FutureSex / LoveSounds

  • Record Label: Jive
  • Release Date: Sep 12, 2006
User Score
7.4

Generally favorable reviews- based on 301 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 55 out of 301

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. May 4, 2015
    10
    JT's best album so far hands down and better than part 1 without any doubts .
    Give me what i dont know Murder True Blood Amnesia are the kkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkkk
  2. May 4, 2015
    10
    hinario, melhor álbum ou nao porque são todo otimos e maravilhosos que fica dificl escolher né kkkkkkk enfim arrasou uma biblia of the pop te amo e te adoro
  3. Feb 9, 2015
    10
    At this point this album is considered a pop classic that brought a new sound to music industry. It's always a pleasure coming back to this album and it never gets boring. It has so many gems it's hard to pick a favorite. Created in 2006 but still sounds fresh and amazing. Ahead of its time.
  4. Feb 8, 2015
    7
    Very very good album. I was delighted. Not as good as Justified, but maintains a very cool new rhythm. There are songs that stand out as Lovestoned, SexyBack or Damn Girl. Other that at first look set to disappoint, but then are very good, as Until The End Of Time or (Another Song) All Over Again; that starts slowly and end up being strong ballads. It's noteworthy the versions and newVery very good album. I was delighted. Not as good as Justified, but maintains a very cool new rhythm. There are songs that stand out as Lovestoned, SexyBack or Damn Girl. Other that at first look set to disappoint, but then are very good, as Until The End Of Time or (Another Song) All Over Again; that starts slowly and end up being strong ballads. It's noteworthy the versions and new songs of the Deluxe editions of the album, that are also very good, including Boutique In Heaven. In conclusion this is a very good album, It could have been better, but not disappointed. Expand
  5. Aug 26, 2014
    8
    Even to this day, I'm still listening to this album. I remember listening to this album at age 11 or 12, going to school, every morning. Good beats, good music, good singer, good producer and a whole lot more.
  6. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    Future sounding indeed. This album has it all; a mixture of sex appeal, dance beats, forward thinking beats and hooks. Download: SexyBack, LoveStoned, My Love.
  7. Apr 9, 2013
    7
    I get the appeal to people outside of the general "pop audience", but I wouldn't consider it the revolutionary pop masterwork some claim it is. There are certainly a few great tracks (particularly What Goes Around Comes Around, the title track, My Love & Until the End of Time), and the production & vocals for the most part are solid all the way through, but the main problem for me is theI get the appeal to people outside of the general "pop audience", but I wouldn't consider it the revolutionary pop masterwork some claim it is. There are certainly a few great tracks (particularly What Goes Around Comes Around, the title track, My Love & Until the End of Time), and the production & vocals for the most part are solid all the way through, but the main problem for me is the lyrics. Maybe I just have a bias when it comes to sex-based lyrics but I just felt kinda uncomfortable listening to some of the lines on these songs. The whole thing just has a somewhat dated & cheesy mid-00s sound to it, back when slow jams & smooth sex songs were a pop mainstay. Plus the songs tended to drag out sometimes, and there's a few tracks I would've gotten rid of entirely (namely Damn Girl, Chop Me Up & Sexy Ladies) to make for a more concise listen. There are some albums that can get away with being over an hour long. This is not one of them. Still, despite these gripes, the songwriting (melodically & instrumentally) succeeds most of the time, and you can definitely tell there was more effort & ambition put into this than the average pop album at the time. And Timberlake is definitely one of the more talented mainstream pop artists of the last decade or so. My favorite song on the album is either the masterfully crafted pop ballad What Goes Around Comes Around or the gospel-tinged Losing My Way, which detours from other subject matter here to paint a vivid picture of a man going through self-destroying drug addictions & is an overall fantastic listen. FutureSex/LoveSounds is a shaky mixed-bag of an album but a pretty enjoyable one nonetheless. As for The 20/20 Experience I have a feeling, judging from what I've heard, that I'll enjoy it a lot more than this one. 72/100 Expand
  8. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This album is a breath of fresh air. I listened to it in 2006, and it was amazing. Six years later, a started listening to it again, and it still feels the same way. It never gets old. His best album ever. No wonder he doesn't record music anymore, cause, frankly, it's hard to top this pop masterpiece.
  9. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    A porn anthem, oh wait... THE PORN ANTHEM! This album is lyrically beautiful and stylish music!!! Sexy songs and sexy voice by Justin. This album is perfect. Sexyback is the best track on it, followed by the beatbox track Lovestoned.
  10. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Absolutely not my style at first but this album is flawless. Justin Timberlake proves he's one of the best nowadays. I literally can't wait for the next album, it's gonna be hot.
