Fuse - Keith Urban
Fuse Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 6 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 31 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: The eighth studio release for the country-pop singer and American Idol judge features guest appearances from Miranda Lambert and Eric Church.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 6
  2. Negative: 0 out of 6
  1. Sep 16, 2013
    Keith promised that Fuse would change things up, and he delivered.
  2. Sep 11, 2013
    For all the up-to-the-minute production talent--including Stargate and Mike Elizondo--this often sounds like an Eighties record, all big, clipped drums and guitar-face soloing.... Still, the best tracks are the most country.
  3. Sep 11, 2013
    For all the piecemeal recording, technological obsession and sheer ambition on the Fuse, Urban manages to fashion it all into a (mostly) working whole and maintain his identity as a contemporary country artist, even as he reaches for the mainstream pop fences.
  4. 67
    The result is sonically exploratory (if overproduced), but Urban's breezy, flirty lyrics are so dreadfully derivative that they undo his attempt at diversity. [13 Sep 2013, p.71]
  5. Sep 11, 2013
    The words are working hard here, and the music is, too, but Mr. Urban is gliding through, barely quaking at all.
  6. Oct 25, 2013
    Fuse sounds basically like all of the past few albums but with less guitar fireworks, more drum machines, more “oh oh oh” backing vocals, slightly more generic choruses and verses, and less moments where I’m surprised by something within the song.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 24 out of 25
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 25
  3. Negative: 1 out of 25
  1. Sep 19, 2013
    FUSE is one of the best albums that I've heard in a long time. The wait for new music from the extremely talented Keith Urban was well worth it! I hear a lot of different genres "fused", but it still comes out as being a Keith Urban album from the heart. There is not one song on it that I skip, and that's unusual for me. This album just makes you "feel good"! Expand
  2. Sep 19, 2013
    I love Keith Urban's new CD Fuse, each and every song is terrific, I would say "Fuse" is Keith's best CD to date. I love every song from Red Camero to Shame to Heart Like Mine, I love Cop Car, Somewhere in My Car..and the list goes on and on. I would tell anyone who hasn't picked up Keith Urban's "Fuse" to run, not walk and purchase Fuse..I promise you, you won't be sorry! Expand
  3. Sep 18, 2013
    Fuse is a must buy. Urban's best album yet. The fusion of elements normally used in other genres is exciting and diverse. Urban is already a ground-breaker with his hybrid rock/pop country style--but he still manages to outdo his own originality and created a more expansive, exciting sound. The result is an eclectic collection of songs that have Urban's identifying elements(distinctively textured vocals and expert guitar work.) without losing any sense of honesty and storytelling. Make sure you buy the deluxe version, you don't want to miss a track. Expand
  4. Sep 19, 2013
    I have listened to nothing but Fuse in my car as well as home since the day it was released and I never tire of the music!! Catchy upbeat and highly entertaining! Every day I have a different favorite song from Fuse depending on which one is stuck in my head that day. Keith really took his time making this record and like a slow cooked meal this album is very tasteful and satisfying. Music is a little different for Keith but still has all the elements of great Keith Urban style and electrifying guitar riffs. Fuse is a must buy!! Expand
  5. Sep 17, 2013
    This is one of Keith's finest albums, if not the finest. He challenged himself to do something new and fresh and still keep it country and yet Keith Urban (known for his rock/pop edge). He accomplishes this beautifully. I love the energy, his new voice range (thanks to successful surgery), and those ever-present awesome guitar riffs. There are several songs on this album that easily could become another #1 hit. I have never seen him release an album that has had so many potential #1 singles. And the two duets, one with Miranda Lambert, and the other with Eric Church, are both brilliant and and and a master stroke on Keith Urban's part to record and include them on this awesome album. Collapse
  6. Sep 17, 2013
    I love this new album. Keith kept the promises to his fans. New energy, new songs, and our same Keith shinning thru loud and clear.

    When I listen to music I just want to be entertained. Who else is better than Keith Urban to do just that !

    You did it again Keith, in a stellar way! It is awesome.
  7. Sep 18, 2013
    I listened to the free steam on iTunes and was glad I did before I spent the money. I don't know what got into Keith to put this album out. He is an excellent singer songwriter and musician as evidenced in Golden Road and Be Here. His shows are beyond compare and I've been to over 100. I have been a fan for 20 years since the Ranch days. It seems to me that he is trying to be all things to all people. There is no consistency to this album and no definite story throughout. I think if Keith would stick to being true to himself and his heart he would be back to putting out quality music like he did in 2002. Expand

See all 25 User Reviews