then take that 7 at face value, since its better than most house music around...but it's still house music. If you breathe house music, then you probably already own this album, but increase that 7 by 3 points anyway. That's all you really need to know. Expand
  27. jimmyj.
    Jun 30, 2007
    7
    All of you who say you can create something as good or better, well let's get to it! Look how much acclaim this "boring" album is getting. Imagine the reviews your work of art would get! You could be a star!! I'm mean, since it's so damn easy and everything, you should be able to shit one out with your laptop and loop program in no time. Imagine: all of the sudden, all of All of you who say you can create something as good or better, well let's get to it! Look how much acclaim this "boring" album is getting. Imagine the reviews your work of art would get! You could be a star!! I'm mean, since it's so damn easy and everything, you should be able to shit one out with your laptop and loop program in no time. Imagine: all of the sudden, all of this incredible, original electronica just oozing from normal, every-day music lovers everywhere! Anyone can do it. It's so easy. Can't wait to hear what you all come up with! Expand
  28. steve-o
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    People who review this record and give it a 0 are missing the point of this record. This is not meant to be a pop record with huge songs and flashy brilliance. It is a mood album that conveys great human emotion through electronics. What is most astounding about this album is how everything fits so neatly together. Every swirl, flange ect has its place on this record. There is just enough People who review this record and give it a 0 are missing the point of this record. This is not meant to be a pop record with huge songs and flashy brilliance. It is a mood album that conveys great human emotion through electronics. What is most astounding about this album is how everything fits so neatly together. Every swirl, flange ect has its place on this record. There is just enough technical music programming to keep a listener enticed but avoid downfalls of over production (recent timb album). Axel's harmonic choices are striking and profound. Expand
  29. brendanp
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    to say the approach is original is wrong, just see william basinski and panda bear. but its by no stretch gorgeous, warm and delicate. its a trip.
  30. [Anonymous]
    Jun 6, 2007
    8
    I don't think this album is the best of this year, but it is still definitely above average. "Over The Ice" and the title track are amazing, and the rest of the album is an emotional trance trip that rarely bores. Definitely worth it for techno fans.
  31. jobberl
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    For all you naysayers who think elitists and snobs like this stuff, well then go listen to "Bad Day" the rest of your life. You'll never be pleased; you are lost. If you think it gets boring and dull, then you've been listening to the same type of pop music, where they all sound the same and are getting more complex exponentially. Music has become exponentially predictable, For all you naysayers who think elitists and snobs like this stuff, well then go listen to "Bad Day" the rest of your life. You'll never be pleased; you are lost. If you think it gets boring and dull, then you've been listening to the same type of pop music, where they all sound the same and are getting more complex exponentially. Music has become exponentially predictable, lazy, and sad....until this album came out. WHAT A BREATH OF FRESH AIR!!!!! I can finally see the light! Amen! Funny enough, all that was done was simplifying beats and extending rhythms...I feel so free when I listen to this. Enjoy! Expand
  32. MichaelK
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    OK, if you don't like repetitive beats you won't like this. Natasha K you are trippin or a fool! Sounds great to my ears! Funky, beautiful soundscapes.
  33. Bram
    Jul 3, 2007
    7
    This is very abstract music. And like with all abstract art wether its a mondriaan painting or minimal music, people think they can recreate it with great ease. But believe me you can't. It's a good album but it's a little to clubby for my taste.
  34. Muz
    Aug 15, 2007
    10
    On first hearing a track by The Field I knew I had found something fantastic. Now this album is out and I have it I can see why so many critics agree it is a great album. I agree it's not for everyone, but it is brilliant music.
  35. CIaranM.
    Aug 7, 2007
    10
    Sublime, subliminal, this album really sorts out the people with a good ear for music from those who don't. The howls and protestations in the previous comments are hilarious. Anything that gets such people into such a reactionary fever is usually really good. For me it is easily the best album of the year
  36. dan
    Sep 12, 2007
    7
    It's got a strange mesmerizing quality but i can't help but think wtf? when i see the ratings for it. pretty much what everyone is saying here is right to some extent. it's a good minimalist techno album that's way overrated. I'm feeling it despite how repetitive it seems.