  11. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Perfect album, it deserved an 10. Justin's voice was beutifulPerfect album, it deserved an 10. Justin's voice was beutiful !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  12. May 23, 2011
    8
    Though the ambition is fully obvious and while the album itself cannot get you going on paper, JT's second solo effort is a triumph in sonic production. So the ones I must really congratulate are Timbaland and Danja. Cheers!
  13. Aug 21, 2010
    10
    I rate this album a perfect 10 cause it's not the best but the two creative 7 min songs and the creative way he puts two songs together is just amazing anyone can make a hit record with a tracklisting containing songs duarating from 3 to 4 mins a real lp consists of 12 songs with 5, 6 and 7 min attention grabbers
  14. KellyC
    Apr 30, 2007
    10
    I LOVE JT! he's got it all. he's and amazing singer and soooo FIT! and his new album is just bare sex! summer love, what goes around and my love are the best tracks!!! xxxx
  15. maliks
    Apr 16, 2007
    9
    I think justin and timbaland's way of thinking out of the box has paid of in a pretty large way, JT is jetset to lead the popworld as we know it today, this guy's got it all; the talent, the looks and the style to go with it. I can't call out any artist right now who can match the style and versitality justin has put in this album, this album is music worth paying for.
  16. MichelleK
    Apr 13, 2007
    9
    Wow. I can't believe i hated J.T...well i can but this album is pretty cool. Something different and refreshing. Best Tracks: My Love, What Goes Around, Chop Me Up
  17. KyleS
    Apr 2, 2007
    0
    Absolutely wretched!!!! All I have in my head is that annoying "Yeah" every 5 seconds in Sexy Back.
  18. PaulW.
    Mar 29, 2007
    8
    Very good album. Great production, lots of potential hits and good Timberlake's vocal. One disadvantage is the fact that without Timberland
  19. jessicam
    Feb 13, 2007
    2
    We were told this was going to be the Thriller of 2006. What a dissappointment! Rather than come up with his own identity, JT moves on from ripping MJ off to ripping Prince off. This is an example of another cocky ex-boyband poser trying to convince the audience he is a sexy badass. A couple of decent tracks but JT comes off as fake and not sexy.
  20. HilaryW
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    ;;heyxx i soo loved this CD its so awsome i can never get enough out of it all of the songs have a great beat n everythin' i cant imagine not listin to this GREAT CD its so kool..oh "N" [ to the person named sach should really get a life cuz wen J.T waz in a boy-band i thought he could waii better then that odd group!! so i think if you ganna fill this comment thing then you should ;;heyxx i soo loved this CD its so awsome i can never get enough out of it all of the songs have a great beat n everythin' i cant imagine not listin to this GREAT CD its so kool..oh "N" [ to the person named sach should really get a life cuz wen J.T waz in a boy-band i thought he could waii better then that odd group!! so i think if you ganna fill this comment thing then you should only sign it if you have something good to say people dont wanna hear you bitch all the time "N" you have a really funny name :P ] ne wai now that i got that out... J.T is a great singer luvv ya!(not realli) ;;peacee outt Expand
  21. Iman
    Feb 8, 2007
    9
    J.T. awsome last night at MSG. If not god absolutely the son and the holy ghost
  22. Jess
    Feb 7, 2007
    9
    I saw him in Toronto and thought he did the best job ever. I love every minute of the album. Best yet!
  23. TimL
    Feb 3, 2007
    8
    Honestly, one of the better albums of 2006. It has a fresh new sound, it doesn't sound like the same chewed up the industry seems to force feed us. Great production value as well. Anyone saying this album is horrible, is simply jealous because they either can't have Justin, or can't be him. Thats what happens when people let their biases through.
  24. Sach
    Feb 1, 2007
    1
    Mediocre pap wrapped in artistic pretention to convince his fanbase that they aren't shallow consumers. There's nothing wrong with the style he's attempting but the bland, sterile and lifeless exercises in nostalgia, utter lack of humanity and mechanical production kill the album. Creative shiny bull is still shiny bull. For a much better modern disco-funk concept album Mediocre pap wrapped in artistic pretention to convince his fanbase that they aren't shallow consumers. There's nothing wrong with the style he's attempting but the bland, sterile and lifeless exercises in nostalgia, utter lack of humanity and mechanical production kill the album. Creative shiny bull is still shiny bull. For a much better modern disco-funk concept album about love, check out Of Montreal's "Hissing Fauna, Are you the Destroyer". It's everything this album wants to be and it forgoes on the arrogant pretention of the talentless ex-boyband member trying to convince himself he has some worth beyond being a marketable face for Timbaland's record. Expand
  25. Fiera
    Jan 17, 2007
    2
    I think this sucks. Its super cheesy - not sexy. I find the arrogance really un-sexy. Its still got that teen-age boy band feel to me. Maybe in 10 Years justin baby...
