From Here We Go Sublime

  • Record Label: Kompakt
  • Release Date: Apr 3, 2007
User Score
6.6

Generally favorable reviews- based on 386 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 98 out of 386

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. EricC.
    Jul 7, 2008
    10
    If you're in to ambient, this will be one of the most incredible albums you've heard in years. If you're not in to ambient, well... just read the low scores below.
  2. freek
    Oct 20, 2007
    10
    simply beautiful, never thought a dance album would deserve a 10. this one definitely does, the critics are right. it offers sublime emotion in all it's simplicity, just perfect. strange experience live though, in between other (less sophisticated, but also great) Kompakt artists.
  3. AndyP
    May 2, 2007
    9
    This is a stunning album which, as an earlier reviewer said, becomes unbelievably good when played through headphones. There is so much going on, that although it could be classed as minimal, every listen reveals new fabrics and layers. I particularly love Mobilia - it just pummels my brain into submission every time I hear it. Album of the year so far without question.
  4. IsaacL
    May 3, 2007
    10
    WOW. This is microhouse at its very, VERY finest.
  5. JesseJ
    May 3, 2007
    10
    This a great album. Yes this isn't a groundbreaking album, and yes, it probably shouldn't be the number one album of the year, but instead of deconstructing and analyzing it, try to just enjoy it.
  6. KelvinO'C
    May 5, 2007
    9
    Fantastic minimal album. For all those who feel these is repetitive,you really don't get it do you? Stop reviewing electronic albums and go back to the cosy land of pop music and soft rock,where you'll believe there's no repetition simply because some "star" is singing some song overthe top. Leave the real musical art reviews to real music listener's
  7. GarrettM
    May 9, 2007
    10
    minimal techno is an acquired taste, I think. I don't blame noobs for blasting this album, however a few in particular are blasting the listeners. I'm not a snob or elitist and I enjoy this album and this site. I'm sorry you don't.
  8. arthurdogtrash
    Jun 1, 2007
    7
    Album of the year? No damn way. It's actually kind of boring and mind-numbing. Once again the readers vote is a far better representation of it's actual status. Avoid the media hype and make up your own minds.
  9. Mothra
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    i hated it at first, the album lacks immediacy but rewards greatly with repeated listens. i now understand the praise, i gave the album another shot after i heard "Kappsta", an incredible track by the same artist, the track is featured on the Pop Ambient 2007 album and is truly sublime
  10. OpenMind
    Jul 20, 2007
    10
    The only people who don't like this are listening to it for the wrong reason. This isn't the instant satisfation the MTV crowd thrives on. This is straight up minimal techno, meant for quiet grooving. Grow some patience, people.
  11. ja
    Jul 3, 2007
    8
    Beautiful. Finds ways to hit the listener's emotions without a single sappy lyric or radio-pop cliche. Refreshing because it is a break from the norm, even by indie-snob standards. Better than what the users have rated it, but somewhat overrated by critics too (the critical average feels like it should be lower based on the scores, I can't see why it is so high). Not every track Beautiful. Finds ways to hit the listener's emotions without a single sappy lyric or radio-pop cliche. Refreshing because it is a break from the norm, even by indie-snob standards. Better than what the users have rated it, but somewhat overrated by critics too (the critical average feels like it should be lower based on the scores, I can't see why it is so high). Not every track is compelling or interesting as the good ones, but the good ones are...very, very good. Expand
  12. DanS
    Aug 10, 2007
    8
    I enjoy listening to this album.
  13. PatrickM
    Apr 15, 2007
    10
    It's not the methodology, it's the results that matter in this instance. this is an album for those who like music that is effective; music that effects them, rather than affecting some "ideal techno type"
  14. JoseA.C
    Apr 16, 2007
    10
    I always complain how techno or its many variants, while appealing, can sometimes be souless and monotonous... The Field's sublime CD is all the opposite: powerful melodies, full of life and simply gorgeous. Highly recommended! Go! Fetch!
