FutureSex / LoveSounds - Justin Timberlake
FutureSex / LoveSounds Image
Metascore
70

Generally favorable reviews - based on 25 Critics What's this?

User Score
7.1

Generally favorable reviews- based on 269 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: Timbaland, will.i.am and Rick Rubin are among the producers on the singer's second solo set.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 25
  2. Negative: 0 out of 25
  1. There's going to be a coronation very soon, and anyone who cares to invest will be handsomely rewarded by the future king.
  2. It is this excess of ambition over achievement, as opposed to any real consistency, which makes FutureSex/LoveSounds more of an album than Justified was. Songs which sound puzzlingly self-indulgent in isolation-- most obviously, the smirking, tenuously tuneful first single "SexyBack"-- are cloaked in a compelling intensity and purposefulness when played in succession.
  3. 80
    The vibe is all infectious, feverish build-up. [Nov 2006, p.155]
  4. Although the mix of dance beats, pounding basslines and palatable vocals is occasionally marred by mundane R&B tracks like "Until the End of Time," there are far more pop gems than slow jams.
  5. The enjoyable, forgettable FutureSex/LoveSounds may be a just-okay Timberlake album, but it's a great Timbaland demo reel.
  6. Graceless he may be, but Timberlake is nevertheless kind of fascinating on FutureSex/LoveSounds since his fuses a clear musical vision -- misguided, yes, but clear all the same -- with a hammyness that only a child entertainer turned omnipresent 21st century celebrity can be.
  7. 40
    Timberlake and Timbaland... write frustratingly awkward songs. [Oct 2006, p.142]

See all 25 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 99 out of 127
  2. Negative: 23 out of 127
  1. Apr 11, 2012
    10
    This album is a breath of fresh air. I listened to it in 2006, and it was amazing. Six years later, a started listening to it again, and it still feels the same way. It never gets old. His best album ever. No wonder he doesn't record music anymore, cause, frankly, it's hard to top this pop masterpiece. Collapse
  2. Jun 9, 2011
    10
    Perfect album, it deserved an 10. Justin's voice was beutiful !!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!! Expand
  3. Sep 12, 2011
    10
    A porn anthem, oh wait... THE PORN ANTHEM! This album is lyrically beautiful and stylish music!!! Sexy songs and sexy voice by Justin. This album is perfect. Sexyback is the best track on it, followed by the beatbox track Lovestoned. Expand
  4. May 23, 2011
    8
    Though the ambition is fully obvious and while the album itself cannot get you going on paper, JT's second solo effort is a triumph in sonic production. So the ones I must really congratulate are Timbaland and Danja. Cheers! Expand
  5. Jun 12, 2011
    8
    Absolutely not my style at first but this album is flawless. Justin Timberlake proves he's one of the best nowadays. I literally can't wait for the next album, it's gonna be hot. Expand
  6. Nov 14, 2013
    8
    Future sounding indeed. This album has it all; a mixture of sex appeal, dance beats, forward thinking beats and hooks. Download: SexyBack, LoveStoned, My Love. Expand
  7. Apr 9, 2013
    7
    I get the appeal to people outside of the general "pop audience", but I wouldn't consider it the revolutionary pop masterwork some claim it is. There are certainly a few great tracks (particularly What Goes Around Comes Around, the title track, My Love & Until the End of Time), and the production & vocals for the most part are solid all the way through, but the main problem for me is the lyrics. Maybe I just have a bias when it comes to sex-based lyrics but I just felt kinda uncomfortable listening to some of the lines on these songs. The whole thing just has a somewhat dated & cheesy mid-00s sound to it, back when slow jams & smooth sex songs were a pop mainstay. Plus the songs tended to drag out sometimes, and there's a few tracks I would've gotten rid of entirely (namely Damn Girl, Chop Me Up & Sexy Ladies) to make for a more concise listen. There are some albums that can get away with being over an hour long. This is not one of them. Still, despite these gripes, the songwriting (melodically & instrumentally) succeeds most of the time, and you can definitely tell there was more effort & ambition put into this than the average pop album at the time. And Timberlake is definitely one of the more talented mainstream pop artists of the last decade or so. My favorite song on the album is either the masterfully crafted pop ballad What Goes Around Comes Around or the gospel-tinged Losing My Way, which detours from other subject matter here to paint a vivid picture of a man going through self-destroying drug addictions & is an overall fantastic listen. FutureSex/LoveSounds is a shaky mixed-bag of an album but a pretty enjoyable one nonetheless. As for The 20/20 Experience I have a feeling, judging from what I've heard, that I'll enjoy it a lot more than this one. 72/100 Expand

See all 127 User Reviews