FutureSex / LoveSounds

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Sep 12, 2006
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 318 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 318

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Absolutely not my style at first but this album is flawless. Justin Timberlake proves he's one of the best nowadays. I literally can't wait for the next album, it's gonna be hot.
  2. Feb 9, 2015
    10
    At this point this album is considered a pop classic that brought a new sound to music industry. It's always a pleasure coming back to this album and it never gets boring. It has so many gems it's hard to pick a favorite. Created in 2006 but still sounds fresh and amazing. Ahead of its time.
  3. BB
    Sep 12, 2006
    7
    There are only 4 stand out tracks. I was expecting something a little more "futuristic". SexyBack set an expectation that wasn't fufilled.
  4. TimL
    Feb 3, 2007
    8
    Honestly, one of the better albums of 2006. It has a fresh new sound, it doesn't sound like the same chewed up the industry seems to force feed us. Great production value as well. Anyone saying this album is horrible, is simply jealous because they either can't have Justin, or can't be him. Thats what happens when people let their biases through.
  5. JustinTimberlake
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    The Bomb.. Thats all I have to say about this masterpiece..I put alot of work into this album I hope you all equallly enjoy it.
  6. aL.ck
    Sep 13, 2006
    8
    I think it really deserved an 8.
  7. ShandaS
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    I am only giving it a 9 b.c his next album needs space to grow for the ten SPOT! This album rocks. Period If you don't agree you're just a hater... and that's okay. Denial is the first step.
  8. PR
    Nov 8, 2006
    9
    pop may be dead, thanks god, stock aitken waterman anyone? but if quality produced stuff like this is its replacement then we should all surely be a lot happier. what I hate is the fact the new breed take themselves far too seriously - justin should not do interviews - those who know what proper music is all about are spoon fed pr so that we may fall into their trap. the problem is, i may pop may be dead, thanks god, stock aitken waterman anyone? but if quality produced stuff like this is its replacement then we should all surely be a lot happier. what I hate is the fact the new breed take themselves far too seriously - justin should not do interviews - those who know what proper music is all about are spoon fed pr so that we may fall into their trap. the problem is, i may not buy it, but i have heard it, and this album is probably the best pop album of 2006. Expand
  9. [Anonymous]
    Sep 11, 2006
    8
    Some obvious chart toppers here including: Sexyback, My Love, What Goes Around and Losing My Way. But not as well rounded as Justified. Some lengthly fillers and interludes. Overall a decent follow up, could of been better.
  10. ElizabethS
    Jan 6, 2007
    8
    I think it's one of the best albums of 2006!!Especially on production level...!!!
  11. Liv
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Catchy and danceable. Very different from Justified - and it's for the better.
  12. KellyC
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    I LOVE JT! he's got it all. he's and amazing singer and soooo FIT! and his new album is just bare sex! summer love, what goes around and my love are the best tracks!!! xxxx
  13. ellenc
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    Fs/ls is The best cd put out in a long, long time. Justin Timberlake along with Timberland has given us a reason to listen to music again. Its fun, sexy and makes you want to move along with the music. The cd is addictive. Jt is a talented musician, who has given us a new sound and an exciting listening experience with his new cd FS/LS.
  14. Rani
    Oct 14, 2006
    10
    He's one of the mnay singers out there that can REALLY come up with AWESOME, ORGINALLY music!! that's easy listening, hot, and VERY SEXY!! I LOEV IT
  15. KellyanneW
    Oct 19, 2006
    9
    I was one of the few people who was disappointed with his debut album...but this album has a different sound and shows his true talent. I enjoyed the beat and his vocal range.
