Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. Futures goes back to the band's roots, sporting 11 sparkling gems that carefully balance balladry with bombast.
  2. While it may still fall short of the high-water mark established with Clarity, Jimmy Eat World’s latest is still a strong contender for the best album of 2004.
  3. Alternative Press
    80
    A beautiful example of what "heart-on-sleeve" music should be. [Nov 2004, p.148]
  4. Blender
    80
    [Frontman Jim] Adkins loosens the reins with darker themes and longer songs... but the guitars and harmonies have never been brighter. [Nov 2004, p.139]
  5. Mixing maturity with a fixation with metal, there's an anthemic chorus to match every squiggly, air-guitar solo, and gentle harmonies play off grinding rhythms. It's the perfect combination for the ultimate pop-rock break-up album.
  6. An inviting, maturing album that still shows enough vitality to still be classed as a good rock album.
  7. Jimmy Eat World sound committed to establishing themselves as a great band, not just a great emo band.
  8. Futures will most likely not be the sensation that Bleed American was -- it is too dark and inwardly focused for that -- but it shows a progression of sound and emotion that fans of the band should embrace.
  9. Los Angeles Times
    75
    At times there's an almost U2-like expansiveness in lushly atmospheric settings ("Night Drive"), while "Pain" and the closing "23" have a classic power-ballad feel, without pandering to mainstream tastes. [31 Oct 2004]
  10. Spin
    75
    Jimmy Eat World might still be stuck in "The Middle" a year from now, but this album's more thoughtful homestretch at least suggests the possibility of alternate futures. [Nov 2004, p.115]
  11. New Musical Express (NME)
    70
    Another fine fusion of volcanic arena-rock and cherry-poppin' slow burners. [9 Oct 2004, p.56]
  12. Uncut
    70
    A kind of Joshua Tree for the heavily pierced and mildly upset. [Dec 2004, p.140]
  13. The album's radio-ready polish might strike some listeners as soulless, but it's really just a different kind of soul.
  14. It sticks with what Jimmy Eat World have always done, but it sounds better than anything that preceded it.
  15. Although not as immediate as "Jimmy Eat World," "Futures" will not disappoint fans.
  16. Entertainment Weekly
    67
    [Jimmy Eat World] has sacrificed some of the poppy immediacy of its previous album, instead reprising the expansive moodiness of the '99 cult fave Clarity. [22 Oct 2004, p.92]
  17. Futures is the sound of a band playing it safe.
  18. They've still got the high-energy guitars and the misery-laden vocals. But the songs are longer and trickier.
  19. Jimmy Eat World's ballads sink into sentimentality. [8 Nov 2004]
  20. Q Magazine
    60
    Ultimately, Futures is Bleed American Part Two. [Nov 2004, p.118]
  21. It's just not ambitious enough, lacking the impact to draw new fans in while just about satisfying those already captivated by the band’s admirable class.
  22. Futures is like a rotten onion, revealing layer upon layer of foulness.
User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 57
  2. Negative: 3 out of 57
  1. Aug 5, 2010
    8
    I think a great album can help you remember a particular moment in time. This album does that for me. I wasn't so keen on the album thatI think a great album can help you remember a particular moment in time. This album does that for me. I wasn't so keen on the album that followed, but I can still listen to Futures from start to finish and enjoy every song-- a very rare thing for me. Full Review »
  2. TypicalFratBrah
    Jan 10, 2005
    0
    Oh, man! You have to check out this new masterpiece from Jimmy Eat World. Everytime I get into an argument with my parents or girlfriend, or Oh, man! You have to check out this new masterpiece from Jimmy Eat World. Everytime I get into an argument with my parents or girlfriend, or when I'm just having a bad day, I blast this CD. I enjoy how the cliche'-laden lyrics and forced sadness conveyed by the lead singer provide me with the immediate gratification that I seek. Fingers crossed for the new Hoobastank and Linkin Park albums, too! Full Review »
  3. [Anonymous]
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    Absolute brilliant Album, that is kind of timeless. Everytime I start to hear it, I almost can't stop. One of the best Albums I've Absolute brilliant Album, that is kind of timeless. Everytime I start to hear it, I almost can't stop. One of the best Albums I've ever bought. Full Review »