  15. everythingisnice
    May 11, 2007
    9
    This a minimal, yet beautifully crafted album; I understand why some people dislike it, but they also have to understand that this album is receiving fantastic reviews because the writers that have reviewed it have thought it was fantastic. How can the fact that the rating for an album is culled from many reviews as opposed to one reviwer's opinion be the reason this site does not This a minimal, yet beautifully crafted album; I understand why some people dislike it, but they also have to understand that this album is receiving fantastic reviews because the writers that have reviewed it have thought it was fantastic. How can the fact that the rating for an album is culled from many reviews as opposed to one reviwer's opinion be the reason this site does not work? All I will say is if you are willing to give any type of music a chance and listen to an album on its own merits - instead of trying to compare it to everything else - then you should give this a try. If, however, you do not like minimal electronica and slow-building crescendos, then this is not for you ... Expand
  16. MichelleT
    May 10, 2007
    8
    Initially I was unimpressed with the album. But after a few more listens, I was won over. The album builds to its peak by track 6 and recedes gently. It's minimal, subtle, and neatly crafted. It's a great album to listen to when you don't feel like listening to anything at all. He beautifully extracts that space between words and shifts between syllables, and layers these Initially I was unimpressed with the album. But after a few more listens, I was won over. The album builds to its peak by track 6 and recedes gently. It's minimal, subtle, and neatly crafted. It's a great album to listen to when you don't feel like listening to anything at all. He beautifully extracts that space between words and shifts between syllables, and layers these repetitive snipped sounds over pounding electronic beats to create an intense yet vacuous abstraction. Expand
  17. NotDaveWhatatool
    May 1, 2007
    9
    Dave you are such a rebel! What a productive and helpful post- phenomenal rating as well. For your sake and the rest of ours please call it a day. If you have a criticism voice it, but don't give something that you can't appreciate and probably have zero experience with a 0. It showcases your faults far above the album's. An enveloping experience, check it out even if you Dave you are such a rebel! What a productive and helpful post- phenomenal rating as well. For your sake and the rest of ours please call it a day. If you have a criticism voice it, but don't give something that you can't appreciate and probably have zero experience with a 0. It showcases your faults far above the album's. An enveloping experience, check it out even if you aren't normally a huge techno fan. -Jaco Expand
  18. MuzS
    May 21, 2007
    9
    I love this CD. Amazing how something so minimal can be so damn effective!
  19. AndyR
    May 2, 2007
    9
    Just when I thought trance had had it's day. The Field do it just the way I like it.
  20. EricF
    May 20, 2007
    7
    I think this album is a bit-overhyped. Its not minimal, its not trance, its not house. Its listenable techno, and for the indie-rock kids how are only now starting to appreciate electronic music this album bridges the gap because its so easy to listen to. I personally think its extremely lush and deep electronica, but at times takes the same loop a bit too far. A good offering, and a I think this album is a bit-overhyped. Its not minimal, its not trance, its not house. Its listenable techno, and for the indie-rock kids how are only now starting to appreciate electronic music this album bridges the gap because its so easy to listen to. I personally think its extremely lush and deep electronica, but at times takes the same loop a bit too far. A good offering, and a truly Kompact sounding record for those familiar with the famous German label Expand
  21. JohnJ
    May 23, 2007
    10
    A little repetitive? Yes, but that's what holds this amazing album together.
  22. BrianW
    May 24, 2007
    9
    This is a beautiful and chilling collection of microhouse techno.