  16. MarinaL
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    his cd is absolutely amazing. It starts out very provacative has a lot of dancing songs and what not, and every now and then has a sensual love song every now and then. JT has completely outdone himself his cd is wayy better than his last one. Im so pround of him. and timbb did such a good job. amazing..outstanding
  17. doublea
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    this album unarguably is one of the best released this year,compared to this years albums and espically from male artists ,this album has saved the music industry after all the shit we,ve been hearing in the last 2 or 3 years. future sex/love sounds is a great album with alot of differnet genres mixed into it,its differnt from the last album which was more specfic to r n b.this album has this album unarguably is one of the best released this year,compared to this years albums and espically from male artists ,this album has saved the music industry after all the shit we,ve been hearing in the last 2 or 3 years. future sex/love sounds is a great album with alot of differnet genres mixed into it,its differnt from the last album which was more specfic to r n b.this album has pop,rock,funk,house and r nb influnces in it and that wat makes so good to listen to,its not ur typical r n b artist album,usher has never done sth like this before,and hes probably killing himself now for this.the secret on this album is timbaland,good thing that there was a dispute over the clipse between jive and the neptunes or we would have seen a second album quite similar to the first one.Justin really found his groove with timbaland on this album and the tracks speak for them self.sexy back is how it all begins ,when i first heard on the day it came out i was like"okay,this is weird,wats all this stuff hes talkin about shackles and wipes",but after i heard it twice i knew this track was hot and the main thing"different".sexy back is a house track ,it grows on u after 2 or 3 times and that wat maks it so sparse. the tracks FUTURE SEX/LOVE SOUND and SEXY LADIES are quite similar,their electonic club funk tracks and their lyrics show you that jt is some" cocky sex god" where all the girls are just dying to bed him but their both great.MY LOVE has to be one of the best on the album ,even though its supposed to be ballad but its got that hip hop flava in it,a ballad which u can move to and t.i makes it even better ,i cant imagine anyone rapping on this track but him.awesome.LOVE STONED is another great track with that rock but funky vibe in it,its so cool how he manged to put so may instruments in to it including his mouth vocals in the back is just great .whats even better about this track is the prelude"i think she knows", ,the way the track was so funky and then suddenly turned so calm is just amazing.WHAT COMES AROUND is defentiley a cry me a river part two ,even though he denied this many times everyone knows its true;its a great pop/rock track and agin the prlude is just amazing; the track really heats up ,the only flaw on it is timbalands vocals ;they just dont work on these type of tracks.CHOP ME UP is a differnt side of jt the track is a crunk hip hop club track;he even sounds awful when hes rapping his verse ;but compared to other simliar tracks in the hip hop industry this is quite good;timbalands verse is the best and as for three six mafia;well there on there cause their from tennase other wise this track woudint exsist.SUMMER LOVE is one of my favorites also' its great how he manged to put such an idea or title on a greatt hip hop clapping beat through out the whole song ;even thoght the chorus is a bit superfical and the pre lude sucks its great.DAMN GIRL;this track i was expecting more of it,even though its okay the lyrics are pretty boring ;half the track he just keeps on saying damn girl and the rap half of it is baby and whoa;justin and will i am are supposed to be a production duo called the "jaw breakers" who have produced for uncle charlie and macy gray so i was expecting better.UNTIL THE END OF TIME is the most boring on the album,but when u look at it this way there hadent been one typical ballad on the album up to that and u know that there cant be a justin album without a typical ballad,its wat hes been doing most the last 10 years, also when compared to otherc r n b ballads its ok.LOSING MY WAY this is my second favourite(in my opinon) after my love,the way the it just starts out with this humming voice that keeps going through the whole track till the end is amazing,also the lyrical content is diffrent and touching in a way ,after this track you know that jt is the best male artist of this generation.ANOTHER SONG(ALL OVER AGAIN) is just another "never again" dissapointing how all justin could get out of rick rubin is a slow typical "quite dull" track,lets just hope he dosent do it one the next album also like hes done on these last two.Over all this album is damn good and the most important thing "differnt" Expand
  18. susanp
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Best album I've heard in years.
  19. Marcie
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    It hooks you and grabs you and pulls you through to the end. It's a new sounds for JT and while people like to focus on Timbaland's influence, they don't realize that he and Tim are equals on this album. JT is the genuine thing and with this as the successor to Justified, I'm excited to see where he leads us next. Excellent sophomore entry!
  20. JayBeeN
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Definitly a hot Pop album.. If Michael Is the King.. Justin is The Prince !
  21. MikeM
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    I really enjoyed this album a lot. I listened to it on the leak on MTV.com. I listened to the whole thing from start to finish and loved every minute of it and I'm not a big Justin. There are two interludes that are about 8 minutes long those are actually really good songs. My favorite songs are the last 2 songs Losing My Way and Another Song(All over Again). Losing My Way is my I really enjoyed this album a lot. I listened to it on the leak on MTV.com. I listened to the whole thing from start to finish and loved every minute of it and I'm not a big Justin. There are two interludes that are about 8 minutes long those are actually really good songs. My favorite songs are the last 2 songs Losing My Way and Another Song(All over Again). Losing My Way is my favorite. The worst songs on the album are Sexyback and Sexy Ladies(it'll probally be the 2nd single) but even those are pretty good. I really liked this album a lot and Timbaland deserves a producer of the year award for producing two of the best albums of the year this and Nelly Furtatudo's Loose and one of the best songs of the year Danity kane's Ride 4 You. Expand
  22. MichelleM
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    It is refreshing to hear a "pop star" actually try and create something new with their music. This album is leaps and bounds above nearly all of the less-than-stellar music on the radio today. While he may not be Shakespeare when it comes to lyrics, Timberlake's ear for great melodies, his gift for arranging vocals and his soulful falsetto make for some great listening. I definitely It is refreshing to hear a "pop star" actually try and create something new with their music. This album is leaps and bounds above nearly all of the less-than-stellar music on the radio today. While he may not be Shakespeare when it comes to lyrics, Timberlake's ear for great melodies, his gift for arranging vocals and his soulful falsetto make for some great listening. I definitely recommend this album to everyone. Those who loved Justified and new fans alike. Expand
  23. GinnyW
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    I am very impressed with the musical growth Justin has shown on his new album. I love all his songs but my favorites are probably Love Stoned and What Goes Around. Justin co-wrote every single song and co-produced all but one. It's an amazing album.
