• Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Sep 12, 2006
User Score
7.3

Generally favorable reviews- based on 297 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 297

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Absolutely not my style at first but this album is flawless. Justin Timberlake proves he's one of the best nowadays. I literally can't wait for the next album, it's gonna be hot.
  2. Feb 9, 2015
    10
    At this point this album is considered a pop classic that brought a new sound to music industry. It's always a pleasure coming back to this album and it never gets boring. It has so many gems it's hard to pick a favorite. Created in 2006 but still sounds fresh and amazing. Ahead of its time.
  3. BB
    Sep 12, 2006
    7
    There are only 4 stand out tracks. I was expecting something a little more "futuristic". SexyBack set an expectation that wasn't fufilled.
  4. TimL
    Feb 3, 2007
    8
    Honestly, one of the better albums of 2006. It has a fresh new sound, it doesn't sound like the same chewed up the industry seems to force feed us. Great production value as well. Anyone saying this album is horrible, is simply jealous because they either can't have Justin, or can't be him. Thats what happens when people let their biases through.
  5. TBadlands
    Oct 11, 2006
    6
    I'm an indie brat that loves JT, but this record is kind of an overindulgent mess...maybe I just need a few more listens, but it really sounds like JT did EVERYTHING in his power to run away from "justified"...no need. Artists can grow without a sea change on every new LP. I think JT needed to get this record out of system, but it's far too unfocused to rival Justified, a I'm an indie brat that loves JT, but this record is kind of an overindulgent mess...maybe I just need a few more listens, but it really sounds like JT did EVERYTHING in his power to run away from "justified"...no need. Artists can grow without a sea change on every new LP. I think JT needed to get this record out of system, but it's far too unfocused to rival Justified, a peerless modern classic. This record is far from a "sophmore slump", but it's nowhere near the masterpiece of future funk he thinks it is. Many of the tracks go nowhere, at least 80% of this record is filler. Worse, the beats are boring, the songs are mostly hookless exercises, JT's new "sexy" attitude sounds contrived. Shame, really, we love him for who he is...a former Mickey Mouse Club/Boy Band showbiz kid who proved with "Justified" that he was one hell of a talented singer/songwritwer despite it all. I hope JT goes back into the studio and remembers to use his talent, as opposed to running away from it. Maybe LP number 3 is the masterpiece we expected here. As it stands, this record is an interesting curiosity, but ultimately dissapointing. Expand
  6. May 4, 2015
    10
    hinario, melhor álbum ou nao porque são todo otimos e maravilhosos que fica dificl escolher né kkkkkkk enfim arrasou uma biblia of the pop te amo e te adoro
  7. SmackDaddy
    Oct 9, 2006
    4
    Timberlake needs to leave Prince alone. Timbo...wow he's really fallin off. This isn't real music...its contrived, board room created, white boy with no style, photocopied, soulless 'music.' Andre 3000 is the closest thing we've had to what JT is trying to do...go on white boy...go on.
  8. EdiC
    Sep 15, 2006
    0
    sh**!
  9. S.J.Donovan
    Oct 10, 2006
    0
    Justin, the best thing you could do for pop is to die.
  10. SophieP
    Nov 9, 2006
    0
    I was very disappointed by this album. Justin's voice seems very weak, and the album is overproduced by Timbaland. It's not anything really catchy or memorable about this album.
  11. CynthiaP
    Sep 13, 2006
    2
    The album is a huge disappointment. I tried to give it a chance with multiple listenings. But the album is way too overproduced and self-conscious. Justin's vocals don't sound very impressive. Almost like he has lost his voice. My Love and Until the End of Time are the only noteworthy songs on the whole album. The album seems to drag and the lyrics are pretty generic. This album The album is a huge disappointment. I tried to give it a chance with multiple listenings. But the album is way too overproduced and self-conscious. Justin's vocals don't sound very impressive. Almost like he has lost his voice. My Love and Until the End of Time are the only noteworthy songs on the whole album. The album seems to drag and the lyrics are pretty generic. This album tried to be special, but it failed under its own weight. Expand
  12. Sach
    Feb 1, 2007
    1
    Mediocre pap wrapped in artistic pretention to convince his fanbase that they aren't shallow consumers. There's nothing wrong with the style he's attempting but the bland, sterile and lifeless exercises in nostalgia, utter lack of humanity and mechanical production kill the album. Creative shiny bull is still shiny bull. For a much better modern disco-funk concept album Mediocre pap wrapped in artistic pretention to convince his fanbase that they aren't shallow consumers. There's nothing wrong with the style he's attempting but the bland, sterile and lifeless exercises in nostalgia, utter lack of humanity and mechanical production kill the album. Creative shiny bull is still shiny bull. For a much better modern disco-funk concept album about love, check out Of Montreal's "Hissing Fauna, Are you the Destroyer". It's everything this album wants to be and it forgoes on the arrogant pretention of the talentless ex-boyband member trying to convince himself he has some worth beyond being a marketable face for Timbaland's record. Expand
  13. KyleS
    Apr 2, 2007
    0
    Absolutely wretched!!!! All I have in my head is that annoying "Yeah" every 5 seconds in Sexy Back.
