Funeral

User Score
9.2

Universal acclaim- based on 863 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 36 out of 863

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. MarkL
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    One of the best albums of the last decade.
  2. JoshE
    Jan 8, 2005
    8
    A rambling and reckless album... the beauty and pain burst restlessly from the seems. The songs barrel along like a freight train going to fast around a turn, ready to spill its contents out onto the hillside as it careens off of the tracks. Wow, a little dramatic, but Funeral is quite a ride. The dramtic highs are exilarating, lows are aching, and it's very difficult to let go. Pop A rambling and reckless album... the beauty and pain burst restlessly from the seems. The songs barrel along like a freight train going to fast around a turn, ready to spill its contents out onto the hillside as it careens off of the tracks. Wow, a little dramatic, but Funeral is quite a ride. The dramtic highs are exilarating, lows are aching, and it's very difficult to let go. Pop music can be a clunky, retarded beast, and in the hands of the music industry's chosen purveyors, it tends to be, but The Arcade Fire show how beautiful, intelligent, and truly emotional a simple song can be... And that's the hardest thing of all. This is an excellent album and definitely one of the best of 2004. Expand
  3. Sep 8, 2010
    10
    Such a great album. The Neighborhood 1-4 are such an interesting and unique style of music and perfectly set the tone for such an extraordinary set of songs. Rebellion is so seemingly happy and catchy, and Wake Up makes you want to just run away into your own little happy place (yes, i thought this BEFORE seeing the Where the Wild Things Are trailer/film)... Its impossible not to smile.
  4. MarkB
    Oct 10, 2004
    10
    I saw Arcade Fire perform on stage in Guelph. I must say; their performance was great, when they played Wake Up, the entire floor started to move and groove with the rythym. The song just sounded amazing live. I experienced hearing loss for a day, but I didn't mind!
  5. SimonM
    Oct 10, 2004
    10
    Absolutely packed with some of the most uplifting, beautiful, life-affirming music I've heard. Not only is every track an asbolute gem but the album is greater than the sum its parts which, I think, is the sign of a truly great album. I have given it a 10 but I don't do this lightly, this is (unfortunately) as close to a perfect album as I'm ever likely to hear.
  6. rob
    Dec 9, 2004
    9
    Instantly familiar, yet undefinably original. I've been addicted to this album since halfway through my first listen. I wish I got to see them when they toured with the Unicorns--I hear both put on excellent live shows. The only reason I haven't given this album a 10 is that I have not owned it long enough to be sure its beauty won't fade.
  7. Nov 2, 2010
    10
    A masterpiece, of of the best albums of the 2000s, I love just about every single song and wish the magic this album has could be repeated again in their newer work but that is something impossible and I realize that now.
  8. Jun 23, 2012
    10
    One of the greatest albums I've ever listened to.It contains many great songs such as "Rebellion(Lies),Neighborhood 1,2,3, Haiti, and my favourite "Wake up".It is a must-listen for everyone.
  9. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    While slightly overrated, Arcade Fire's debut full-length is a modern classic, forming a sound that many indie bands are still trying to recreate. It's the kind of album that appeals to hipsters, old people, and mainstream radio all at once, a very rare accomplishment in rock music.
  10. WalterW
    Oct 23, 2004
    10
    Best album of the decade so far.... Or tied with The Moon and Antarctica - Modest Mouse, anyway.
  11. BrendanPowers
    Sep 18, 2004
    10
    Best Album of the Year by far
  12. BobE
    Apr 9, 2005
    10
    This record is one of those infrequent masterpieces. A novel yet familiar sound, mixing atmosphere with thought provoking lyrics and accessibility. A gem.
  13. SimonS
    Jan 18, 2006
    10
    THERE ISN"T ONE BAD SONG ON THIS ALBUM! Even if I love a band there are always songs that I dislike on an album. NOt this one somehow. The songs are also epic too. Best Album of 2004.