  26. Liv
    Jan 7, 2007
    10
    Catchy and danceable. Very different from Justified - and it's for the better.
  27. ElizabethS
    Jan 6, 2007
    8
    I think it's one of the best albums of 2006!!Especially on production level...!!!
  28. VeronicaV
    Dec 18, 2006
    1
    What a piece of crap! How did this awful album get nominated for "album of the year" over bob Dylan's Modern Times???
  29. time
    Dec 11, 2006
    0
    I freaken' hate him. He's like the female Will Smith. Watered down, generic and flakey. Is this supposed to be a step up from NSYNC? If he brought sexy back than I'd rather sexy retire now and go away til someone who's actually sexy brings it back.
  30. MuriahV
    Dec 6, 2006
    10
    When music makes you this happy and feel this good you can't say too much more than that. As Justin said "you take things from the artists you love and make it your own." That he has done! Thoes who say "he sucks" really just want to be in his shoes. "No way" you say! Yah right, you only wish you had this kind of talent. JT is JT! Up there all by himself.
  31. BrunoC
    Nov 29, 2006
    8
    Well ... the first time I listened to this album ... I thought to myself "what the f***k is this?" It didn't seem new ... it seemed used and abused and definately not an art piece ... But then I said to myself .. there's got to be something hidden in here ... what happened to the great "justified"? Isn't there a single bit of it here? And I listened and gosh .. I found that Well ... the first time I listened to this album ... I thought to myself "what the f***k is this?" It didn't seem new ... it seemed used and abused and definately not an art piece ... But then I said to myself .. there's got to be something hidden in here ... what happened to the great "justified"? Isn't there a single bit of it here? And I listened and gosh .. I found that the beats are not old ... they are renewd beats and if you hear carefully ... everything is done - as usual - to put the listener to a good level ... that's why I say this album is good and it's an inovation in a strange way ... you all say bad things about it ... well I say it's too damn good!!! Expand
  32. SeamusS
    Nov 27, 2006
    9
    To make things short: Though not as full as Justified, just as infectious and maybe, just maybe, too ambitious. At times, the blackcent gets old. Fortunatley, that happens less than the alternative.
  33. lollo.l2
    Nov 22, 2006
    10
    its good
  34. Sarah
    Nov 17, 2006
    1
    SO SO SO Overrated...music comes from the heart, not a computer. Maybe someone needs to tell Justin that. A 10 year old could have written SexyBacK. Idiot.
  35. SophieP
    Nov 9, 2006
    0
    I was very disappointed by this album. Justin's voice seems very weak, and the album is overproduced by Timbaland. It's not anything really catchy or memorable about this album.
  36. PR
    Nov 8, 2006
    9
    pop may be dead, thanks god, stock aitken waterman anyone? but if quality produced stuff like this is its replacement then we should all surely be a lot happier. what I hate is the fact the new breed take themselves far too seriously - justin should not do interviews - those who know what proper music is all about are spoon fed pr so that we may fall into their trap. the problem is, i may pop may be dead, thanks god, stock aitken waterman anyone? but if quality produced stuff like this is its replacement then we should all surely be a lot happier. what I hate is the fact the new breed take themselves far too seriously - justin should not do interviews - those who know what proper music is all about are spoon fed pr so that we may fall into their trap. the problem is, i may not buy it, but i have heard it, and this album is probably the best pop album of 2006. Expand
  37. KaylaW
    Nov 7, 2006
    10
    OMG!! This CD is soooo good. I love this album.. so far the best one yet.
  38. VincentV
    Nov 4, 2006
    10
    Innovating
  39. ChrystalJ
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    Just like some of the other users rating this album I didn't like some of the songs at first. The second time around, let's just say that it is now one of my favorites. Great beats and lyrics. I would recommend this album to everyone.
  40. TarynN
    Oct 25, 2006
    10
    I struggled to listen to this album at first, but after my second listen, just as with Justified, I started to love it. Its sexy and smooth, with great beats.
  41. Roe
    Oct 21, 2006
    6
    It's okay. . I like it better than Justified anyway, i can sort of see what the hype was about now
  42. KellyanneW
    Oct 19, 2006
    9
    I was one of the few people who was disappointed with his debut album...but this album has a different sound and shows his true talent. I enjoyed the beat and his vocal range.
  43. JasonS
    Oct 17, 2006
    7
    The first half of this album is brilliant. The second half is terrible. At forty minutes this album could have been a "10." But JT's need to fill the disc means we have to endure the cloying banality of songs like "Losing My Way."
  44. emmanuelt
    Oct 15, 2006
    10
    Really catchy beats and amazing vocals. Justin made a masterpiece.
