Funeral

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 883 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 883

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. WillyP
    Nov 18, 2005
    5
    Imagine if they hired a real singer!
  2. B.Cool
    Sep 27, 2004
    5
    weirdos, great and awful all at once
  3. S.Gray
    Sep 28, 2004
    5
    Most of the tunes drudge along, hinting at some great melodic swing without ever acheiving anything to make a track truly shine, with the exception of 'wake up' and 'in the back seat'. It tries to be inspirational but falls flat too often.
  4. RussA
    Feb 4, 2005
    4
    I have to say that I agree with all the professional reviewers and the others who have written in about this album and this band. I have heard a number of the songs on the internet and saw them live on Conan the other night. Everyone mentions how moving and profound their music is, and I agree, it is moving alright, in the same way taking a shit is moving...when its over, you feel better, I have to say that I agree with all the professional reviewers and the others who have written in about this album and this band. I have heard a number of the songs on the internet and saw them live on Conan the other night. Everyone mentions how moving and profound their music is, and I agree, it is moving alright, in the same way taking a shit is moving...when its over, you feel better, and there's a nasty smell in the air. Arcade Fire stinks! Expand
  5. jao
    Feb 26, 2005
    5
    Man, I really wanted to like this album, I really did. I heard so many good things about it that I just had to listen. And I have to admit, at first listen, I was impressed. I can seriously appreciate the music, it's authentic and upbeat which makes it something I want to hear more often these days. On the bad side, the lyrics do absolutley no justice to the musically powerful songs Man, I really wanted to like this album, I really did. I heard so many good things about it that I just had to listen. And I have to admit, at first listen, I was impressed. I can seriously appreciate the music, it's authentic and upbeat which makes it something I want to hear more often these days. On the bad side, the lyrics do absolutley no justice to the musically powerful songs on Funeral. Some of the lines made me embarrassed to even be listening to this. Add the fact that it sounds like the guy just got out of bed and recorded his voice in his bedroom and this record really doesn't hold up to some of the great albums being released lately. Come on people don't jump on the bandwagon because you've heard how great this band is. how can you enjoy an album with lines like : "Come on Alex, you can do it, come on Alex, theres nothin to it. If you want somethin, don't ask for nothin. If you want nothin, don't ask for somethin" So weak, how can people who seriously enjoy music let these guys get away with lines like that? I et more and more annoyed with every listen. Expand
  6. spilly
    Oct 21, 2004
    5
    Not a big fan of this sound and honestly don't know what the fuss is about. It's all over the place, crammed with random instruments and basically sounds like somewhat melodic, anthemic noise. Some songs are decent, but nothing ground breaking. I think they might be better live. They are easily compared to broken social scene which I also thought were way over hyped. They did Not a big fan of this sound and honestly don't know what the fuss is about. It's all over the place, crammed with random instruments and basically sounds like somewhat melodic, anthemic noise. Some songs are decent, but nothing ground breaking. I think they might be better live. They are easily compared to broken social scene which I also thought were way over hyped. They did have a decent live show, but I was absolutely wasted at the time, so any group of hippies playing any assortment of instruments would have sounded alright. If I had to choose to listen to this style of music I would listen to brss. If this is the best Canada can come up with than I guess I was right about them all along ; ) Expand
  7. ma
    Dec 24, 2004
    6
    everybody calm down. thems some catchy tunes to be sure, but it doesnt exactly reinvent the wheel.
  8. micahg
    Oct 27, 2004
    6
    I recommend everyone buy their six song EP which is fantastic, brilliant, amazing. The songs are so great they overcome poor production, quite a feat. I think this accounts for my low opinion of the CD. It is a huge disappointment. The magic and energy of the EP is gone. I guess for most people this album is their introduction to the band, but for me it is their disappointing sophomore I recommend everyone buy their six song EP which is fantastic, brilliant, amazing. The songs are so great they overcome poor production, quite a feat. I think this accounts for my low opinion of the CD. It is a huge disappointment. The magic and energy of the EP is gone. I guess for most people this album is their introduction to the band, but for me it is their disappointing sophomore release. I like the first song a lot but I think the rest is quite weak and frankly a few songs are unlistenable. If I had only heard this album I would think this was just another hype band but they also have a great live show. But this album is unlikely to break with large audiences with this album. Expand
  9. RudigerS
    Jan 22, 2005
    6
    Half is totally great. Half is totally boring. And I think you all know this.
  10. PabloG.
    Jul 10, 2007
    6
    The music is OK, but from the first second to the last second I though "Oh my God... this is what Bon Jovi would sound like if he was an indie rock artist." Over-produced would an understatement. Also it doesn't help that I dislike the singer's voice. But I understand why people like this. Power Out is an alright song.
  11. Sep 5, 2010
    6
    Some decent stuff here, unlike the other two discs (Neon Bible is especially bad). I really wanted to like them, but I can't help but think they are the most overrated band out there right now. Nothing really knocks my socks off, except for a few choice numbers off this particular record.
  12. May 1, 2017
    4
    I honestly don't undertand what people are so fond of about this album. I tried to like it, gave it many chances but all I keep seeing is a below-average art rock album with overdone tracks.

    Although there are a few decent songs, most of them left me wishing if they could just end. Especially the vocals I couldn't stand at all.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. If I were to have just heard the first half of the disc, I probably would have proclaimed it the best of the year as well.
  2. So long as we're unable or unwilling to fully recognize the healing aspect of embracing honest emotion in popular music, we will always approach the sincerity of an album like Funeral from a clinical distance. Still, that it's so easy to embrace this album's operatic proclamation of love and redemption speaks to the scope of The Arcade Fire's vision.
  3. Marred by indie-rock clichés and occasional over-effort, it remains frustrating.