  14. MHochwald
    Nov 2, 2004
    10
    I am keeping this album in my headphones and my headphones on my head just incase I have a near-death experience I can be pulled back to earth where Heaven truly exists thanks to the The Arcade Fire.
  15. ConorL
    Jan 2, 2005
    10
    There is no reason this album shouldn't be a 10 it is by far the best album of 2004 and possibly one of the greatest indie rock albums of all time and one of my favorite album of all time
  16. KonstantinosC
    Apr 11, 2005
    10
    Art and power in an out-of-time and out-of-styles record ! Excellent !
  17. RandyD
    Mar 3, 2007
    10
    Best album of the decade
  18. LukeT
    Feb 17, 2007
    10
    shear beauty
  19. Aug 13, 2010
    10
    Best album of the decade, haven't heard an album as good as this one, since Is This It.
  20. Nov 23, 2010
    10
    This is definitely hands down one of my favorite albums, and that goes for Neon Bible and The Suburbs. Every Arcade Fire that has ever come out has been a celebration in music culture. They are easily my favorite band and that's saying quite a bit. You can't go wrong with this album. The lyrics are magical and songs are compelling. All In All, You can can't go wrong with this album. AnThis is definitely hands down one of my favorite albums, and that goes for Neon Bible and The Suburbs. Every Arcade Fire that has ever come out has been a celebration in music culture. They are easily my favorite band and that's saying quite a bit. You can't go wrong with this album. The lyrics are magical and songs are compelling. All In All, You can can't go wrong with this album. An absolute must have. Expand
  21. Feb 1, 2011
    7
    This review contains spoilers, click expand to view. A debut of irrefutable power, arguably superior to "Is This It", "Funeral" marked the arrival of a great big band with major big talent[s]. It's bleak and eerie, but beautifully wondrous. A record, of whose confidence and wittiness may be at the height of debuts like Television's "Marquee Moon". Expand
  22. May 16, 2011
    10
    This is an astounding album, especially for a debut album... all the songs are amazingly written, with Mount Everest high points in songs such as Neighbourhood #1, Wake Up, Haiti, Rebellion and In The Backseat.
  23. May 25, 2011
    10
    Hands down, the best post-millennial indie album to date. They have an uncanny ability to oversaturate their music with emotion, allowing little pockets of raw emotion to sit deliciously on the listeners tongue as the listener drinks their metaphorical concoction.
  24. j30
    Nov 8, 2011
    10
    A great record with songs that are unforgettable and emotionally moving. They kind of paved the way for indie bands being recognized on a worldwide level.
  25. Jan 14, 2012
    10
    Easily one of the best debut albums of all time, and a personal favorite of mine.

    Arcade Fire are not the most technically gifted musicians. Nor are they great singers. But the emotion in their music, their passion, the gorgeous melodies and their wall-of-sound, larger-than-life sound makes them one of the best and most impressive acts in music today and, in my humble opinion, of all
    Easily one of the best debut albums of all time, and a personal favorite of mine.

    Arcade Fire are not the most technically gifted musicians. Nor are they great singers. But the emotion in their music, their passion, the gorgeous melodies and their wall-of-sound, larger-than-life sound makes them one of the best and most impressive acts in music today and, in my humble opinion, of all time.

    Long live this incredible band!
    Expand
  26. Feb 4, 2015
    9
    This is one of the greatest albums of all time. It explores childhood, love, death, and the crisis in Haiti. The 7 part band at times sounds more like an orchestra than a rock band.
  27. Aug 24, 2013
    9
    A stunning record, a brave new sound, with rich lyrical imagery and a hefty punch of an impact. The only downside is the occasional point where Butler's vocals get a little to anguished.
  28. MattC
    Jan 11, 2005
    10
    hands down the best album I've ever heard
  29. DavidN
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    Arcade Fire's debut, Funeral, is automatically in the same category as The Stone Roses, Marquee Moon, and Is This It as one of the great debut albums in Rock history.
