From Here We Go Sublime

  • Record Label: Kompakt
  • Release Date: Apr 3, 2007
User Score
6.7

Generally favorable reviews- based on 388 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 98 out of 388

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MejicanaH.
    Aug 5, 2007
    9
    All I have to say is that this album deserves its status as the best reviewed album of the year. It is fantastic and well worth seeking out. I wish those of you who had not actually heard the album would refrain from rating it.
  2. JustinB.
    Sep 21, 2007
    9
    I love how people like to question the critics of this album. Critics won't rate this badly, want to know why? it's awesome and if they do rate it badly they would doing their job badly.
  3. JasonM.
    Sep 23, 2007
    9
    This is not an album to listen to whilst jogging or playing video games with your friends, this, much like Loveless, is an album to enjoy while laying down, closing your eyes, and letting it take you wherever you let your mind wander.
  4. KH.
    Sep 24, 2007
    9
    Heads and shoulders above the playing field. People with an electronics allergy beware. Though, this is techno's most beautiful outing in years, it's not everyone's cup of tea (as the users' ratings reflect). All those slightly more open minded should have a ball with this.
  5. ReeceH.
    Feb 3, 2008
    10
    If you don't like it, say so, but don't start insulting those who do, especially calling us mindless? isn't it just a case of personal preference, or at least relativism.
  6. DarylM.
    Feb 7, 2008
    8
    This is the kind of album which restores your love of progressive house, and has you blowing the dust off your renaissance albums from the '90s.
  7. MJ88
    Mar 19, 2008
    10
    Quite awesome. Soothing, simple, looped beats and samples. and when I found out it's all played & mixed live, I had even more admiration for it. Get it now!
  8. MattB.
    Apr 9, 2008
    10
    Best album of 2007. Why? Because this album evokes thoughts of something new and ever-changing. I strongly dislike music that forces you to "buy in" to the artist's lyrics or think a certain way (based on strong audio "cues"...a.k.a. dumbed-down beats/rhythms). The music in From Here We Go Sumblime is so well-blended that the music no longer takes you for a ride...you are riding the Best album of 2007. Why? Because this album evokes thoughts of something new and ever-changing. I strongly dislike music that forces you to "buy in" to the artist's lyrics or think a certain way (based on strong audio "cues"...a.k.a. dumbed-down beats/rhythms). The music in From Here We Go Sumblime is so well-blended that the music no longer takes you for a ride...you are riding the music! Repeat listening in a car or headphones will help it "sink in". Pure genius...the reviews above are not wrong! Expand
  9. BenE.
    Dec 17, 2007
    10
    it's really quite captivating, despite its utter repetitiveness. it's really something you need to hear to understand. i imagine a lot of people wouldn't like it because of the repetition, though. works very well as background music, too.
  10. AmurabiM.
    Dec 18, 2007
    9
    This is the sound of the new millennium. The sound of contemporary trance music, without the excesses of past times. "From Here We Go Sublime" is just a stunning album without the dullness and boredom of techno albums. This is a catchy album; the kind of sound that stays in your ears for a long while. This is atmospheric, dreamy, danceable and even sublime. This is a terrific album for a This is the sound of the new millennium. The sound of contemporary trance music, without the excesses of past times. "From Here We Go Sublime" is just a stunning album without the dullness and boredom of techno albums. This is a catchy album; the kind of sound that stays in your ears for a long while. This is atmospheric, dreamy, danceable and even sublime. This is a terrific album for a magnificent artist. Expand
  11. ArnZ.
    Dec 19, 2007
    9
    This album deserves all its accolades. It's definitely a different genre of music but if you're into anything mildly electronic then there's something here for you to gain.
