Futures

User Score
8.4

Universal acclaim- based on 57 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 52 out of 57
  2. Negative: 3 out of 57

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. RyaM
    Oct 23, 2004
    9
    a worthy follow up to one of the catchiest records of our generation
  2. GuillermoR
    Jan 10, 2005
    9
    Jimmy Eat World me parece una gran banda, su cd esta muy chido.
  3. Taneya
    Jan 26, 2005
    10
    i love love love futures, but there are a few songs a don't like such as kill and nothingwrong, other than that, great album
  4. Alex
    Feb 28, 2005
    10
    fantastic album from a great band !
  5. LarsT
    Aug 9, 2005
    10
    One of the best released albums of 2004 PERIOD.
  6. guillermoc
    Apr 20, 2006
    6
    its not a bad album but i think it dont have the magic which had "Clarity" or even "Bleed american". the songs are decent but not memorable
  7. [Anonymous]
    Aug 9, 2007
    10
    Absolute brilliant Album, that is kind of timeless. Everytime I start to hear it, I almost can't stop. One of the best Albums I've ever bought.
  8. AnthonyN
    Oct 19, 2004
    8
    Clarity > Futures > Static > Bleed http://www.brokenspindle.com for full review. :)
  9. SteveP
    Oct 20, 2004
    10
    several things are apparent in the latest endeavor. the album maintains a darker feel which is immediately noticable in the music of songs like 'pain' and 'nothing wrong' and in the lyrics of 'drugs for me'. no longer singing along with the jesus and mary chain playing on the jukebox, they have created songs which seem immensely more heartfelt and passionate, several things are apparent in the latest endeavor. the album maintains a darker feel which is immediately noticable in the music of songs like 'pain' and 'nothing wrong' and in the lyrics of 'drugs for me'. no longer singing along with the jesus and mary chain playing on the jukebox, they have created songs which seem immensely more heartfelt and passionate, with more serious connotations. given a great deal more of serious, label-backed studio time, musically the songs soar to heights previously only perceived at live events. tracks like 'polaris' and 'futures' feature depth and layering which as a fan, i had only imagined they could produce. a leave from staple producer Mark Trombino marks a sound which feels infintely new and fresh yet completely comfortable and appropriate. layers of hard guitar, crisp and bright vocals, string arrangements, and at times eighties throwback synthesized sounds ('nothing wrong') present us with a beautiful mix and a model for *cringe* 'pop rock' production. 'futures' is the perfect blend of catchy, throbbing rhythms, magical guitar work, and infectious rock: a testament to the song writing prowess of the band, namely Jim Adkins. it is by no means an answer to 'bleed american' (self titled) and after reading an explanation on the website i agree, more of a follow up to 'clarity' with of course the incorporation of many lessons learned along the way. for those who are expecting 'the middle' disappointment may be inevitable: the song writing has evolved in a phenomenal, but notably different way. there is no song which stands out as better than another and there is no song put together recklessly. the feeling that honest, sincere musicianship was devoted to the entire process of the album development is clear and the results are brilliant. Expand
  10. DevinB
    Oct 24, 2004
    0
    Clarity and Static Prevails were both guilty pleasures of mine: not particularly substanitive, but catchy nonetheless. However, with Futures, Jimmy Eat World has made an album of such unlistenable dreck that it doesn't even pass as the empty-calorie fun of Bleed American. Garbage.
  11. evanh
    Oct 30, 2004
    10
    really enjoyable. I love it. A good night cd.
  12. JoshM
    Jan 11, 2005
    9
    A huge step up from their last album. Less "catchy" melodies and lyrics, but alot more poetic and a more mature album overall. Great CD.
  13. TypicalFratBrah
    Jan 10, 2005
    0
    Oh, man! You have to check out this new masterpiece from Jimmy Eat World. Everytime I get into an argument with my parents or girlfriend, or when I'm just having a bad day, I blast this CD. I enjoy how the cliche'-laden lyrics and forced sadness conveyed by the lead singer provide me with the immediate gratification that I seek. Fingers crossed for the new Hoobastank and Linkin Oh, man! You have to check out this new masterpiece from Jimmy Eat World. Everytime I get into an argument with my parents or girlfriend, or when I'm just having a bad day, I blast this CD. I enjoy how the cliche'-laden lyrics and forced sadness conveyed by the lead singer provide me with the immediate gratification that I seek. Fingers crossed for the new Hoobastank and Linkin Park albums, too! Expand
  14. naenaemays
    Jan 28, 2005
    9
