• Record Label: V2 / XL
  • Release Date: Jun 7, 2005
User Score
8.3

Universal acclaim- based on 260 Ratings

User score distribution:
  1. Negative: 19 out of 260

Review this album

  1. Your Score
    0 out of 10
    Rate this:
    • 10
    • 9
    • 8
    • 7
    • 6
    • 5
    • 4
    • 3
    • 2
    • 1
    • 0
    • 0
  1. Submit
  2. Check Spelling
  1. Jan 29, 2011
    5
    Get Behind Me Satan will divide fans, and it sure has divided me. I loved White Blood Cells and Elephant. But Get Behind Me Satan does not sound like a White Stripes album at all. This album has some good ideas, but ultimately it just doesn't have that feel the previous two albums have. The first three songs are great, so I was feeling hopeful about it, but it really falls flat after that.Get Behind Me Satan will divide fans, and it sure has divided me. I loved White Blood Cells and Elephant. But Get Behind Me Satan does not sound like a White Stripes album at all. This album has some good ideas, but ultimately it just doesn't have that feel the previous two albums have. The first three songs are great, so I was feeling hopeful about it, but it really falls flat after that. All In All, I love that they're trying new sounds, but The White Stripes need to stick to their basics. C Expand
  2. tibszero
    Jun 9, 2005
    4
    I only gave this album a 4 in the hopes that it will grow on me otherwise it seems more like a 2. I adore the White Stripes but sadly I think this will be just an embarrassing side note in their career.
  3. NofsGrrl
    Jun 7, 2005
    4
    It KILLS me to say this, because from one album to the next these guys have continued to impress and entertain. But this album has none of the brilliance that the rest do. Get Behind me Satan sound like two people who are trying to imitate the White Stripes and failing miserably. Maybe Jack didn't put enough effort into this one... maybe he put too much. Whatever it is, I hope It KILLS me to say this, because from one album to the next these guys have continued to impress and entertain. But this album has none of the brilliance that the rest do. Get Behind me Satan sound like two people who are trying to imitate the White Stripes and failing miserably. Maybe Jack didn't put enough effort into this one... maybe he put too much. Whatever it is, I hope it's fixed by the next album. Expand
  4. Matt
    Jun 7, 2005
    6
    Disappointed. Only a few interesting songs. Most of them are easy to get bored of, overal sound of the white stripes are repetitive and easy to get bored of in my opinion.
  5. AdrianW
    Jul 1, 2005
    5
    Who do they think they are? I think it's possible that the white stripes are trying to be too white stripes. I'd like to think I know a good album when I hear one and I feel this is kind of getting love because it's the white stripes and it SHOULD be good. rather disappointed. and this from a guy who thought elephant was the best release in it's year...
  6. robbieD
    Jun 21, 2005
    4
    i dont get the white stripes. There not terrible but there pretty bad. They have they like 5 good songs in 5 cds. I really dont get why they are praised to be so damn amazing. Anyone who recordes a cd in 2 weeks should be shot. Real bands with talent and respect for themselves are the strokes, they have been working on there new cd for 3 years now they want to get it right. Jack white i dont get the white stripes. There not terrible but there pretty bad. They have they like 5 good songs in 5 cds. I really dont get why they are praised to be so damn amazing. Anyone who recordes a cd in 2 weeks should be shot. Real bands with talent and respect for themselves are the strokes, they have been working on there new cd for 3 years now they want to get it right. Jack white just recordes crap because he knows that a bunch of dumbasses that want to be cool will say it is the greatest cd ever. Anyone who says this cd is a gift and is amazing should listen to the strokes- Is this it? or some libertines or even old school the clash. The white stripes are just an embarrasment to this music. Expand
  7. SpongeBob
    Jul 10, 2005
    4
    Bizarre. And not in a good way. The White Stripes made their name due to their experimental, simple catchy rock tunes which used only a guitar and drum. So having bought the new album, i was pleased with the first song as this generally followed their pattern. Then came 'The Nurse' and at this point i'm beginning to wonder if the song has a chorus or anything (it Bizarre. And not in a good way. The White Stripes made their name due to their experimental, simple catchy rock tunes which used only a guitar and drum. So having bought the new album, i was pleased with the first song as this generally followed their pattern. Then came 'The Nurse' and at this point i'm beginning to wonder if the song has a chorus or anything (it doesn't). By the time we come to 'Little Ghost' i think that some 90+ folk-singer from Texas must have secrety swapped his album for mine in the shop while i wasn't looking. Nope. It's the (very famous) White Stripes. Quite frankly, if this album was under a different name people wouldn't even look at it twice. Amazing how some can earn millions while strumming a tambourine tunelessly... Expand
  8. bbb
    Jul 30, 2005
    6
    great musically.......but that voice....
  9. DeanM
    Jun 13, 2005
    5
    Derivative, needs more work...Sloppy CD overall. Lacks the energy of the other cd's with the exception of a couple tracks. Boo...
  10. K-Van
    Jun 21, 2005
    6
    I've never heard of Paste Magazine, but their quote says it best. Get Behind Me Satan is easy to admire, but hard to love. I admire Jake White for taking a different direction than the previous albums. It's just too bad that the direction doesn't offer many inspiring tracks. The album has its moments though. I like Blue Orchid, Denial Twist, and Take, Take, Take. The rest I've never heard of Paste Magazine, but their quote says it best. Get Behind Me Satan is easy to admire, but hard to love. I admire Jake White for taking a different direction than the previous albums. It's just too bad that the direction doesn't offer many inspiring tracks. The album has its moments though. I like Blue Orchid, Denial Twist, and Take, Take, Take. The rest of the songs pass in one ear and out the other. This album does get better with repeated listens, but I can't shake that it feels incomplete and is void of the memorable songs that made Elephant a hit. Expand
  11. Oct 31, 2011
    6
    There is a reason why in 2005 The White Stripes received a Grammy nomination for Best Pop Vocal Performance by a Duo or Group instead of Best Rock Vocal Performance or Best Rock Song. The opening Blue Orchid may not suggest it but Get Behind Me Satan is the bandâ
  12. May 31, 2014
    5
    A few good songs on it but I just didn't care for a majority of this album. Didn't click with me as well as their other work. It's bound to happen I guess.
  13. Oct 14, 2014
    5
    The White Stripes have a style and sound that I've never understood. Is it just me, or do lyrics like "And all the chickens get it, and them singing canaries get it, woo, oh, woo, now even strawberries get it, I want you to get with it, yeah, yeah, I want you to get with it, oh, yeah, I want you to get with it," sound a teeny bit childish and stupid? It's not bad, and there are a handfulThe White Stripes have a style and sound that I've never understood. Is it just me, or do lyrics like "And all the chickens get it, and them singing canaries get it, woo, oh, woo, now even strawberries get it, I want you to get with it, yeah, yeah, I want you to get with it, oh, yeah, I want you to get with it," sound a teeny bit childish and stupid? It's not bad, and there are a handful of good tracks, but gosh, this White Stripes thing is way overhyped. Expand
Metascore
81

Universal acclaim - based on 38 Critics

Critic score distribution:
  1. Positive: 30 out of 38
  2. Negative: 0 out of 38
  1. It's an album so strong and so unexpected that it may change the way people hear all its predecessors. And that's just a start. Listen long enough, and this album might change the way you hear lots of other bands, too.
  2. A very strange album, which shreds the old White Stripes rulebook (no bass, just guitar and drums) and pushes into territories way beyond the blues and rock of their previous four records.
  3. A sidestep that’s as easy to admire as it is hard to love.