  14. VeronicaV
    Dec 18, 2006
    1
    What a piece of crap! How did this awful album get nominated for "album of the year" over bob Dylan's Modern Times???
  15. JohnH
    Oct 5, 2006
    4
    Sure "Sexy Back" is cathcy and danceable, but did anyone else notice the arrays of bad beats and loops samples from the majority of other songs, many taken off of Fruity Loops...? Blame Timbaland or whoever did the electronic parts of the album for poor quality samples and cheap and easy loops...
  16. RafaelP
    Sep 12, 2006
    0
    Timberlake can not sing... Props to Timbaland...
  17. williamo
    Sep 13, 2006
    2
    this is a cheap r'n'b album! ....really really bad....
  18. MattD.
    Sep 14, 2006
    2
    There is nothing sexy about this album. Come-ons sound even worse next to bad funk and drippy ballads.
  19. ElmerF
    Sep 14, 2006
    1
    More boy band crap...
  20. Gman
    Sep 14, 2006
    2
    OK so the Timbaland production is moderately interesting but no matter how much you polish it, a turd is still a turd. No depth, naff lyrics and Timberlake's lack of anything resembling sexiness (I'm Bringing Sexy Back?? -Yeah right Justin!) make this just as atrocious as Justified was. Listen critics, there are some great 'pop' albums around at the moment (Junior Boys OK so the Timbaland production is moderately interesting but no matter how much you polish it, a turd is still a turd. No depth, naff lyrics and Timberlake's lack of anything resembling sexiness (I'm Bringing Sexy Back?? -Yeah right Justin!) make this just as atrocious as Justified was. Listen critics, there are some great 'pop' albums around at the moment (Junior Boys and Dani Siciliano for example) so why pretend that that this (and the even more dire Girls Aloud) is anything more than utter rubbish. You're only making complete fools of yourselves. Expand
  21. lisap
    Sep 15, 2006
    2
    Totally sucks rocks!! Nothing new here that I didn't hear the same of on the prior album, Justified. Just more sound effects!! Disappointing...
  22. SabrinaT.
    Sep 21, 2006
    0
    One of the worst albums of the year. I'm so disappointed in Justin this time. What was he thinking with this album? The beats are repetitive and boring. His voice doesn't sound as good as it did on Justified. Maybe the next album will be better.
  23. ToddW
    Sep 21, 2006
    0
    I saw this no-talent the other night on an awards show (which is ironic in and of itself) and he was performing the "hit" (another ironic turn of phrase) from this dreck. It's comforting to know that 10-year-old girls are singing along to a song that advocates beating up women in the bedroom. It makes me wish even harder for a Social Apocalypse.
  24. jessicam
    Feb 13, 2007
    2
    We were told this was going to be the Thriller of 2006. What a dissappointment! Rather than come up with his own identity, JT moves on from ripping MJ off to ripping Prince off. This is an example of another cocky ex-boyband poser trying to convince the audience he is a sexy badass. A couple of decent tracks but JT comes off as fake and not sexy.
  25. JustinTimberlake
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    The Bomb.. Thats all I have to say about this masterpiece..I put alot of work into this album I hope you all equallly enjoy it.
  26. aL.ck
    Sep 13, 2006
    8
    I think it really deserved an 8.
  27. ShandaS
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    I am only giving it a 9 b.c his next album needs space to grow for the ten SPOT! This album rocks. Period If you don't agree you're just a hater... and that's okay. Denial is the first step.
  28. PR
    Nov 8, 2006
    9
    pop may be dead, thanks god, stock aitken waterman anyone? but if quality produced stuff like this is its replacement then we should all surely be a lot happier. what I hate is the fact the new breed take themselves far too seriously - justin should not do interviews - those who know what proper music is all about are spoon fed pr so that we may fall into their trap. the problem is, i may pop may be dead, thanks god, stock aitken waterman anyone? but if quality produced stuff like this is its replacement then we should all surely be a lot happier. what I hate is the fact the new breed take themselves far too seriously - justin should not do interviews - those who know what proper music is all about are spoon fed pr so that we may fall into their trap. the problem is, i may not buy it, but i have heard it, and this album is probably the best pop album of 2006. Expand
  29. [Anonymous]
    Sep 11, 2006
    8
    Some obvious chart toppers here including: Sexyback, My Love, What Goes Around and Losing My Way. But not as well rounded as Justified. Some lengthly fillers and interludes. Overall a decent follow up, could of been better.