  30. Aug 17, 2014
    10
    A revolution, a monument and landmark, in the music industry. In all the aspects: songwriting, production, Funeral raises the bar for indie music, and for music as a whole.
  31. wo
    Nov 4, 2004
    9
    First off this is a great album, I think one of the best this year. "spilly" better take that comment about Canada back too. We have great musicians here as well. Do I have to bring up splendid bands such as Godspeed You Black Emporer, Fly Pan Am, the Dears, Do Make Say Think, the Unicorns, Manitoba... to name a few... the list goes on... I could sit here all day going on about how great First off this is a great album, I think one of the best this year. "spilly" better take that comment about Canada back too. We have great musicians here as well. Do I have to bring up splendid bands such as Godspeed You Black Emporer, Fly Pan Am, the Dears, Do Make Say Think, the Unicorns, Manitoba... to name a few... the list goes on... I could sit here all day going on about how great Canadian bands are, and about how fucked up the recording industry in the States is... but i wont. Instead I would advise readers to check out this album, and really listen to it. Expand
  32. cin
    Feb 24, 2005
    10
    Not since Turn on the Bright Lights have I been so obsessed with an album
  33. bobsaget
    Jan 8, 2006
    10
    Amazing. Just amazing. A band to look out for in the 00s.
  34. StevenH.
    Mar 8, 2008
    10
    Makes you want to be French.
  35. StevetheDude
    Sep 20, 2004
    10
    simply the best CD you can buy this year
  36. Danny
    Sep 20, 2004
    10
    I've had it about a week, and it's just about all that I've listened to. It's the type of album you force on your friends. And you can't really say anything except "good", and you don't have to.
  37. britth
    Jan 28, 2005
    10
    A friends suggested this album...my first intro to The Arcade Fire and i'm blown away. It's just stunning.
  38. AlexH
    Oct 7, 2005
    10
    This Cd is simply amazing beyond belief. There is at least one song on there to fit every mood.
  39. kristinr
    Feb 10, 2005
    10
    amazing!!!
  40. StephenW
    Feb 24, 2005
    7
    A beautiful and promising start, but then the album ambles mighty close to Bright Eyes territory. Some nice moments, but the gushing praise this album has received would suggest limited experience with 'beauty' and 'originality' on the part of the gushers.
  41. AlexandraB
    Feb 4, 2005
    10
    Tremendous album
  42. bobom
    Apr 4, 2005
    10
    The best Pop-Wave album of the decade.
  43. JohnM
    Apr 5, 2005
    9
    Only had itn three days but im already researching this band every whilst i sit here and do nothing at work. Pisses all over all these shite NME hyped bands such as Kaiser Chiefs, Franz Ferdinand and The Others (truly awful). Beautiful, engaging music. Overtaken Interpol as my favourite band.
  44. DannyD
    May 4, 2005
    10
    Wow!
  45. AdamT
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    From beginning to end, this is an album of engrossing emotion, nearly all the songs are brilliantly orchestrated, if not simply amazing. The lyrics at first may seem too dramatic, but end up creating a sense of awe in it's deep anthems.To me this is the best debut album made, if not the best in recent years.
  46. Spnogeee
    Sep 7, 2005
    9
    Sick album!!! Every track is hot!!! and as a whole, the album is a complete package. These guys can actually play...unlike most crap bands...holla at ya boi!
  47. NathanK
    Sep 7, 2005
    9
    What an amazing record. Funeral is glued in my CD player! I cant stop listening to it. Gripping songs take you on a journey with great melodies and wonderful drum rifts. BRILLIANT!
  48. Rob
    Jan 3, 2006
    10
    A masterpiece that will be amongst the albums of the decade, let alone the year. Thrillingly original, this really does reaffirm your faith in music.
  49. Andrew
    Jan 9, 2006
    10
    This album finds beauty in a time of grief, the most amazing album i have heard this year. Each song is perfectly crafted to depict a different emotion, 10. 10. 10
  50. MattA
    Mar 2, 2007
    10
    Arrrggghhh! So good. So powerful. Each song is complex, and beautiful. You just have to listen to it do understand.
