G-Sides - Gorillaz
G-Sides Image

Generally favorable reviews - based on 11 Critics What's this?

User Score

Universal acclaim- based on 15 Ratings

Your Score
0 out of 10
Rate this:
  • 10
  • 9
  • 8
  • 7
  • 6
  • 5
  • 4
  • 3
  • 2
  • 1
  • 0
  • 0
  • Summary: This disc collects remixes and B-sides (album title notwithstanding) culled from the singles generated by the animated supergroup's international hit debut album. The 9 songs here (totalling just 38 minutes) include two previously unreleased tracks.
Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 7 out of 11
  2. Negative: 0 out of 11
  1. The slow-motion funk of the previously unreleased "Ghost Train" alone makes it worth the sticker price.
  2. Taken collectively the new tracks here demonstrate the uniqueness of the Gorillaz sound and the vision shared by the group's creators and the musicians who bring it all to life.
  3. 70
    Most of these re-workings preserve the essential nature of the songs; the producers know enough to stay out of the way.
  4. It shouldn't work, but it does - perhaps, because, for once Albarn doesn't sound like he's trying too hard.
  5. 70
    The cuts resonate with more creativity and originality than most stuff on the shelves. [Apr 2002, p.82]
  6. 60
    This madcap comp is a blast. [May 2002, p.120]
  7. 40
    Offers few joys beyond the witty title. [Apr/May 2002, p.114]

See all 11 Critic Reviews

Score distribution:
  1. Positive: 4 out of 5
  2. Negative: 0 out of 5
  1. TurkRocks
    Nov 15, 2006
    OUT STANDING!! Wow! I love this! Its simply fantastic! Gorillaz - Original, beautiful, wonderful.
  2. Mar 26, 2013
    This is a superb B-Sides collection. The score really depends on what version of the album you have, for me that would be- UK: 8, US: 10. The UK version contains two songs "Dracula" and "Left Hand Suzuki Method" that were included in the standard US release of Gorillaz' eponymous debut album, and cuts out "Latin Simone", a criminal omission considering it's the best son on the album. The US version also includes an extra remix of "19-2000". It mostly contains tracks that were B-sides to the singles, but also songs that were in the first little-known-of Gorillaz EP "Tomorrow Comes Today" For what it is, this album is great experience. Collapse
  3. Sep 26, 2010
    B-Sides are very intersting. You get tons of filler songs, but since they are all on the same CD, you can't complain. I never listen to remixes, so I did not rate them. It doesn't really sound like Albarn's trying hard, but somehow, it works in a wierd way. Some wierd twists are on this album, as well as oustanding moments.

    Standouts : "Dracula", "Ghost Train"

    Overall Score : 8.7
  4. j30
    Dec 9, 2011
    There's a reason why this is a b-sides collection. You can hear the short-comings it all over this record. But there's still a few songs that resonate and rise above the others. Expand

See all 5 User Reviews