• Record Label: Caroline
  • Release Date: Jul 31, 2007
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 48 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 44 out of 48
  2. Negative: 2 out of 48

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. sylviom.
    Aug 21, 2007
    10
    Delicious to hear alone.
  2. AuntieS.
    Sep 14, 2007
    10
    Ephemeral, beautiful, absolutely otherworldly! Nicely scratches the same itch as, and compares nicely with earlier female UK trailblazers (and obvious influences) such as Kate Bush at her peak ("Hounds of Love") & early Sinead O'Connor (Think "Lion and the Cobra" era), and more thoughtful and complex than contemporary Goldfrapp. I can't stop playing it.
  3. May 25, 2011
    10
    Bat for lashes is an amazing artist i'm glad somebody found her and signed her. This is one of my favorite album. Great song writing skills and amazing vocals. Her songs tell story. Bat for lashes is different for all the other artist. Art Rock and Indie Rock artist. The songs has a good feeling to it. Bat for lashes music is just wonderful. One of the best song writers. The sound isBat for lashes is an amazing artist i'm glad somebody found her and signed her. This is one of my favorite album. Great song writing skills and amazing vocals. Her songs tell story. Bat for lashes is different for all the other artist. Art Rock and Indie Rock artist. The songs has a good feeling to it. Bat for lashes music is just wonderful. One of the best song writers. The sound is great. It not too low or too high. THe artwork for the album is really good. Fur and Gold . Every song are great on the album. This album does has some really sad songs like Sad eyes. This song is really sad. It start off sad but it also has some upbeat songs like priscilla. This song make me wanna get up and start clapping my hands. The album has some songs that has an upbeat sound and kind of sad and make you feel happy like Seal Jubilee. One of the best album out. On my list for greatest album of all time. Expand
  4. mydogputsthepooinpooch
    Aug 22, 2007
    1
    fer cryin' out loud - who's / why's anyone thinkin' highly of this girl's noises? i luv me some female singers / girl groups, co-ed combos but really, wtf?
  5. BjornC.
    Oct 3, 2007
    8
    An enjoyable listen for sure; upon repeated listening, however, I do find some of the lyrics a tad bit cringeworthy. It's as if she's reaching for the same childish faerie-musings as the likes of... say Cocorosie, but there's definitely a less expressionistic and more literally mapped quality to some of the yarns that might fare better in the hands of a more accomplished An enjoyable listen for sure; upon repeated listening, however, I do find some of the lyrics a tad bit cringeworthy. It's as if she's reaching for the same childish faerie-musings as the likes of... say Cocorosie, but there's definitely a less expressionistic and more literally mapped quality to some of the yarns that might fare better in the hands of a more accomplished lyricist. Instead, in my opinion, they come off sounding occasionally prosaic and forced, milking the magic from the mare, as it were. On the other hand, I do find the arrangements and instrumental choices supremely blissful, and her voice manages to effectively carry her sometimes "pedestrian" sense of mysticism. However, for love of all the boys and girls out there who refuse to trade in musings of glacial palaces, fire-hooved steeds and winged-tiger saviors for a life of mindless wage-slaving for the marketed "perks" of capitalism...I give this offering an 8. I do highly recommend Faun Fables (Mother Twilight or Family Album) or Cocorosie as a no less magical complement to this album. Expand
  6. TimC.
    Oct 6, 2007
    8
    This is a fabulous album. Full of atmospheric songs and some quite extraordinary and original music.
  7. [Anonymous]
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    amazing, unique...you've never heard anything like this. She elegantly mixes the greatest elements that made Bjork stand out in her Debut era, and mixes it with the more simplistic elements of radiohead or sigur ros. It is truly a beautiful escape to another world.
  8. JoeK.
    Aug 12, 2007
    8
    I like this one quite a bit, it recalls a bit of early Goldfrapp and a little early cat power. Great album, It'll be good to see what they'll do once the sound becomes more confident.
  9. ClareO.
    Aug 13, 2007
    10
    'Fur and Gold' is one of the most beautiful and adventurous albums I have heard in ages. The Kate Bush and Bjork comparisons are well-deserved. The album is full of stand-out tracks, but my favourites are 'Horse and I' and 'What's a girl to do'. Highly recommended.
  10. JCC.
    Sep 4, 2007
    4
    Hugely overrated and ultimately very dull.
  11. DanaB.
    Aug 10, 2007
    10
    "Fur and Gold announces Natasha Khan
  12. GeneB.
    Aug 31, 2007
    8
    Not as great as some of the "10"s, who probably have, like, a 10 CD collection...but clearly loads better than the "1" given by the dweeb who's fascinated with their dog's bowel movements. Khan is clearly talented, and this could be the foundation of a solid career.
  13. jv
    Aug 8, 2007
    9
    This album is amazing. Natasha Khan has a beautiful voice, and Trophy is one of my favorite songs currently.
  14. SteA
    Jan 13, 2008
    9
    Absolutely brilliant.
  15. Jon
    Nov 12, 2007
    10
    An engaging, fantastic and sometimes brutal album. The surrealistic lyrics and beautiful sounds make this the best album of 2007.
  16. Time
    Oct 22, 2007
    7
    I don't understand the comparisons to Kate Bush. I guess because this band features a British woman that's what critic's automatically link her to. This is one of those Cat Power followers like Feist. It's not bad but please it's not Kate Bush.
  17. GregoryH.
    Sep 12, 2007
    10
    Fur and gold is a wonderful album. It is among my favorites this year.
  18. JeffD.
    Sep 26, 2007
    2
    I'd rather listen to Cocteau Twins, Siouxsie, Tori Amos, Cat Power, Feist, Björk or just about anything else. For those who compare Kate Bush to this...not in my opinion. Definitely a waste of space on my iPod. Very tuneless, meandering and didn't engage me whatsoever.
  19. Oct 26, 2011
    8
    A great album - well worth it's mercury music prize nomination. Original and inventive but at the same time extermely listenable. A much better version of Florence and the Machine.
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 15 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 15 out of 15
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 15
  3. Negative: 0 out of 15
  1. Bat for Lashes' music feels like some lost specter that has fortuitously wandered into your home and can't help but haunt you.
  2. An entrancing, wonderfully surprising record which manages to feel both refreshing new and strangely timeless.
  3. Bat For Lashes' debut, Fur And Gold, is an album that delivers the listener from any form of humdrum existence into a deeper realm of dream and dementia.