Furious Angels

User Score
9.0

Universal acclaim- based on 65 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 60 out of 65
  2. Negative: 3 out of 65

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TravisS
    Jan 4, 2005
    10
    great album, i always loved this dudes music
  2. kevinp
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    awesome!
  3. TomS
    Oct 24, 2003
    10
    Fundamental to the new concept as a whole work... new in its emotional strength, its melodic and harmonic freshness was the choice of instruments. With strings, flute, cello and all the other pieces that make up a 122-piece orchestra, Dougan blends orchestral color with vigor and assurance. Supporting an interweaving of real instruments is the ensemble sound. Few tracks today have that Fundamental to the new concept as a whole work... new in its emotional strength, its melodic and harmonic freshness was the choice of instruments. With strings, flute, cello and all the other pieces that make up a 122-piece orchestra, Dougan blends orchestral color with vigor and assurance. Supporting an interweaving of real instruments is the ensemble sound. Few tracks today have that smoldering intoxication and in the soaring string lines. With its cinematic timbres and down to earth essence, one can?t help but imagine how he obtained that smooth chilling sound. Both the backing beats and orchestral arrangements help produce the exciting tension and climax that characterize the work as a whole. Rob Dougan is a mastery of an extremely rhythmic-melodic technique that isn?t necessarily based on classical training. Maybe it?s the phrases when he sings. It might be the warmth and tenderness in his voice as he expresses. He motivates your mind with old movies and destroys you with his explanation of how. Whatever the reason, whatever the mood, "Furious Angles" is going to reach you... as the songs communicate with the very depths of your soul. You?ll find as I did, all things you think you?ve felt before are again brand spanking new. While this gives flavor to his style, he never allows it to dominate. Rob is perhaps the most melodic composer on the scene today and certainly one of the most intense. The listener cant help but be fascinated as he reaches out with mental dimensions and boxes of future distinctions. The male version of Billie Holiday... gritty, real and blatantly direct, Dougan demonstrates this point with such eloquence. Expand
  4. BrettE
    Oct 20, 2003
    9
    A classic!
  5. Olga
    Aug 1, 2003
    10
    Very impressive
  6. MartheT
    Jun 30, 2004
    10
    100% geweldig!
  7. AntonioR
    Jan 1, 2007
    10
    Very original & intense. A well-rounded album, never boring
  8. MichaelM.
    Oct 17, 2003
    10
    Vunderbar. This is a great, soulful cd replete with a unique techo-bluesy sound. I wish I had discovered it sooner.
  9. JegorMeister
    Nov 8, 2003
    10
    best of the best!!!
  10. JegorMeister
    Nov 8, 2003
    10
    best of the best!!!
  11. Jerry
    Jun 22, 2003
    9
    The Playlouder review is a capitulation. Nothing more than an infant stamping on a rubic's cube when faced with an inability to comprehend. While this album clearly uses elements of electronica, the vocals and inspiration seem to hark back to albums such as Lou Reed's Transformer, or something by Leonard Cohen with a touch of Tom Waits and the self-conscious histrionics of The Playlouder review is a capitulation. Nothing more than an infant stamping on a rubic's cube when faced with an inability to comprehend. While this album clearly uses elements of electronica, the vocals and inspiration seem to hark back to albums such as Lou Reed's Transformer, or something by Leonard Cohen with a touch of Tom Waits and the self-conscious histrionics of Bowie! Once you add the filmic orchestrations and cut-up beats to the mix you end up with something quite groundbreaking, but a red rag to any NME wannabe. I caught "Furious Angels" and Dougan's score to the Chateau fight scene in the Matrix : Reloaded and checked this out. This album is like a score to a much finer movie. Expand
  12. Jerry
    Jun 20, 2003
    9
    The Playlouder review is a capitulation. Nothing more than an infant stamping on a rubic's cube when faced with an inability to comprehend. While this album clearly uses elements of electronica, the vocals and inspiration seem to hark back to albums such as Lou Reed's Transformer, or something by Leonard Cohen with a touch of Tom Waits and the self-conscious histrionics of The Playlouder review is a capitulation. Nothing more than an infant stamping on a rubic's cube when faced with an inability to comprehend. While this album clearly uses elements of electronica, the vocals and inspiration seem to hark back to albums such as Lou Reed's Transformer, or something by Leonard Cohen with a touch of Tom Waits and the self-conscious histrionics of Bowie! Once you add the filmic orchestrations and cut-up beats to the mix you end up with something quite groundbreaking, but a red rag to any NME wannabe. I caught "Furious Angels" and Dougan's score to the Chateau fight scene in the Matrix : Reloaded and checked this out. This album is like a score to a much finer movie. Expand
  13. BitBurn
    Jun 30, 2003
    8
    I don't know about those "pro" reviewers up there (score: 60, 41 and 20?!) but I find this record very interesting. Mr. Dougan is very intense and lots of rage in his lyrics/voice. And the music! Lots of beautiful strings, dramatic moods and wicked drum loops. A very good record.