  24. NameWitheld
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    Easily the best pop album of the year. If Rolling Stone dubs him the new King of Pop, I have to respectively agree. This album is brilliant, especially for a "former boybander". He has a long career ahead of him.
  25. JonG
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    Absolutely amazing! Great for laughing, dancing, crying, singing, and lovemaking!
  26. FM
    Sep 20, 2006
    9
    This album is hot. I liked it the first time around and I am still playing it out. No doubt Timberlake is on his way to becoming the leader of the pack. Move over BEYONCE!
  27. BlairR
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    This is an amazing album. From the first track to the last there is something intriguing and wonderful in every song. Each time I listen to the cd I hear something new and different. Lovestoned is fun and he Interlude is almost hypnotic and very beautiful. Losing My Way is so sad but it too is beautiful. Another Song is raw and wonderful. I love this song. It's Justin and a piano. This is an amazing album. From the first track to the last there is something intriguing and wonderful in every song. Each time I listen to the cd I hear something new and different. Lovestoned is fun and he Interlude is almost hypnotic and very beautiful. Losing My Way is so sad but it too is beautiful. Another Song is raw and wonderful. I love this song. It's Justin and a piano. The cd is full of fun songs and it really shows Justin's growth as a musician. Give it a listen. Expand
  28. BridgetT
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    I have to admit that I wasn't too sure about Justin's new music when I heard SexyBack for the first time. But that song grew on me quickly and his new cd is off the hooK. Wow. Every track is great. Each time I listen to it I find something else that is amazing. The way each track flows into the next makes for a very fullfilling musical experience. Justin's voice and musical I have to admit that I wasn't too sure about Justin's new music when I heard SexyBack for the first time. But that song grew on me quickly and his new cd is off the hooK. Wow. Every track is great. Each time I listen to it I find something else that is amazing. The way each track flows into the next makes for a very fullfilling musical experience. Justin's voice and musical style have matured so much over the last 3 years. Lovestoned is amazing. It takes hold of me and I can't get enough and the Interlude is just beautiful. Another Song is so raw and emotional. A real departure for Justin. I hope to hear more like this on his next cd., Losing My Way is beautiful. I could go on but just listen for yourself. You won't be sorry. Expand
  29. Jess
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    I saw him in Toronto and thought he did the best job ever. I love every minute of the album. Best yet!
  30. Iman
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    J.T. awsome last night at MSG. If not god absolutely the son and the holy ghost
  31. KathieS
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    Sexy back best sound in a long time...
  32. KyleB
    Oct 1, 2006
    9
    Style and flare pieced together with some of the best beats this decade.
  33. SeamusS
    Nov 27, 2006
    9
    To make things short: Though not as full as Justified, just as infectious and maybe, just maybe, too ambitious. At times, the blackcent gets old. Fortunatley, that happens less than the alternative.
  34. colleenj
    Oct 13, 2006
    10
    Timbaland and Timberlake have out done themselves. Every song on the album could be a single. i loved it!!! i would recommend it to anyone.
  35. VincentV
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    Innovating
  36. emmanuelt
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    Really catchy beats and amazing vocals. Justin made a masterpiece.
  37. KaylaW
    Nov 7, 2006
    10
    OMG!! This CD is soooo good. I love this album.. so far the best one yet.
  38. JasonS
    Oct 17, 2006
    7
    The first half of this album is brilliant. The second half is terrible. At forty minutes this album could have been a "10." But JT's need to fill the disc means we have to endure the cloying banality of songs like "Losing My Way."
  39. TarynN
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    I struggled to listen to this album at first, but after my second listen, just as with Justified, I started to love it. Its sexy and smooth, with great beats.
  40. ChrystalJ
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    Just like some of the other users rating this album I didn't like some of the songs at first. The second time around, let's just say that it is now one of my favorites. Great beats and lyrics. I would recommend this album to everyone.