  30. ElizabethS
    Jan 6, 2007
    8
    I think it's one of the best albums of 2006!!Especially on production level...!!!
  31. Liv
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Catchy and danceable. Very different from Justified - and it's for the better.
  32. KellyC
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    I LOVE JT! he's got it all. he's and amazing singer and soooo FIT! and his new album is just bare sex! summer love, what goes around and my love are the best tracks!!! xxxx
  33. ellenc
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    Fs/ls is The best cd put out in a long, long time. Justin Timberlake along with Timberland has given us a reason to listen to music again. Its fun, sexy and makes you want to move along with the music. The cd is addictive. Jt is a talented musician, who has given us a new sound and an exciting listening experience with his new cd FS/LS.
  34. Rani
    Oct 14, 2006
    10
    He's one of the mnay singers out there that can REALLY come up with AWESOME, ORGINALLY music!! that's easy listening, hot, and VERY SEXY!! I LOEV IT
  35. KellyanneW
    Oct 19, 2006
    9
    I was one of the few people who was disappointed with his debut album...but this album has a different sound and shows his true talent. I enjoyed the beat and his vocal range.
  36. Roe
    Oct 21, 2006
    6
    It's okay. . I like it better than Justified anyway, i can sort of see what the hype was about now
  37. MarinaL
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    his cd is absolutely amazing. It starts out very provacative has a lot of dancing songs and what not, and every now and then has a sensual love song every now and then. JT has completely outdone himself his cd is wayy better than his last one. Im so pround of him. and timbb did such a good job. amazing..outstanding
  38. doublea
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    this album unarguably is one of the best released this year,compared to this years albums and espically from male artists ,this album has saved the music industry after all the shit we,ve been hearing in the last 2 or 3 years. future sex/love sounds is a great album with alot of differnet genres mixed into it,its differnt from the last album which was more specfic to r n b.this album has this album unarguably is one of the best released this year,compared to this years albums and espically from male artists ,this album has saved the music industry after all the shit we,ve been hearing in the last 2 or 3 years. future sex/love sounds is a great album with alot of differnet genres mixed into it,its differnt from the last album which was more specfic to r n b.this album has pop,rock,funk,house and r nb influnces in it and that wat makes so good to listen to,its not ur typical r n b artist album,usher has never done sth like this before,and hes probably killing himself now for this.the secret on this album is timbaland,good thing that there was a dispute over the clipse between jive and the neptunes or we would have seen a second album quite similar to the first one.Justin really found his groove with timbaland on this album and the tracks speak for them self.sexy back is how it all begins ,when i first heard on the day it came out i was like"okay,this is weird,wats all this stuff hes talkin about shackles and wipes",but after i heard it twice i knew this track was hot and the main thing"different".sexy back is a house track ,it grows on u after 2 or 3 times and that wat maks it so sparse. the tracks FUTURE SEX/LOVE SOUND and SEXY LADIES are quite similar,their electonic club funk tracks and their lyrics show you that jt is some" cocky sex god" where all the girls are just dying to bed him but their both great.MY LOVE has to be one of the best on the album ,even though its supposed to be ballad but its got that hip hop flava in it,a ballad which u can move to and t.i makes it even better ,i cant imagine anyone rapping on this track but him.awesome.LOVE STONED is another great track with that rock but funky vibe in it,its so cool how he manged to put so may instruments in to it including his mouth vocals in the back is just great .whats even better about this track is the prelude"i think she knows", ,the way the track was so funky and then suddenly turned so calm is just amazing.WHAT COMES AROUND is defentiley a cry me a river part two ,even though he denied this many times everyone knows its true;its a great pop/rock track and agin the prlude is just amazing; the track really heats up ,the only flaw on it is timbalands vocals ;they just dont work on these type of tracks.CHOP ME UP is a differnt side of jt the track is a crunk hip hop club track;he even sounds awful when hes rapping his verse ;but compared to other simliar tracks in the hip hop industry this is quite good;timbalands verse is the best and as for three six mafia;well there on there cause their from tennase other wise this track woudint exsist.SUMMER LOVE is one of my favorites also' its great how he manged to put such an idea or title on a greatt hip hop clapping beat through out the whole song ;even thoght the chorus is a bit superfical and the pre lude sucks its great.DAMN GIRL;this track i was expecting more of it,even though its okay the lyrics are pretty boring ;half the track he just keeps on saying damn girl and the rap half of it is baby and whoa;justin and will i am are supposed to be a production duo called the "jaw breakers" who have produced for uncle charlie and macy gray so i was expecting better.UNTIL THE END OF TIME is the most boring on the album,but when u look at it this way there hadent been one typical ballad on the album up to that and u know that there cant be a justin album without a typical ballad,its wat hes been doing most the last 10 years, also when compared to otherc r n b ballads its ok.LOSING MY WAY this is my second favourite(in my opinon) after my love,the way the it just starts out with this humming voice that keeps going through the whole track till the end is amazing,also the lyrical content is diffrent and touching in a way ,after this track you know that jt is the best male artist of this generation.ANOTHER SONG(ALL OVER AGAIN) is just another "never again" dissapointing how all justin could get out of rick rubin is a slow typical "quite dull" track,lets just hope he dosent do it one the next album also like hes done on these last two.Over all this album is damn good and the most important thing "differnt" Collapse
  39. susanp
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Best album I've heard in years.
