Funplex - B-52s
Metascore
64

Generally favorable reviews - based on 26 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 26
  2. Negative: 3 out of 26
  1. Nothing here is as gripping or as perfect as "Rock Lobster," "Private Idaho," or "Love Shack," and the songs that are borderline filler get pushed into one big forgettable lump towards the end of the album.
  2. Funplex is a very good album, and a solid pleasure from end to end.
  3. While Funplex's super-sized dance pop can't quite compare with the band's best moments, there's plenty of residual B-52's-ness to satiate longtime fans.
  4. 20
    Funplex consists largely of a series of witless retreads of school disco hit 'Love Shack,' with Fred Schneider's deadpan "woo!" recalling an increasinglt weary holiday rep. [Apr 2008, p.83]
  5. It's good to have them back. [Apr 2008, p.102]
  6. 20
    Kate Pierson and Cindy Wilson's endless calls for us to party hearty sound like nothing less than Shampoo's sozzled grans on a hen night, Fred Schneider's ironic lounge lizard is just creepy, and the same old tuned guitars spar against the same old Barbarella beats. [Apr 2008, p.102]
  7. It's not a genre shift for the Athens, Georgia merrymakers by any means, but a welcome revision. [Winter 2008, p.80]
  8. That material is sometimes far too automatic for its own good--see 'Deviant Ingredient,' which is as trite as its title portends. But on 'Eyes Wide Open' and the lustrous 'Juliet Of The Spirits,' a Pierson/Wilson song as strong as any they've done in mystic mode, the songs are up to the legend, and should sound as good at the B-52s' joyous shows.
  9. There may be nothing on here Funplex that will challenge the likes of Rock Lobster or Love Shack, but Funplex is a consistently brilliant party album from a band that knows the value in simply having a good time.
  10. Funplex then: a bit like that school re-union. Good for a few hours’ reminiscing every once in a while but over-familiarity will only breed contempt.
  11. 70
    They refresh all their tricks, with stripped-down, energetic guitar plus little electronics. [Apr 2008, p.92]
  12. They may not sound as weird and novel as they did on 'Rock Lobster,' but they can still sing 'Keep This Party Going' with some credibility.
  13. The B-52s are still gloriously single-minded party animals more interested in giddily rocking love shacks than stoking intellects. [28 Mar 2008, p.65]
  14. Their first album in 16 years aims to achieve a similar blend of the edgy, catchy and commercial. And it does just that with 'Eyes Wide Open,' which features a synth loop that sounds like the Magical Musical Thing toy of the ’70s, then blossoms with the bright harmonies of Kate Pierson and Cindy Wilson.
  15. Funplex never swings, shimmies or threatens a disco whistle. Instead it feels like a studio-centric attempt to approximate current dance music, which is strange, because nothing here feels particularly current.
  16. So instead of rehashing Cosmic Thing for an ill-fated comeback banking on nostalgia, guitarist Keith Strickland learned Pro Tools, bought some electro records and voila: the B-52’s have a contemporary dance-rock record. Startlingly, this works.
  17. Funplex neither redefines nor sullies the band's sterling legacy, which is probably close to a best case scenario.
  18. 60
    Best enjoyed in the privacy of home. [Apr 2008, p.76]
  19. Funplex works best when the voices blend into the ass-moving momentum.
  20. Listen to the B-52s first studio album in 16 years and within ten seconds it's like the 21st century never happened. They sound just the same. [...] And it's a delight.
  21. Funplex, the band's first album since 1992, is loads of fun and totally free of 'plex.
  22. The first album by the B-52's in 16 years sees the Georgia trash-pop veterans keep dull maturity at bay with 11 paeans to partying, space, deviant sex and sly protest politics .
  23. The band reassembles its signature elements and evaporates concerns about age by showing some fresh spring-loaded party pop.
  24. On the new B52s album, the group famous for ‘Love Shack’ party like it’s 1992.
  25. Out of the blue and virtually as fun as a party out of bounds, Funplex is a dee-lightful reunion record.
  26. These nutty kids turned DOR nostalgia act make their first album in 16 years their sex album. Eeyew, say today's normal kids. 'Bout time, says anybody old enough to know that one lure of the flesh is that it's always decaying.
User Score
9.1

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 18 out of 18
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 18
  3. Negative: 0 out of 18
  1. JamesK.
    Apr 7, 2008
    10
    Just so so so much better than we had any right to expect after 16 years away. For my money it's better than anything they've done Just so so so much better than we had any right to expect after 16 years away. For my money it's better than anything they've done since Wild Planet. If you don't like the B-52s just deal with it and move on. If you do like them you'll love this. BTW it's great to have Cindy back! Full Review »
  2. TinaC.
    Apr 5, 2008
    9
    I'm a fan of the Bs from years back and I had concerns that Funplex would be tired. I was wrong. This is an excellent album, made all I'm a fan of the Bs from years back and I had concerns that Funplex would be tired. I was wrong. This is an excellent album, made all the better for Cindy's return. There are a couple of weaker tracks, but you get that on all albums. On the whole, this is excellent and I hope lots of people get to enjoy it. Full Review »
  3. Bruce
    Apr 2, 2008
    10
    Infectous, fun, and featuring some of the best melodic hooks and harmonies Kate and Cindy have ever generated. It's too easy to miss the Infectous, fun, and featuring some of the best melodic hooks and harmonies Kate and Cindy have ever generated. It's too easy to miss the point of the B-52s and disregard their talent for making some of the most exuberant party anthems the past thirty years have seen. The more I spin this album, the more I fall wholeheartedly for its undeniable charm and sheer catchiness. Nothing but love for Funplex. Full Review »