  51. Michael
    May 20, 2007
    10
    First, I hated it. Unlistenable. Then I realised all the nuances and violins and guitars and that majestic little solo burried in the third neighborhood and those last few lines from Régine. What an album.
  52. AndrewB
    Oct 16, 2004
    10
    This really does top off the year. It's been on repeat for a while now. Just do yourself a favour and buy it. This is one of those times when the hype isn't unwarranted. I've heard that these guys are amazing live, although I haven't had the privilege of seeing them on stage.
  53. JasonD
    Nov 6, 2004
    10
    Incredible beyond belief. The Arcade Fire is a breath of fresh air that will take your breath away.
  54. AramisG
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    So many of these new bands can't seem to manage putting out a totally good album. I can name the bands that have on one hand. The Arcade Fire would be my pinky then. They are a band that is totally open to everyone, without fashion constraints (and hopefully indie snob constraints too). Either Funeral or Antics (Interpol) is the best album of the year thus far. I like them both so I So many of these new bands can't seem to manage putting out a totally good album. I can name the bands that have on one hand. The Arcade Fire would be my pinky then. They are a band that is totally open to everyone, without fashion constraints (and hopefully indie snob constraints too). Either Funeral or Antics (Interpol) is the best album of the year thus far. I like them both so I will let someone else decide. Hopefully they sound this good in concert and continue to sound this good on their next album. I'll be there. Expand
  55. Mbaids
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    If you don't get it by buying or downloading it, I feel sorry for you. If you don't get it once you have it, I feel even worse. Outstanding.
  56. andrewr
    Oct 4, 2004
    10
    This record is going to endure. There's more here than a just a collection of amazing songs amazingly executed. You'd be hard pressed to find many other bands producing such mature lyrics at such an early stage. The art is phenomenal. Never a dull moment. Not just a great debut, but probably one of the best records of the past 5 years.
  57. IanR
    Sep 17, 2004
    9
    darn good. you should probably get this cd. if you're wondering what it sounds like, i don't know. i guess at times some of the stuff reminds me of bright eyes (mainly the instrumentation and artwork), and a bunch of people are probably gonna yell at me for saying that. but i don't even like bright eyes, this is just sort of... in that vein i suppose. it's really darn good. you should probably get this cd. if you're wondering what it sounds like, i don't know. i guess at times some of the stuff reminds me of bright eyes (mainly the instrumentation and artwork), and a bunch of people are probably gonna yell at me for saying that. but i don't even like bright eyes, this is just sort of... in that vein i suppose. it's really sincere and honest, and, yes, emotional (i don't know why, but so many people automatically get scared away by the "emo" label... that stuff can still be good. i guess if you wanted to call this "emo," it would be the best emo ever). there's a lot of folky elements on this cd, but all that is mixed in with some very danceable beats and some rock n' roll guitarwork. it's just a really beautiful album with awesome orchestration and rock and vocals and all that. so yeah, definitely get it. Expand
  58. JeromeH
    Sep 20, 2004
    9
    I really hate hype, especially when I come across it on a site like this. I'd never heard of the band, but just heard so many wonderful things all at once, so I decided to check it out. It really is an amazing album. Definitely in my top 20 of the year (I listen to over 1000 albums a year, so that does mean something). My advice is just to do what I did: go out and listen to this thing.
  59. ChrisA
    Jan 16, 2005
    10
    An instant classic. At the top of my list for 2004.
  60. jgeilfuss
    Jan 21, 2005
    10
    this is the best album i've ever heard. they are even more incredible live.
  61. kellyb
    Jan 2, 2005
    10
    AWEsome
  62. DavidC
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Probably one of the best albums I've ever purchased
  63. Karl
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Can't stop listening to it. Driving my girlfriend nuts!
  64. EricKH
    Feb 1, 2005
    10
    I have a big fat crush on Butler
  65. NikeshG
    Feb 5, 2005
    10
    Absolutely magnifiicent....uncut said the album would be reminiscent of a 19th century-style radiohead...which sounds about right.