  40. Marcie
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    It hooks you and grabs you and pulls you through to the end. It's a new sounds for JT and while people like to focus on Timbaland's influence, they don't realize that he and Tim are equals on this album. JT is the genuine thing and with this as the successor to Justified, I'm excited to see where he leads us next. Excellent sophomore entry!
  41. JayBeeN
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Definitly a hot Pop album.. If Michael Is the King.. Justin is The Prince !
  42. MikeM
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    I really enjoyed this album a lot. I listened to it on the leak on MTV.com. I listened to the whole thing from start to finish and loved every minute of it and I'm not a big Justin. There are two interludes that are about 8 minutes long those are actually really good songs. My favorite songs are the last 2 songs Losing My Way and Another Song(All over Again). Losing My Way is my I really enjoyed this album a lot. I listened to it on the leak on MTV.com. I listened to the whole thing from start to finish and loved every minute of it and I'm not a big Justin. There are two interludes that are about 8 minutes long those are actually really good songs. My favorite songs are the last 2 songs Losing My Way and Another Song(All over Again). Losing My Way is my favorite. The worst songs on the album are Sexyback and Sexy Ladies(it'll probally be the 2nd single) but even those are pretty good. I really liked this album a lot and Timbaland deserves a producer of the year award for producing two of the best albums of the year this and Nelly Furtatudo's Loose and one of the best songs of the year Danity kane's Ride 4 You. Expand
  43. MichelleM
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    It is refreshing to hear a "pop star" actually try and create something new with their music. This album is leaps and bounds above nearly all of the less-than-stellar music on the radio today. While he may not be Shakespeare when it comes to lyrics, Timberlake's ear for great melodies, his gift for arranging vocals and his soulful falsetto make for some great listening. I definitely It is refreshing to hear a "pop star" actually try and create something new with their music. This album is leaps and bounds above nearly all of the less-than-stellar music on the radio today. While he may not be Shakespeare when it comes to lyrics, Timberlake's ear for great melodies, his gift for arranging vocals and his soulful falsetto make for some great listening. I definitely recommend this album to everyone. Those who loved Justified and new fans alike. Expand
  44. GinnyW
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    I am very impressed with the musical growth Justin has shown on his new album. I love all his songs but my favorites are probably Love Stoned and What Goes Around. Justin co-wrote every single song and co-produced all but one. It's an amazing album.
  45. NameWitheld
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    Easily the best pop album of the year. If Rolling Stone dubs him the new King of Pop, I have to respectively agree. This album is brilliant, especially for a "former boybander". He has a long career ahead of him.
  46. JonG
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    Absolutely amazing! Great for laughing, dancing, crying, singing, and lovemaking!
  47. JeffA
    Sep 15, 2006
    5
    While the previous release from JT was a suprisingly fresh compilation of catching songs, this release is very disappointing with most of the tracks sub-par and only a few truly catchy songs. Very average.
  48. FM
    Sep 20, 2006
    9
    This album is hot. I liked it the first time around and I am still playing it out. No doubt Timberlake is on his way to becoming the leader of the pack. Move over BEYONCE!
  49. BlairR
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    This is an amazing album. From the first track to the last there is something intriguing and wonderful in every song. Each time I listen to the cd I hear something new and different. Lovestoned is fun and he Interlude is almost hypnotic and very beautiful. Losing My Way is so sad but it too is beautiful. Another Song is raw and wonderful. I love this song. It's Justin and a piano. This is an amazing album. From the first track to the last there is something intriguing and wonderful in every song. Each time I listen to the cd I hear something new and different. Lovestoned is fun and he Interlude is almost hypnotic and very beautiful. Losing My Way is so sad but it too is beautiful. Another Song is raw and wonderful. I love this song. It's Justin and a piano. The cd is full of fun songs and it really shows Justin's growth as a musician. Give it a listen. Expand
  50. BridgetT
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    I have to admit that I wasn't too sure about Justin's new music when I heard SexyBack for the first time. But that song grew on me quickly and his new cd is off the hooK. Wow. Every track is great. Each time I listen to it I find something else that is amazing. The way each track flows into the next makes for a very fullfilling musical experience. Justin's voice and musical I have to admit that I wasn't too sure about Justin's new music when I heard SexyBack for the first time. But that song grew on me quickly and his new cd is off the hooK. Wow. Every track is great. Each time I listen to it I find something else that is amazing. The way each track flows into the next makes for a very fullfilling musical experience. Justin's voice and musical style have matured so much over the last 3 years. Lovestoned is amazing. It takes hold of me and I can't get enough and the Interlude is just beautiful. Another Song is so raw and emotional. A real departure for Justin. I hope to hear more like this on his next cd., Losing My Way is beautiful. I could go on but just listen for yourself. You won't be sorry. Expand
  51. Jess
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    I saw him in Toronto and thought he did the best job ever. I love every minute of the album. Best yet!
