Fundamental

User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 47 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 40 out of 47
  2. Negative: 2 out of 47

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. b
    Aug 25, 2006
    10
    politics+war+humor+heartache+perfect
  2. VladivostokDan
    Aug 6, 2006
    10
    Very nice album.I happen to like every tune!!!At leest some quality in these years.Finaly the good music is returnining thorough them.
  3. JamesO
    Oct 14, 2006
    10
    These guys are among the most under rated musicians of the past twenty plus years. Well crafted music, with intelligent lyrics. What's not to like. If some of the singles off this album get some radio play, watch out, the boys could be back.
  4. ZN
    Jun 28, 2006
    10
    Astonishing
  5. BrandonM
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    Excellent album! I enjoyed their last album, Release, but this is even better than that album! It has a retro feel to it, moreso than their other albums. The PSB's have always seemed ahead of the game with their brand of electronic pop, but this is a bit of a step back. Usually, that's a bad thing, but the PSB's pull it off wonderfully here. There are a few tracks here that Excellent album! I enjoyed their last album, Release, but this is even better than that album! It has a retro feel to it, moreso than their other albums. The PSB's have always seemed ahead of the game with their brand of electronic pop, but this is a bit of a step back. Usually, that's a bad thing, but the PSB's pull it off wonderfully here. There are a few tracks here that are obviously political and they do a great job with not beating your head with overt-political attacks. Great stuff! Expand
  6. Markp
    Jun 27, 2006
    10
    Not one bad song on it!! Iput it in the player and go from start to finish without once hiting the skip on my remote!!!!!! I don't know about you guys but I have only a hand full of CDs that i can say that about!!!!!!!
  7. MauriceR
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    They're Back!!! Awesome.
  8. DanR
    Aug 11, 2006
    10
    Amazing, such enjoyable electro-pop with such depth. Possibily one of the most accomplished pop acts of all time.
  9. JamieM.
    Oct 21, 2007
    10
    Pet Shop Boys are amazing. This latest work is no less great and fun then any of their other work over the past 2 decades (is that 3 now?) It is like a soundtrack to life. Keep it up boys!
  10. mikhail
    Dec 17, 2006
    10
    Best album of the year.
  11. AndyM
    Jun 26, 2006
    10
    Utterly brilliant and back to their best.
  12. Mary
    Sep 25, 2006
    10
    One of their best.
  13. Jan 6, 2016
    10
    Fundamental is Fundamental hahahahahahahaha,
    Okey this joke was a ****
    But this album is Great...
    The Sodom And Gomorrow Show,Integral,Indefinite Leave To Remain,Casanova In Hell,Numb and Twentieth Century,I Made My Excuses And Left,God Willing,Luna Park and I'm With Stupid Are absolute great songs of PSB Career
  14. Apr 2, 2016
    10
    ..........................................................................Fundamental.............................................Of...............................PSB.........................................................................Is........Fundamental.................For The.............Music.................
  15. CliffordF
    Mar 27, 2007
    9
    I love the beats to the album. They are quick, hip and great to listen to anytime. Songs such as I'm with Stupid, The Sodom and Gomorrah Show and Integral are the hghlight tracks on this good achievement.
  16. RashP
    Jun 27, 2006
    9
    A stunning return to form - thei Pet Shop Boys best album since 'Behaviour'? Possibly!. The tracks cover high energy electro pop, moody mid-tempo numbers and mournful ballads .. all tunes feature smart lyrics and are topped off with fantastic production by Trevor Horn.
  17. KeyonT.
    Jun 29, 2006
    9
    Good to hear they're back. Much, much better than the recent series lackluster albums before this.
  18. JohnB
    Jun 27, 2006
    8
    "Psychological", "20th Century" and "I Made My Excuses And Left" are instant classics!
  19. MisterMac
    Jul 6, 2006
    8
    over-the top, fun, and slightly sinister; everything a PSB album should be. Not up there with the heights of "VERY" but very solid, with the exception of "numb" which I skip over.
  20. RussellS
    Jul 8, 2006
    8
    Like a representative sampler of all the things they do well, this album will not so much recruit new fans as keep the ones they have. Like their whimiscal and mischevious countrymates New Order, PSB are showing their age. Unlike NO who write the occassional tremendous song among many average ones, the PSB create more consistent rewarding material, more often than not. Their ambition does Like a representative sampler of all the things they do well, this album will not so much recruit new fans as keep the ones they have. Like their whimiscal and mischevious countrymates New Order, PSB are showing their age. Unlike NO who write the occassional tremendous song among many average ones, the PSB create more consistent rewarding material, more often than not. Their ambition does not exceed their grasp where as NO usually can't be bothered. Fundamental is solid effort from start to finish and while not a Very or Behavior, it remains Essential. Being back does not apply. They never left as the album shows. They do this, or that, or mix it all together - opulent, theatrical, and a thing of beauty. As Tennat once said "camp is not a row of tents". Expand
  21. GregoryB
    Jul 17, 2006
    8
    solid. I thought Release was quite a let down, and Behavior is one of my favorites. The sparks were just not flying, but with fundemental the ship has definitely been righted. Solid hooks, great melodies, some lyrics laughable, but all in all a solid effort. I'm happy to say unlike other artists that have fallen in their last efforts like the Cure for instance, PSB have restored my solid. I thought Release was quite a let down, and Behavior is one of my favorites. The sparks were just not flying, but with fundemental the ship has definitely been righted. Solid hooks, great melodies, some lyrics laughable, but all in all a solid effort. I'm happy to say unlike other artists that have fallen in their last efforts like the Cure for instance, PSB have restored my faith with this album and have reminded me why I loved them in the first place. Expand
  22. rottencabbage
    Aug 25, 2006
    8
    Delightful, campy and endlessly entertaining.
  23. AlexP
    Jul 10, 2006
    7
    It's a solid album with a couple of really good songs, but it doesn't compare to Very at all. I am enjoying my time listening to it, but I don't think it'll have much longevity.
Metascore
75

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 22
  2. Negative: 0 out of 22
  1. "Fundamental" is the sound of the Pet Shop Boys reborn, and mindful of the important role they fill in the pop family.
  2. Mojo
    40
    [An] underwhelming collection of moderately sweeping, mildly elegant arena pop. [Jun 2006, p.108]
  3. Fundamental is the thinking person's electropop album of 2006 so far.