FutureSex / LoveSounds - Justin Timberlake
User Score
7.2

Generally favorable reviews- based on 278 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 278

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Absolutely not my style at first but this album is flawless. Justin Timberlake proves he's one of the best nowadays. I literally can't wait for the next album, it's gonna be hot.
  2. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    I rate this album a perfect 10 cause it's not the best but the two creative 7 min songs and the creative way he puts two songs together is just amazing anyone can make a hit record with a tracklisting containing songs duarating from 3 to 4 mins a real lp consists of 12 songs with 5, 6 and 7 min attention grabbers
  3. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This album is a breath of fresh air. I listened to it in 2006, and it was amazing. Six years later, a started listening to it again, and it still feels the same way. It never gets old. His best album ever. No wonder he doesn't record music anymore, cause, frankly, it's hard to top this pop masterpiece.
  4. May 23, 2011
    8
    Though the ambition is fully obvious and while the album itself cannot get you going on paper, JT's second solo effort is a triumph in sonic production. So the ones I must really congratulate are Timbaland and Danja. Cheers!
  5. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Perfect album, it deserved an 10. Justin's voice was beutiful !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  6. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    A porn anthem, oh wait... THE PORN ANTHEM! This album is lyrically beautiful and stylish music!!! Sexy songs and sexy voice by Justin. This album is perfect. Sexyback is the best track on it, followed by the beatbox track Lovestoned.
  7. Apr 9, 2013
    7
    I get the appeal to people outside of the general "pop audience", but I wouldn't consider it the revolutionary pop masterwork some claim it is. There are certainly a few great tracks (particularly What Goes Around Comes Around, the title track, My Love & Until the End of Time), and the production & vocals for the most part are solid all the way through, but the main problem for me is the lyrics. Maybe I just have a bias when it comes to sex-based lyrics but I just felt kinda uncomfortable listening to some of the lines on these songs. The whole thing just has a somewhat dated & cheesy mid-00s sound to it, back when slow jams & smooth sex songs were a pop mainstay. Plus the songs tended to drag out sometimes, and there's a few tracks I would've gotten rid of entirely (namely Damn Girl, Chop Me Up & Sexy Ladies) to make for a more concise listen. There are some albums that can get away with being over an hour long. This is not one of them. Still, despite these gripes, the songwriting (melodically & instrumentally) succeeds most of the time, and you can definitely tell there was more effort & ambition put into this than the average pop album at the time. And Timberlake is definitely one of the more talented mainstream pop artists of the last decade or so. My favorite song on the album is either the masterfully crafted pop ballad What Goes Around Comes Around or the gospel-tinged Losing My Way, which detours from other subject matter here to paint a vivid picture of a man going through self-destroying drug addictions & is an overall fantastic listen. FutureSex/LoveSounds is a shaky mixed-bag of an album but a pretty enjoyable one nonetheless. As for The 20/20 Experience I have a feeling, judging from what I've heard, that I'll enjoy it a lot more than this one. 72/100 Expand
  8. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    Future sounding indeed. This album has it all; a mixture of sex appeal, dance beats, forward thinking beats and hooks. Download: SexyBack, LoveStoned, My Love.
  9. Aug 26, 2014
    8
    Even to this day, I'm still listening to this album. I remember listening to this album at age 11 or 12, going to school, every morning. Good beats, good music, good singer, good producer and a whole lot more.
  10. Nov 17, 2014
    6
    I din't like this album as much as "Justified" but that doesn't mean that the album is bad. This album has some very good songs very well produced and sung like "Sexyback" or "Lovestoned", but others are very slow like "Losing My Way" or "(Another Song) All Over Again". My conclusion is that this is a decent album, but not the best.
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. It's a lot like Justified in that it's a solid collection of expertly produced pop songs whose flaws will be devoured by its almost guaranteed string of hits.
  2. The enjoyable, forgettable FutureSex/LoveSounds may be a just-okay Timberlake album, but it's a great Timbaland demo reel.
  3. By its closer... FutureSex/LoveSounds feels like an entirely different and far less interesting album than the one you started listening to.