  14. NateW
    Jul 16, 2003
    7
    Overall, not a bad collection of songs. But I will agree with some of the other reviews regarding an overall monotonous sound. I'm a huge fan of artists who can creatively and effectively blend a more traditional musical sound (i.e. orchestral, jazz, etc.) with an appropriate mix of new age electricity. Even some of the stand alone orchestral tracks, while short, have hints of some Overall, not a bad collection of songs. But I will agree with some of the other reviews regarding an overall monotonous sound. I'm a huge fan of artists who can creatively and effectively blend a more traditional musical sound (i.e. orchestral, jazz, etc.) with an appropriate mix of new age electricity. Even some of the stand alone orchestral tracks, while short, have hints of some promise. However, he always seems to be teetering right on the edge of a beautiful melodic breakthrough, and never really opens the musical floodgates we're waiting for. He gets an "A" for effort on his vocal stylings, but can't get more than a "D" for his performances. His voice sounds like the kind of bittersweet, sandpapered melodies that put a voice to the clouds of smoke in a backstreet blues bar. He's definitely got talent as a composer and producer, and knows how to appropriately seam the crossover between distinctly different musical genres without missing a beat. But next time, I'd prefer more melody, less monotony, and a few more polished voices. Expand
  15. NP.GREYMAN
    Jul 20, 2003
    10
    A unique collection of songs that defy categorization - absolutely a must have album!
  16. DanNeve
    Jul 8, 2003
    10
    Excellent CD. nuff said
  17. JerryP
    Apr 6, 2006
    10
    Adictive and inspired. Artists don't put in this much effort often... treasure it.
  18. MelanieS
    Jan 10, 2007
    10
    The only CD I've bought in the last 5 years.
  19. TimK
    Mar 11, 2007
    10
    An amazing mix of styles blended perfectly
  20. johnp
    Oct 23, 2003
    10
    Easily 10 marks for this CD. Id never heard of this musician before I got the Matrix out on DVD, now his music sits proud next to my collection of Bowie classics. You'll never hear music like this again in a good while. The song 'Clubbed to Death' is as good as it was back in 1995 and is one of the songs you just know, without knowing you know that you know. Surprisingly Easily 10 marks for this CD. Id never heard of this musician before I got the Matrix out on DVD, now his music sits proud next to my collection of Bowie classics. You'll never hear music like this again in a good while. The song 'Clubbed to Death' is as good as it was back in 1995 and is one of the songs you just know, without knowing you know that you know. Surprisingly there is not a song that fails to match it on sheer quality and emotion. The gripping 'Left me For Dead' with Dougans gritty vocals left me in awe and 'Will you follow me?' is incredibly uplifting. If this album was a movie, 5 stars, but as a CD, 10 Stars. Expand
  21. yungd
    Oct 27, 2003
    10
    Long live originality...
  22. michaelm
    Jun 25, 2003
    10
    Blown away! Thats the only expression I can find(Im sure theres more!) to describe how much of an impact I had when I first heard it. Ive got a good comprehensive list of CDs Ive bought like classic Morricone, Pink Floyd at their peak and some brilliant Jean-Michel Jarre and this CD is comparable. Everyone knows the stunning 'Clubbed To Death', used on ads like Caffreys and Blown away! Thats the only expression I can find(Im sure theres more!) to describe how much of an impact I had when I first heard it. Ive got a good comprehensive list of CDs Ive bought like classic Morricone, Pink Floyd at their peak and some brilliant Jean-Michel Jarre and this CD is comparable. Everyone knows the stunning 'Clubbed To Death', used on ads like Caffreys and Nissan with its epic string arrangement and beats this is by far one of the highlights of the CD. But wait theres' more. Some other anthemic ones to look out for are 'Born Yesterday', 'Furious Angels', 'Clubbed To Death 2' and 'Im Not Driving Anymore'. This CD can have you crying on the floor for forgiveness or be very uplifting indeed. There's Only Me is a clear example of this combination of stunning strings and anger-fuelled vocals. Rob has worked with Moby, Sting, U2 and Kylie in the past, and with that list of musicians, its no wonder he was destined for great things. Get this album and you'll know music has stepped up a gear that it sorely needed too. The new one with Instrumentals is out now in the US and out in the UK on 7th July. Expand
  23. Gregh
    Jun 26, 2003
    10
    Best album ever!!! Great voice, full of feelings and intensity. Amazing music. G
  24. SeanM
    Aug 7, 2003
    10
    The melodies are an eclectic mix that defies category, genre or type warranting its very own new section in the aisles of music stores. The vocals are gravelly, rough and raw renderings of a gut wrenching personal journey that deep down strikes an all too familiar chord with every jilted lover. The lyrics are the real treasure especially on the tracks 'Left Me For Dead' and The melodies are an eclectic mix that defies category, genre or type warranting its very own new section in the aisles of music stores. The vocals are gravelly, rough and raw renderings of a gut wrenching personal journey that deep down strikes an all too familiar chord with every jilted lover. The lyrics are the real treasure especially on the tracks 'Left Me For Dead' and 'Drinking Song'. Both masterful poetic portrayals of a love gone bad, a heart torn in two and a tortured soul. The album, in one word, remarkable. I can't wait for his second album. Expand
