• Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Sep 12, 2006
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 297 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 297

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Absolutely not my style at first but this album is flawless. Justin Timberlake proves he's one of the best nowadays. I literally can't wait for the next album, it's gonna be hot.
  2. Feb 9, 2015
    10
    At this point this album is considered a pop classic that brought a new sound to music industry. It's always a pleasure coming back to this album and it never gets boring. It has so many gems it's hard to pick a favorite. Created in 2006 but still sounds fresh and amazing. Ahead of its time.
  3. BB
    Sep 12, 2006
    7
    There are only 4 stand out tracks. I was expecting something a little more "futuristic". SexyBack set an expectation that wasn't fufilled.
  4. TimL
    Feb 3, 2007
    8
    Honestly, one of the better albums of 2006. It has a fresh new sound, it doesn't sound like the same chewed up the industry seems to force feed us. Great production value as well. Anyone saying this album is horrible, is simply jealous because they either can't have Justin, or can't be him. Thats what happens when people let their biases through.
  5. TBadlands
    Oct 11, 2006
    6
    I'm an indie brat that loves JT, but this record is kind of an overindulgent mess...maybe I just need a few more listens, but it really sounds like JT did EVERYTHING in his power to run away from "justified"...no need. Artists can grow without a sea change on every new LP. I think JT needed to get this record out of system, but it's far too unfocused to rival Justified, a I'm an indie brat that loves JT, but this record is kind of an overindulgent mess...maybe I just need a few more listens, but it really sounds like JT did EVERYTHING in his power to run away from "justified"...no need. Artists can grow without a sea change on every new LP. I think JT needed to get this record out of system, but it's far too unfocused to rival Justified, a peerless modern classic. This record is far from a "sophmore slump", but it's nowhere near the masterpiece of future funk he thinks it is. Many of the tracks go nowhere, at least 80% of this record is filler. Worse, the beats are boring, the songs are mostly hookless exercises, JT's new "sexy" attitude sounds contrived. Shame, really, we love him for who he is...a former Mickey Mouse Club/Boy Band showbiz kid who proved with "Justified" that he was one hell of a talented singer/songwritwer despite it all. I hope JT goes back into the studio and remembers to use his talent, as opposed to running away from it. Maybe LP number 3 is the masterpiece we expected here. As it stands, this record is an interesting curiosity, but ultimately dissapointing. Expand
  6. May 4, 2015
    10
    hinario, melhor álbum ou nao porque são todo otimos e maravilhosos que fica dificl escolher né kkkkkkk enfim arrasou uma biblia of the pop te amo e te adoro
  7. SmackDaddy
    Oct 9, 2006
    4
    Timberlake needs to leave Prince alone. Timbo...wow he's really fallin off. This isn't real music...its contrived, board room created, white boy with no style, photocopied, soulless 'music.' Andre 3000 is the closest thing we've had to what JT is trying to do...go on white boy...go on.
  8. EdiC
    Sep 15, 2006
    0
    sh**!
  9. S.J.Donovan
    Oct 10, 2006
    0
    Justin, the best thing you could do for pop is to die.
  10. SophieP
    Nov 9, 2006
    0
    I was very disappointed by this album. Justin's voice seems very weak, and the album is overproduced by Timbaland. It's not anything really catchy or memorable about this album.
  11. CynthiaP
    Sep 13, 2006
    2
    The album is a huge disappointment. I tried to give it a chance with multiple listenings. But the album is way too overproduced and self-conscious. Justin's vocals don't sound very impressive. Almost like he has lost his voice. My Love and Until the End of Time are the only noteworthy songs on the whole album. The album seems to drag and the lyrics are pretty generic. This album The album is a huge disappointment. I tried to give it a chance with multiple listenings. But the album is way too overproduced and self-conscious. Justin's vocals don't sound very impressive. Almost like he has lost his voice. My Love and Until the End of Time are the only noteworthy songs on the whole album. The album seems to drag and the lyrics are pretty generic. This album tried to be special, but it failed under its own weight. Expand
  12. Sach
    Feb 1, 2007
    1
    Mediocre pap wrapped in artistic pretention to convince his fanbase that they aren't shallow consumers. There's nothing wrong with the style he's attempting but the bland, sterile and lifeless exercises in nostalgia, utter lack of humanity and mechanical production kill the album. Creative shiny bull is still shiny bull. For a much better modern disco-funk concept album Mediocre pap wrapped in artistic pretention to convince his fanbase that they aren't shallow consumers. There's nothing wrong with the style he's attempting but the bland, sterile and lifeless exercises in nostalgia, utter lack of humanity and mechanical production kill the album. Creative shiny bull is still shiny bull. For a much better modern disco-funk concept album about love, check out Of Montreal's "Hissing Fauna, Are you the Destroyer". It's everything this album wants to be and it forgoes on the arrogant pretention of the talentless ex-boyband member trying to convince himself he has some worth beyond being a marketable face for Timbaland's record. Expand
  13. KyleS
    Apr 2, 2007
    0
    Absolutely wretched!!!! All I have in my head is that annoying "Yeah" every 5 seconds in Sexy Back.