  45. Rani
    Oct 14, 2006
    10
    He's one of the mnay singers out there that can REALLY come up with AWESOME, ORGINALLY music!! that's easy listening, hot, and VERY SEXY!! I LOEV IT
  46. colleenj
    Oct 13, 2006
    10
    Timbaland and Timberlake have out done themselves. Every song on the album could be a single. i loved it!!! i would recommend it to anyone.
  47. TBadlands
    Oct 11, 2006
    6
    I'm an indie brat that loves JT, but this record is kind of an overindulgent mess...maybe I just need a few more listens, but it really sounds like JT did EVERYTHING in his power to run away from "justified"...no need. Artists can grow without a sea change on every new LP. I think JT needed to get this record out of system, but it's far too unfocused to rival Justified, a I'm an indie brat that loves JT, but this record is kind of an overindulgent mess...maybe I just need a few more listens, but it really sounds like JT did EVERYTHING in his power to run away from "justified"...no need. Artists can grow without a sea change on every new LP. I think JT needed to get this record out of system, but it's far too unfocused to rival Justified, a peerless modern classic. This record is far from a "sophmore slump", but it's nowhere near the masterpiece of future funk he thinks it is. Many of the tracks go nowhere, at least 80% of this record is filler. Worse, the beats are boring, the songs are mostly hookless exercises, JT's new "sexy" attitude sounds contrived. Shame, really, we love him for who he is...a former Mickey Mouse Club/Boy Band showbiz kid who proved with "Justified" that he was one hell of a talented singer/songwritwer despite it all. I hope JT goes back into the studio and remembers to use his talent, as opposed to running away from it. Maybe LP number 3 is the masterpiece we expected here. As it stands, this record is an interesting curiosity, but ultimately dissapointing. Collapse
  48. KathieS
    Oct 10, 2006
    10
    Sexy back best sound in a long time...
  49. S.J.Donovan
    Oct 10, 2006
    0
    Justin, the best thing you could do for pop is to die.
  50. SmackDaddy
    Oct 9, 2006
    4
    Timberlake needs to leave Prince alone. Timbo...wow he's really fallin off. This isn't real music...its contrived, board room created, white boy with no style, photocopied, soulless 'music.' Andre 3000 is the closest thing we've had to what JT is trying to do...go on white boy...go on.
  51. TinaD
    Oct 8, 2006
    10
    Justin really surprised me with his sophomore CD. I didn't think he could top Justified but he did it with FutureSex/Lovesounds. This CD is by far one the best albums of the year. Timberlake and Timbaland are a great combo and alsoI love the Rick Rubin track Another Song/All Over Again.
  52. doublea
    Oct 7, 2006
    10
    this album unarguably is one of the best released this year,compared to this years albums and espically from male artists ,this album has saved the music industry after all the shit we,ve been hearing in the last 2 or 3 years. future sex/love sounds is a great album with alot of differnet genres mixed into it,its differnt from the last album which was more specfic to r n b.this album has this album unarguably is one of the best released this year,compared to this years albums and espically from male artists ,this album has saved the music industry after all the shit we,ve been hearing in the last 2 or 3 years. future sex/love sounds is a great album with alot of differnet genres mixed into it,its differnt from the last album which was more specfic to r n b.this album has pop,rock,funk,house and r nb influnces in it and that wat makes so good to listen to,its not ur typical r n b artist album,usher has never done sth like this before,and hes probably killing himself now for this.the secret on this album is timbaland,good thing that there was a dispute over the clipse between jive and the neptunes or we would have seen a second album quite similar to the first one.Justin really found his groove with timbaland on this album and the tracks speak for them self.sexy back is how it all begins ,when i first heard on the day it came out i was like"okay,this is weird,wats all this stuff hes talkin about shackles and wipes",but after i heard it twice i knew this track was hot and the main thing"different".sexy back is a house track ,it grows on u after 2 or 3 times and that wat maks it so sparse. the tracks FUTURE SEX/LOVE SOUND and SEXY LADIES are quite similar,their electonic club funk tracks and their lyrics show you that jt is some" cocky sex god" where all the girls are just dying to bed him but their both great.MY LOVE has to be one of the best on the album ,even though its supposed to be ballad but its got that hip hop flava in it,a ballad which u can move to and t.i makes it even better ,i cant imagine anyone rapping on this track but him.awesome.LOVE STONED is another great track with that rock but funky vibe in it,its so cool how he manged to put so may instruments in to it including his mouth vocals in the back is just great .whats even better about this track is the prelude"i think she knows", ,the way the track was so funky and then suddenly turned so calm is just amazing.WHAT COMES AROUND is defentiley a cry me a river part two ,even though he denied this many times everyone knows its true;its a great pop/rock track and agin the prlude is just amazing; the track really heats up ,the only flaw on it is timbalands vocals ;they just dont work on these type of tracks.CHOP ME UP is a differnt side of jt the track is a crunk hip hop