  25. ManuelG
    Mar 18, 2004
    10
    One of the best made albums...ever! A great combination of meaningful lyrics, fat beats and juicy orchestral music. Recommended!
  26. FritztheCat
    Aug 31, 2004
    10
    wow...i heard of rob from the matrix soundtrack(and reloaded)saw the cd in virgin for 10 squid with a free instrumentals disc(also excellant)and the videos for furious angels and clubbed to death on it and just thought "cool".so i bought it and got blown away by his mind bending mix of classic orchestra sounds,thumping electronic beats and growled,rage encrusted tom waits style wow...i heard of rob from the matrix soundtrack(and reloaded)saw the cd in virgin for 10 squid with a free instrumentals disc(also excellant)and the videos for furious angels and clubbed to death on it and just thought "cool".so i bought it and got blown away by his mind bending mix of classic orchestra sounds,thumping electronic beats and growled,rage encrusted tom waits style vocals.Clubbed to death,furious angels and nothing at all are particular faves but the rest of the album is just as brilliant.Shove it,urb,playlouder and filter,you obviously have some sort of problem with originality. Expand
  27. JasonB
    Mar 5, 2007
    10
    Greatest album ever written. Can't wait for his second album due in 07
  28. AndrewC
    Nov 5, 2003
    10
    I have been waiting years for a album like this. Fantasic beats and orchestral music.
  29. JohnZ
    Dec 18, 2003
    9
    Darkness, fierceness, energy, menace. An inspired effort...
  30. DJFluke
    Dec 8, 2003
    10
    best...album...ever!
  31. Apocaraphex
    Jun 12, 2003
    9
    This cd is well...brilliant our at least in my opinion. It is just brilliant for relaxing and well almost any other things, I for one believe this is the best car driving music...ever....wait a second let me take that back, When I listen to it I almost go into a trance and lose track of time. I have heard some complaints about rob's voice being irritating, all i can say is.....Thats This cd is well...brilliant our at least in my opinion. It is just brilliant for relaxing and well almost any other things, I for one believe this is the best car driving music...ever....wait a second let me take that back, When I listen to it I almost go into a trance and lose track of time. I have heard some complaints about rob's voice being irritating, all i can say is.....Thats why it comes with a instrumental disk. I on the other hand had no problem with his voice it usually fit hand in hand with the music, except for the end of "Left me for Dead" but thats about it. I cant stress enough about how much I enjoy this cd, all I can say is buy it but how do you know we have the same taste......oh well. Expand
  32. EvanA
    Aug 29, 2003
    9
    I think some people are missing the point of this album. Dougan does have the barroom singing voice, and that's what he wanted. Testimony to that is the track "Drinking Song", which lyrically, vocally, and musically sounds like a tribute to perhaps the greatest barroom singer: Tom Waits. The music on the album is a beautiful Drum & Bass meets 15th and 16th century Euro and Japanese I think some people are missing the point of this album. Dougan does have the barroom singing voice, and that's what he wanted. Testimony to that is the track "Drinking Song", which lyrically, vocally, and musically sounds like a tribute to perhaps the greatest barroom singer: Tom Waits. The music on the album is a beautiful Drum & Bass meets 15th and 16th century Euro and Japanese Classical, creating a wonderful, unclassifiable new genre. Dougan is amazing, and I hope he releases more albums. Expand
  33. TonyJ
    Jan 29, 2005
    9
    Good Cd's, include extra multimedia. One of the best beats of all time, Clubbed to Death.
  34. MaxP
    Apr 21, 2007
    8
    A vey strong few tracks on this album, but the mood is definitely dropped as the album progresses, and the closing song (Clubbed to Death II) brings back the opening mood poorly in comparison with the Coda. Still srtong nonetheless, with excellent chordal and counterpoint writing.
  35. Apr 21, 2014
    10
    One of the most underrated music I know. It has a powerful atmosphere which based on Rob's amazing vocal and tunes.
    I really hope, one day he will release a new album.
  36. Apr 22, 2014
    10
    We have all heard a tune off this great album,whether it be a tv show, advert, or film.
    If you love music I can't recommend this album high enough.

    Rob Dougan is a talented man, a hugely underrated album.
    To echo Kerub88 new album please.
Metascore
63

Generally favorable reviews - based on 5 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 5
  2. Negative: 1 out of 5
  1. Q Magazine
    80
    Thankfully... this reissue comes with a bonus instrumental disc, allowing the orchestral menace to speak for itself. [Oct 2003, p.127]
  2. There are no great ideas, or stunning movements, just ego-driven mush set to chocolate box arrangements. Oh, and a tendency towards the kind of vocals that Pink Floyd or Chris Rea might have been proud of.
  3. Uncut
    80
    The greatest album ZTT never released. [Oct 2003, p.134]