    Great cd last cd a little better.
  15. DavidB
    Apr 5, 2005
    8
    This is decent album from a good and very underrated band! i do prefer the older stuff like static and clarity, but this beats bleed american! the guys who give this 0 are morons and dont say why exactly
  16. MarkL
    Jan 6, 2006
    10
    This is a really great album. I don't like emo, I've never seen the attraction of depressing music, but this is more than that. Not that this is feel good music, it's not, but it still triggers certain positive emotions. By personal preference I prefer Bleed American. If I could say a bad thing about this album, it's that there are too many long ballads and not enough This is a really great album. I don't like emo, I've never seen the attraction of depressing music, but this is more than that. Not that this is feel good music, it's not, but it still triggers certain positive emotions. By personal preference I prefer Bleed American. If I could say a bad thing about this album, it's that there are too many long ballads and not enough faster paced Salt Sweat Sugar style tracks. But this is really just personal preference and I wouldn't rate down because if it. Pain is my favourite track here, maybe my favourite Jimmy track of all time. It's a great song with fast pacing and a killer solo near the end. Hoping the next album will be more like this. I bought an 'extended' version with two extra tracks, I feel that these do not help the album at all. I suggest taking them off and putting them on Stay on My Side Tonight to make that into a complete album. Overall, a great direction for the band and hopefully won't be their last good album. 9.5/10. Expand
  17. DaveN
    Sep 22, 2006
    8
    What do you do when you make the perfect Emo album and then follow it up with the perfect punk album? You combine the two sounds hoping for a perfect Emo/Punk album. Jimmy Eat World has attempted this with Futures, but has fallen short of the brilliance of Clarity and Bleed American. This is by no means a bad album. Its in fact very good. Kill, Pain, Futures, and 23 are just as good as What do you do when you make the perfect Emo album and then follow it up with the perfect punk album? You combine the two sounds hoping for a perfect Emo/Punk album. Jimmy Eat World has attempted this with Futures, but has fallen short of the brilliance of Clarity and Bleed American. This is by no means a bad album. Its in fact very good. Kill, Pain, Futures, and 23 are just as good as anything else in J.E.W.'s catalog. However, this CD does make you feel like Jimmy Eat World will never regain the brilliance of their 2nd and 3rd CDs. Expand
  18. gregw
    Nov 24, 2004
    7
    its good, but not as good as there last album. nothing even comes close to the midle. i liked about 7 tracks on this one
  19. ChrisB
    Oct 22, 2004
    10
    I love this cd, jimmy eat world continues to get better and better. If the only song you know by these guys is The Middle then I feel sorry for you. They are capable of so much and they deliver on this album.
  20. JohnS
    Dec 25, 2004
    10
    This is an awesome album!! Everyone go out and buy it now
  21. SebB.
    Dec 25, 2004
    7
    my fav. songs on this album is Definatly Pain. By far the best song, but I also like Just Tonight, Work, kill and nothingwrong. I think that this CD needs a couple listens before you can really appreciate it.
  22. L3si4h
    Oct 25, 2004
    10
    i'm listening to it over and over and over again, it's amazing.
  23. TravisT
    Oct 26, 2004
    10
    I cant turn this off, i can listen to every song over and over. Not one bad song on the album.
  24. JasonS
    Oct 27, 2004
    8
    Almost as good as Bleed American, but to expect it to be would be asking too much. This is an album that's grown on me with every listen, and while it's not the singles machine that Bleed American was, this one seems more cohesive.
  25. JoshuaR
    Jun 18, 2007
    10
    Let down by uninspired single "Work" early on but as the album progresses the songs become ever more magnificent until album closer 23 which left me drained and totally won over
  26. Aug 5, 2010
    8
    I think a great album can help you remember a particular moment in time. This album does that for me. I wasn't so keen on the album that followed, but I can still listen to Futures from start to finish and enjoy every song-- a very rare thing for me.
Metascore
73

Generally favorable reviews - based on 22 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 17 out of 22
  2. Negative: 1 out of 22
  1. New Musical Express (NME)
    70
    Another fine fusion of volcanic arena-rock and cherry-poppin' slow burners. [9 Oct 2004, p.56]
  2. They've still got the high-energy guitars and the misery-laden vocals. But the songs are longer and trickier.
  3. Futures is like a rotten onion, revealing layer upon layer of foulness.