Fuse - Keith Urban
User Score
8.5

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 26 out of 31
  2. Negative: 4 out of 31

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Fuse is a must buy. Urban's best album yet. The fusion of elements normally used in other genres is exciting and diverse. Urban is already a ground-breaker with his hybrid rock/pop country style--but he still manages to outdo his own originality and created a more expansive, exciting sound. The result is an eclectic collection of songs that have Urban's identifying elements(distinctively textured vocals and expert guitar work.) without losing any sense of honesty and storytelling. Make sure you buy the deluxe version, you don't want to miss a track. Expand
  2. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is one of Keith Urban's Best CD's yet. The way the music coaxes and climbs and soars and caresses each song. Keith's voice is in tip top shape and beautiful through out the CD. FUSE is just that mix and collection of different tunes and songs and genre's all in the familiar Keith Urban package, with catchy riffs and lyrics. It has heartfelt ballads and fun get on your feet country line dance type songs. Just a well rounded, fun beautiful CD! FUSE is fantastic! Expand
  3. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    I wasn't sure about this album with the first listen, it wasn't what I was used to from Keith and I am a long time fan. But with each succeeding listen, and I've listened many times now, I'm enjoying it more and more. The songs I thought I might skip I find now that I enjoy. True, Keith added new sounds into his usual mix, but the usual mix is still there, still Keith. I'm loving Come Back To Me and Raise 'Em Up best but runners up would be Cop Car and Black Leather Jacket although the mix of favorites seems to change at times. If you are on the fence about purchasing the album, don't be. Run out and get it NOW. Keith is amazing! Expand
  4. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    I love this new album. Keith kept the promises to his fans. New energy, new songs, and our same Keith shinning thru loud and clear.

    When I listen to music I just want to be entertained. Who else is better than Keith Urban to do just that !