club track;he even sounds awful when hes rapping his verse ;but compared to other simliar tracks in the hip hop industry this is quite good;timbalands verse is the best and as for three six mafia;well there on there cause their from tennase other wise this track woudint exsist.SUMMER LOVE is one of my favorites also' its great how he manged to put such an idea or title on a greatt hip hop clapping beat through out the whole song ;even thoght the chorus is a bit superfical and the pre lude sucks its great.DAMN GIRL;this track i was expecting more of it,even though its okay the lyrics are pretty boring ;half the track he just keeps on saying damn girl and the rap half of it is baby and whoa;justin and will i am are supposed to be a production duo called the "jaw breakers" who have produced for uncle charlie and macy gray so i was expecting better.UNTIL THE END OF TIME is the most boring on the album,but when u look at it this way there hadent been one typical ballad on the album up to that and u know that there cant be a justin album without a typical ballad,its wat hes been doing most the last 10 years, also when compared to otherc r n b ballads its ok.LOSING MY WAY this is my second favourite(in my opinon) after my love,the way the it just starts out with this humming voice that keeps going through the whole track till the end is amazing,also the lyrical content is diffrent and touching in a way ,after this track you know that jt is the best male artist of this generation.ANOTHER SONG(ALL OVER AGAIN) is just another "never again" dissapointing how all justin could get out of rick rubin is a slow typical "quite dull" track,lets just hope he dosent do it one the next album also like hes done on these last two.Over all this album is damn good and the most important thing "differnt" Expand
  53. JohnH
    Oct 5, 2006
    4
    Sure "Sexy Back" is cathcy and danceable, but did anyone else notice the arrays of bad beats and loops samples from the majority of other songs, many taken off of Fruity Loops...? Blame Timbaland or whoever did the electronic parts of the album for poor quality samples and cheap and easy loops...
  54. MarinaL
    Oct 3, 2006
    10
    his cd is absolutely amazing. It starts out very provacative has a lot of dancing songs and what not, and every now and then has a sensual love song every now and then. JT has completely outdone himself his cd is wayy better than his last one. Im so pround of him. and timbb did such a good job. amazing..outstanding
  55. KyleB
    Oct 1, 2006
    9
    Style and flare pieced together with some of the best beats this decade.
  56. ellenc
    Oct 1, 2006
    10
    Fs/ls is The best cd put out in a long, long time. Justin Timberlake along with Timberland has given us a reason to listen to music again. Its fun, sexy and makes you want to move along with the music. The cd is addictive. Jt is a talented musician, who has given us a new sound and an exciting listening experience with his new cd FS/LS.
  57. undisclosedundisclosed
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    FS/LS is an album that will if anything else turn heads, from his first single "Sexyback" which has risen to the #1 spot and has remained there for five consectutive weeks it's clear to see JT isn't going the easy way. He could've easily released a polished pop love song with sweet beats, and that falesto voice people love and hate, but instead JT embraked himself on a FS/LS is an album that will if anything else turn heads, from his first single "Sexyback" which has risen to the #1 spot and has remained there for five consectutive weeks it's clear to see JT isn't going the easy way. He could've easily released a polished pop love song with sweet beats, and that falesto voice people love and hate, but instead JT embraked himself on a journey not even he could have precieved would've turned out this successful. His risking taking venture puts him ahead of the pop pack. His lyrics are bold, and the beats are equally as agressive. First listen you have to wonder "Was that really him?" It's a hard guess with his vocal changed up by a guitar amp. With crazy beats and just as good lyrical content JT has taken himself to the next level mixing pop with r&b with songs like "My Love" his next single and "What Goes Around" a pop song with an ending that may suprise some with questionable lyrics follwed by him laughing at a pretend ex for her foolish mistakes. Taking a an almost political stance with songs like "Until the End of Time," a piece more than likely dealing with the war in a round about way, finding true love through all the troubles of everyday. "Loosing My Way" touches upon the ever popular drug addiction, but if you think JT is going to come off as gansta or some hip=hop head or maybe just a junkie you couldn't be more wrong. Instead, he shows that their are no typical sterotypes this is an issue wwether you're a family man or the guy homeless on the strreet background means little. Ending the album Justin promises with "Another Song "All over Again," that his next album like this track is inspired by his hero Donny Hathway. This only Rick Rubiin produced track takes Justin's first try in raw format as he plays piano, yes JT can play insturments and quite well, and makes your heart quiver as he asks for forgiveness from a lover he has hurt, and hopes o tie things up with. I highly recomend this record to anyone who likes and can reconize good music. Expand
  58. dott
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    By far the best album of the year!