  37. PatrickB
    Sep 26, 2007
    8
    Subtle, sometimes to the point of being static, but tracks like "Everyday" and "A Paw In My Face" are pretty blissful. The beats are simple, sure, but they're not the point; they're just there to give the tracks a bit of extra momentum. Most of the rhythm comes from the sample-processing. Reminds me a lot of Seefeel.
  38. GoldN
    Sep 30, 2007
    9
    Gorgeous piece of work here. Sure it's not for everyone, but what good album is?
  39. xoxiax
    Sep 3, 2007
    10
    Exuberant and perfect.
  40. Hansfranz1962
    Sep 6, 2007
    10
    Genius. Love it.
  41. Ben
    Jan 10, 2008
    9
    I'm not going to say its good or bad. i'll just say that i like it a lot. the fact that he drags out "3-note loops" for 10 minutes is my favorite part about it. i personally love the having a great song on repeat without having to suffer the guilt of playing it over and over again to get your fill. some of the warmest sounds I've found and it seems like they never end.
  42. TrevorW
    Aug 4, 2008
    10
    It's the perfect mix of heavy bass-lines and short melodic synthesizer phrases. The ambiance each track gives off is slightly different, yet the whole album keeps you in the same mood or trance if you prefer. I eagerly await their second album.
  43. MichelE
    May 1, 2007
    10
    Very good, i love this music !
  44. NatashaK
    May 30, 2007
    0
    An incredibly overrated album. I could understand appeal resting in the bland, sentimental accessibility
  45. Michael
    Nov 4, 2007
    10
    I loved it from the get go, the sound is just so heart-warming. It's so wispy, so up in the clouds, I feel like I could listen to these songs forever. It's very simple, but very brave and vivid. Absolutely lush. A very personal album, and as such many are going to be completely confused by it. The rest of us will just drift away.
  46. stem
    May 10, 2007
    1
    When these others say "minimal", take it to heart. It sucks.
  47. BibianeN
    May 21, 2007
    10
    THE BEST, sublime, idiliac, delicious, eletronic album of the last 5years. love it. i'm still asking myself how did i live without it
  48. AaronS.
    May 28, 2007
    2
    Overrated. It's really nothing special.
  49. BigSur
    May 4, 2007
    2
    Nothing that hasn't been done in a much more creative way before, even in mainstream music. To have this as the best rated record in 2007 implies the critics aren't mastering their craft. Listen to more music, guys!
  50. TonyE.
    Jul 4, 2007
    1
    If this is the best electronic album of 2007, let alone best album of 2007, we are all in trouble musically. Repetitive junk.
  51. onyxE.
    Jul 9, 2007
    4
    I love electronic music but this album is so overhyped it's ridiculous. TOTALLY OVERRATED!
  52. GlenG
    Oct 1, 2007
    0
    It may possibly be that with subsequent listens I'd learn to appreciate the nuances of this album, but I'm thinking it's more likely I'd just go completely, bat-off-the-walls insane instead. This is is, HONESTLY, like listening to a one-second loop of randomly selected music that plays like a broken record while your computer is bluescreening, for over an entire hour! It may possibly be that with subsequent listens I'd learn to appreciate the nuances of this album, but I'm thinking it's more likely I'd just go completely, bat-off-the-walls insane instead. This is is, HONESTLY, like listening to a one-second loop of randomly selected music that plays like a broken record while your computer is bluescreening, for over an entire hour! I agree that this has to be a music critic conspiracy; there's no way that anybody on earth with a lick of taste could actually find this tripe appealing. Expand
  53. AlexP
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    AMAZING!!! One of the best electronic album ever!
  54. ShaneequaJ
    May 23, 2007
    9
    It's just great. Plain and simple.
  55. argeX
    Jun 3, 2007
    9
    simply a great album. various,fun, absolutely enjoyable.
  56. PaulC
    Sep 25, 2007
    3
    Vastly overrated, every album in the top ten is better than this one, and I've listened to them all.
  57. chriss
    Oct 14, 2007
    0
    There was nothing really ground breaking about this album. Just became extremely repetitive.
  58. Jen
    Sep 20, 2007
    2
    What a waste of a really awesome title.
  59. ToxtethO.
    Sep 24, 2007
    0
    I dearly hope that something comes out that knocks this out of the top spot. This album was unlistenable to me.