  41. TinaD
    Oct 8, 2006
    10
    Justin really surprised me with his sophomore CD. I didn't think he could top Justified but he did it with FutureSex/Lovesounds. This CD is by far one the best albums of the year. Timberlake and Timbaland are a great combo and alsoI love the Rick Rubin track Another Song/All Over Again.
  42. HelenaB
    Sep 11, 2006
    9
    Very different to Justified but VERY good. Definately recommend it!
  43. ZakiyaA
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    This is a brilliant album. From a start to finish - Justin has surpassed himself. He has matured as an artist, as well as a producer and fused various different sounds to create, by far, the best album of 2006.
  44. MelanieH
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Great album.
  45. JesseM
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    This whole CD is musically perfect. Timbaland kills the production, not liking this album, is just having to try to hard. Quite possibly in a few words the album of the year for 2006.
  46. Alex
    Sep 11, 2006
    7
    From listening to Justin's recent interviews, one might gather that this album will be a musical revolution. However, the tuth is - It really isn't. It's more of the same - slick production, hot beats and mediocre lyrics. It's not an album which will likely stand the test of time, but it is still an entertaining listen. The high points of the album exist only to make From listening to Justin's recent interviews, one might gather that this album will be a musical revolution. However, the tuth is - It really isn't. It's more of the same - slick production, hot beats and mediocre lyrics. It's not an album which will likely stand the test of time, but it is still an entertaining listen. The high points of the album exist only to make the lower points seem worse. The first 6 songs are top notch, but the album seems to suffer towards the end. it's as if timberland got bored and decided to wrap things up 3 songs too early. Expand
  47. erikao
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    i love this album.
  48. KrissyS
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    Justin Timberlake is a rarity in today's pop world. He's a bona-fide star that isn't satisfied by just recycling his past success, but wants to push himself to try new things. He somehow knows what will sound good to the listener before they even know it themselves. An honest-to-god album that actually flows together, instead of just being one disjointed single after Justin Timberlake is a rarity in today's pop world. He's a bona-fide star that isn't satisfied by just recycling his past success, but wants to push himself to try new things. He somehow knows what will sound good to the listener before they even know it themselves. An honest-to-god album that actually flows together, instead of just being one disjointed single after another? It's a refreshing change of pace, and one that bodes well for Timberlake's career longevity. He's a genuine talent, not a flash in the pan. If he continues to make records like this in the years to come, we'll all be looking back on this as the beginning of a new golden era in popular music. Expand
  49. mikes.
    Sep 12, 2006
    7
    I am biased because I actually hate Justin Timberlake's personality and find him to be immature. That being said, this album surprised me. The production is absolutely excellent, although Timbaland overproduces artist; Justin benefits from this because its less creative input from him and more from the producer. This is the best Justin Timberlake album and it is probably the best I am biased because I actually hate Justin Timberlake's personality and find him to be immature. That being said, this album surprised me. The production is absolutely excellent, although Timbaland overproduces artist; Justin benefits from this because its less creative input from him and more from the producer. This is the best Justin Timberlake album and it is probably the best he'll ever do. AMG underrated this album and it is only slightly less impressive than the excellent Nelly Furtado collaboration with Timbaland. Timberlake gets points off for the pointless interludes that demonstrate he is just trying to hard. At first listen, the album absolutely shimmers with ear candy. With repeated listenings the production still stands up on its own merits and Justin gives an inspiring performance. Expand
  50. steffb
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    oh my goodness me, this album is the most intreging album ive ever heard, buy it
  51. Jon
    Sep 13, 2006
    9
    All together this album is great. the end is a bit weak, but the first track is so good, you wont care what the rest of the album sounds like! which, thankfully, is very good.
  52. MihaiV
    Sep 13, 2006
    8
    As an indie fan I can tell you: this is stunning. The reason I'm giving this 8 is becouse I'm not really sure what Justin's contribution is. Otherwise it's a 9. Why not 10? Hey, I only give 10 to Radiohead or Interpol.
  53. HeatherC
    Sep 13, 2006
    8
    If the last half of FS/LS was as solid as the first, this would be THE album to beat at the 2007 Grammys. However, it's the ballads drag this disc down: They are heavy, sappy and don't give the listener much to chew on. As for the outstanding funkier tunes, comparisons to Prince are inevitable, yet one can not help but instrinsically feel that Justin is on his own path into If the last half of FS/LS was as solid as the first, this would be THE album to beat at the 2007 Grammys. However, it's the ballads drag this disc down: They are heavy, sappy and don't give the listener much to chew on. As for the outstanding funkier tunes, comparisons to Prince are inevitable, yet one can not help but instrinsically feel that Justin is on his own path into artistic maturation. Interestingly, JC Chasez put out a strikingly similar album 2 years ago that was all but ignored. With his second solo effort expected in early '07 and Timberlake assisting, we may have 2 former *Nsyncers to contend with. Expand
