Get Away From Me

  • Record Label: Columbia
  • Release Date: Feb 10, 2004
User Score
8.7

Universal acclaim- based on 21 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Positive: 19 out of 21
  2. Mixed: 0 out of 21
  3. Negative: 2 out of 21

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. AshleyO
    Mar 2, 2005
    10
    After hearing her perform "Sari" on TV, I bought this album with the swiftness of someone who thoroughly believed all copies everywhere would be sold out by the time the order was finished. After it arrived in the mail, I listened to it on repeat for a good two weeks, to the exclusion of all else. This album couldn't be any better.
  2. CatB
    Mar 23, 2004
    10
    Britany, Justin, please! No comparison. I saw her on Dave Letterman and was hooked. She's been in my CD player for 2 weeks straight, so far.
  3. AaronL
    Mar 8, 2004
    8
    Although a few songs could have been eliminated, this is a very interesting, varied, and accomplished debut disc. One of the most exciting debuts I have heard in a long time. This youngster has more talent than any of those Britney/Justin-types. She is the real deal.
  4. JamieL
    Feb 6, 2005
    10
    I think she's just great. I'm glad she's out there making music for us to enjoy and I hope she's happy...
  5. Skagitguy
    Apr 30, 2005
    10
    I'm a 48 year old middle class republican male (please don't throw things at the monitor). That being said I am very critiacal of music and enjoy Dorisa Day as well as Eminem (yes, really) And while many of Nellie's lyrics often drip with that sardonic liberal wit I've come to loathe... her songwriting and performance is pure genius and soars high above the I'm a 48 year old middle class republican male (please don't throw things at the monitor). That being said I am very critiacal of music and enjoy Dorisa Day as well as Eminem (yes, really) And while many of Nellie's lyrics often drip with that sardonic liberal wit I've come to loathe... her songwriting and performance is pure genius and soars high above the mind-numbing pop stuff that tries to pass itself off as music. I sat entranced as I listened to her pound out "Sari" on Letterman. It was that same kind of chill as when I heard Coltrane's "Giant Steps" or Tom Wait's "Closing Time" for the first time. Gwen, Jessica, Britney.... please step aside and let a blonde who actually HAS talent step up to the mike. Thank you. Expand
  6. JoshW
    Mar 5, 2006
    10
    Her album is so innovative and fresh. Who knew that vocal jazz and rap went together like two peas in a pod?
  7. MichelleS.
    Dec 30, 2004
    10
    Definitely unique. Nellie's album crosses genres even more than Gwen Stefani's solo debut, which means that there's probably something here for everyone. McKay's lyrics are often surprising, her melodies prompt one to smile, and her live appearances--in which this happy, stunningly-dressed blonde suddenly breaks out into a rap--make her hard to figure out, yet leave Definitely unique. Nellie's album crosses genres even more than Gwen Stefani's solo debut, which means that there's probably something here for everyone. McKay's lyrics are often surprising, her melodies prompt one to smile, and her live appearances--in which this happy, stunningly-dressed blonde suddenly breaks out into a rap--make her hard to figure out, yet leave you wanting more. Expand
  8. MichaelG
    Mar 26, 2004
    9
    Like nothing else out there.
  9. andyj
    Mar 4, 2004
    10
    brilliant! kicks norah jones ass 40 times over...she's not boring has better lyrics, is funny and even raps ...the coolest part is that her website has some live shows on mp3 that can be downloaded..after hearing those u'l definatly buy the album..
  10. J.S.
    Mar 5, 2004
    9
    As hilarious as it is inventive, as beautiful as it is original. This album is a must-own.
  11. kevinf
    Apr 1, 2005
    9
    not sure why the critics are so cynical. compared to the trash we hear everyday, numbing us like thorazine, it's nice to hear something that's at least genuine.
  12. ScottA
    Apr 28, 2005
    0
    Annoying, that's all i can think to say, Annoying.
  13. Stiven
    Jan 21, 2006
    9
    Absolutely fantastic record!
  14. d
    Oct 29, 2006
    10
    one of the greatest albums of the 00's
  15. DanF
    Feb 9, 2007
    10
    Totally unpredictable and funny and smart. What else could you ask for?
  16. Andrew
    Aug 23, 2005
    10
    First time I heard Nellie Mckay was on the Late Show with David Letterman, she was performing "The Dog Song". I thought it seemed a little weird at first. Next time I saw her, was on the Late Late Show (not sure if it was a guest host, of if Craig Ferguson had started), and she was performing "Sari". At that moment I was duly impressed! "Sari" being her song that she delves into rapping First time I heard Nellie Mckay was on the Late Show with David Letterman, she was performing "The Dog Song". I thought it seemed a little weird at first. Next time I saw her, was on the Late Late Show (not sure if it was a guest host, of if Craig Ferguson had started), and she was performing "Sari". At that moment I was duly impressed! "Sari" being her song that she delves into rapping about what is troubling her, and apologises for it. So upon hearing the album, and getting to know her, definitely nothing weird about her! "The Dog Song" is a creative quirky song, just what is probably lacking in much popular music of today. Overall the album defies categorisation, although pop, and adult pop/jazz would work well, which is rather impressive for a 19 year old! Besides being a great album, she is funny, a great performer, and smart. Some of her lyrics have a political tinge to them, including songs, such as "John-John", about John Kerry and Ralph Nader (originally titled "Mickey Mouse", changed for obvious reasons), it appears on the DualDisc release, and "Columbia is Bleeding" about Columbia University's cruelty to animals. Since she was (jokingly) disappointed on "The View" about Rolling Stone only giving her album four stars, I'll give it five, but I do mean it! Her sophomore is tentatively scheduled for a September 27th release! Expand
  17. ChrisH
    Jan 12, 2007
    9
    If the Bloodhound Gang went to Berekley, this would be the kind of music they would make. Hillariously brilliant album!
Metascore
79

Generally favorable reviews - based on 17 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 16 out of 17
  2. Negative: 0 out of 17
  1. Get Away From Me is an exciting debut that could become a cult favorite among pissed-off girl-women of McKay's age; if she can focus her creative energy without sacrificing any of the bite of her debut, she'll become an even more impressive talent.
  2. Sophisticated stuff even for a music vet; truly stunning considering McKay is only 19.
  3. Filled with just the kind of unpredictable twists and turns that you'd expect from someone who lists Doris Day as one of her idols and hopes someday to be compared to Bob Dylan. [29 Feb 2004]