  60. STeve
    Oct 14, 2007
    3
    I'm a big fan of electronic music of all kinds, but this really isn't a very good album. I agree with the previous poster's point that all the other albums in the top ten are better than this one. How can you compare this tripe to Radiohead's "In Rainbows", for example? Insulting.
  61. SimonC.
    Oct 30, 2007
    3
    This is literally the worst album I've ever heard, It is ridiculously repetitive it sounds like your computer froze while playing music and its playing the same thing over and over again. It might sound alright at times but I can';t see how any talent in this music. Maybe I just don't understand it but in my opinion it should defiantly not be #1 let alone the top 10
  62. Jonathan
    Oct 6, 2007
    4
    Electronic music thrives on novelty - so I'm amazed that this album has received such glowing reviews. This kind of lush minimal proggy techno has been done a trillion times before. It's well crafted, but dull.
  63. mikeh
    Apr 18, 2007
    9
    absolutely amazing, one of the best releases so far this year. think early aphex twin for the dance floor
  64. SteveC
    May 1, 2007
    4
    Has a couple of nice moments. Someone's been hacking Kate Bush up, which always triggers a warm feeling...
  65. ChristianK
    May 16, 2007
    2
    This is the only album I've bothered to comment on, the two years I've been visiting this sight. Minimalistic sure, but quite dull. When ever song has the same beat, there's a problem. If your into dance or electronic check out !!! (chkchkchk). Why is it that the amazing albums always take backseat to the subpar ones. It's #7 on the all-time high list, but doesn't This is the only album I've bothered to comment on, the two years I've been visiting this sight. Minimalistic sure, but quite dull. When ever song has the same beat, there's a problem. If your into dance or electronic check out !!! (chkchkchk). Why is it that the amazing albums always take backseat to the subpar ones. It's #7 on the all-time high list, but doesn't do anything for me. All biases aside, if it's top ten for the last five years, it should atleast be slightly captivating. There are many better albums than this one, ask 90% of anybody willing to listen to this album. Somebody please lock up the reviewers. Expand
  66. WTF
    Jul 7, 2007
    0
    wow this is seriously bad. I mean if I were in charge of this site I would be embarrased to have let such a mistake slip through.
  67. TomW
    Aug 14, 2007
    1
    If this is the best album of 2007 we should all pack up and go home. Electronic music has never sounded this dull.
  68. pix101
    Sep 3, 2007
    3
    Must agree with what others have said, there is much better electronic music out there! I can't believe the hype for something so boring.
  69. KristN
    Jan 3, 2008
    1
    I'm in shock and awe over the scores at metacritic and here. This is not good music nor does it sound like the group put any real heart into it. I bet they are all looking at each other and wondering how they got voted 3rd best of 07. I'm sure they are getting a big laugh over it. Truly horrible. I mean every song has the exact same beat. It's rave music...that's it!!!
  70. BenjaminB.
    Mar 10, 2008
    3
    I guess if your into this style of music you will enjoy it. I will give anything a chance and try to be as open minded as possible. With that being said this stuff is pretty weak, way over-rated, cause I wanted to hear what others are raving about but it wasn't there.
  71. TomP.
    May 1, 2008
    4
    Every song has the same annoying chop-up sound that makes this album virtually unlistenable by itself. Entertaining to listen to for the first 15 seconds, then you realize it's only going to keep repeating the same unoriginal beat and melody with a few subtle changes for the rest of the song. There's pretty much no music, no meaning, nothing. Sure, it makes nice background Every song has the same annoying chop-up sound that makes this album virtually unlistenable by itself. Entertaining to listen to for the first 15 seconds, then you realize it's only going to keep repeating the same unoriginal beat and melody with a few subtle changes for the rest of the song. There's pretty much no music, no meaning, nothing. Sure, it makes nice background music, while you go about doing something else, because if you were to sit down with headphones and concentrate on this cd from start to finish you would ultimately feel like you wasted about 50 minutes of your life. Not to mention you would be driven insane. I mean are you serious? Sun and ice was just about the most pointless song I've ever heard....Baaaaaaaaaahhh......Beeeeehhhhhhhhh.....baaaaaaahhhhh.....beeeeeehhhhhhh....and so on. So yeah, nice background music, that's definetly worth album of the year isn't it? Oh well, instead of discussing why it's there, just look at that nice 14 reviews...14 misguided reviews, that this album got. For anyone even remotely serious about music, In Rainbows was the real album of the year, and we all know it. Nuff said. Expand
  72. YouS.
    Oct 26, 2007
    0
    The Chemical Brothers make this record look like toddlers. I did make this shit when I bought FL studio back in 99 as an amateur. This is garbage.
