From His Head to His Heart to His Hands [Box Set] Image

Universal acclaim - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score

No user score yet- Be the first to review!

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Artist(s): Mike Bloomfield
  • Summary: The four-disc set includes demos, outtakes, live recordings, and a 60-minute documentary film about the 1960s Chicago blues guitarist who was a session guitarist on Bob Dylan's Highway 61 Revisited before joining The Paul Butterfield Blues Band and The Electric Flag.
Buy On
  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Genre(s): Blues, Pop/Rock, Blues-Rock, Psychedelic/Garage, Regional Blues, Electric Chicago Blues, Modern Electric Chicago Blues, Jazz-Rock, Acoustic Chicago Blues
  • More Details and Credits »
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 5 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Feb 5, 2014
    "Hotshit player" doesn't begin to describe the underappreciated blues-rock figurehead, as this beautiful four-disc set makes clear.
  2. Kooper did a good job of balancing the guitarist’s seminal material with worthy rarities.
  3. Feb 5, 2014
    It's a must for any Bloomfield fan, and hopefully will open the gates to a renewed appreciation for this brilliant, manic, and groundbreaking guitarist.
  4. Mojo
    Feb 19, 2014
    From His Head To His Heart To His Hands is a generally satisfying mix of milestones and rarities. [Mar 2014, p.100]
  5. 80
    From His Head to His Heart to His Hands shows that what Bloomfield did accomplish in his short life was not just sizeable but downright seismic.
  6. Feb 5, 2014
    This tribute has been a long timing coming, but it doesn’t quite do justice to an artist whose integrity ultimately saw him turn his back on fame.