    You did it again Keith, in a stellar way! It is awesome.
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    This is one of Keith's finest albums, if not the finest. He challenged himself to do something new and fresh and still keep it country and yet Keith Urban (known for his rock/pop edge). He accomplishes this beautifully. I love the energy, his new voice range (thanks to successful surgery), and those ever-present awesome guitar riffs. There are several songs on this album that easily could become another #1 hit. I have never seen him release an album that has had so many potential #1 singles. And the two duets, one with Miranda Lambert, and the other with Eric Church, are both brilliant and and and a master stroke on Keith Urban's part to record and include them on this awesome album. Expand
  6. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    I'm really growing quite fond of Keith Urban's latest offering. I didn't think after all these years he could surprise me but FUSE is very well done and different enough to prove that this artist, regardless of how many albums he's released, is still in the game and ready to show everyone he's not afraid to navigate uncharted (for him) waters. He's still got it, but of course, talent never, ever goes out of style and Keith Urban has that in spades!!! Well done! Expand
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    10
    Wasn't expecting to love FUSE like I do!! Keith said he was doing something different with this record and I thought.....uh oh!! But, I should have never doubted Keith. I've loved all of his albums and have all of them. Some rate higher than others and FUSE is right at the top! I'm not a traditional country music fan and never have been. I love a song for itself and not by what genre it is in. I guess I'm more of a countryrockpop fan and Keith's new album fits all these categories! If you don't purchase this album, you will be missing a lot of great songs!! Haven't had it out of my car CD since I bought it!! Expand
  8. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    'Fuse' is a Masterpiece! Keith Urban promised us an album that was different but still him and he has delivered in an Awesome way.. It is full of his marvelous and better than ever vocals and has an energy and feeling that is just Amazing. Songs that touch you and songs that have you wanting to jump up and just dance. It still has that amazing guitar wizardry we would all really miss and musically so much more! I love this album and am thrilled to have added it to my music collection!! Expand
  9. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    Wow! I admit I was nervous when Keith announced this album would be different, but it is a masterpiece! It is "old Keith" and "new Keith" all FUSED together in such a beautiful way! I can listen to the complete Deluxe CD over and over again and I still can't get enough. What a wonderful job Keith did on this and he definitely made it worth the nearly 3 year wait!
  10. Sep 17, 2013
    10
    I waited in anticipation for Keith Urban's Fuse and I must say I was not disappointed. I believe this CD is his best work yet. I can't get enough of "Fuse". Love all the songs. Sometimes there are one or two songs that you may want to skip over, but there isn't a single song I would skip. I give Keith an A+ for his extraordinary work on this CD.
  11. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Fuse is the greatest album ever. Keith Urban always delivers, but there's something very special about this album. Every song is wonderful and unique.
  12. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    FUSE is one of the best CD's Keith has ever put out. It is different and I love everything about it! Hard to believe that @RoadGal who claims to be a 20-year fan can find nothing to please her on this CD. I would ignore her "0" rating completely. A true "fan" would never do that. This 16-song CD is one I have been playing over and over since its release. Keith promised that he would put out something different and that's exactly what he did different and fabulous!!! Well done, Keith! Expand
  13. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    FUSE is one of the best albums that I've heard in a long time. The wait for new music from the extremely talented Keith Urban was well worth it! I hear a lot of different genres "fused", but it still comes out as being a Keith Urban album from the heart. There is not one song on it that I skip, and that's unusual for me. This album just makes you "feel good"!
  14. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Fuse is truly a masterpiece!!! What a collection of fantastic songs!!! The new sound Keith promised in this CD were worth the wait!! Go out and buy a copy if you haven't already! You will not be sorry! I have been listening to this CD nonstop since I got it! It is great to exercise to!!
  15. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Fuse is a work of a true artist, who's not afraid to expand his horizon and be outside of his box. Its fresh and innovative fusion of different styles anchored in a Country genre. It hits a perfect balance of country with a little pop and rock and everything in between but successfully remains "Keith Urban" trademark. Every song managed to be different even with a common subject. Love it from track 1 to 16. Expand
  16. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    I have listened to nothing but Fuse in my car as well as home since the day it was released and I never tire of the music!! Catchy upbeat and highly entertaining! Every day I have a different favorite song from Fuse depending on which one is stuck in my head that day. Keith really took his time making this record and like a slow cooked meal this album is very tasteful and satisfying. Music is a little different for Keith but still has all the elements of great Keith Urban style and electrifying guitar riffs. Fuse is a must buy!! Expand
  17. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Love this album! Keith hit it out of the park with this one! Fuse is so different from Keith's previous albums but it works! The songs get stuck in your head and you find yourself singing along. That's the mark of a winner!
  18. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    I love Keith Urban's new CD Fuse, each and every song is terrific, I would say "Fuse" is Keith's best CD to date. I love every song from Red Camero to Shame to Heart Like Mine, I love Cop Car, Somewhere in My Car..and the list goes on and on. I would tell anyone who hasn't picked up Keith Urban's "Fuse" to run, not walk and purchase Fuse..I promise you, you won't be sorry!
  19. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    Fuse is Keith Urban's best album yet! As a long time fan I cannot say enough about the way he has been able to "fuse" rock and country into something that is quite magical. Every song evokes an emotional response and the heavy back beats keep you rockin'. Congrats, Keith on this fabulous #1 record!
  20. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    With his new album "Fuse", Keith urban has brought the effigy of country rocker to a whole new level with the amalgam of drum loops, synth, phenomenal guitar licks, a silky smooth voice, and a slew of writers and producers that would make your head spin! Taking on this type of complex project seems daunting but Keith makes it look like no big deal. The elements he has fused together for his latest album certainly makes it a piece de resistance! If you don't already own the album then you should definitely make it a point to go out and purchase it! From fantastic duets with Miranda Lambert (We Were Us) and Eric Church (Raise 'Em Up) to the soulful Come Back To Me and the "get you on your feet dancing" Good Thing, Keith's 8th studio album is one of his best efforts to date. Good on ya, mate! Expand
  21. Sep 18, 2013
    0
    I listened to the free steam on iTunes and was glad I did before I spent the money. I don't know what got into Keith to put this album out. He is an excellent singer songwriter and musician as evidenced in Golden Road and Be Here. His shows are beyond compare and I've been to over 100. I have been a fan for 20 years since the Ranch days. It seems to me that he is trying to be all things to all people. There is no consistency to this album and no definite story throughout. I think if Keith would stick to being true to himself and his heart he would be back to putting out quality music like he did in 2002. Expand
  22. Sep 19, 2013
    10
    FUSE is an amazing amalgam of styles that Keith Urban has mastered with his genius musicianship. No one else could've undertaken this experiment with such creativity and success. Not only has his first single reached #1 in a short chart climb, but this album debuted at #1 on Billboard's 200 Chart, all genre... as well as Billboard's Country Chart... in the U.S., in Canada, and in Australia! Keith has not only 'done something right', he's achieved brilliance with how he chose to 'fuse' all styles of music together in one masterpiece! Again, Keith Urban is a musical genius who allows himself to grow and mature in what he produces! Expand
  23. Sep 20, 2013
    10
    FUSE is amazing work of music!! Keith delivered in the way I expected him to. Keith NEVER disappoints his fans I listen to FUSE everyday at home and in the car. He is getting GREAT reviews here in Ohio and he deserves every great word that is said about his new album. I am going to have to go out and buy another FUSE cd I'm wearing this one out!!! WELL worth the money ...buy it and go light that FUSE!!! Expand
  24. Sep 20, 2013
    9
    I like it. After listening to it a few times I have to say I like it more and more. Not a country album but Urban's brand of honky tonk pop country. Go buy it!!
  25. Feb 16, 2014
    8
    While listening to the first few tracks, i wasn't very satisfied with this album. It wasn't bad, just okay.

    But the second half of the album is definitely better, in terms of both music and lyrics. "Come Back To Me", "Raise 'em Up", "Heart Like Mine", "Black Leather Jacket", and "Lucky Charm" are quite great. The other tracks are also close, but not the same level.
Metascore
69

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Oct 25, 2013
    50
    Fuse sounds basically like all of the past few albums but with less guitar fireworks, more drum machines, more “oh oh oh” backing vocals, slightly more generic choruses and verses, and less moments where I’m surprised by something within the song.
  2. Sep 16, 2013
    100
    Keith promised that Fuse would change things up, and he delivered.
  3. 67
    The result is sonically exploratory (if overproduced), but Urban's breezy, flirty lyrics are so dreadfully derivative that they undo his attempt at diversity. [13 Sep 2013, p.71]