  73. JoshB.
    Oct 5, 2007
    0
    wtf is up with this? Sound like derivative, repetitive, boring electronica from 1997 to me.
  74. EvanM
    Apr 15, 2007
    0
    Repetitive. Minimal predictable beats that go exactly where you think theyre going.
  75. JSIlva
    Apr 18, 2007
    2
    I really don't know why such a high note. Very repetitive, I cant see any fresh ideas, and by the 3rd track it starts to get really boring...(no, make it 2nd..)
  76. Gaz
    Apr 20, 2007
    5
    Not sure what the fuss is about. Sounds the B-side of a Paul van Dyk single from the late 90s. Seriously.
  77. DanielA
    Apr 27, 2007
    3
    This is highly overrated.
  78. RockofGibraltar
    Apr 29, 2007
    5
    I don't get why this album has a 95 avg score! It doesn't break new ground and is extremely repetitive!
  79. Giterdone
    May 16, 2007
    1
    the score would place this album as being one of the greatest of all time....this site is officially broken and has lost all credibility.
  80. shootsybootsy
    May 24, 2007
    0
    "...oops I'm sorry I was looking for the music department."
  81. StephenE
    May 28, 2007
    3
    Why is this rated at the top of Meta Critic? Terrible.
  82. BrendanD
    May 3, 2007
    2
    No, seriously, what? I'm a fan of all different types of electronic music, but my two favorite subgenres are trance and ambient. This is neither trance nor ambient. It's not minimalist; Brian Eno is minimalist. This is boring schlock, with no heart, no heat, and nothing to even make it semi-interesting background music. And before anyone else accuses me of not understanding No, seriously, what? I'm a fan of all different types of electronic music, but my two favorite subgenres are trance and ambient. This is neither trance nor ambient. It's not minimalist; Brian Eno is minimalist. This is boring schlock, with no heart, no heat, and nothing to even make it semi-interesting background music. And before anyone else accuses me of not understanding this, let me tell yaz: I have now listened to this record about ten times. There is NOTHING INTERESTING ON IT. It's pretentious dribble disguised as pretty melodies. You want to pretend you're cool by listening? Have fun. Me, I'll stick with the guy who prefers women with ocular damage. Expand
  83. Alunp
    May 6, 2007
    4
    Not sure why the reviews are so high? There are no bad songs but the rating on Metacritc ranks it as one of the best albums of all time? After listening theres not really much you can remember of the stand out songs
  84. AlanP
    May 7, 2007
    4
    All I have to say is that the music does not live up to the critics hype. simple.
  85. MattD.
    May 9, 2007
    3
    This is just goopy techno stuff. Big on sound effects but nothing else. It often amazes me what gets high and low ratings from critics. Just follow your own taste.
  86. esss
    Jun 2, 2007
    4
    I found it very repetitive and was disappointed. Maybe it would have been more impressive if I'd been tripping balls on E or something. My gf can't even be in the same room as this CD.
  87. emilyw
    Jun 26, 2007
    3
    Finally this boring cd's rating is coming down a little bit. It still saddens me though that this has a 90 when stellar stuff like The National, Of Montreal, and Feist deserve to be the top three albums of the year thus far. Boo to boring electronica that goes absolutely nowhere. Give me a laptop and while put out something at least ten times as interesting as this tripe.
  88. ChrisC
    Jun 7, 2007
    5
    I keep reading reviews for albums like this and Stars of the Lid talking about 'deep listening' (You know, that thing people who've been listening to Mozart since they were five do). Also accusing anybody who doesn't like it of just expecting it to be more like mainstream records. Basically the message of the reviews are 'We've decided this is great, and if I keep reading reviews for albums like this and Stars of the Lid talking about 'deep listening' (You know, that thing people who've been listening to Mozart since they were five do). Also accusing anybody who doesn't like it of just expecting it to be more like mainstream records. Basically the message of the reviews are 'We've decided this is great, and if you disagree, you're just a pop junkie'. Apparently, listening to a bunch of tones fading in and out, going nowhere, is the new state of avant garde. Unfortunately, all those things they say about it, how deep listening has some euphoric payoff, just aren't true. The record sounds okay and at points does indeed evoke some emotion. But not any more emotion than any other kind of atmospheric electronica. Sorry Pitchfork, The Field just ain't Mozart. Expand
  89. AlfR.
    Jul 10, 2007
    2
    It's never better than ok and frankly, most of the time it's a snooze. As an EP, it might've worked but the lack of ideas or even a different tempo make this pretty damn soporific.