  54. TyeN.
    Sep 14, 2006
    7
    Surprisingly, the album isn't half bad. It's actually about a quarter bad, though... i just can't look past his cheesy lyrics, and his off-putting voice. However, when you almost forget about him and just take in the mostly amazing production, you'll find something worth listening to. Since I'm not reviewing this album to bash on Timberlake, I will say that there Surprisingly, the album isn't half bad. It's actually about a quarter bad, though... i just can't look past his cheesy lyrics, and his off-putting voice. However, when you almost forget about him and just take in the mostly amazing production, you'll find something worth listening to. Since I'm not reviewing this album to bash on Timberlake, I will say that there are some songs that perfectly reflect his voice and the production. Those songs are "Sexyback", "My Love", "Love Stoned", and "What Goes Around Comes Around". My other choice tracks are "Damn Girl", and "Futuer Sex/ Love Sound" which to me sounds like Timbrlake's version of "Promiscuous" by Nelly Furtado (perhaps because both were produced by Timbaland). As far as production goes, this is another victory for Timbaland and his partner Nate "Danja" Hills. Fresh off of Nelly Furtado's awesome "Loose" album, they are the production team of the year. This abum is definitely worth listening to. Expand
  55. venessas
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    WOW I like loved it.. Really good cd.. I'm so glad I took back beyonce's B'day and got this CD instead
  56. charlesw
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    One of the greatest pop albums in the last 30 years
  57. despor
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    Wicked, i cant beleive this is the same guy who was in n'sync. This album is really good, i think it is the best cd so far this year.
  58. MeganJ
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    I have to say that I'm pretty perplexed by the lukewarm and negative reactions that some critics and listeners have had to FutureSex/LoveSounds. Admittedly, it took me a couple of listens to warm up to SexyBack, so I was prepared to not like this album as much as I did Justified. But after listening to FS/LS several times through (something I usually can't bring myself to do I have to say that I'm pretty perplexed by the lukewarm and negative reactions that some critics and listeners have had to FutureSex/LoveSounds. Admittedly, it took me a couple of listens to warm up to SexyBack, so I was prepared to not like this album as much as I did Justified. But after listening to FS/LS several times through (something I usually can't bring myself to do even once with most albums these days), my opinion is that, overall, FS/LS is a truly stunning achievement. Futuresex/Lovesound, SexyBack and My Love are all flawless...the Interludes to LoveStoned and What Goes Around raise both tracks to absolutely transcendent levels. JT's vocals on Summer Love and Until The End of Time are some his best yet...confidently playful on the former, sincere and movingly poignant on the latter. While his lyrics could use some improvement in a couple places, Justin is truly gifted when it comes to letting his voice go to exactly the place the song needs it to go...and no further. FutureSex/LoveSounds is one of the most artistically complete albums I have ever heard...it's not just a couple of hot singles that people will tire of in three weeks, surrounded by throwaway filler...to me, that is the quality of work deserving of the two star ratings some critics have inexplicably given this album. Instead, the vision of Timberlake and Timbaland wraps around just about the entire album...it's a true collection of songs that really stay with you for one reason or another. And I am certain these songs will still sound as wonderful many years from now. Both Justin and Timbaland deserve rich praise (and an Album of the Year nom/win) for this one. As someone else has written here, if Justin isn't already the King of Pop, he is surely the Prince. Collapse
  59. KrisL
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    There's nothing wrong with music that's fun.and enjoyable, and Justin does that better than most. If you're looking for deep political statements or philosophical laments, you're in the wrong place. (And, frankly, what you're looking for in music is kind of depressing.) This is definitely one of the best albums I've heard in quite a while, and I'm not There's nothing wrong with music that's fun.and enjoyable, and Justin does that better than most. If you're looking for deep political statements or philosophical laments, you're in the wrong place. (And, frankly, what you're looking for in music is kind of depressing.) This is definitely one of the best albums I've heard in quite a while, and I'm not hesitant to say it, for fear that my "cool" cred be threatened. Expand
  60. ChristyL
    Sep 20, 2006
    10
    i thought it was awesome! creative, new, and pure talent. timberlake and timbaland is a great collaboration. I LOVE JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE!!!!
  61. dott
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    By far the best album of the year!
