Funeral

Funeral Image
Metascore
90

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics What's this?

User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 855 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The Montreal band founded by husband and wife Win Butler and Régine Chassagne make their full-length debut with this highly anticipated disc.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 32 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. One of the best albums of the year, hands down.
  2. So long as we're unable or unwilling to fully recognize the healing aspect of embracing honest emotion in popular music, we will always approach the sincerity of an album like Funeral from a clinical distance. Still, that it's so easy to embrace this album's operatic proclamation of love and redemption speaks to the scope of The Arcade Fire's vision.
  3. Not only are the songs uniformly excellent, they also show a mastery of the art of controlled dynamics, of tension and release, that most young bands ignore to pursue the catharsis of sustained intensity.
  4. If I were to have just heard the first half of the disc, I probably would have proclaimed it the best of the year as well.
  5. The New York Times
    80
    One of the year's best indie-rock albums. [3 Oct 2004]
  6. Marred by indie-rock clichés and occasional over-effort, it remains frustrating.

See all 33 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Negative: 6 out of 344
  1. Karl
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    Can't stop listening to it. Driving my girlfriend nuts!
  2. MarkL
    Oct 2, 2005
    10
    One of the best albums of the last decade.
  3. KevinK
    Apr 18, 2005
    10
    "Funeral" is one of the few albums that actually deserves a "10". Consider early 80's "The Cure", modified by better "lo-fi" production, "Funeral" is one of the few albums that actually deserves a "10". Consider early 80's "The Cure", modified by better "lo-fi" production, more dynamic musical score, and an unbelievable raw energy, and you'll get an idea of what this album is like. This album is solid from top to bottom. There is nothing revolutionary about this album; it's simply one of the best "indie rock" albums you'll ever hear. This album is only surpassed by their live shows. Expand
  4. NabihaH.
    Jul 9, 2007
    10
    Simply beautiful. This is one of the few albums where every song is worth listening to multiple times. Incredible...this is easily one of my Simply beautiful. This is one of the few albums where every song is worth listening to multiple times. Incredible...this is easily one of my favorite albums. Expand
  5. Jul 9, 2012
    10
    I would give any of Arcade Fire's albums 10's in a heartbeat. Yes, some people say they aren't the best singers but that doesn't matter. BeingI would give any of Arcade Fire's albums 10's in a heartbeat. Yes, some people say they aren't the best singers but that doesn't matter. Being a good singer isn't always what matters. They just put so much heart into their songs and every song is distinct and catchy. Win's (yes the main singer's name is Win) voice is powerful and the melodies are so intricate. Expand
  6. Nov 5, 2013
    9
    While slightly overrated, Arcade Fire's debut full-length is a modern classic, forming a sound that many indie bands are still trying toWhile slightly overrated, Arcade Fire's debut full-length is a modern classic, forming a sound that many indie bands are still trying to recreate. It's the kind of album that appeals to hipsters, old people, and mainstream radio all at once, a very rare accomplishment in rock music. Expand
  7. joeK
    Mar 7, 2007
    0
    this album is rated way too high for something so bad

See all 344 User Reviews

Related Articles

  1. Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists

    Best Albums of the Decade: A Roundup of Critic Lists Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    We collect over 20 best-of-the-decade lists from leading music publications and websites, and reveal which albums turn up the most.
  2. Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade

    Ten Years of Metacritic: The Best Music of the Decade Image
    Published: December 15, 2009
    Our best of the decade coverage begins with a look at the top-rated albums and artists of the past 10 years. Who finished on top? A band from Austin, and a record that was 37 years in the making.