  59. BlairR
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    This is an amazing album. From the first track to the last there is something intriguing and wonderful in every song. Each time I listen to the cd I hear something new and different. Lovestoned is fun and he Interlude is almost hypnotic and very beautiful. Losing My Way is so sad but it too is beautiful. Another Song is raw and wonderful. I love this song. It's Justin and a piano. This is an amazing album. From the first track to the last there is something intriguing and wonderful in every song. Each time I listen to the cd I hear something new and different. Lovestoned is fun and he Interlude is almost hypnotic and very beautiful. Losing My Way is so sad but it too is beautiful. Another Song is raw and wonderful. I love this song. It's Justin and a piano. The cd is full of fun songs and it really shows Justin's growth as a musician. Give it a listen. Expand
  60. BridgetT
    Sep 30, 2006
    10
    I have to admit that I wasn't too sure about Justin's new music when I heard SexyBack for the first time. But that song grew on me quickly and his new cd is off the hooK. Wow. Every track is great. Each time I listen to it I find something else that is amazing. The way each track flows into the next makes for a very fullfilling musical experience. Justin's voice and musical I have to admit that I wasn't too sure about Justin's new music when I heard SexyBack for the first time. But that song grew on me quickly and his new cd is off the hooK. Wow. Every track is great. Each time I listen to it I find something else that is amazing. The way each track flows into the next makes for a very fullfilling musical experience. Justin's voice and musical style have matured so much over the last 3 years. Lovestoned is amazing. It takes hold of me and I can't get enough and the Interlude is just beautiful. Another Song is so raw and emotional. A real departure for Justin. I hope to hear more like this on his next cd., Losing My Way is beautiful. I could go on but just listen for yourself. You won't be sorry. Expand
  61. ShandaS
    Sep 30, 2006
    9
    I am only giving it a 9 b.c his next album needs space to grow for the ten SPOT! This album rocks. Period If you don't agree you're just a hater... and that's okay. Denial is the first step.
  62. chrisw
    Sep 30, 2006
    0
    Talentless money music. This puppet is being used to make money off teenage girls by using overproduced beats and wannabe black lyrics
  63. JennaB
    Sep 24, 2006
    8
    first and foremost, I appreciated FS/LS simply because JT didn't rush to capitalize on Justified. Rather than churning out a succession of 2 single/ filler recoerds, he took time on his second solo effort. That said, I knew FS/LS would be a serious change of pace for him. Yes it took a few listens to really get my brain around it, but this is a solid record. Considering that pop first and foremost, I appreciated FS/LS simply because JT didn't rush to capitalize on Justified. Rather than churning out a succession of 2 single/ filler recoerds, he took time on his second solo effort. That said, I knew FS/LS would be a serious change of pace for him. Yes it took a few listens to really get my brain around it, but this is a solid record. Considering that pop radio is saturated with the likes of Paris HIlton and F'ing Brooke Hogan, FS/LS shows that you don't have to reinvent the wheel to make good pop music. "Lovestoned" is positively hypnotic, with its thumping bass line coupled with Justin's voice at its most mature. Honestly, I could do without the Three Six Mafia appearance (everything they do is the same) but Rick Rubin's production on "(Another Song) All Over Again" signifies what I hope is the beginning of many more collaborations. Expand
  64. BorisF
    Sep 24, 2006
    7
    He's Back and he's sexy and this album defantley lets you know. Though i think itsw a bit over-rated it is defantley a triumph and a push in the right direction showing how comfortable he is in not only pop music but also r&b hip hop and dance
  65. JessicaN
    Sep 24, 2006
    8
    i think the cd is really cool. some of the songs are just ok, but most are great, by the way, its walkin on the beach our TOES in da sand, NOT CLOTHES
  66. DrewN
    Sep 22, 2006
    9
    The best pop album of the years hands down. It's an incredible mix of futuristic sounds, great beats, and fun music. Standout tracks include: SexyBack, My Love, Chop Me Up, What Goes Around...
  67. SabrinaT.
    Sep 21, 2006
    0
    One of the worst albums of the year. I'm so disappointed in Justin this time. What was he thinking with this album? The beats are repetitive and boring. His voice doesn't sound as good as it did on Justified. Maybe the next album will be better.
  68. ToddW
    Sep 21, 2006
    0
    I saw this no-talent the other night on an awards show (which is ironic in and of itself) and he was performing the "hit" (another ironic turn of phrase) from this dreck. It's comforting to know that 10-year-old girls are singing along to a song that advocates beating up women in the bedroom. It makes me wish even harder for a Social Apocalypse.
  69. ChristyL
    Sep 20, 2006
    10
    i thought it was awesome! creative, new, and pure talent. timberlake and timbaland is a great collaboration. I LOVE JUSTIN TIMBERLAKE!!!!
  70. FM
    Sep 20, 2006
    9
    This album is hot. I liked it the first time around and I am still playing it out. No doubt Timberlake is on his way to becoming the leader of the pack. Move over BEYONCE!
