• Record Label: V2 / XL
  • Release Date: Jun 7, 2005
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 260 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 260

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. BillyB
    Apr 28, 2007
    3
    I agree completely with John R. There's no doubt that the white stripes are good song writers (mostly), but musically, they don't have much to show. How can so many critics look past this? Hell, I can count 2 (or 3 (can't remember exactly)) songs on the album that are based on the 12 bar blues progression itself! (root/ 4th/ root/ root/ 4th/ 4th/ root/ root/ 5th/ 4th/ root/ I agree completely with John R. There's no doubt that the white stripes are good song writers (mostly), but musically, they don't have much to show. How can so many critics look past this? Hell, I can count 2 (or 3 (can't remember exactly)) songs on the album that are based on the 12 bar blues progression itself! (root/ 4th/ root/ root/ 4th/ 4th/ root/ root/ 5th/ 4th/ root/ 5th... and so on) As a musician, this annoys me. A band that's critically acclaimed and has no talent. Unfortunately, most bands are like that today... Expand
  2. JohnR
    Dec 25, 2006
    3
    Is it just me or does anyone else think that the White Stripes are totally over-rated? I agree that the songs are very good, but as performers they are rubbish - the 'drummer' is the worst I've heard & seems to monopolise every track. I could supply a better 'beat' than she could... Try hearing the songs without the 'thud' and they are all very good - Is it just me or does anyone else think that the White Stripes are totally over-rated? I agree that the songs are very good, but as performers they are rubbish - the 'drummer' is the worst I've heard & seems to monopolise every track. I could supply a better 'beat' than she could... Try hearing the songs without the 'thud' and they are all very good - add the drummer & they're ruined. Please, someone give her a different instrument & let the band evolve. Attractive she is, a drummer she isn't. Expand
  3. JimmyS
    Jun 30, 2005
    3
    Hadn't heard one song on the new album but bought it anyway going on the strengh of a great album in Elephant. What a mistake! Big departure from Elephant, left me thinking what the hell I had done! Found Blue Orchid a good start for the album, then after that you could feel that all the songs were thrown together in no time. Jack's voice became very annoying after the 4th song, Hadn't heard one song on the new album but bought it anyway going on the strengh of a great album in Elephant. What a mistake! Big departure from Elephant, left me thinking what the hell I had done! Found Blue Orchid a good start for the album, then after that you could feel that all the songs were thrown together in no time. Jack's voice became very annoying after the 4th song, at which point I was struggling. Having listened to the album twice, and for the first time in my life with any album, I can't struggle a third. Can't believe this rubbish is getting 4/5 stars in most reviews I read! People are gone insane! Expand
  4. EricG
    Jun 10, 2005
    3
    is this a tribute to ledzepplin?
  5. markw
    Jun 18, 2005
    0
    This disc is a huge waste of time and a big long yawn always on the verge of putting me to sleep.I should kill my wife for putting this back in my basket after I removed it.Unfinished music,unfinished lyrics,unfinished booklet,the last laugh is on all the people who go out and buy this garbage...This is all the proof needed to argue that downloading should be legal,,,though I This disc is a huge waste of time and a big long yawn always on the verge of putting me to sleep.I should kill my wife for putting this back in my basket after I removed it.Unfinished music,unfinished lyrics,unfinished booklet,the last laugh is on all the people who go out and buy this garbage...This is all the proof needed to argue that downloading should be legal,,,though I wouldn't even waste the bandwidth if I were you... Expand
  6. sumsh
    Jun 7, 2005
    2
    By far, the WORST White Stripes album.
  7. tibszero
    Jun 9, 2005
    4
    I only gave this album a 4 in the hopes that it will grow on me otherwise it seems more like a 2. I adore the White Stripes but sadly I think this will be just an embarrassing side note in their career.
  8. cjmarke
    Jun 12, 2005
    3
    Really like the band, waited patiently for this album, feel let down. It just isn''t as listeneable as the past two records.
  9. GabrielK
    Jun 15, 2005
    0
    overrated much!
  10. NofsGrrl
    Jun 7, 2005
    4
    It KILLS me to say this, because from one album to the next these guys have continued to impress and entertain. But this album has none of the brilliance that the rest do. Get Behind me Satan sound like two people who are trying to imitate the White Stripes and failing miserably. Maybe Jack didn't put enough effort into this one... maybe he put too much. Whatever it is, I hope It KILLS me to say this, because from one album to the next these guys have continued to impress and entertain. But this album has none of the brilliance that the rest do. Get Behind me Satan sound like two people who are trying to imitate the White Stripes and failing miserably. Maybe Jack didn't put enough effort into this one... maybe he put too much. Whatever it is, I hope it's fixed by the next album. Expand
  11. DaveH
    Jul 10, 2005
    3
    I am and will remain a White Stripes admirer. This album, "Shark Sandwich".
