Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga

  • Record Label: Merge
  • Release Date: Jul 10, 2007
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 171 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 4 out of 171

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. JB
    Nov 1, 2007
    4
    Seriously, though I loved the last album, Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga, is the most boring overrated thing ever. Not only do all of the songs sound exactly alike, but they actually sound like the band traveled back into time to find the most generic post grunge music from 1994 to use as inspiration, basically I've heard this one before. There are many more innovative bands out there that are doing Seriously, though I loved the last album, Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga, is the most boring overrated thing ever. Not only do all of the songs sound exactly alike, but they actually sound like the band traveled back into time to find the most generic post grunge music from 1994 to use as inspiration, basically I've heard this one before. There are many more innovative bands out there that are doing much more exciting things with their music. I wish people would get over this album and move forward. Expand
  2. JosephO
    Aug 6, 2007
    5
    This album is highly overrated. Not one especially memorable song. Their last three albums are much better. Skip this one.
  3. GuyH
    Sep 20, 2007
    6
    Overrated to say the least. When bands are releasing albums as creative and fully realised as say 'Strawberry Jam' or 'Boxer' a 36 minute album of decent poppy tunes just doesn't compare I'm afraid. I do like the dubby influence but more experimentation was required. 'Target', 'Cherry Bomb' and 'Don't You Evah' are just Overrated to say the least. When bands are releasing albums as creative and fully realised as say 'Strawberry Jam' or 'Boxer' a 36 minute album of decent poppy tunes just doesn't compare I'm afraid. I do like the dubby influence but more experimentation was required. 'Target', 'Cherry Bomb' and 'Don't You Evah' are just conventional pop with a few bells and whistles added. 'Ghost' is the standout track by a mile - one of the best songs released this year. 3 more of these on this release and we might have been talking but as it is this is a good listen but far from groundbreaking. Expand
  4. MarkD.
    Nov 29, 2007
    5
    This album is mediocre at best.
  5. MateuszS.
    Dec 27, 2007
    6
    For me? - good, but this is nothing special.
  6. EvanS
    Jul 20, 2007
    5
    Clocking in at a lackluster 36 minutes, it's a decent Spoon outing but don't believe the hype.
  7. danielw
    Jul 23, 2007
    5
    The most overrated album of the year. At 38 minutes, the band simply is not entitled to any filler. Yest at least a third of this sounds unfinished and fragmentary. 20 minutes of good music every other year is underwhelming, to say the least.
  8. VincentH.
    Nov 6, 2007
    5
    For most bands, this album would probably be considered a masterpiece and be showered with universal acclaim. But compared to Spoon's previous work, Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga rates quite low. The thing is that Spoon has released 3 albums (A Series of Sneaks, Kill The Moonlight, Gimme Fiction) that are easily 3 of the most memorable, creative, and brilliant indie rock albums of the past 10 For most bands, this album would probably be considered a masterpiece and be showered with universal acclaim. But compared to Spoon's previous work, Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga rates quite low. The thing is that Spoon has released 3 albums (A Series of Sneaks, Kill The Moonlight, Gimme Fiction) that are easily 3 of the most memorable, creative, and brilliant indie rock albums of the past 10 years. Ga Ga Ga Ga Ga ranks slightly below "Girls Can Tell" in my opinion, and actually kind of reminds me of the earlier album, especially in its overall laid-back, groove-pop style which is different than the frenzied 5 hooks-per-minute "Series of Sneaks" or the sonically and melodically transcendent "Kill the Moonlight" or "Gimme Fiction". A lightweight Spoon album, but an excellent and rocking indie rock album if you are unfamiliar with their previous work, but as a hardcore fan, it is difficult to be more objective as I am aware of what this band is capable of. "The Underdog" is their weakest single ever, with the super glossy Jon Brion production being too much for me. "You Got Yr Cherry Bomb" is mildly diverting, but is being overrated as the standout track. "Don't You Evah" is for me the standout by far, with it's louder-than-hell bassline and just a great melody. I don't know exactly what "hooks" people are talking about...in fact, I think this is their least catchiest album since "Telephono". Expand
  9. LordPoppycockVonTinselDrawers
    Dec 30, 2007
    6
    I like Spoon, but this album is totally overrated. It could have been an extra disc for the superb Gimme Fiction.
  10. Steph
    Apr 27, 2008
    6
    Good, but not as good as other Spoon releases. You got yr Cherry Bomb sounds like an Ella Fitzgerald song or something totally ripped off of equal nature. Do yourself a favor and pick up Gimme Fiction instead.
Metascore
84

Universal acclaim - based on 33 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 28 out of 33
  2. Negative: 0 out of 33
  1. Each and every hand clap and piano chord on their foot-stomping, flawless new album, now streaming on their label's Website, is obsessively placed.
  2. It's not the best album of Spoon's career, but it's far from a misstep.
  3. "Ga Ga" stand out as a fun, if somewhat peculiar, addition to the Spoon catalog.