  52. Iman
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    J.T. awsome last night at MSG. If not god absolutely the son and the holy ghost
  53. KathieS
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    Sexy back best sound in a long time...
  54. KyleB
    Oct 1, 2006
    9
    Style and flare pieced together with some of the best beats this decade.
  55. SeamusS
    Nov 27, 2006
    9
    To make things short: Though not as full as Justified, just as infectious and maybe, just maybe, too ambitious. At times, the blackcent gets old. Fortunatley, that happens less than the alternative.
  56. colleenj
    Oct 13, 2006
    10
    Timbaland and Timberlake have out done themselves. Every song on the album could be a single. i loved it!!! i would recommend it to anyone.
  57. VincentV
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    Innovating
  58. emmanuelt
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    Really catchy beats and amazing vocals. Justin made a masterpiece.
  59. KaylaW
    Nov 7, 2006
    10
    OMG!! This CD is soooo good. I love this album.. so far the best one yet.
  60. JasonS
    Oct 17, 2006
    7
    The first half of this album is brilliant. The second half is terrible. At forty minutes this album could have been a "10." But JT's need to fill the disc means we have to endure the cloying banality of songs like "Losing My Way."
  61. TarynN
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    I struggled to listen to this album at first, but after my second listen, just as with Justified, I started to love it. Its sexy and smooth, with great beats.
  62. ChrystalJ
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    Just like some of the other users rating this album I didn't like some of the songs at first. The second time around, let's just say that it is now one of my favorites. Great beats and lyrics. I would recommend this album to everyone.
  63. TinaD
    Oct 8, 2006
    10
    Justin really surprised me with his sophomore CD. I didn't think he could top Justified but he did it with FutureSex/Lovesounds. This CD is by far one the best albums of the year. Timberlake and Timbaland are a great combo and alsoI love the Rick Rubin track Another Song/All Over Again.
  64. HelenaB
    Sep 11, 2006
    9
    Very different to Justified but VERY good. Definately recommend it!
  65. ZakiyaA
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    This is a brilliant album. From a start to finish - Justin has surpassed himself. He has matured as an artist, as well as a producer and fused various different sounds to create, by far, the best album of 2006.
  66. MelanieH
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    Great album.
  67. JesseM
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    This whole CD is musically perfect. Timbaland kills the production, not liking this album, is just having to try to hard. Quite possibly in a few words the album of the year for 2006.
  68. Alex
    Sep 11, 2006
    7
    From listening to Justin's recent interviews, one might gather that this album will be a musical revolution. However, the tuth is - It really isn't. It's more of the same - slick production, hot beats and mediocre lyrics. It's not an album which will likely stand the test of time, but it is still an entertaining listen. The high points of the album exist only to make From listening to Justin's recent interviews, one might gather that this album will be a musical revolution. However, the tuth is - It really isn't. It's more of the same - slick production, hot beats and mediocre lyrics. It's not an album which will likely stand the test of time, but it is still an entertaining listen. The high points of the album exist only to make the lower points seem worse. The first 6 songs are top notch, but the album seems to suffer towards the end. it's as if timberland got bored and decided to wrap things up 3 songs too early. Expand
  69. erikao
    Sep 11, 2006
    10
    i love this album.
  70. KrissyS
    Sep 10, 2006
    10
    Justin Timberlake is a rarity in today's pop world. He's a bona-fide star that isn't satisfied by just recycling his past success, but wants to push himself to try new things. He somehow knows what will sound good to the listener before they even know it themselves. An honest-to-god album that actually flows together, instead of just being one disjointed single after Justin Timberlake is a rarity in today's pop world. He's a bona-fide star that isn't satisfied by just recycling his past success, but wants to push himself to try new things. He somehow knows what will sound good to the listener before they even know it themselves. An honest-to-god album that actually flows together, instead of just being one disjointed single after another? It's a refreshing change of pace, and one that bodes well for Timberlake's career longevity. He's a genuine talent, not a flash in the pan. If he continues to make records like this in the years to come, we'll all be looking back on this as the beginning of a new golden era in popular music. Expand
  71. mikes.