  66. NeilT
    Mar 10, 2005
    10
    The best album I've heard in Indie Pop/Rock for years. I can't stop playing it.
  67. kristinr
    Mar 24, 2005
    10
    amazing!!!
  68. TomY
    Mar 6, 2005
    10
    An absolutely breathtaking and passionate debut.
  69. roussellem
    Apr 16, 2005
    10
    Absolutely the most beautiful thing I have heard in ages. It grow better with every listen. Makes me feel the power that really great music does have- the power to really make me- feel.
  70. Amanda
    Apr 23, 2005
    10
    Gorgeous
  71. CosmoM
    Apr 28, 2005
    10
    I - like many other listeners - upon first hearing this album, insisted I hadn't been so excited about a new band for ages. Without question one of the greatest debuts albums ever. Highly original. Combine the Talking Heads and early Bowie with Pixies, then throw in strings, piano and an accordion for good measure - and you merely scratch the surface. Been listening for a good 3 I - like many other listeners - upon first hearing this album, insisted I hadn't been so excited about a new band for ages. Without question one of the greatest debuts albums ever. Highly original. Combine the Talking Heads and early Bowie with Pixies, then throw in strings, piano and an accordion for good measure - and you merely scratch the surface. Been listening for a good 3 months now... still astonishing. Easily the best album of 2004 - a year filled with goood releases. Expand
  72. Marc-AndreB
    Apr 5, 2005
    9
    It's probably the best album i've heard this year...and we are in april!!! It's been a while that i've been shivering listening music. For a debut album, i have one word: SOLID! My disc player is having a rough time these days because of this CD... it's really addictive. Bravo!!!
  73. nico
    May 11, 2005
    9
    Very amazing songs except maybe the slowest ones. Both complex and emotional, hard to find a better album this year.
  74. RickyT
    May 12, 2005
    10
    what can i say absolutely heart stopping beautiful it brings tears to my eyes every time i listen to it
  75. GaryY
    May 20, 2005
    10
    Absolutely superb. It gets better with every play and combines passion and rawness with lush arrangements and immaculate songwriting. Every single song is great. Nothing better will be released this year. Fact. (UK)
  76. matta
    May 27, 2005
    9
    Very torn with this album becuase the songs that work, which is most of them, are some of the best songs I have ever heard (Neighborhood #2, Crown of Love). Still, this is definetely one of the ten best releases of 2004 and more proof that canadian indie rock is catching up with american indie.
  77. Tim
    Jun 10, 2005
    10
    Straight to the top of my pile without a doubt and now I'm trying as hard as possible to convert others to T.A.F. Get them over for a UK tour NOW
  78. IkeS
    Jul 12, 2005
    10
    Definetly the best album I've ever had the pleasure of listening to.
  79. ChadS
    Jul 4, 2005
    10
    The economy in which The Arcade Fire describes how it's not always a given that there's going to be a tomorrow in the chorus for "Rebellion(Lies)" is absolutely brilliant. The arrangement for this song is the best I've ever heard in the genre called indie rock. It also might be the best song about death ever recorded. The final go-around on the chorus is incredibly moving, The economy in which The Arcade Fire describes how it's not always a given that there's going to be a tomorrow in the chorus for "Rebellion(Lies)" is absolutely brilliant. The arrangement for this song is the best I've ever heard in the genre called indie rock. It also might be the best song about death ever recorded. The final go-around on the chorus is incredibly moving, and the musical backing suggests they're trying to bring the dead back to life by playing with passion and utter commitment to the whole notion of music as therapy. I think "Tunnels" is the other major track on this truly beautiful record. Superchunk was, and still, a great band, but the student has become the teacher. Merge Records rule! Expand
  80. pedroa
    Aug 4, 2005
    10
    Arte; o poder da criação humana
  81. nicolasc
    Aug 7, 2005
    10
    Sound like a ton of bricks. A wall of emotion.