  62. undisclosedundisclosed
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    FS/LS is an album that will if anything else turn heads, from his first single "Sexyback" which has risen to the #1 spot and has remained there for five consectutive weeks it's clear to see JT isn't going the easy way. He could've easily released a polished pop love song with sweet beats, and that falesto voice people love and hate, but instead JT embraked himself on a FS/LS is an album that will if anything else turn heads, from his first single "Sexyback" which has risen to the #1 spot and has remained there for five consectutive weeks it's clear to see JT isn't going the easy way. He could've easily released a polished pop love song with sweet beats, and that falesto voice people love and hate, but instead JT embraked himself on a journey not even he could have precieved would've turned out this successful. His risking taking venture puts him ahead of the pop pack. His lyrics are bold, and the beats are equally as agressive. First listen you have to wonder "Was that really him?" It's a hard guess with his vocal changed up by a guitar amp. With crazy beats and just as good lyrical content JT has taken himself to the next level mixing pop with r&b with songs like "My Love" his next single and "What Goes Around" a pop song with an ending that may suprise some with questionable lyrics follwed by him laughing at a pretend ex for her foolish mistakes. Taking a an almost political stance with songs like "Until the End of Time," a piece more than likely dealing with the war in a round about way, finding true love through all the troubles of everyday. "Loosing My Way" touches upon the ever popular drug addiction, but if you think JT is going to come off as gansta or some hip=hop head or maybe just a junkie you couldn't be more wrong. Instead, he shows that their are no typical sterotypes this is an issue wwether you're a family man or the guy homeless on the strreet background means little. Ending the album Justin promises with "Another Song "All over Again," that his next album like this track is inspired by his hero Donny Hathway. This only Rick Rubiin produced track takes Justin's first try in raw format as he plays piano, yes JT can play insturments and quite well, and makes your heart quiver as he asks for forgiveness from a lover he has hurt, and hopes o tie things up with. I highly recomend this record to anyone who likes and can reconize good music. Expand
  63. HilaryW
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    ;;heyxx i soo loved this CD its so awsome i can never get enough out of it all of the songs have a great beat n everythin' i cant imagine not listin to this GREAT CD its so kool..oh "N" [ to the person named sach should really get a life cuz wen J.T waz in a boy-band i thought he could waii better then that odd group!! so i think if you ganna fill this comment thing then you should ;;heyxx i soo loved this CD its so awsome i can never get enough out of it all of the songs have a great beat n everythin' i cant imagine not listin to this GREAT CD its so kool..oh "N" [ to the person named sach should really get a life cuz wen J.T waz in a boy-band i thought he could waii better then that odd group!! so i think if you ganna fill this comment thing then you should only sign it if you have something good to say people dont wanna hear you bitch all the time "N" you have a really funny name :P ] ne wai now that i got that out... J.T is a great singer luvv ya!(not realli) ;;peacee outt Expand
  64. MichelleK
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    Wow. I can't believe i hated J.T...well i can but this album is pretty cool. Something different and refreshing. Best Tracks: My Love, What Goes Around, Chop Me Up
  65. maliks
    Apr 16, 2007
    9
    I think justin and timbaland's way of thinking out of the box has paid of in a pretty large way, JT is jetset to lead the popworld as we know it today, this guy's got it all; the talent, the looks and the style to go with it. I can't call out any artist right now who can match the style and versitality justin has put in this album, this album is music worth paying for.
  66. lollo.l2
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    its good
  67. BrunoC
    Nov 29, 2006
    8
    Well ... the first time I listened to this album ... I thought to myself "what the f***k is this?" It didn't seem new ... it seemed used and abused and definately not an art piece ... But then I said to myself .. there's got to be something hidden in here ... what happened to the great "justified"? Isn't there a single bit of it here? And I listened and gosh .. I found that Well ... the first time I listened to this album ... I thought to myself "what the f***k is this?" It didn't seem new ... it seemed used and abused and definately not an art piece ... But then I said to myself .. there's got to be something hidden in here ... what happened to the great "justified"? Isn't there a single bit of it here? And I listened and gosh .. I found that the beats are not old ... they are renewd beats and if you hear carefully ... everything is done - as usual - to put the listener to a good level ... that's why I say this album is good and it's an inovation in a strange way ... you all say bad things about it ... well I say it's too damn good!!! Expand
  68. MuriahV
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    When music makes you this happy and feel this good you can't say too much more than that. As Justin said "you take things from the artists you love and make it your own." That he has done! Thoes who say "he sucks" really just want to be in his shoes. "No way" you say! Yah right, you only wish you had this kind of talent. JT is JT! Up there all by himself.
  69. DavidS
    Sep 11, 2006
    8
    I cried the first time I heard the interlude
  70. DarylM
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    Great CD(us version) alot of great songs with meaningful contecn and great melody. Outstand work Justin
  71. Nathan
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    Great CD! This is probably one of the best CD's that I've bought this whole year. Justin Timberlake is freakin' AWESOME!