    Sep 12, 2006
    7
    I am biased because I actually hate Justin Timberlake's personality and find him to be immature. That being said, this album surprised me. The production is absolutely excellent, although Timbaland overproduces artist; Justin benefits from this because its less creative input from him and more from the producer. This is the best Justin Timberlake album and it is probably the best I am biased because I actually hate Justin Timberlake's personality and find him to be immature. That being said, this album surprised me. The production is absolutely excellent, although Timbaland overproduces artist; Justin benefits from this because its less creative input from him and more from the producer. This is the best Justin Timberlake album and it is probably the best he'll ever do. AMG underrated this album and it is only slightly less impressive than the excellent Nelly Furtado collaboration with Timbaland. Timberlake gets points off for the pointless interludes that demonstrate he is just trying to hard. At first listen, the album absolutely shimmers with ear candy. With repeated listenings the production still stands up on its own merits and Justin gives an inspiring performance. Expand
  72. steffb
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    oh my goodness me, this album is the most intreging album ive ever heard, buy it
  73. Jon
    Sep 13, 2006
    9
    All together this album is great. the end is a bit weak, but the first track is so good, you wont care what the rest of the album sounds like! which, thankfully, is very good.
  74. MihaiV
    Sep 13, 2006
    8
    As an indie fan I can tell you: this is stunning. The reason I'm giving this 8 is becouse I'm not really sure what Justin's contribution is. Otherwise it's a 9. Why not 10? Hey, I only give 10 to Radiohead or Interpol.
  75. HeatherC
    Sep 13, 2006
    8
    If the last half of FS/LS was as solid as the first, this would be THE album to beat at the 2007 Grammys. However, it's the ballads drag this disc down: They are heavy, sappy and don't give the listener much to chew on. As for the outstanding funkier tunes, comparisons to Prince are inevitable, yet one can not help but instrinsically feel that Justin is on his own path into If the last half of FS/LS was as solid as the first, this would be THE album to beat at the 2007 Grammys. However, it's the ballads drag this disc down: They are heavy, sappy and don't give the listener much to chew on. As for the outstanding funkier tunes, comparisons to Prince are inevitable, yet one can not help but instrinsically feel that Justin is on his own path into artistic maturation. Interestingly, JC Chasez put out a strikingly similar album 2 years ago that was all but ignored. With his second solo effort expected in early '07 and Timberlake assisting, we may have 2 former *Nsyncers to contend with. Expand
  76. TyeN.
    Sep 14, 2006
    7
    Surprisingly, the album isn't half bad. It's actually about a quarter bad, though... i just can't look past his cheesy lyrics, and his off-putting voice. However, when you almost forget about him and just take in the mostly amazing production, you'll find something worth listening to. Since I'm not reviewing this album to bash on Timberlake, I will say that there Surprisingly, the album isn't half bad. It's actually about a quarter bad, though... i just can't look past his cheesy lyrics, and his off-putting voice. However, when you almost forget about him and just take in the mostly amazing production, you'll find something worth listening to. Since I'm not reviewing this album to bash on Timberlake, I will say that there are some songs that perfectly reflect his voice and the production. Those songs are "Sexyback", "My Love", "Love Stoned", and "What Goes Around Comes Around". My other choice tracks are "Damn Girl", and "Futuer Sex/ Love Sound" which to me sounds like Timbrlake's version of "Promiscuous" by Nelly Furtado (perhaps because both were produced by Timbaland). As far as production goes, this is another victory for Timbaland and his partner Nate "Danja" Hills. Fresh off of Nelly Furtado's awesome "Loose" album, they are the production team of the year. This abum is definitely worth listening to. Expand
  77. venessas
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    WOW I like loved it.. Really good cd.. I'm so glad I took back beyonce's B'day and got this CD instead
  78. charlesw
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    One of the greatest pop albums in the last 30 years
  79. despor
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    Wicked, i cant beleive this is the same guy who was in n'sync. This album is really good, i think it is the best cd so far this year.