  23. EspenH
    May 7, 2007
    9
    Beautiful minimal! :)
  24. JohnD
    May 9, 2007
    7
    Urgh. Look, here's the deal: See that 7? Well, if you don't like house music at all, then subtract 4 points from it, because there is nothing here that is going to change your mind; beats are 4/4, the songs sound almost exactly the same at the beginning of the song as they do at the end, and most of the songs last for more than 5 minutes. If you appreciate house music but are Urgh. Look, here's the deal: See that 7? Well, if you don't like house music at all, then subtract 4 points from it, because there is nothing here that is going to change your mind; beats are 4/4, the songs sound almost exactly the same at the beginning of the song as they do at the end, and most of the songs last for more than 5 minutes. If you appreciate house music but are not a raver, then take that 7 at face value, since its better than most house music around...but it's still house music. If you breathe house music, then you probably already own this album, but increase that 7 by 3 points anyway. That's all you really need to know. Expand
  25. jimmyj.
    Jun 30, 2007
    7
    All of you who say you can create something as good or better, well let's get to it! Look how much acclaim this "boring" album is getting. Imagine the reviews your work of art would get! You could be a star!! I'm mean, since it's so damn easy and everything, you should be able to shit one out with your laptop and loop program in no time. Imagine: all of the sudden, all of All of you who say you can create something as good or better, well let's get to it! Look how much acclaim this "boring" album is getting. Imagine the reviews your work of art would get! You could be a star!! I'm mean, since it's so damn easy and everything, you should be able to shit one out with your laptop and loop program in no time. Imagine: all of the sudden, all of this incredible, original electronica just oozing from normal, every-day music lovers everywhere! Anyone can do it. It's so easy. Can't wait to hear what you all come up with! Expand
  26. steve-o
    Jun 4, 2007
    9
    People who review this record and give it a 0 are missing the point of this record. This is not meant to be a pop record with huge songs and flashy brilliance. It is a mood album that conveys great human emotion through electronics. What is most astounding about this album is how everything fits so neatly together. Every swirl, flange ect has its place on this record. There is just enough People who review this record and give it a 0 are missing the point of this record. This is not meant to be a pop record with huge songs and flashy brilliance. It is a mood album that conveys great human emotion through electronics. What is most astounding about this album is how everything fits so neatly together. Every swirl, flange ect has its place on this record. There is just enough technical music programming to keep a listener enticed but avoid downfalls of over production (recent timb album). Axel's harmonic choices are striking and profound. Expand
  27. brendanp
    Jun 5, 2007
    10
    to say the approach is original is wrong, just see william basinski and panda bear. but its by no stretch gorgeous, warm and delicate. its a trip.
  28. [Anonymous]
    Jun 6, 2007
    8
    I don't think this album is the best of this year, but it is still definitely above average. "Over The Ice" and the title track are amazing, and the rest of the album is an emotional trance trip that rarely bores. Definitely worth it for techno fans.
  29. jobberl
    Jun 7, 2007
    10
    For all you naysayers who think elitists and snobs like this stuff, well then go listen to "Bad Day" the rest of your life. You'll never be pleased; you are lost. If you think it gets boring and dull, then you've been listening to the same type of pop music, where they all sound the same and are getting more complex exponentially. Music has become exponentially predictable, For all you naysayers who think elitists and snobs like this stuff, well then go listen to "Bad Day" the rest of your life. You'll never be pleased; you are lost. If you think it gets boring and dull, then you've been listening to the same type of pop music, where they all sound the same and are getting more complex exponentially. Music has become exponentially predictable, lazy, and sad....until this album came out. WHAT A BREATH OF FRESH AIR!!!!! I can finally see the light! Amen! Funny enough, all that was done was simplifying beats and extending rhythms...I feel so free when I listen to this. Enjoy! Expand
  30. MichaelK
    Jun 8, 2007
    9
    OK, if you don't like repetitive beats you won't like this. Natasha K you are trippin or a fool! Sounds great to my ears! Funky, beautiful soundscapes.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 14 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 14 out of 14
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 14
  3. Negative: 0 out of 14
  1. If you like minimal electronic music at all, you must seek it out.
  2. This is one of those rare albums that makes you wonder how you ever got by without it.
  3. This is an album you could easily hate -- especially if you like things like change and development.