  72. JeffB
    Sep 13, 2006
    9
    Very good album. A lot of great songs that are sure to be future radio hits. It starts off very strong with the first 4 songs. A few duds in the middle, but overall I would say that 80 to 90% is excellent. I'm not sure which album I like better... but I think I am going with this one.
  73. TylerT
    Sep 13, 2006
    8
    I hate boy bands and everything surrounding them. That being said, this is a great album! JT kills the rest of this solo garbage that somehow makes it on the radio/tv "My Love" must be witnessed!
  74. AllyM
    Sep 13, 2006
    9
    I can confidently say that this will be one of the best albums of the year. It's a far cry from 'Justified' and that's what makes it work. All songs are single-worth which can't be said for most albums. An amazing effort by an amazing musician. Kudos to Justin Timberlake.
  75. LeeroyD
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    This album has restored my faith in Pop Music. Outstanding job by Justin Timberlake, and Timberland on this album. Thanks to outlests like Metacritic.com where my comments and reviews count for something. Thanks Metacritic
  76. KartinaW
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    WOW. This CD is Hot !! OMG this is one of the best CD's I heard this year.
  77. TonyJ
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    Pretty damn good. I must say I didnt think this white boy could make real r&b music .. but he has. Good shiz justin.
  78. MeldinaW
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    Powerful!! This CD is FIRE.. Justin and Tim really bring the heat on this chart topping album.. Well done!!
  79. SandraJ
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    I always liked Jutin Timberlaks work from his eariler Albums and Music with Nsync. I wasnt really sure if I would like this Album because he has changed his style so much.. But wow this cd has surpassed all my expectations.. This is a great cd and I reccomend it to all.
  80. MartinaS
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    I think album graet! Work good Justing.
  81. DelorasV
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    Greatest Pop album in the last 20 years. This album is simply amazing.. I reccomend everyone to get this album it is historic!
  82. ElaineJ
    Sep 15, 2006
    9
    Great overall album I liked everytrack on it. The only think keeping me from giving it a 10 is he could have put the Euro tracks on this album also!
  83. kieshad
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    Awesome Cd, Justin has shown what a true artist he is.
  84. StevenE
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    It was awesome, definitely not a sophomore slump.
  85. RyanS
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    An incredible fusion, of R&B, Funk, and Pop, watch this kid, cause hes goin places, and if you didnt know it already, he's bringing Sexy Back
  86. DrewN
    Sep 22, 2006
    9
    The best pop album of the years hands down. It's an incredible mix of futuristic sounds, great beats, and fun music. Standout tracks include: SexyBack, My Love, Chop Me Up, What Goes Around...
  87. JessicaN
    Sep 24, 2006
    8
    i think the cd is really cool. some of the songs are just ok, but most are great, by the way, its walkin on the beach our TOES in da sand, NOT CLOTHES
  88. BorisF
    Sep 24, 2006
    7
    He's Back and he's sexy and this album defantley lets you know. Though i think itsw a bit over-rated it is defantley a triumph and a push in the right direction showing how comfortable he is in not only pop music but also r&b hip hop and dance
  89. JennaB
    Sep 24, 2006
    8
    first and foremost, I appreciated FS/LS simply because JT didn't rush to capitalize on Justified. Rather than churning out a succession of 2 single/ filler recoerds, he took time on his second solo effort. That said, I knew FS/LS would be a serious change of pace for him. Yes it took a few listens to really get my brain around it, but this is a solid record. Considering that pop first and foremost, I appreciated FS/LS simply because JT didn't rush to capitalize on Justified. Rather than churning out a succession of 2 single/ filler recoerds, he took time on his second solo effort. That said, I knew FS/LS would be a serious change of pace for him. Yes it took a few listens to really get my brain around it, but this is a solid record. Considering that pop radio is saturated with the likes of Paris HIlton and F'ing Brooke Hogan, FS/LS shows that you don't have to reinvent the wheel to make good pop music. "Lovestoned" is positively hypnotic, with its thumping bass line coupled with Justin's voice at its most mature. Honestly, I could do without the Three Six Mafia appearance (everything they do is the same) but Rick Rubin's production on "(Another Song) All Over Again" signifies what I hope is the beginning of many more collaborations. Expand
  90. PaulW.
    Mar 29, 2007
    8
    Very good album. Great production, lots of potential hits and good Timberlake's vocal. One disadvantage is the fact that without Timberland
  91. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    I rate this album a perfect 10 cause it's not the best but the two creative 7 min songs and the creative way he puts two songs together is just amazing anyone can make a hit record with a tracklisting containing songs duarating from 3 to 4 mins a real lp consists of 12 songs with 5, 6 and 7 min attention grabbers
  92. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This album is a breath of fresh air. I listened to it in 2006, and it was amazing. Six years later, a started listening to it again, and it still feels the same way. It never gets old. His best album ever. No wonder he doesn't record music anymore, cause, frankly, it's hard to top this pop masterpiece.