  71. RyanS
    Sep 18, 2006
    9
    An incredible fusion, of R&B, Funk, and Pop, watch this kid, cause hes goin places, and if you didnt know it already, he's bringing Sexy Back
  72. StevenE
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    It was awesome, definitely not a sophomore slump.
  73. JG
    Sep 17, 2006
    4
    If you think this album is intriguing, then you don't know anything about music.
  74. despor
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    Wicked, i cant beleive this is the same guy who was in n'sync. This album is really good, i think it is the best cd so far this year.
  75. KrisL
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    There's nothing wrong with music that's fun.and enjoyable, and Justin does that better than most. If you're looking for deep political statements or philosophical laments, you're in the wrong place. (And, frankly, what you're looking for in music is kind of depressing.) This is definitely one of the best albums I've heard in quite a while, and I'm not There's nothing wrong with music that's fun.and enjoyable, and Justin does that better than most. If you're looking for deep political statements or philosophical laments, you're in the wrong place. (And, frankly, what you're looking for in music is kind of depressing.) This is definitely one of the best albums I've heard in quite a while, and I'm not hesitant to say it, for fear that my "cool" cred be threatened. Expand
  76. MeganJ
    Sep 17, 2006
    10
    I have to say that I'm pretty perplexed by the lukewarm and negative reactions that some critics and listeners have had to FutureSex/LoveSounds. Admittedly, it took me a couple of listens to warm up to SexyBack, so I was prepared to not like this album as much as I did Justified. But after listening to FS/LS several times through (something I usually can't bring myself to do I have to say that I'm pretty perplexed by the lukewarm and negative reactions that some critics and listeners have had to FutureSex/LoveSounds. Admittedly, it took me a couple of listens to warm up to SexyBack, so I was prepared to not like this album as much as I did Justified. But after listening to FS/LS several times through (something I usually can't bring myself to do even once with most albums these days), my opinion is that, overall, FS/LS is a truly stunning achievement. Futuresex/Lovesound, SexyBack and My Love are all flawless...the Interludes to LoveStoned and What Goes Around raise both tracks to absolutely transcendent levels. JT's vocals on Summer Love and Until The End of Time are some his best yet...confidently playful on the former, sincere and movingly poignant on the latter. While his lyrics could use some improvement in a couple places, Justin is truly gifted when it comes to letting his voice go to exactly the place the song needs it to go...and no further. FutureSex/LoveSounds is one of the most artistically complete albums I have ever heard...it's not just a couple of hot singles that people will tire of in three weeks, surrounded by throwaway filler...to me, that is the quality of work deserving of the two star ratings some critics have inexplicably given this album. Instead, the vision of Timberlake and Timbaland wraps around just about the entire album...it's a true collection of songs that really stay with you for one reason or another. And I am certain these songs will still sound as wonderful many years from now. Both Justin and Timbaland deserve rich praise (and an Album of the Year nom/win) for this one. As someone else has written here, if Justin isn't already the King of Pop, he is surely the Prince. Expand
  77. kieshad
    Sep 16, 2006
    10
    Awesome Cd, Justin has shown what a true artist he is.
  78. LuisG
    Sep 16, 2006
    6
    just when you thought it was safe to call him the new king of pop he goes a gets all warped out into his worst enemy someone hes not... Justified was ideal ... but this new album is all over the place ... beats that resonate nothing but bouncing heads and shock and dismay .. as if he were afraid or ashamed of his own voice he hides between every song and emerges only in a few... pleanty just when you thought it was safe to call him the new king of pop he goes a gets all warped out into his worst enemy someone hes not... Justified was ideal ... but this new album is all over the place ... beats that resonate nothing but bouncing heads and shock and dismay .. as if he were afraid or ashamed of his own voice he hides between every song and emerges only in a few... pleanty will buy and this album will not withtand time ... other new release JOHN MAYER continnuum offers a better dossage or reality and less trying to be someone your not... poor justin i really liked him !! Expand
  79. JohnP.
    Sep 16, 2006
    0
    One of the worst albums I've ever heard. What was he thinking to go from Justified to this. The beats are too hard for him.
  80. JustinTimberlake
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    The Bomb.. Thats all I have to say about this masterpiece..I put alot of work into this album I hope you all equallly enjoy it.
  81. ElaineJ
    Sep 15, 2006
    9
    Great overall album I liked everytrack on it. The only think keeping me from giving it a 10 is he could have put the Euro tracks on this album also!
  82. venessas
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    WOW I like loved it.. Really good cd.. I'm so glad I took back beyonce's B'day and got this CD instead
  83. DelorasV
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    Greatest Pop album in the last 20 years. This album is simply amazing.. I reccomend everyone to get this album it is historic!
  84. JonG
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    Absolutely amazing! Great for laughing, dancing, crying, singing, and lovemaking!