  14. VeronicaV
    Dec 18, 2006
    1
    What a piece of crap! How did this awful album get nominated for "album of the year" over bob Dylan's Modern Times???
  15. JohnH
    Oct 5, 2006
    4
    Sure "Sexy Back" is cathcy and danceable, but did anyone else notice the arrays of bad beats and loops samples from the majority of other songs, many taken off of Fruity Loops...? Blame Timbaland or whoever did the electronic parts of the album for poor quality samples and cheap and easy loops...
  16. RafaelP
    Sep 12, 2006
    0
    Timberlake can not sing... Props to Timbaland...
  17. williamo
    Sep 13, 2006
    2
    this is a cheap r'n'b album! ....really really bad....
  18. MattD.
    Sep 14, 2006
    2
    There is nothing sexy about this album. Come-ons sound even worse next to bad funk and drippy ballads.
  19. ElmerF
    Sep 14, 2006
    1
    More boy band crap...
  20. Gman
    Sep 14, 2006
    2
    OK so the Timbaland production is moderately interesting but no matter how much you polish it, a turd is still a turd. No depth, naff lyrics and Timberlake's lack of anything resembling sexiness (I'm Bringing Sexy Back?? -Yeah right Justin!) make this just as atrocious as Justified was. Listen critics, there are some great 'pop' albums around at the moment (Junior Boys OK so the Timbaland production is moderately interesting but no matter how much you polish it, a turd is still a turd. No depth, naff lyrics and Timberlake's lack of anything resembling sexiness (I'm Bringing Sexy Back?? -Yeah right Justin!) make this just as atrocious as Justified was. Listen critics, there are some great 'pop' albums around at the moment (Junior Boys and Dani Siciliano for example) so why pretend that that this (and the even more dire Girls Aloud) is anything more than utter rubbish. You're only making complete fools of yourselves. Expand
  21. lisap
    Sep 15, 2006
    2
    Totally sucks rocks!! Nothing new here that I didn't hear the same of on the prior album, Justified. Just more sound effects!! Disappointing...
  22. SabrinaT.
    Sep 21, 2006
    0
    One of the worst albums of the year. I'm so disappointed in Justin this time. What was he thinking with this album? The beats are repetitive and boring. His voice doesn't sound as good as it did on Justified. Maybe the next album will be better.
  23. ToddW
    Sep 21, 2006
    0
    I saw this no-talent the other night on an awards show (which is ironic in and of itself) and he was performing the "hit" (another ironic turn of phrase) from this dreck. It's comforting to know that 10-year-old girls are singing along to a song that advocates beating up women in the bedroom. It makes me wish even harder for a Social Apocalypse.
  24. jessicam
    Feb 13, 2007
    2
    We were told this was going to be the Thriller of 2006. What a dissappointment! Rather than come up with his own identity, JT moves on from ripping MJ off to ripping Prince off. This is an example of another cocky ex-boyband poser trying to convince the audience he is a sexy badass. A couple of decent tracks but JT comes off as fake and not sexy.
  25. JustinTimberlake
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    The Bomb.. Thats all I have to say about this masterpiece..I put alot of work into this album I hope you all equallly enjoy it.
  26. aL.ck
    Sep 13, 2006
    8
    I think it really deserved an 8.
  27. ShandaS
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    I am only giving it a 9 b.c his next album needs space to grow for the ten SPOT! This album rocks. Period If you don't agree you're just a hater... and that's okay. Denial is the first step.
  28. PR
    Nov 8, 2006
    9
    pop may be dead, thanks god, stock aitken waterman anyone? but if quality produced stuff like this is its replacement then we should all surely be a lot happier. what I hate is the fact the new breed take themselves far too seriously - justin should not do interviews - those who know what proper music is all about are spoon fed pr so that we may fall into their trap. the problem is, i may pop may be dead, thanks god, stock aitken waterman anyone? but if quality produced stuff like this is its replacement then we should all surely be a lot happier. what I hate is the fact the new breed take themselves far too seriously - justin should not do interviews - those who know what proper music is all about are spoon fed pr so that we may fall into their trap. the problem is, i may not buy it, but i have heard it, and this album is probably the best pop album of 2006. Expand
  29. [Anonymous]
    Sep 11, 2006
    8
    Some obvious chart toppers here including: Sexyback, My Love, What Goes Around and Losing My Way. But not as well rounded as Justified. Some lengthly fillers and interludes. Overall a decent follow up, could of been better.
  30. ElizabethS
    Jan 6, 2007
    8
    I think it's one of the best albums of 2006!!Especially on production level...!!!
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. It's a lot like Justified in that it's a solid collection of expertly produced pop songs whose flaws will be devoured by its almost guaranteed string of hits.
  2. The enjoyable, forgettable FutureSex/LoveSounds may be a just-okay Timberlake album, but it's a great Timbaland demo reel.
  3. By its closer... FutureSex/LoveSounds feels like an entirely different and far less interesting album than the one you started listening to.