  12. SadaF.
    Dec 30, 2007
    10
    I can't stop listening to this. It's emotional, nostalgic, blissful, uplifting, melancholic all at once - like a freshed-up, simplified trance music for those of us who'd given up on that cliche-ridden genre. I love the way it shifts from one phrase to another. So simple, yet so brilliant. This isn't an album for the 'Ministry of Sound' generation though. I can't stop listening to this. It's emotional, nostalgic, blissful, uplifting, melancholic all at once - like a freshed-up, simplified trance music for those of us who'd given up on that cliche-ridden genre. I love the way it shifts from one phrase to another. So simple, yet so brilliant. This isn't an album for the 'Ministry of Sound' generation though. It's an acquired taste and a most rewarding one at that. Expand
  13. AntreasP.
    Oct 26, 2007
    10
    Simply the best album of 2007 so far... A great album since 2001's "Melody A.M". "Mobilia" should be heard everywhere!
  14. Mr.Hankey
    Apr 13, 2007
    10
    The greatest electronica album you'll hear all year.
  15. GillyD
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    Luxuriant is right. What wonderful music, particularly Over the Ice n Sun and Ice. Restrained it may be but lacking in fab grooves it aint. I can't stop playing it
  16. tonys
    Apr 16, 2007
    7
    its not as spectacular as the present score (95) but it is enjoyable none the less
  17. bobdylan
    Apr 16, 2007
    9
    it's one hell of a lush album and make sure to give it a chance. kinda a cross between fennesz and mylo.
  18. Oliver
    Apr 17, 2007
    10
    Its impressive, beautiful and fresh. Its minimal but makes an amazing impact on you. This is techno and beautiful techno it is.
  19. RyanM
    Apr 18, 2007
    10
    Easily some of the best music I've heard this year. The only record in recent memory that I have listened to back to back multiple times. Sure to be at the top of anyones 2007 list.
  20. Biggles
    Apr 19, 2007
    10
    Just astounding. Utterly sumptuous and addictive, it gets better with each listen. If you are at all interested in minimal electronic music you must seek this out.
  21. DarylS
    Apr 19, 2007
    9
    Anyone played Lumines on PSP? This albums would be right at home on that game, luckily I love the music on the game and this album is much better than a lot of that. Good album, good purchase.
  22. DaveS
    May 14, 2007
    8
    Fantastic album. Infinitely re-listenable; builds from simple lines, strips the rhythm down and then re-makes it over the course of a track.
  23. RG
    May 16, 2007
    9
    first of all if anyone says somethng about repetition then u have no idea what pop music is. some reviwere summed it perfectly calling out ppl who have convicend themselves that pop music is otherwise just because someone sings over the repetitiveness. This album is completely entrancing and i have not beeen able to take it out of my headphones, my comp, my car. it is soo simple yet first of all if anyone says somethng about repetition then u have no idea what pop music is. some reviwere summed it perfectly calling out ppl who have convicend themselves that pop music is otherwise just because someone sings over the repetitiveness. This album is completely entrancing and i have not beeen able to take it out of my headphones, my comp, my car. it is soo simple yet creates this gorgeous world. first track is the only downer, which has some nice moments but the rest of the album is just toooo sweeet. Expand
  24. GilesB
    May 18, 2007
    8
    This is an extreamly accomplished bit of work. Unlike a lot of dance music, its neither tacky or overly aggresive. The album also seems to be respectful of new york, chicago and detroit - garage, house and techno music of the 1980's. Excellent stuff.
  25. TomE
    May 19, 2007
    10
    PERFECTION. BRILLIANT.
  26. TylerM
    May 21, 2007
    10
    House? Techno? Ambient? Possibly. Absolutely breathtaking? Definitely.
  27. marcelolleos
    May 29, 2007
    10
    Es una pieza maestra. nos dice como es posible la exaltacion del alma en diferentes emociones. La musica se detiene y despues avanza, juega con el tiempo...
  28. DaveD
    Jun 14, 2007
    8
    Yes, indeed, this is an enjoyable, mesmerising and effective minimal techno album. But 91?? 6 points over and above last year's masterpiece Ys and this year's best album so far "Boxer"? What the F%$&k??
  29. MaxenceW
    Jun 17, 2007
    10
    Minimalist but strangely refreshing.
  30. amuror
    Jun 25, 2007
    10
    It is a sound track of cool stylish &. It is a sound without extra noisiness, and natural transformer music. Therefore, the person who feels that this is sober will not be able to come to like it. It is a refined sound adult who is not child's sound.