  90. ChrisH
    Jul 21, 2007
    0
    One of the worst albums I ever heard - it would be annoying if it was not so endlessly boring.
  91. StephenU
    Jul 25, 2007
    3
    Swayed by fawning critics, I decided to plunk down some cash on this album and was underwhelmed, but then I thought that it must be a grower and that repeated listens would reveal layers that I had missed the first three or four times, or that I would become aware of the majesty of its understated, minimalist structures. About eight listens in......nothing. I've either got a tin ear Swayed by fawning critics, I decided to plunk down some cash on this album and was underwhelmed, but then I thought that it must be a grower and that repeated listens would reveal layers that I had missed the first three or four times, or that I would become aware of the majesty of its understated, minimalist structures. About eight listens in......nothing. I've either got a tin ear or this is overhyped mediocrity. It can't be the latter as the music press is immune to such, yes? Expand
  92. RichieH
    Jul 4, 2007
    0
    Absolute rubbish. Those rating this album highly have been spoon-fed an opinion. Fucking conformists.
  93. JodieL
    Jul 6, 2007
    1
    This is quite possibly the worst album I've heard for some time, there is absolutely nothing adventurous about this album, just a re-hash of early 90's dance music. Felt ripped off that I bought it, had to give it away to my 42 y/o mate, who did dance clubs in his 20's. He liked it but as we both agreed nothing groundbreaking here, save your $$$$. Try Justice's new This is quite possibly the worst album I've heard for some time, there is absolutely nothing adventurous about this album, just a re-hash of early 90's dance music. Felt ripped off that I bought it, had to give it away to my 42 y/o mate, who did dance clubs in his 20's. He liked it but as we both agreed nothing groundbreaking here, save your $$$$. Try Justice's new album if you want something to dance to. Expand
  94. SteveR
    Aug 18, 2007
    0
    He, you reader, you've got only one single life; don't waste your time by listening to this music. He, you metacritic, I demand more professional reviews to decrease the high score this album really doesn't deserve.
  95. RobS
    Aug 20, 2007
    0
    This album has inspired me to create my own electronic music.
  96. TiagoM
    Aug 25, 2007
    4
    At first glance this album feels quite original. Harmonic tracks build up from sliced samples with a small use of synthesizers. But when look further, From Here We Go Sublime, reveals a huge lack of creativity. Repetitive loops from the beginning to the end (If you stand till the end of it), monotone drums, invariable rhythm, and excessive use of fade outs. Though, it can be a satisfying At first glance this album feels quite original. Harmonic tracks build up from sliced samples with a small use of synthesizers. But when look further, From Here We Go Sublime, reveals a huge lack of creativity. Repetitive loops from the beginning to the end (If you stand till the end of it), monotone drums, invariable rhythm, and excessive use of fade outs. Though, it can be a satisfying album to create background ambient in a pub or to be mixed by DJ's. But if you are the type who like to lay down on the sofa and listen to electronic music the same way you would listening to a great symphonic orchestra, forget about it. Expand
  97. Musicfan
    Sep 17, 2007
    0
    This album, I believe, is good for what it is - an electronic album strictly for electronic fans. It has zero value for most of the other people.
  98. SteveF.
    Sep 9, 2007
    4
    The only track that really commands your attention is "Mobilia" - and it gets old *really* fast. The most overrated record of all time.
  99. BlabBlab
    Jul 30, 2008
    0
    terribly boring. best album of the year? jesus, by the end of track 1 you've heard the entire album 4 times. dull
  100. VerticalPig
    Jan 15, 2008
    10
    Sublime - throwing off the shackles shackles shackles shackles shackles shackles shackles shackles shackles shackles weeeeeeee!
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. If you like minimal electronic music at all, you must seek it out.
  2. This is one of those rare albums that makes you wonder how you ever got by without it.
  3. This is an album you could easily hate -- especially if you like things like change and development.