FutureSex / LoveSounds

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Sep 12, 2006
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 301 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 301

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. TBadlands
    Oct 11, 2006
    6
    I'm an indie brat that loves JT, but this record is kind of an overindulgent mess...maybe I just need a few more listens, but it really sounds like JT did EVERYTHING in his power to run away from "justified"...no need. Artists can grow without a sea change on every new LP. I think JT needed to get this record out of system, but it's far too unfocused to rival Justified, a I'm an indie brat that loves JT, but this record is kind of an overindulgent mess...maybe I just need a few more listens, but it really sounds like JT did EVERYTHING in his power to run away from "justified"...no need. Artists can grow without a sea change on every new LP. I think JT needed to get this record out of system, but it's far too unfocused to rival Justified, a peerless modern classic. This record is far from a "sophmore slump", but it's nowhere near the masterpiece of future funk he thinks it is. Many of the tracks go nowhere, at least 80% of this record is filler. Worse, the beats are boring, the songs are mostly hookless exercises, JT's new "sexy" attitude sounds contrived. Shame, really, we love him for who he is...a former Mickey Mouse Club/Boy Band showbiz kid who proved with "Justified" that he was one hell of a talented singer/songwritwer despite it all. I hope JT goes back into the studio and remembers to use his talent, as opposed to running away from it. Maybe LP number 3 is the masterpiece we expected here. As it stands, this record is an interesting curiosity, but ultimately dissapointing. Expand
  2. SmackDaddy
    Oct 9, 2006
    4
    Timberlake needs to leave Prince alone. Timbo...wow he's really fallin off. This isn't real music...its contrived, board room created, white boy with no style, photocopied, soulless 'music.' Andre 3000 is the closest thing we've had to what JT is trying to do...go on white boy...go on.
  3. JohnH
    Oct 5, 2006
    4
    Sure "Sexy Back" is cathcy and danceable, but did anyone else notice the arrays of bad beats and loops samples from the majority of other songs, many taken off of Fruity Loops...? Blame Timbaland or whoever did the electronic parts of the album for poor quality samples and cheap and easy loops...
  4. Roe
    Oct 21, 2006
    6
    It's okay. . I like it better than Justified anyway, i can sort of see what the hype was about now
  5. JeffA
    Sep 15, 2006
    5
    While the previous release from JT was a suprisingly fresh compilation of catching songs, this release is very disappointing with most of the tracks sub-par and only a few truly catchy songs. Very average.
  6. RockoS
    Sep 11, 2006
    5
    Music lesson #1: If you're going to imitate Prince, then you have to go all the way and do it right. If not, then it's best to stay in the arena where you are most comfortable. Justin Timberlake should've learned this lesson before the stepped in the ring. Because, now he's released an album that shall be forever compared to Prince's "Dirty Mind". And the latter Music lesson #1: If you're going to imitate Prince, then you have to go all the way and do it right. If not, then it's best to stay in the arena where you are most comfortable. Justin Timberlake should've learned this lesson before the stepped in the ring. Because, now he's released an album that shall be forever compared to Prince's "Dirty Mind". And the latter rips "Futersex/Lovesounds" to shred. I suppose I have to give Timberlake some credit for daring to be a bit different than what most pop stars are doing these days. But, that's about all it deserves. This album is neither futuristic, nor sexy. Expand
  7. LuisG
    Sep 16, 2006
    6
    just when you thought it was safe to call him the new king of pop he goes a gets all warped out into his worst enemy someone hes not... Justified was ideal ... but this new album is all over the place ... beats that resonate nothing but bouncing heads and shock and dismay .. as if he were afraid or ashamed of his own voice he hides between every song and emerges only in a few... pleanty just when you thought it was safe to call him the new king of pop he goes a gets all warped out into his worst enemy someone hes not... Justified was ideal ... but this new album is all over the place ... beats that resonate nothing but bouncing heads and shock and dismay .. as if he were afraid or ashamed of his own voice he hides between every song and emerges only in a few... pleanty will buy and this album will not withtand time ... other new release JOHN MAYER continnuum offers a better dossage or reality and less trying to be someone your not... poor justin i really liked him !! Expand
  8. JG
    Sep 17, 2006
    4
    If you think this album is intriguing, then you don't know anything about music.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. It's a lot like Justified in that it's a solid collection of expertly produced pop songs whose flaws will be devoured by its almost guaranteed string of hits.
  2. The enjoyable, forgettable FutureSex/LoveSounds may be a just-okay Timberlake album, but it's a great Timbaland demo reel.
  3. By its closer... FutureSex/LoveSounds feels like an entirely different and far less interesting album than the one you started listening to.