  93. May 23, 2011
    8
    Though the ambition is fully obvious and while the album itself cannot get you going on paper, JT's second solo effort is a triumph in sonic production. So the ones I must really congratulate are Timbaland and Danja. Cheers!
  94. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Perfect album, it deserved an 10. Justin's voice was beutifulPerfect album, it deserved an 10. Justin's voice was beutiful !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  95. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    A porn anthem, oh wait... THE PORN ANTHEM! This album is lyrically beautiful and stylish music!!! Sexy songs and sexy voice by Justin. This album is perfect. Sexyback is the best track on it, followed by the beatbox track Lovestoned.
  96. Apr 9, 2013
    7
    I get the appeal to people outside of the general "pop audience", but I wouldn't consider it the revolutionary pop masterwork some claim it is. There are certainly a few great tracks (particularly What Goes Around Comes Around, the title track, My Love & Until the End of Time), and the production & vocals for the most part are solid all the way through, but the main problem for me is theI get the appeal to people outside of the general "pop audience", but I wouldn't consider it the revolutionary pop masterwork some claim it is. There are certainly a few great tracks (particularly What Goes Around Comes Around, the title track, My Love & Until the End of Time), and the production & vocals for the most part are solid all the way through, but the main problem for me is the lyrics. Maybe I just have a bias when it comes to sex-based lyrics but I just felt kinda uncomfortable listening to some of the lines on these songs. The whole thing just has a somewhat dated & cheesy mid-00s sound to it, back when slow jams & smooth sex songs were a pop mainstay. Plus the songs tended to drag out sometimes, and there's a few tracks I would've gotten rid of entirely (namely Damn Girl, Chop Me Up & Sexy Ladies) to make for a more concise listen. There are some albums that can get away with being over an hour long. This is not one of them. Still, despite these gripes, the songwriting (melodically & instrumentally) succeeds most of the time, and you can definitely tell there was more effort & ambition put into this than the average pop album at the time. And Timberlake is definitely one of the more talented mainstream pop artists of the last decade or so. My favorite song on the album is either the masterfully crafted pop ballad What Goes Around Comes Around or the gospel-tinged Losing My Way, which detours from other subject matter here to paint a vivid picture of a man going through self-destroying drug addictions & is an overall fantastic listen. FutureSex/LoveSounds is a shaky mixed-bag of an album but a pretty enjoyable one nonetheless. As for The 20/20 Experience I have a feeling, judging from what I've heard, that I'll enjoy it a lot more than this one. 72/100 Expand
  97. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    Future sounding indeed. This album has it all; a mixture of sex appeal, dance beats, forward thinking beats and hooks. Download: SexyBack, LoveStoned, My Love.
  98. Aug 26, 2014
    8
    Even to this day, I'm still listening to this album. I remember listening to this album at age 11 or 12, going to school, every morning. Good beats, good music, good singer, good producer and a whole lot more.
  99. Feb 8, 2015
    7
    Very very good album. I was delighted. Not as good as Justified, but maintains a very cool new rhythm. There are songs that stand out as Lovestoned, SexyBack or Damn Girl. Other that at first look set to disappoint, but then are very good, as Until The End Of Time or (Another Song) All Over Again; that starts slowly and end up being strong ballads. It's noteworthy the versions and newVery very good album. I was delighted. Not as good as Justified, but maintains a very cool new rhythm. There are songs that stand out as Lovestoned, SexyBack or Damn Girl. Other that at first look set to disappoint, but then are very good, as Until The End Of Time or (Another Song) All Over Again; that starts slowly and end up being strong ballads. It's noteworthy the versions and new songs of the Deluxe editions of the album, that are also very good, including Boutique In Heaven. In conclusion this is a very good album, It could have been better, but not disappointed. Expand
  100. May 4, 2015
    10
    JT's best album so far hands down and better than part 1 without any doubts .
    Give me what i dont know Murder True Blood Amnesia are the kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. It's a lot like Justified in that it's a solid collection of expertly produced pop songs whose flaws will be devoured by its almost guaranteed string of hits.
  2. The enjoyable, forgettable FutureSex/LoveSounds may be a just-okay Timberlake album, but it's a great Timbaland demo reel.
  3. By its closer... FutureSex/LoveSounds feels like an entirely different and far less interesting album than the one you started listening to.