  85. MartinaS
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    I think album graet! Work good Justing.
  86. SandraJ
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    I always liked Jutin Timberlaks work from his eariler Albums and Music with Nsync. I wasnt really sure if I would like this Album because he has changed his style so much.. But wow this cd has surpassed all my expectations.. This is a great cd and I reccomend it to all.
  87. MeldinaW
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    Powerful!! This CD is FIRE.. Justin and Tim really bring the heat on this chart topping album.. Well done!!
  88. TonyJ
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    Pretty damn good. I must say I didnt think this white boy could make real r&b music .. but he has. Good shiz justin.
  89. KartinaW
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    WOW. This CD is Hot !! OMG this is one of the best CD's I heard this year.
  90. LeeroyD
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    This album has restored my faith in Pop Music. Outstanding job by Justin Timberlake, and Timberland on this album. Thanks to outlests like Metacritic.com where my comments and reviews count for something. Thanks Metacritic
  91. charlesw
    Sep 15, 2006
    10
    One of the greatest pop albums in the last 30 years
  92. JeffA
    Sep 15, 2006
    5
    While the previous release from JT was a suprisingly fresh compilation of catching songs, this release is very disappointing with most of the tracks sub-par and only a few truly catchy songs. Very average.
  93. lisap
    Sep 15, 2006
    2
    Totally sucks rocks!! Nothing new here that I didn't hear the same of on the prior album, Justified. Just more sound effects!! Disappointing...
  94. EdiC
    Sep 15, 2006
    0
    sh**!
  95. ElmerF
    Sep 14, 2006
    1
    More boy band crap...
  96. MattD.
    Sep 14, 2006
    2
    There is nothing sexy about this album. Come-ons sound even worse next to bad funk and drippy ballads.
  97. TyeN.
    Sep 14, 2006
    7
    Surprisingly, the album isn't half bad. It's actually about a quarter bad, though... i just can't look past his cheesy lyrics, and his off-putting voice. However, when you almost forget about him and just take in the mostly amazing production, you'll find something worth listening to. Since I'm not reviewing this album to bash on Timberlake, I will say that there Surprisingly, the album isn't half bad. It's actually about a quarter bad, though... i just can't look past his cheesy lyrics, and his off-putting voice. However, when you almost forget about him and just take in the mostly amazing production, you'll find something worth listening to. Since I'm not reviewing this album to bash on Timberlake, I will say that there are some songs that perfectly reflect his voice and the production. Those songs are "Sexyback", "My Love", "Love Stoned", and "What Goes Around Comes Around". My other choice tracks are "Damn Girl", and "Futuer Sex/ Love Sound" which to me sounds like Timbrlake's version of "Promiscuous" by Nelly Furtado (perhaps because both were produced by Timbaland). As far as production goes, this is another victory for Timbaland and his partner Nate "Danja" Hills. Fresh off of Nelly Furtado's awesome "Loose" album, they are the production team of the year. This abum is definitely worth listening to. Expand
  98. Gman
    Sep 14, 2006
    2
    OK so the Timbaland production is moderately interesting but no matter how much you polish it, a turd is still a turd. No depth, naff lyrics and Timberlake's lack of anything resembling sexiness (I'm Bringing Sexy Back?? -Yeah right Justin!) make this just as atrocious as Justified was. Listen critics, there are some great 'pop' albums around at the moment (Junior Boys OK so the Timbaland production is moderately interesting but no matter how much you polish it, a turd is still a turd. No depth, naff lyrics and Timberlake's lack of anything resembling sexiness (I'm Bringing Sexy Back?? -Yeah right Justin!) make this just as atrocious as Justified was. Listen critics, there are some great 'pop' albums around at the moment (Junior Boys and Dani Siciliano for example) so why pretend that that this (and the even more dire Girls Aloud) is anything more than utter rubbish. You're only making complete fools of yourselves. Expand
  99. AllyM
    Sep 13, 2006
    9
    I can confidently say that this will be one of the best albums of the year. It's a far cry from 'Justified' and that's what makes it work. All songs are single-worth which can't be said for most albums. An amazing effort by an amazing musician. Kudos to Justin Timberlake.
  100. TylerT
    Sep 13, 2006
    8
    I hate boy bands and everything surrounding them. That being said, this is a great album! JT kills the rest of this solo garbage that somehow makes it on the radio/tv "My Love" must be witnessed!
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. It's a lot like Justified in that it's a solid collection of expertly produced pop songs whose flaws will be devoured by its almost guaranteed string of hits.
  2. The enjoyable, forgettable FutureSex/LoveSounds may be a just-okay Timberlake album, but it's a great Timbaland demo reel.
  3. By its closer... FutureSex/LoveSounds feels like an entirely different and far less interesting album than the one you started listening to.