  12. BernieB
    Jun 10, 2005
    2
    The White Stripes have over-reached well beyond their capacity on this record. They have previously excelled at making simple, pared-down, blues-rock--copping a variety of moves from throughout blues history and running with it. Completely unoriginal, but they made some good records (De Stijl stands out). However, Jack is by no means a genious (a great imitator, at best), and Meg is a The White Stripes have over-reached well beyond their capacity on this record. They have previously excelled at making simple, pared-down, blues-rock--copping a variety of moves from throughout blues history and running with it. Completely unoriginal, but they made some good records (De Stijl stands out). However, Jack is by no means a genious (a great imitator, at best), and Meg is a barely serviceable drummer (even in the Moe Tucker school), and as a result, they released four samey-sounding discs steeped in influences and tradition (albeit fairly decent ones). Now, Jack's ego fueled by acclaim, they reach, reach, reach, but grab nothing. Jacks voice is grating, the arrangements are rushed, songs seem unfinished, and the charming levity that the Stripes previously brought to the table is completely gone. I think a lot of people desperately want to like GBMS and Jack and Meg, but after five records the gimmicks and constraints are old, so we're left with actual content. And this record is just bad. Expand
  13. robbieD
    Jun 21, 2005
    4
    i dont get the white stripes. There not terrible but there pretty bad. They have they like 5 good songs in 5 cds. I really dont get why they are praised to be so damn amazing. Anyone who recordes a cd in 2 weeks should be shot. Real bands with talent and respect for themselves are the strokes, they have been working on there new cd for 3 years now they want to get it right. Jack white i dont get the white stripes. There not terrible but there pretty bad. They have they like 5 good songs in 5 cds. I really dont get why they are praised to be so damn amazing. Anyone who recordes a cd in 2 weeks should be shot. Real bands with talent and respect for themselves are the strokes, they have been working on there new cd for 3 years now they want to get it right. Jack white just recordes crap because he knows that a bunch of dumbasses that want to be cool will say it is the greatest cd ever. Anyone who says this cd is a gift and is amazing should listen to the strokes- Is this it? or some libertines or even old school the clash. The white stripes are just an embarrasment to this music. Expand
  14. Craig
    Jun 7, 2005
    3
    Welcome to the de-evolution of rock and roll. Just because a band doesn't sound like anyone else that doesn't make them great. There was a time when people eagerly awaited the next masterpiece by The Beatles or Led Zeppelin or Pink Floyd. Those bands (especially The Beatles and Pink Floyd) worked meticulously in the studio to master their craft and push the sonic boundaries of Welcome to the de-evolution of rock and roll. Just because a band doesn't sound like anyone else that doesn't make them great. There was a time when people eagerly awaited the next masterpiece by The Beatles or Led Zeppelin or Pink Floyd. Those bands (especially The Beatles and Pink Floyd) worked meticulously in the studio to master their craft and push the sonic boundaries of music. Radiohead would be a more modern example. This clown goes into a studio for two weeks with his crappy drummer and hurries through a bunch of songs and it's a masterpiece? Most of these songs sound undeveloped and sloppy. Apparently it's cool to like this band, but I'm sorry I don't see the genius in this record at all. Expand
  15. Steve
    Jun 7, 2005
    2
    The White Stripes are one of the most overrated bands ever, this was a dissapointment.
  16. ChrisJ
    Jun 9, 2005
    2
    This is an overhyped album by a band that can "seem" to do no wrong. Listen closely and you will hear experimentation gone wrong. This album is weak, inconsistent, boring, weird, and annoying. Meg can not sing, Jack needs to get some sun and learn a thing or two about music.
  17. SpongeBob
    Jul 10, 2005
    4
    Bizarre. And not in a good way. The White Stripes made their name due to their experimental, simple catchy rock tunes which used only a guitar and drum. So having bought the new album, i was pleased with the first song as this generally followed their pattern. Then came 'The Nurse' and at this point i'm beginning to wonder if the song has a chorus or anything (it Bizarre. And not in a good way. The White Stripes made their name due to their experimental, simple catchy rock tunes which used only a guitar and drum. So having bought the new album, i was pleased with the first song as this generally followed their pattern. Then came 'The Nurse' and at this point i'm beginning to wonder if the song has a chorus or anything (it doesn't). By the time we come to 'Little Ghost' i think that some 90+ folk-singer from Texas must have secrety swapped his album for mine in the shop while i wasn't looking. Nope. It's the (very famous) White Stripes. Quite frankly, if this album was under a different name people wouldn't even look at it twice. Amazing how some can earn millions while strumming a tambourine tunelessly... Expand
  18. AlexS
    Jan 1, 2006
    2
    terrible, just terrible. this cd has few, if any redeeming qualities
  19. HaroldJ
    Jul 31, 2005
    0
    Worst Stripes album ever! I do not know what GBMS is *supposed* to be, but it is NOT a rock album. It is a horrible mess from start to finish. Blue Orchid starts the album out very poorly and the rest of the album is not much better. The White Stripes are capable of much more than GBMS. If you want to hear one of the best albums of all time, buy Elephant. GBMS is trash. Shame on Jack and Worst Stripes album ever! I do not know what GBMS is *supposed* to be, but it is NOT a rock album. It is a horrible mess from start to finish. Blue Orchid starts the album out very poorly and the rest of the album is not much better. The White Stripes are capable of much more than GBMS. If you want to hear one of the best albums of all time, buy Elephant. GBMS is trash. Shame on Jack and Meg for following up Elephant with such a garbage album. Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. It's an album so strong and so unexpected that it may change the way people hear all its predecessors. And that's just a start. Listen long enough, and this album might change the way you hear lots of other bands, too.
  2. A very strange album, which shreds the old White Stripes rulebook (no bass, just guitar and drums) and pushes into territories way beyond the blues and rock of their previous four records.
  3. A sidestep that’s as easy to admire as it is hard to love.