  31. RM
    Jun 27, 2007
    9
    Yes not perfect, much better in some places than others... But the thing that amazes me most about this album is that it is possibly the first trance album EVER that is even mildly intelligent. Its taken the dumbest electronic genre on the planet, scraped of all the cheese and cut out all the crappy lyrics in trance that make you cringe until your spine breaks, and made it interesting and Yes not perfect, much better in some places than others... But the thing that amazes me most about this album is that it is possibly the first trance album EVER that is even mildly intelligent. Its taken the dumbest electronic genre on the planet, scraped of all the cheese and cut out all the crappy lyrics in trance that make you cringe until your spine breaks, and made it interesting and engaging. So it deserves a lot of browie marks for that. I persoanlly feel the second half of the album is stronger than the first; repetition fares a bit better here and there is a bit more evolution in tracks like 'The Deal' (probably the highlight of the album). It is a shame it gets such high reviews because some people give it extremely low reviews as a knee jerk reaction. Its deserves to be in the top ten albums released this year though! Expand
  32. JamesP.
    Jun 28, 2007
    10
    6.9?! Are you lot fucking kidding me? All I can say is that I'm glad these guys aren't professional reviewers. For anyone who wants million MPH DnB that changes 1000 times a minute without ever settling on a particular tune, there's venetian snares. For those who can appresciate the infinitely deep, soft-as-dove's-down soundscapes teased out of splintered samples, 6.9?! Are you lot fucking kidding me? All I can say is that I'm glad these guys aren't professional reviewers. For anyone who wants million MPH DnB that changes 1000 times a minute without ever settling on a particular tune, there's venetian snares. For those who can appresciate the infinitely deep, soft-as-dove's-down soundscapes teased out of splintered samples, there's this utterly sublime (cough) record. Each song is actually allowed to unwind fully to its conclusion, given space to breathe, to soar, to put you into an utter stupor where the only thing that exists is you and the music. Which is such a rarity in a genre where artists are increasingly trying to pack as many substandard ideas into 4 minutes as possible. And the fantastically minimalist approach is so damn refreshing that I can't help but wonder why all music isn't like this. And hey, any song that can make Lionel Richie's "Hello" into one of the best songs of the decade thusfar (no exaggeration, this is seriously that good) deserves infinite praise. Expand
  33. joe
    Jul 16, 2007
    9
    this is not a dance album like Justice. this is not a trance album. this album is not meant to revolutionize electronic music. this one is about nostalgia, minimalism and vision, as the final track illustrates. forget the high metacritic rating and users ranting and ravings. try hanging out on the beach with a nice buzz on a nice summer day with this one playing on the truck this is not a dance album like Justice. this is not a trance album. this album is not meant to revolutionize electronic music. this one is about nostalgia, minimalism and vision, as the final track illustrates. forget the high metacritic rating and users ranting and ravings. try hanging out on the beach with a nice buzz on a nice summer day with this one playing on the truck stereo...f'in sweet. Expand
  34. freenF
    Aug 11, 2007
    10
    I absolutely agree with the critics on this one. One of the best albums of 2007 and destined to become a classic.
  35. Parse
    Sep 11, 2007
    10
    Hold on. It's terrible, you say? Not in the least bit. Have you even given the album more than one listen? When I first picked this album up, I was like "What is this shit? It's repetetive, it's boring, and it just flat out sucks. Maybe a few good songs here and there", pretty much the same thoughts running through some of your heads. This album is a masterpiece, and needs Hold on. It's terrible, you say? Not in the least bit. Have you even given the album more than one listen? When I first picked this album up, I was like "What is this shit? It's repetetive, it's boring, and it just flat out sucks. Maybe a few good songs here and there", pretty much the same thoughts running through some of your heads. This album is a masterpiece, and needs some time to be fully appreciated. Just because you can't love it right off the bat doesn't mean that it's a piece of shit. Expand
  36. Marcus
    Sep 16, 2007
    7
    I can understand that all good albums need to be listened to several times before they can be thoroughly enjoyed. The tune of each song needs to be repeated in one's head for a while before it fully takes hold. Somehow, I feel like the repetitive quality of most electronic music may help this process along, but at the same time, it makes the tune get old fast. I would like the songs I can understand that all good albums need to be listened to several times before they can be thoroughly enjoyed. The tune of each song needs to be repeated in one's head for a while before it fully takes hold. Somehow, I feel like the repetitive quality of most electronic music may help this process along, but at the same time, it makes the tune get old fast. I would like the songs more if only they were more dynamic. Expand