  82. kristinr
    Sep 6, 2005
    9
    amazing!!!
  83. OwenP
    Nov 30, 2006
    10
    My best album ever
  84. henryt
    Jan 9, 2006
    9
    There is a sense of urgency and freshness that the rest of indie rock just can't manufacture, Makes Coldplay and U2 sound uttery irrelevant and bloated. Best album I've heard in 10 years.
  85. GeoffB
    Feb 17, 2006
    10
    The album that drew me in to indie music. The only album that plays in myhead threwout the day like a soundtrack of my life. It is and will forever be my favorite album.
  86. AlanR
    Mar 28, 2006
    10
    Such a fresh sound, yet hints of the Taliking Heads in their glory!
  87. JimH
    May 13, 2006
    9
    Rich. More proof of Canada's amazing talent pool.
  88. AlvinT
    Jul 3, 2006
    10
    Best Album of 2004. No question. (2005 was Picaresque). I would kill my best friend just for a solid release date on their follow-up to Funeral.
  89. JeffJ
    Jul 6, 2006
    10
    It's so emotional and brilliant. Funeral is one of the best albums I have ever heard.
  90. joshd
    Sep 5, 2006
    10
    Amazing album.
  91. TimT.
    Oct 13, 2007
    9
    Simply filled with amazingly addictive, albeit unorthodox, hooks. Only a few tracks fall a little short, but even the songs that aren't incredible still have little somethings that make them fun. A great album in general, even if Win's voice is a little banshee-ish at times.
  92. PeteN
    Jan 2, 2007
    10
    Got this album a fair while back, still regular listening, and still as beautiful as ever.
  93. MarkD
    Feb 6, 2007
    9
    The first album/band since Radioheads OK Computer to really make me sit up and say "wow". Ther's a sublety and originality that the over hyped likes of The Artic Monkeys and awful Kaiser Chiefs can only dream of; Just listen to "In the back Seat" with its dips and climaxes and complex arrangement. Not every song is great and it may take you a few listens but no other band around at The first album/band since Radioheads OK Computer to really make me sit up and say "wow". Ther's a sublety and originality that the over hyped likes of The Artic Monkeys and awful Kaiser Chiefs can only dream of; Just listen to "In the back Seat" with its dips and climaxes and complex arrangement. Not every song is great and it may take you a few listens but no other band around at the moment combines great melody with artestry and raw emotion like "The Fire". Expand
  94. SeanV
    Mar 10, 2007
    10
    luv it, luv them
  95. MichaelC
    Mar 15, 2007
    10
    Deeper and more complex than anything released yet this decade, rivals OK Computer in some ways.
  96. VincentH
    Mar 20, 2007
    10
    A masterpiece...pure and simple. I would definitely argue that Arcade Fire are the most powerful and brilliant indie pop band since Neutral Milk Hotel. The lyrics, the melodies, the varied and precise instrumentation, the messiness, the honesty, the emotion...Arcade Fire makes the kind of music that can make you weep if you let it, and you should.
  97. Joest
    Jun 3, 2007
    10
    Imaginative, emphatic, catchy and inspiring. And a debut? The best album of the year, hands down.
  98. NabihaH.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    Simply beautiful. This is one of the few albums where every song is worth listening to multiple times. Incredible...this is easily one of my favorite albums.
  99. KarenO.
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    Pure Class!! Will never go out of date a classic!
  100. Oligami
    Sep 1, 2007
    9
    It has that kind of music you've been waiting all your life to hear.
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. If I were to have just heard the first half of the disc, I probably would have proclaimed it the best of the year as well.
  2. So long as we're unable or unwilling to fully recognize the healing aspect of embracing honest emotion in popular music, we will always approach the sincerity of an album like Funeral from a clinical distance. Still, that it's so easy to embrace this album's operatic proclamation of love and redemption speaks to the scope of The Arcade Fire's vision.
  3. Marred by indie-rock clichés and occasional over-effort, it remains frustrating.