Funstyle - Liz Phair
User Score
6.9

Generally favorable reviews- based on 8 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 6 out of 8
  2. Negative: 1 out of 8

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Oct 19, 2010
    8
    The album is a mess. An uneven collection of solid Liz Phair music. Haphazardly thrown together, the album contains uproarious humor and satire, beautiful ballads, flat out rock, a little R and B with some funk thrown in, pop, and some sonic experiments. It's fresh, original, interesting, and a return to Phair's early, loose Girlysound days, hence the inclusion of 10 Girlysound tracks to, without doubt, draw comparisons too. Not a great album, but a damn good one! Expand
  2. BKM
    Oct 25, 2010
    5
    I have to give Liz Phair credit for trying something different on this album, but that doesn't mean that it isn't a gigantic mess. Standard pop rock songs are mixed in with odd mixes of hip-hop, dance, R & B, etc. that are intended to serve as a skewering of the music business as well as our current pop culture obsessions. The problems is that the pop songs are substandard and the mash ups are just dreadful. Even if she's doing it in an ironic fashion, Phair should never attempt to rap. I respect the artistic ambition, but the results leave a lot to be desired. Expand
  3. Oct 25, 2010
    8
    Much more interesting than anything she has done in the past decade. Although I'm not a huge fan of the satirical "spoken word" songs, at least they are intriguing and full of the old Liz humor that has been missing for far to long. The rest of the album is full of decent Liz tunes. I like how she took chances on a couple of the tracks. "My, My" is a nice departure for Liz and "Bang, Bang" is a very good electronica influenced experiment. "And He Slayed Her" and "Oh, Bangldesh" are two of the best tunes I've heard from her in several years. It's an enjoyable and fun listen. The Girlysound stuff is awesome also. Glad she included it. Expand
  4. Oct 20, 2010
    9
    I like this record very much, and I'm glad Liz Phair has once again put out an album that she has complete control over. It's been awhile! Ms. Phair has always marched to her own drumbeat, even when critics called her a 'sellout'. She probably has no business being in the alligator pool of the music industry, because the critics and many listeners expect something of her that she has no interest in providing. Strange to say, maybe, but her best songs hang right up there with Dylan's, IMHO. And... all her records have examples of this quality. Expand
  5. Oct 22, 2010
    9
    Ever since Phair released what many critics agree is her best album, 1993â
  6. Mar 11, 2012
    6
    I like this album, but I dislike it at the same time. It is a definite mess. But, I have to say, It is very creative. It is a creative album, just not Liz at her best.
Metascore
51

Mixed or average reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 10
  2. Negative: 2 out of 10
  1. Mar 17, 2011
    40
    Hunted by cryptomusicologists with a zeal once reserved for Zimmerman's Basement musings and the Pixies' purple phase, this addition is alluring.
  2. Dec 22, 2010
    56
    Funstyle's what would happen if M.I.A. joined a musical sequence on Saved by the Bell.
  3. Not everything here works, not by a long shot, but the overall impression is that Liz Phair has finally reconnected with the spirit of Girlysound--which, contrary to popular opinion, wasn't all serious--and is on her way to once again being a compelling artist unafraid to take risks.