  37. EddyS.
    Sep 24, 2007
    9
    This really is among the year's best, but yes it is true that one is more likely to get the full value with a background interest in intelligent electronic music. if you do like electronic with some emotion besides the partyyyyy Daft Punkesque attitude, then check this out and surely you will find its magnificence.
  38. Gil
    Sep 25, 2007
    10
    Fantastic!!! great album. very simple electronic music but it does the job very well. i love this album the sound is simple and clean very quiet. one of the best i heard ever.
  39. CedricD.
    Jan 24, 2008
    10
    Wow what a beautiful album!
  40. TomM.
    Feb 15, 2008
    9
    Great album!
  41. david20023
    Dec 15, 2007
    8
    My, how this divides people. Any album that annoys as many people as this must have something going for it.
  42. Brad
    Dec 29, 2007
    7
    Soft, atmospheric and somewhat repetitive loops over lazy shuffling beats. Nothing approaching the greatness I've read in reviews, but completely inoffensive and moody enough as background music. I imagine it would be mind blowing if I still got high, but I don't, so it's not.
  43. Mar 12, 2013
    10
    This is a rare case (in fact it might be the first time I've said this about anything) where I have to say if you don't love this masterpiece you just don't get it.
  44. Dec 25, 2010
    10
    It's the simplicity of sounds that erupt a complex reaction, in guidance with the ambient repitition, loose beats and magnificent electronic application, it is undoubtedly the cornerpoint of sample-musician history.
  45. Apr 16, 2011
    9
    Great ambient electronica. Synthetic, cold, mechanized. Completely hypnotic. BE CAREFUL driving and listening to this. You might just end-up in the guard rail.
  46. Mar 24, 2014
    10
    Axel Willner, under the guise of 'The Field" created on his first release something of a minor masterpiece of electronic music. His ideas here are not only fully developed, but also immaculately conceived; the inspiration to take fraction cuts of music and loop them repeatedly for several minutes on end is, simply put, genius. This approach gives the listener a feeling of primal intimacy.Axel Willner, under the guise of 'The Field" created on his first release something of a minor masterpiece of electronic music. His ideas here are not only fully developed, but also immaculately conceived; the inspiration to take fraction cuts of music and loop them repeatedly for several minutes on end is, simply put, genius. This approach gives the listener a feeling of primal intimacy. Having been subject to a sound on repeat for what feels like an eternity, we gradually begin to feel as if we've known this song deeply and personally for a long time. For an album defined as electronic music to achieve such a profoundly human feel is, frankly, quite rare. Not only has Willner carved an amazingly original niche into his moniker, his music is, regardless of gimmick, a great listen. From the opening track, 'Over the Ice', we are instantly transported somewhere else - a world of indescribable synthetic sounds based in human vocal samples that feels ethereal and anthemic at the same time. 'Over the Ice' perfectly captures the major theme that Willner explores on 'Sublime', the contrast of tension and release, simplicity and complexity. The second track, "A Paw in My Face' tests the listeners ears further, with an incredibly simple, almost elementary loop of electric guitar (later revealed to be a cut from Lionel Richie's 'Hello'), that builds for five minutes to almost unbearably tense effect. From this song onward, we begin to see Willner's hand as more compositional and restrained. Other tracks, such as 'Silent', 'Everday', and the 10-minute centerpiece of the album, 'The Deal', follow this pattern, beginning at an almost comic level of simplicity, only to evolve into a monolithic, densely layered trance. In slowly giving us a little more to grab onto with each loop, these songs become incredibly engaging from multiple standpoints. For one, Willner's music is exceptionally rhythmically subversive, often testing our patience by holding onto a loop just a little longer than we may be comfortable with. He betrays our expectations, creating tension. Another trick that Willner employs lies in the density of the sounds that he samples. They are so mythic and opaque that our brains naturally try to identify an understanding of what it is we are hearing. For instance, on track "The Little Heart Beats So Fast", what exactly is being said so faintly in the background? Diphthong? Dance On? End Solo? When