  80. MeganJ
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    I have to say that I'm pretty perplexed by the lukewarm and negative reactions that some critics and listeners have had to FutureSex/LoveSounds. Admittedly, it took me a couple of listens to warm up to SexyBack, so I was prepared to not like this album as much as I did Justified. But after listening to FS/LS several times through (something I usually can't bring myself to do I have to say that I'm pretty perplexed by the lukewarm and negative reactions that some critics and listeners have had to FutureSex/LoveSounds. Admittedly, it took me a couple of listens to warm up to SexyBack, so I was prepared to not like this album as much as I did Justified. But after listening to FS/LS several times through (something I usually can't bring myself to do even once with most albums these days), my opinion is that, overall, FS/LS is a truly stunning achievement. Futuresex/Lovesound, SexyBack and My Love are all flawless...the Interludes to LoveStoned and What Goes Around raise both tracks to absolutely transcendent levels. JT's vocals on Summer Love and Until The End of Time are some his best yet...confidently playful on the former, sincere and movingly poignant on the latter. While his lyrics could use some improvement in a couple places, Justin is truly gifted when it comes to letting his voice go to exactly the place the song needs it to go...and no further. FutureSex/LoveSounds is one of the most artistically complete albums I have ever heard...it's not just a couple of hot singles that people will tire of in three weeks, surrounded by throwaway filler...to me, that is the quality of work deserving of the two star ratings some critics have inexplicably given this album. Instead, the vision of Timberlake and Timbaland wraps around just about the entire album...it's a true collection of songs that really stay with you for one reason or another. And I am certain these songs will still sound as wonderful many years from now. Both Justin and Timbaland deserve rich praise (and an Album of the Year nom/win) for this one. As someone else has written here, if Justin isn't already the King of Pop, he is surely the Prince. Expand
  81. KrisL
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    There's nothing wrong with music that's fun.and enjoyable, and Justin does that better than most. If you're looking for deep political statements or philosophical laments, you're in the wrong place. (And, frankly, what you're looking for in music is kind of depressing.) This is definitely one of the best albums I've heard in quite a while, and I'm not There's nothing wrong with music that's fun.and enjoyable, and Justin does that better than most. If you're looking for deep political statements or philosophical laments, you're in the wrong place. (And, frankly, what you're looking for in music is kind of depressing.) This is definitely one of the best albums I've heard in quite a while, and I'm not hesitant to say it, for fear that my "cool" cred be threatened. Expand
  82. ChristyL
    Sep 20, 2006
    10
    i thought it was awesome! creative, new, and pure talent. timberlake and timbaland is a great collaboration. I LOVE JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE!!!!
  83. chrisw
    Sep 30, 2006
    0
    Talentless money music. This puppet is being used to make money off teenage girls by using overproduced beats and wannabe black lyrics
  84. dott
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    By far the best album of the year!
  85. undisclosedundisclosed
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    FS/LS is an album that will if anything else turn heads, from his first single "Sexyback" which has risen to the #1 spot and has remained there for five consectutive weeks it's clear to see JT isn't going the easy way. He could've easily released a polished pop love song with sweet beats, and that falesto voice people love and hate, but instead JT embraked himself on a FS/LS is an album that will if anything else turn heads, from his first single "Sexyback" which has risen to the #1 spot and has remained there for five consectutive weeks it's clear to see JT isn't going the easy way. He could've easily released a polished pop love song with sweet beats, and that falesto voice people love and hate, but instead JT embraked himself on a journey not even he could have precieved would've turned out this successful. His risking taking venture puts him ahead of the pop pack. His lyrics are bold, and the beats are equally as agressive. First listen you have to wonder "Was that really him?" It's a hard guess with his vocal changed up by a guitar amp. With crazy beats and just as good lyrical content JT has taken himself to the next level mixing pop with r&b with songs like "My Love" his next single and "What Goes Around" a pop song with an ending that may suprise some with questionable lyrics follwed by him laughing at a pretend ex for her foolish mistakes. Taking a an almost political stance with songs like "Until the End of Time," a piece more than likely dealing with the war in a round about way, finding true love through all the troubles of everyday. "Loosing My Way" touches upon the ever popular drug addiction, but if you think JT is going to come off as gansta or some hip=hop head or maybe just a junkie you couldn't be more wrong. Instead, he shows that their are no typical sterotypes this is an issue wwether you're a family man or the guy homeless on the strreet background means little. Ending the album Justin promises with "Another Song "All over Again," that his next album like this track is inspired by his hero Donny Hathway. This only Rick Rubiin produced track takes Justin's first try in raw format as he plays piano, yes JT can play insturments and quite well, and makes your heart quiver as he asks for forgiveness from a lover he has hurt, and hopes o tie things up with. I highly recomend this record to anyone who likes and can reconize good music. Expand
  86. Fiera
    Jan 17, 2007
    2
    I think this sucks. Its super cheesy - not sexy. I find the arrogance really un-sexy. Its still got that teen-age boy band feel to me. Maybe in 10 Years justin baby...
