Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 10 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 10 out of 10
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 10
  3. Negative: 0 out of 10
Buy On
  1. Jun 5, 2012
    85
    Where Bright Eyes lyrics lumber, The Mynabirds are aflight.
  2. Jun 5, 2012
    80
    Working again with her loyal producer Richard Swift, they master what many think is impossible and maybe even contradictory; they create a serious and intellectual pop album.
  3. Alternative Press
    Jun 4, 2012
    80
    Generals replaces Fire's starched chamber-pop pretentions with airy vibrancy and eclecticism that continually surprises and entices. [Jul 2012, p.100]
  4. Jun 4, 2012
    80
    Generals might sound like a spoonful of sugar, but it gives you a lot of medicine to get down.
  5. Jun 4, 2012
    80
    Generals, like What We Lose in the Fire We Gain in the Flood, may use the past as its foundation, but it was put in place by some forward-thinking engineers.
  6. Jun 4, 2012
    75
    Yet past all the stylistic flourishes, Generals is openhearted, politically engaged, feminist pop that, miraculously, never veers into schmaltz (or worse, didacticism).
  7. Magnet
    Jun 14, 2012
    70
    These songs are every bit as spiritually urgent as those on What We Lose In The Fire We Gain In The Flood, but the motivation is as political as it is personal. [#87, p.57]
  8. Jun 13, 2012
    70
    Generals has some gems of its own, but take a bit more digging to find.
  9. 70
    Don't get the idea that the album is preachy. The revolution can also extend to dance.
  10. Jun 4, 2012
    70
    Generals is, to a certain degree, an album in two parts: a vicious, vengeful-sounding beast and a final four songs of more hopeful, soulful pop.
User Score
tbd

No user score yet- Awaiting 1 more rating

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 2 out of 3
  2. Negative: 0 out of 3
  1. Jun 17, 2012
    8
    From the song "Karma Debt" Laura Burhenns's vocals attracts attention, which along with indie-pop, minimalist arrangement made a specificFrom the song "Karma Debt" Laura Burhenns's vocals attracts attention, which along with indie-pop, minimalist arrangement made a specific climate. Each instrumental part of the album is so clear, that with no problem you can always specify individual parties. Undoubtedly, this album is much more mature than the previous one, debut "What We Lose In The Fire We Gain In The Flood". Certainly, what increases the value of release is its essential dimension - "Generals" because it;s largely a protest song material. Full Review »
  2. Jun 14, 2012
    8
    I have been looking forward to this album since hearing the Generals single, and it doesn't disappoint. At 36 minutes it is a little shorterI have been looking forward to this album since hearing the Generals single, and it doesn't disappoint. At 36 minutes it is a little shorter than most these days, but there is so much packed in there both musically and lyrically that it begs repeat listening. Laura is gifted with a beautiful voice and songwriting ability, and for me this is a different and stronger album than Fire-Flood. Best tracks are the stomping and kicking title track, Mightier than the sword is just wonderful, and disarm and body of work are wonderfully retro in their production. Overall a very strong effort, and on my top albums so far this year. Full Review »