you begin to think on it, each sounds plausible. Lingering on a specific song on the album in order to decipher in exactitude what is being heard, however, can be a near impossible task. Our brains can be deceptive in their understanding of what we hear. In an interview, Willner stated that many of the sounds perceived on 'Sublime' are actually hollow. Our ears naturally attempt to fill in the gaps of music that we presume are there. This makes every faint noise heard (or not heard) deeply mineable, which is a good thing because the listener certainly gets a chance to dive in and examine the soundscape of 'From Here We Go Sublime'. Each track, regardless of how simplistic it is at first glance, is endlessly cavernous. Tracks "Sun & Ice" and "Good Things End", though blatantly repetitive, have a quality of vastness, of grandiosity hidden beneath such sparse sounds. Admirably, The Field has built on a strong following among electronic music enthusiasts because of his respect of the intentional listener. He assumes that his audience is not the kind to feed on instant musical gratification so commonly found in modern popular music, which appears rigid and impersonally structured by comparison. Since its release in 2007, 'From Here We Go Sublime" has left an incredible staple on electronic minimalism. Other such albums unveiled around that time, such as Panda Bear's 'Person Pitch' and Burial's 'Untrue' inhabit a similar musical vein, both making a great application of sampling and repetition. However, the argument could be made that though both of these artists smother The Field in terms of popularity and relevance, and basically rival in critical acclaim, none is more humble and graceful than Willner when it comes to simply crafting music. To anyone with an interest in electronic minimalism, 'From Here We Go Sublime' becomes necessity. For any interested in good music in general, the album resembles a genre at its most accessible and accentuated. To write off The Field as 'dull' or 'an acquired taste' is to accuse a great wine of not intoxicating upon initial consumption. To call his songs mere 'remixes' would be to undervalue the sheer distinction of The Field's style. This is a distillation of music style that is admittedly slow burning, but also endlessly rewarding, like a classic film or novel. 'From Here We Go Sublime' is a work of whose value would be a shame to see fade over time. Expand
  47. Oct 9, 2012
    10
    It really doesn't get better than this, expect to return to this album for years to come; I have. Seen this guy loads of times, it all stands up live. The Field has put out some good music since this but I'll never expect him to top this. Listen is you like tight controlled music, of any genre. Don't listen if you want immediate returns.
  48. Sep 25, 2012
    9
    This album is great. It's revolutionary in that it's minimal trance. The genre was bound to be pioneered, eventually; and that's why I didn't give it a ten. Also, not every song on this album is on equal footing. Besides that, it's the elements that make up each song that makes this album special. In addition, the sounds of this album are very diverse; from acid sounding, to quite digital.This album is great. It's revolutionary in that it's minimal trance. The genre was bound to be pioneered, eventually; and that's why I didn't give it a ten. Also, not every song on this album is on equal footing. Besides that, it's the elements that make up each song that makes this album special. In addition, the sounds of this album are very diverse; from acid sounding, to quite digital. Very understated, though. Quite beautiful album. I have to just say to people that are arguing over the critics rating that if my primary love within electronic music were ambient or minimal techno, or even trance, than I would have given this a ten, as well. You guys have to realize that falling head over heels for this album depends on your primary interest in the electronic realm. If you hate electronic, you're gonna give this album a 0. If you love ambient and minimal techno, you're gonna try to give this album a 15. You also have to understand that the quietness may not help with leaving an impression (much less a positive impression) in your mind. All these things have to be kept in view. Expand
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. If you like minimal electronic music at all, you must seek it out.
  2. This is one of those rare albums that makes you wonder how you ever got by without it.
  3. This is an album you could easily hate -- especially if you like things like change and development.