  87. HilaryW
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    ;;heyxx i soo loved this CD its so awsome i can never get enough out of it all of the songs have a great beat n everythin' i cant imagine not listin to this GREAT CD its so kool..oh "N" [ to the person named sach should really get a life cuz wen J.T waz in a boy-band i thought he could waii better then that odd group!! so i think if you ganna fill this comment thing then you should ;;heyxx i soo loved this CD its so awsome i can never get enough out of it all of the songs have a great beat n everythin' i cant imagine not listin to this GREAT CD its so kool..oh "N" [ to the person named sach should really get a life cuz wen J.T waz in a boy-band i thought he could waii better then that odd group!! so i think if you ganna fill this comment thing then you should only sign it if you have something good to say people dont wanna hear you bitch all the time "N" you have a really funny name :P ] ne wai now that i got that out... J.T is a great singer luvv ya!(not realli) ;;peacee outt Expand
  88. MichelleK
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    Wow. I can't believe i hated J.T...well i can but this album is pretty cool. Something different and refreshing. Best Tracks: My Love, What Goes Around, Chop Me Up
  89. maliks
    Apr 16, 2007
    9
    I think justin and timbaland's way of thinking out of the box has paid of in a pretty large way, JT is jetset to lead the popworld as we know it today, this guy's got it all; the talent, the looks and the style to go with it. I can't call out any artist right now who can match the style and versitality justin has put in this album, this album is music worth paying for.
  90. lollo.l2
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    its good
  91. BrunoC
    Nov 29, 2006
    8
    Well ... the first time I listened to this album ... I thought to myself "what the f***k is this?" It didn't seem new ... it seemed used and abused and definately not an art piece ... But then I said to myself .. there's got to be something hidden in here ... what happened to the great "justified"? Isn't there a single bit of it here? And I listened and gosh .. I found that Well ... the first time I listened to this album ... I thought to myself "what the f***k is this?" It didn't seem new ... it seemed used and abused and definately not an art piece ... But then I said to myself .. there's got to be something hidden in here ... what happened to the great "justified"? Isn't there a single bit of it here? And I listened and gosh .. I found that the beats are not old ... they are renewd beats and if you hear carefully ... everything is done - as usual - to put the listener to a good level ... that's why I say this album is good and it's an inovation in a strange way ... you all say bad things about it ... well I say it's too damn good!!! Expand
  92. MuriahV
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    When music makes you this happy and feel this good you can't say too much more than that. As Justin said "you take things from the artists you love and make it your own." That he has done! Thoes who say "he sucks" really just want to be in his shoes. "No way" you say! Yah right, you only wish you had this kind of talent. JT is JT! Up there all by himself.
  93. RockoS
    Sep 11, 2006
    5
    Music lesson #1: If you're going to imitate Prince, then you have to go all the way and do it right. If not, then it's best to stay in the arena where you are most comfortable. Justin Timberlake should've learned this lesson before the stepped in the ring. Because, now he's released an album that shall be forever compared to Prince's "Dirty Mind". And the latter Music lesson #1: If you're going to imitate Prince, then you have to go all the way and do it right. If not, then it's best to stay in the arena where you are most comfortable. Justin Timberlake should've learned this lesson before the stepped in the ring. Because, now he's released an album that shall be forever compared to Prince's "Dirty Mind". And the latter rips "Futersex/Lovesounds" to shred. I suppose I have to give Timberlake some credit for daring to be a bit different than what most pop stars are doing these days. But, that's about all it deserves. This album is neither futuristic, nor sexy. Expand
  94. DavidS
    Sep 11, 2006
    8
    I cried the first time I heard the interlude
  95. JillS
    Sep 12, 2006
    1
    sucked
  96. DarylM
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    Great CD(us version) alot of great songs with meaningful contecn and great melody. Outstand work Justin
  97. Nathan
    Sep 12, 2006
    10
    Great CD! This is probably one of the best CD's that I've bought this whole year. Justin Timberlake is freakin' AWESOME!
  98. JeffB
    Sep 13, 2006
    9
    Very good album. A lot of great songs that are sure to be future radio hits. It starts off very strong with the first 4 songs. A few duds in the middle, but overall I would say that 80 to 90% is excellent. I'm not sure which album I like better... but I think I am going with this one.
  99. JamesW.
    Sep 13, 2006
    0
    I'm giving this album a zero because it's over-produced, badly song and bad written garbage. Two songs are decent on the whole album. The rest I can do without.
  100. TylerT
    Sep 13, 2006
    8
    I hate boy bands and everything surrounding them. That being said, this is a great album! JT kills the rest of this solo garbage that somehow makes it on the radio/tv "My Love" must be witnessed!
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. It's a lot like Justified in that it's a solid collection of expertly produced pop songs whose flaws will be devoured by its almost guaranteed string of hits.
  2. The enjoyable, forgettable FutureSex/LoveSounds may be a just-okay Timberlake album, but it's a great Timbaland demo reel.
  3. By its closer... FutureSex/LoveSounds feels like an entirely different and far less interesting album than the one you started listening to.